University of Kentucky Theses and Dissertations
- Electronic Theses and Dissertations, University of Kentucky (through UKnowledge)Full-text access to electronically submitted theses and dissertations (ETDs) from the University of Kentucky. Note that this collection does not include access to all theses and dissertations from the University of Kentucky, but only those submitted electronically since June 2000. For electronic access to the full-text of selected dissertations completed at the University of Kentucky, use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Use InfoKat Discovery to find theses and dissertations in either paper or electronic format.
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new windowInfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
University of Kentucky Access to Theses and Dissertations
- American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933 - 1955American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955 represents the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by U.S. universities during that period of time, listing nearly 100,000 dissertations.
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Browse/Search ETD CollectionsBrowse and/or search through several electronic theses and dissertations collections. For European materials, including full-text, also consult DART-Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP).
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD)Database of open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1,100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 5 million theses and dissertations (as of 10/1/19).
Image from Microsoft Clipart
Electronic Theses and Dissertations (Available Online)
- "Gillian Anderson Made Me Gay:" The Case of the X-Files Lesbians by Samantha HowatGeorgia State University, Master of Arts, 2020
- "My Gender is Lesbian": Community Building and the Endurance of the Lesbian in Queer Times by Adriana SiskoPh.D., University of Kentucky 2021
- "Sealed with a Kiss on Your Artery": An Archive of Southern Lesbian Desire by Sarah Margaret HeyingDoctor of Philosophy, The University of Mississippi, 2023
- Criminalizing LGBTQ+ Jamaicans: Social, Legal, and Colonial Influences on Homophobic Policy by Zoe C. KnowlesUniversity of South Florida, Master of Arts, 2021
- From Dead to Femme: a qualitative analysis of Lesbian Representation on Television by Michaela JohnsonTELEVISIONJohns Hopkins University, Master of Arts, 2022
- Hidden in Plain Sight: The Queer Lens in Lesbian Period Dramas by Anna PomahacEmory College, Honors Thesis, 2024
- The Impact and Implications of Two or More Children Identifying as Lesbian, Gay, or Bisexual (LGB) within the Family System by Casey Michael GamboniThesis (Ph.D.)--The University of Iowa, 2019
- Internalized Heterosexism, Outness, Athletic Identity, and Perceived Stress Among Queer Female Athletes by Olivia C ScottPh.D.; West Virginia University; 2019
- The need of separatist spaces : a queer feminist exploration of saunas and lesbian spaces / Och där med basta : ett queerfeministiskt utforskande av behovet av separatistiska rum by Kim SchmidtUmeå universitet, Arkitekthögskolan vid Umeå universitet, Independent thesis Advanced level (degree of Master (Two Years)), 2019
- The Objectification and Blame of Revenge Porn Victims by Christine Rosemary SerpePh. D.; (School of Education).; University of Missouri-Kansas City; 2020
- The social and emotional experiences of black lesbian couples in Seshego Township, Limpopo Province by M. R. MaotoanaThesis (Ph. D. (Psychology)) --University of Limpopo, 2019
- “Come as you are”: Lesbian Space and Community by Wauren OchsMaster of Arts, Thesis, 2024
Theses and Dissertations via Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loans - Patrons at one library can borrow books, articles, documents and other materials that are owned by another library.
Older Theses and Dissertations
Many, if not all, of the earliest lesbian-focused theses and dissertations were written by male students.
- "Passing as straight" : a phenomenological analysis of the experience of the lesbian who is professionally employed by Elizabeth Lee FogartyPh. D.; University of Pittsburgh; 1980
- By the self defined : creating a lesbian identity by Kathleen Anne BournePh. D.; University of Southern California, Los Angeles; 1990
- A communicative study of humor in a lesbian speech community: becoming a member by Dorothy S PainterThesis/dissertation, Ohio State University, 1978
- Contemporary Amazons : a study of a lesbian feminist community by Deborah Goleman WolfPh. D.; University of California, Berkeley; 1977
- Homosexuality among women and psychological adjustment by Mark J FreedmanThesis/dissertation, Case Western Reserve; 1967
- I : lesbian by Carolyn GammonM.A.; Dept. of English, Concordia University; 1989
- An investigation of the coming out process, lifestyle, and sex-role orientation of lesbians by Margaret EisnerPh. D.; York University; 1982
- Lesbian and heterosexual single mothers' influence on their children's acquisition of sex-role traits and behavior by Beverly HoefferDoctor of Nursing; University of California, San Francisco, 1979
- Lesbian identity in the subculture of women's bars by Nancy LisagorPh. D.; University of Pennsylvania; 1980
- Lesbian mothers by Lawrence Dewayne BryantM.S.W., English; California State University, Sacramento, 1968
- The older lesbian by Mina Kay RobinsonM.A.; California State University, Dominguez Hills, 1979
- Paths to lesbian identity formation in later life : an adult developmental study by Molly Eisner StullmanPh. D.; California School of Professional Psychology; 1984
- The psychological experience of bereavement : lesbian women's perceptions of the response of the social network to the death of a partner by Linda S JonesEd. D.; Boston University; 1985
- Social relationships of lesbian and heterosexual feminist women by Patricia Lynne HendersonM.A.; University of British Columbia; 1986
- A sociological approach to the etiology of female homosexuality and the lesbian social scene by Kenneth Alfred PooleThesis/dissertation, [Los Angeles], 1970
- Young adults raised by lesbians by Thomas DomeniciPh. D.; University of Southern California; 1984