This is the "Home" page of the "Lesbian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The research and study of lesbians.
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/lesbianstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Table of Contents

Welcome!

Archival Collections / Conferences

  • Archival collections in the U.S. and abroad
  • Conferences, festivals, and events
  • Organizations

Audio Visuals

  • Film and video titles, and web series

Books, Journals, & Databases

  • Book and journal titles, articles, and bibliographies

Comic Books, Strips, & Cartoons

  • Lesbian comics drawn by women

Early Lesbian Books

  • Early titles from different countries, ethnicities, and races

Government Sources / Grants

  • U.S. Government publications on the web
  • National and international government websites
  • National LGBT Bar Association
  • Grants

I D E N T I T Y

  • Databases and article citations
  • Book titles
  • Academic websites - sources

Marketing and Products

  • Book titles and articles, and products

Music & Musicians

  • Books and journal titles
  • Databases, documentaries & films
  • Sound recordings

Politics & Social Movements

  • Databases and article citations
  • Book titles
  • Websites, theses and dissertations

Sources: Bi-sexual, Gay Male, Queer, Transgendered

  • Book and journal titles, research, archival materials
  • Government resources, comic books and cartoons
  • Bibliographies, audio visuals

Theses and Dissertation Research

  • Locating titles in the catalog and databases

UK Special Collections / KY Organizations

  • Collections with lesbian content
  • Kentucky LGBTQ organizations and research guides
 

Lesbian Research Guide

Research and Study

 of

Lesbians

This guide has been created to highlight the research and study of lesbians. 

  • Lesbian studies is an interdisciplinary field so relevant materials will be found within a wide range of subject sources.
  • More contemporary sources will present the term "lesbian" in combination with gay, bisexual, transgendered, queer, or LGBTQ. 
  • Older scholarly resources may refer to lesbians as homosexuals, homosexual women, queer women, or gay women.

Lesbian - a woman whose emotional, sexual, and romantic orientations are toward women.  The present use of the term was first expressed during the latter half of the 1800s.

Librarian

Profile Image
Reinette Jones-Librarian I
Contact Info
Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History
Rm 403, King Library Building
Lexington, Kentucky 40506-0456
(859) 257-6042
Send Email

SEE ALSO

  • Human Sexuality
    Primary and secondary sources in Special Collections that cover human sexuality issues.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip