Data sources by subject area:
Other guides related to research data:
More Data Resources:
- GIS & Digital Mapping Sarah Watson's introductory guide offering resources for projects involving GIS, digital mapping, and geospatial technologies.
- ICPSR: In-Depth Research Guide Margie Ruppel's detailed guide to ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research): a data resource for University of Kentucky faculty, students and staff.
- Research Data Services at UK UK Libraries' guide on Resources and information to help you get started with data management, data preservation, and data sharing.
Research Methods & Protocols
- Research Methods & Protocols Guide covers research methods, research design, statistical methods, research ethics and research protocols for a vast range of disciplines.
Research & Teaching Resources:
- Open Educational Resources Adrian Ho's guide about UK Libraries' Alternative Textbook Program. It also provides an overview of free online peer-reviewed textbooks and offers assistance with finding and adapting them for courses.
- Publishing, Research, & Scholarly Communication Adrian Ho's guide on resources supporting the research process. Brings together apps, data tools, library collections, and scholarly communication resources.
- Resources & Support for Digital Scholarship Jennifer Hootman's guide with broad coverage of technologies, methodologies, resources, and scholarship in the digital humanities
Interactive Visualizations
- GapminderInteractive visualizations of worldwide economic and health data.
- Patchwork NationInteractive map-based visualization of U.S. county data for all 50 states for population, economy, politics, lifestyle, and nature.
- UNHCHR's Status of Ratification International Dashboard:From United Nations High Commissioner of Human Rights. This interactive visualization tool shows the status of countries' ratification of 18 international human rights treaties is shown at-a-glance on a world map, based on the treaties selected from menu.
Data Visualization -- Library Resources (starter list):
Data Visualization : principles and practice by
Designing a complete visualization system involves many subtle decisions. When designing a complex, real-world visualization system, such decisions involve many types of constraints, such as performance, platform (in)dependence, available programming languages and styles, user-interface toolkits, input/output data format constraints, integration with third-party code, and more. Focusing on those techniques and methods with the broadest applicability across fields, the second edition of Data Visualization: Principles and Practiceprovides a streamlined introduction to various visualization techniques. The book illustrates a wide variety of applications of data visualizations, illustrating the range of problems that can be tackled by such methods, and emphasizes the strong connections between visualization and related disciplines such as imaging and computer graphics. It covers a wide range of sub-topics in data visualization: data representation; visualization of scalar, vector, tensor, and volumetric data; image processing and domain modeling techniques; and information visualization. See What's New in the Second Edition: Additional visualization algorithms and techniques New examples of combined techniques for diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) visualization, illustrative fiber track rendering, and fiber bundling techniques Additional techniques for point-cloud reconstruction Additional advanced image segmentation algorithms Several important software systems and libraries Algorithmic and software design issues are illustrated throughout by (pseudo)code fragments written in the C++ programming language. Exercises covering the topics discussed in the book, as well as datasets and source code, are also provided as additional online resources. a representation; visualization of scalar, vector, tensor, and volumetric data; image processing and domain modeling techniques; and information visualization. See What's New in the Second Edition: Additional visualization algorithms and techniques New examples of combined techniques for diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) visualization, illustrative fiber track rendering, and fiber bundling techniques Additional techniques for point-cloud reconstruction Additional advanced image segmentation algorithms Several important software systems and libraries Algorithmic and software design issues are illustrated throughout by (pseudo)code fragments written in the C++ programming language. Exercises covering the topics discussed in the book, as well as datasets and source code, are also provided as additional online resources. vided as additional online resources.
Call Number: Design Library Book Stacks T385 .T452 2015ISBN: 9781466585263Publication Date: 2015
Data Visualization and Statistical Literacy for Open and Big Data by
Data visualization has emerged as a serious scholarly topic, and a wide range of tools have recently been developed at an accelerated pace to aid in this research area. Examining different ways of analyzing big data can result in increased efficiency for many corporations and organizations. Data Visualization and Statistical Literacy for Open and Big Data highlights methodological developments in the way that data analytics is both learned and taught. Featuring extensive coverage on emerging relevant topics such as data complexity, statistics education, and curriculum development, this publication is geared toward teachers, academicians, students, engineers, professionals, and researchers that are interested in expanding their knowledge of data examination and analysis.
