Data sources by subject area:
Other guides related to research data:
More Data Resources:
- GIS & Digital Mapping Sarah Watson's introductory guide offering resources for projects involving GIS, digital mapping, and geospatial technologies.
- ICPSR: In-Depth Research Guide Margie Ruppel's detailed guide to ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research): a data resource for University of Kentucky faculty, students and staff.
- Research Data Services at UK UK Libraries' guide on Resources and information to help you get started with data management, data preservation, and data sharing.
Research Methods & Protocols
- Research Methods & Protocols Guide covers research methods, research design, statistical methods, research ethics and research protocols for a vast range of disciplines.
Research & Teaching Resources:
- Open Educational Resources Adrian Ho's guide about UK Libraries' Alternative Textbook Program. It also provides an overview of free online peer-reviewed textbooks and offers assistance with finding and adapting them for courses.
- Publishing, Research, & Scholarly Communication Adrian Ho's guide on resources supporting the research process. Brings together apps, data tools, library collections, and scholarly communication resources.
- Resources & Support for Digital Scholarship Jennifer Hootman's guide with broad coverage of technologies, methodologies, resources, and scholarship in the digital humanities
Data Repositories
- Dataverse
Repository of datasets and other research files, as well as "dataverses" (specific member institutions' repositories of data and research files). From Harvard University. - Dryad
Dryad is a nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature published in journals and society portals. Currently, it covers mainly evolutionary biology and ecology data sets that go along with published papers in ecology journals. Primarily focused on physical sciences and medicine, it is gradually branching out into a few other areas (e.g. cognition and learning) and launching institutional data repository infrastructures. - figshare
Repository of datasets and research outputs including papers, presentations, and more. - OSF (Open Science Framework)
Repository and archive for data and research files. Despite the name, the Open Science Framework also covers fields beyond the sciences. To find data and research files, use the "Search" option and the search line appears. - QDR (Qualitative Data Repository)
Downloadable data files generated through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. From Syracuse University. - Zenodo
Swiss-based repository of open data and research resources.With search option to help you locate a wide-range of research files, including datasets, publications, and more.
Finding Datasets and Data Repositories
- DataCite Search
Keyword search for datasets across worldwide repositories. - Google Dataset Search (Beta)
Keyword search for datasets (with accompanying information) hosted in repositories worldwide. - re3data: Registry of Research Data Repositories
A global registry of research data repositories. Searchable in several ways: (1) simple keyword, (2) filter by categories (e.g. metadata standards, researcher-assigned keywords, software, repository types, and more), (3) browse by subject, (4) browse by content type, and (5) browse by country.
