Boston Marriages - Books
Boston Marriages by ISBN: 0585260796Publication Date: 1993For decades the term "Boston marriage" was used to describe single women who lived together and shared their lives. The presumption then was that these partnerships were nonsexual. In recent years, however, the opposite assumption has prevailed, causing some women involved in such relationships to hide the asexual nature of their attachments in the lesbian community.
Boston Marriages from 1700 to 1809 by ISBN: 0806307846Publication Date: 1977Reprint of the 1898 and 1903 ed. published by the Boston Registry Dept., which were issued as v. 28 and v. 30 of Records relating to the early history of Boston, respectively./ Vol. 28 originally published under title: A report of the Record Commissioners of the City of Boston, containing the Boston marriages from 1700 to 1751.
Improper Bostonians by ISBN: 9780807079485Publication Date: 1998"Drawing on newspaper accounts private archives, advertisements, and other sources, Improper Bostonians introduces us to men and women who flouted conventional gender rules, were unapologetic about their lifestyles, and tried to make sense of their sexuality - sometimes at great cost."
Boston Marriages - Videos
Boston Marriages - 1870s-1920s
"Boston Marriage" - a term first used in 1893. A long-term, committed, love relationship between two independent women. Katharine Coman and Katharine Lee Bates lived together in a Wellesley marriage for 25 years.
Marriage Equality - June 26, 2015
In the United States, it was a 5-4 decision from the Supreme Court in the case of Obergefell v. Hodges. Marriage equality became the law of the land and granted same-sex couples in all 50 states the right to full, equal recognition under the law.
Databases with Journal Articles
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, and book reviews. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Individual titles are listed in the E-Journals A-Z. - US Constitutional Law
- This link opens in a new window
Features the full text of current and historical state constitutions as well as the Oxford Commentaries on the State Constitutions of the US series, offering article-by-article commentaries on every State Constitution, tracing their historical development. Please note: Restricted to one user at a time.
Marriage Equality - Books
Marriage Equality by ISBN: 9780300221817Publication Date: 2020As a legal scholar who first argued in the early 1990s for a right to gay marriage, William N. Eskridge Jr. has been on the front lines of the debate over same-sex marriage for decades. In this book, Eskridge and his coauthor, Christopher R. Riano, offer a panoramic and definitive history of America's marriage equality debate.
Queer Families and Relationships after Marriage Equality by ISBN: 9781138557451Publication Date: 2018After years of intense debate, same-sex marriage has become a legal reality in many countries around the globe. As same-sex marriage laws spread, Queer Families and Relationships After Marriage Equality asks: What will queer families and relationships look like on the ground?
The Social Science of Same-Sex Marriage by ISBN: 9781000523652Publication Date: 2022Showcasing research from across the social sciences, this edited volume seeks to provide readers with an empirically grounded sense of how many lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people marry in the US and Canada, what their marriages look like, and how LGBT people themselves are impacted by marriage and marriage equality.