Call Number: Online access -- ebookISBN: 9781522525134Publication Date: 2017
The Visual Organization : data visualization, big data, and the quest for better decisions by
The era of Big Data as arrived, and most organizations are woefully unprepared. Slowly, many are discovering that stalwarts like Excel spreadsheets, KPIs, standard reports, and even traditional business intelligence tools aren't sufficient. These old standbys can't begin to handle today's increasing streams, volumes, and types of data. Amidst all of the chaos, though, a new type of organization is emerging. In The Visual Organization, award-winning author and technology expert Phil Simon looks at how an increasingly number of organizations are embracing new dataviz tools and, more important, a new mind-set based upon data discovery and exploration. Simon adroitly shows how Amazon, Apple, Facebook, Google, Twitter, and other tech heavyweights use powerful data visualization tools to garner fascinating insights into their businesses. But make no mistake: these companies are hardly alone. Organizations of all types, industries, sizes are representing their data in new and amazing ways. As a result, they are asking better questions and making better business decisions. Rife with real-world examples and case studies, The Visual Organization is a full-color tour-de-force.
Call Number: Online access -- ebookISBN: 1118858417Publication Date: 2014
Visualization Software -- Library Resources (starter list):
High impact data visualization in Excel with Power View, 3D maps, get & transform and power BI by
Take business intelligence delivery to a new level that is interactive, engaging, even fun, all while driving commercial success through sound decision making. Do this through the power of visualization using this updated edition covering new features and added support for visualization in Excel 2016, and describing the latest developments in Get & Transform and DAX. The example data set has also been updated to demonstrate all that Microsoft's self-service business intelligence suite is now capable of. High Impact Data Visualization in Excel with Power View, 3D Maps, Get & Transform and Power BI, 2nd Edition helps in harnessing the power of Microsoft’s flagship, self-service business intelligence suite to deliver compelling and interactive insight with remarkable ease. Learn the essential techniques needed to enhance the look and feel of reports and dashboards so that you can seize your audience’s attention and provide them with clear and accurate information. Also learn to integrate data from a variety of sources and create coherent data models displaying clear metrics and attributes. Power View is Microsoft's ground-breaking tool for ad-hoc data visualization and analysis. It's designed to produce elegant and visually arresting output. It's also built to enhance user experience through polished interactivity. Power Map is a similarly powerful mechanism for analyzing data across geographic and political units. Get & Transform lets you load, shape and streamline data from multiple sources. Power Pivot can extend and develop data into a dynamic model. Power BI allows you to share your findings with colleagues, and present your insights to clients. High Impact Data Visualization in Excel with Power View, 3D Maps, Get & Transform and Power BI, 2nd Edition helps you master this suite of powerful tools from Microsoft. You'll learn to identify data sources, and to save time by preparing your underlying data correctly. You'll also learn to deliver your powerful visualizations and analyses through the cloud to PCs, tablets and smartphones. Simple techniques take raw data and convert it into information. Slicing and dicing metrics delivers interactive insight. Visually arresting output grabs and focuses attention on key indicators. What You Will Learn Produce designer output that will astound your bosses and peers. Drive business intelligence from Excel using BI in the Cloud. Gather source data from corporate and public sources. Integrate charts, maps, and tables to deliver visually stunning information. Discover new insights as you chop and tweak your data as never before. Adapt delivery to mobile devices. Outshine competing products and enhance existing skills. Who This Book Is For Any Power BI Desktop, Excel or SharePoint user. Business Intelligence developers, power users, IT managers, finance experts, and more can use this book to outshine the competition by producing high-impact business intelligence reporting on a variety of devices from a variety of sources.
Call Number: Online access -- ebookISBN: 1484224000Publication Date: 2016
Jumpstart Tableau by
Learn how to create powerful data visualizations easily and quickly. You will develop reports and queries, and perform data analysis. Jumpstart Tableau covers the basic reporting and analysis functions that most BI users perform in their day-to-day work. These include connecting to a data source, working with dimensions and measures, developing reports and charts, saving workbooks, filtering, swapping, sorting, formatting, grouping, creating hierarchies, forecasting, exporting, distributing, as well developing various chart types. Each exercise in Jumpstart Tableau provides screenshots that cover every step from start to finish. The exercises are based on a comprehensive sample Excel-based data source that Tableau Software (version 9) has provided, which makes it very easy to duplicate the exercises on the real software. This book teaches you to: Execute each function in a step-by-step manner Work up to more advanced and complex Tableau functionality Integrate individual development of content, such as tables/charts and visualizations., onto a dashboard for an effective presentation What You'll Learn Connect to data sources Develop reports Create visualizations Perform analysis functions (e.g., filtering, drilldown, sorting, grouping, forecasting, etc.) Save visualizations in different formats and distribute them Develop dashboards and their content Who This Book Is For Novice Tableau users, BI end users, as well as developers and business analysts. Also, students in university courses on dashboards and data visualization as well as BI and data analysis can quickly get up to speed with Tableau tools and use them for implementing the hands-on projects associated with these courses.
