Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library
The Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library houses collections and services for art, arts administration, dance, music, photography, and theatre and is the home of the John Jacob Niles Center for American Music.
The Library houses over 142,000 books, scores, and bound periodicals, and over 30,000 audiovisual materials on music, visual art, and theatre.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online is part of Oxford Music Online and includes the following:
- The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
- The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
- The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
- The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers
- The Grove Dictionary of American Music,
- The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, print
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Call Number: REF ML100 .N48 2000The print version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians can be found in the Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library reference section.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) , online
- MGG (Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart)
Full-text of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) , print
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik by Call Number: REF ML100 .M92 1994
Baker's Dictionary of Music
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of MusiciansCall Number: REF ML105.B16 2001The 9th edition covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky.
Oxford History of Western Music, Online
Oxford History of Western Music Online by Call Number: ONLINE
Oxford History of Western Music Online contains the full text from the Oxford History of Western Music with notes, bibliographies and further readings for all chapters. Links in the online version connect to relevant entries in Grove Music Online.
Cambridge Companions
The Cambridge Companion to Blues and Gospel Music by Call Number: ML3521 .C36 2002
The Cambridge Companion to Eighteenth-Century Opera by Call Number: ML1704.C36 2009
The Cambridge Companion to French Music by Call Number: ML270 .C36 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Grand Opera by Call Number: ML1700 .C16 2003
The Cambridge Companion to Hip-Hop by Call Number: ML3531 .C356 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Jewish Music by Call Number: ML3776 .C35 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Music by Call Number: ML172 .C32 2011
The Cambridge Companion to Monteverdi by Call Number: ML410.M77 C36 2007
The Cambridge Companion to Opera Studies by Call Number: ML1700 .C166 2012
The Cambridge Companion to Percussion by Call Number: ML1030 .C26 2016
The Cambridge Companion to Singing by Call Number: ML1460 .C28 2000
The Cambridge Companion to the Lied by Call Number: ML2829 .C36 2004
The Cambridge Companion to the Musical by Call Number: ML2054 .C35 2017
The Cambridge Companion to the String Quartet by Call Number: ML1160 .C36 2003
The Cambridge Companion to Twentieth-Century Opera by Call Number: ML1700 .C17 2005
Oxford History of Western Music, Print
Oxford History of Western Music by Call Number: ML160 .T18 2010The Oxford History of Western Music is a five-volume survey of the traditions of Western music.
Oxford Companions
The New Oxford Companion to Music by Call Number: ML100.N4850 1983
The Oxford Companion to Australian Music by Call Number: REF ML106 .A93 O95 1997
The Oxford Companion to Jazz by Call Number: ML3507.J32 2000The Oxford Companion to Music, Online by
Call Number: e-book
The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments by Call Number: REF ML460 .B250 1992
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical by Call Number: REF ML102 .M88 H593 2008
Streaming Video at UK
- Naxos Video Library
This link opens in a new window
An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand! - Met Opera on Demand: Student Access
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 550 Metropolitan Opera performances. - Medici.tv
- This link opens in a new window
medici.tv’s library features over 1,800 programs (3,000 original works), including live and archived concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master classes.
Search InfoKat Discovery
Searching for Music in InfoKat Discovery
- Tips for Searching MUSIC in InfoKat Discovery DOCX fileThis document explains strategies that will help you search for music materials in InfoKat Discovery.