THE ART
By merlinlightpainting @ pixabay
Lesbian Art in History
Lesbian art in America : a contemporary history by ISBN: 0847822486Publication Date: 2000The first history of lesbian art in the United States, this volume documents works since 1970 within the context of gay culture and political activism. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
- 2021 LGBTQ History Project: Tee A. Corinne, photographer of Lesbian sexuality by Victoria A. BrownworthOver her decades as a Lesbian photographer and artist, Tee Corinne said, "I'm one of the most obscure famous artists." Sign. October 22, 2021.
- Gillian Wearing & Claude Cahun: Under the Mask at National Portrait Gallery by Claire MeadLesbian Art History. June 17, 2017.
- Lesbian Art: Sapphic Artists & PaintersLesbian Art Through History. (no date)
- Lesbian Invisibility in Art HistoryAn interview with art historian Ksenia M. Soboleva. A WMN webpage article. 2023
- Lesbian Love and Sex in Art History by Marija CanjugaThe biggest problem with the early depictions of lesbianism is that it was men who made it. As a result, we don’t really know what the women were feeling and experiencing. Daily Art Magazine. June 13, 2022.
- Mary Hoeg & Bolette Berg in the Boat By Baylee WoodleyMary Høeg was a Norwegian suffragette and photographer. Digitized reproductions of her private photos also beg questions of the ethics of reproducing and sharing art works not created for public display. Queer Art History. July 29, 2020.
- Portrait of Same-Sex Desire: Lesbian (Mis)Representations in Nineteenth-Century French Art by Jessica N. MummertIn late nineteenth-century France, lesbianism became a heightened topic of interest due to scientific, social, and political discourse surrounding female sexuality. Swarthmore Undergraduate History Journal: Vol. 3 : Iss. 1 , Article 4, 2022.
- A Trailblazing Lesbian Artist Gets Her Due by Sharmistha RayHarmony Hammond’s work can appear bewildering at first, expansive in its diametrical explorations, and sprawling in its material juxtapositions. Hyperallergic. June 29, 2019.
Animated short Film
University of Kentucky Databases with Articles
- Oxford Bibliographies in Art History
The Oxford Bibliographies are authoritative lists of the published research in a wide variety of academic subject areas. The Oxford Bibliographies in Art History guide offers bibliographies on 150+ art history topics from "Adornment, Dress, and African Arts of the Body" to "Yuan Dynasty Art".
- JSTOR SustainabilityJSTOR Sustainability was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars, and policy researchers, and brings together key journals as well as open research reports from leading think tanks worldwide. The collection looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens, and spans more than 30 disciplines.
- Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street Press)Combined searchable access to streaming audio, video, text in the following collections: American Music, Black Drama, Classical Music Library, Film Scripts, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, Theatre in Video, and Twentieth Century North American Drama. Choose from the tabs or drop-down categories to search across the databases.
- Twentieth Century North American DramaContains 1,530 plays by more than 220 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, and production companies. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Exhibits
- Lesbian Art Show collage byPublication Date: 1994Collage of photographs from the Lesbian Art Show in Madison, Wisconsin in 1994. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
- Feminine Moments Queer Feminist Art WorldwideThe owner and editor of Feminine Moments is Danish visual artist Birthe Havmøller.
Email: havmoeller@gmail.com - The Great American Lesbian Art Show, 1980By Woman's Building (Los Angeles, Calif.). Woman's Building records, 1970-1992. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution.
- Lesbians seeing Lesbians : building community in early feminist photography : a historical perspective on the Leslie/Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art exhibition byNew York, NY : Leslie/Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art, Sept. 13th - Oct. 22nd 2011. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Mixed Media Art Video
Online Catalog
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new windowInfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
Lesbian Art, Publications
Damn fine art by new lesbian artists by ISBN: 0304333646Publication Date: 1996A wide range of international artists from Mexico to Ireland, Cherry Smyth traces the increasing visibility and confidence of lesbian artists in mainstream art and draws on extensive research and interviews with many of the artists themselves. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Harmony Hammond: Material Witness by Call Number: N6537.H345 A4 2019ISBN: 1941366236Publication Date: 2019Activist and a curator as well as a trailblazing artist, feminist and lesbian scholar.
Latina Lesbian Writers and Artists by ISBN: 9781560232780Publication Date: 2003The most significant contemporary Latina lesbian writers, artists, and performers in the United States, Latin America, and Spain. (E-book Central)- Lesbian art and art by lesbians byPublication Date: 2010Journal of lesbian studies,; v. 14, no. 2. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Lesbian Decadence : Representations in Art and Literature of Fin-de-Siècle France by ISBN: 9781939594211Publication Date: 2016This collection was originally entitled "The Lesbians" and described women as "femmes damnEes," with "disordered souls" suffering in a hypocritical world. [Supposed to be at the University of Kentucky Libraries.]
Nothing But the Girl : the blatant lesbian image : a portfolio and exploration of lesbian erotic photography by ISBN: 9781860470059Publication Date: 1996This book contains the landmark work of Morgan Gwenwald, Della Grace, Diana Blok, Tee A. Corrine, Jill Posener, Honey Lee Cottrell, and others. Each portfolio is accompanied by an in-depth biography of the artist, with a discussion of the themes that fueled her work. 150+ photos. Request via Interlibrary Loan.- WMN : lesbian art & poetry. Issue Two, Show me what you got byPublication Date: 2020An international representation of visual art and poetry by lesbians ages 55 and above. August 2020./ 400 copies printed. Request via Interlibrary Loan.
Digital Art
By ArtificialArtist @ Pixabay