Call Number: Young Library Books - 5th Floor QA76.9.I52 K43 2016. Also available: ebook edition.ISBN: 9781484219331Publication Date: 2016
SAS Programming and Data Visualization Techniques by
SAS Programming and Data Visualization Techniques: A Power User's Guide brings together a wealth of ideas about strategic and tactical solutions to everyday situations experienced when transferring, extracting, processing, analyzing, and reporting the valuable data you have at your fingertips. Best, you can achieve most of the solutions using the SAS components you already license, meaning that this book's insights can keep you from throwing money at problems needlessly. Author Philip R. Holland advises a broad range of clients throughout Europe and the United States as an independent consultant and founder of Holland Numerics Ltd, a SAS technical consultancy. In this book he explains techniques--through code samples and example--that will enable you to increase your knowledge of all aspects of SAS programming, improve your coding productivity, and interface SAS with other programs. He also provides an expert's overview of Graph Templates, which was recently moved into Base SAS. You will learn to create attractive, standardized, reusable, and platform-independent graphs--both statistical and non-statistical--to help you and your business users explore, visualize, and capitalize on your company's data. In addition, you will find many examples and cases pertaining to healthcare, finance, retail, and other industries. Among other things, SAS Programming and Data Visualization Techniques will show you how to: Write efficient and reus able SAS code Combine look-up data sets with larger data sets effectively Run R and Perl from SAS Run SAS programs from SAS Studio and Enterprise Guide Output data into insightful, valuable charts and graphs SAS Programming and Data Visualization Techniques prepares you to make better use of your existing SAS components by learning to use the newest features, improve your coding efficiency, help you develop applications that are easier to maintain, and make data analysis easier. In other words, it will save you time, money, and effort--and make you a more valuable member of the development team. What You'll Learn How to write more efficient SAS code--either code that runs quicker, code that is easier to maintain, or both How to do more with the SAS components you already license How to take advantage of the newest features in SAS How to interface external applications with SAS software How to create graphs using SAS ODS Graphics Who This Book Is For SAS programmers wanting to improve their existing programming skills, and programming managers wanting to make better use of the SAS software they already license.
Call Number: Science & Engineering Library Book Stacks QA76.9.I52 H65 2015ISBN: 9781484205693Publication Date: 2015
Data Visualization Tools available on Campus
Campus users: Please visit our campus software page or contact UKITS about the below-listed software.
- TableauVisualization software: Create charts, graphs, maps, and many other graphics. Desktop and web-based versions.
- ArcGISGIS visualization tool for mapping and spatial reasoning to help explore data and share location-based insights.
- SASPowerful data analysis software with built-in visualization tools.
- SPSS : IBM SPSS StatisticsStatistical software with built-in visualization tools.
Additional Data Visualization Tools
- ChartBlocksOnline interactive visualization tool for importing data and creating charts which can be customized, shared, and embedded. A free version with basic features is available.
- DatawrapperInteractive tool for creating a wide variety of charts and maps. Designed "by journalists for journalists". A free version with basic features is available.
- GephiOpen-source and free visualization and exploration software for all kinds of graphs and networks.
- Google ChartsFree interactive tool for creating customizable data charts. Compatible with Android, IOS, and across browsers.
- InfogramInteractive online visualization tool for creating charts, maps, graphics, and dashboards. A free version with basic features is available.
- RAWFree interactive visualization tool. "The missing link between spreadsheets and vector graphics" (RAW / high-resolution data visualizations).
Text Visualization Tools
World cloud tools:
Visually illustrate the relative frequency of words in a text.
Visually illustrate the relative frequency of words in a text.
- Word ArtInteractive world-cloud maker with many shapes and styles, including whimsical designs.
- Wordclouds.comInteractive word-cloud tool, with a variety of color themes, shape outlines, and background color configurations.