It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Poem; 87 pages. Poems containing the memories, reflections, and whimsy of a monk long practiced in the stark details of the monastic life open up the interior world of the monks and give insight into its importance. The religious habit, the hood, and the scapular are viewed from within by one who moves about in a habit and makes sense of it in some individual and unpredictable ways.
Poems; 60 pages. This collection of 29 poems tenderly weaves a rich tapestry of emotion and devotion. Quenon's evocative poetry explores dreams, memories, and his life in a monastery. Vivid and rich in imagery, this poetry gives voice to the soul.
Poems; 171 pages. Before In Praise of the Useless Life: A Monk's Memoir, Paul Quenon gave us Unquiet Vigil. What might briefly tumble through a monks mind, or be hard chiseled over a span of years, what might be gleaned while ranging high along the Kentucky knobs, or what quietly emerges while sitting in the dark before dawn--these are the inner and outer landscapes of the religious poems found in Unquiet Vigil. From nocturnal Vigils to close listening to the liturgy of crickets, these are litanies of love and life, work, patience, and prayer. These poems are collected from over two decades of writing, and seasoned with the savor of five decades of living a monastic life.
The poems and reflections in The Art of Pausing: Meditations for the Overworked and Overwhelmed are the work of three writers who inhabit very different worlds. But for each, the reading and writing of haiku is an essential spiritual practice. Bother Paul Quenon is a Trappist monk of the Abbey of Gethsemane who studied under the great spiritual writer, Thomas Merton. Brother Paul writes from the confines of a cloister and with the boundlessness of one who has spent a lifetime contemplating what really matters. He is the author of four books of poetry and a talented photographer. His images accompany many of the poems and reflections in this book. Michael Bever is a retired educator, a doctor of theology and an ordained Disciples of Christ minister who was drawn later in life to Catholic traditions. He combines Zen and Sufi practices with his Christian heritage. Judy Valente is a broadcast journalist who covers religion news for PBS-TV and the author of two poetry collections and a book on contemporary monastic life. As a retreat leader, she helps busy professionals slow down, find more balance, and tap into the transcendence of the everyday. The Art of Pausing is built upon haiku by one of the three authors, all Christians, inspired by the ninety-nine names of God found in the Koran. Each haiku is accompanied by a reflections by the same author or an abstract photo of nature by Brother Paul. This book is for anyone who loves beauty, has a penchant for reflection, yet feels overworked and overwhelmed.
Poems; 86 pages. Inspired by the work of Emily Dickinson, American monk Brother Paul Quenon composed his latest poetry collection, Afternoons with Emily. The pieces are often contemplative and speak to the joys of the outdoors as well as monastic life, but also often overflow with humour and a whimsical sensibility.
Poems; 93 pages. After 60 years at Gethsemani Abbey, Br. Paul follows up his recent memoir, In Praise of the Useless Life, with a poetic collection that shows how to do just that - by writing poetry. Amounting to Nothing is both practical and metaphysical, a puzzling over the ultimate things of life, and a descending on the Benedictine ladder of humility to the earthly creatures surrounding a Kentucky monastery. This is less an exploration in self-knowledge than a forgetting of self in the wonders of everything. Quenon treads bare footed on the margins of mortality and immortality, with wit, thought, and hope.
Poems; 93 pages. Bells of the Hours speaks with authentic art out of a well-seasoned experience of the daily monastic life. It bears the authority of more than 50 years of practice, prayer, and reading from a disciplined and ascetic life in a Trappist monastery. Silence, listening, and reflection fill these words, which surprise and refresh the mind interested in ground-level views of a monastery and the distinctive round of work, song, and joy that takes place there.
Winner of two 2019 Catholic Press Association Awards: Memoir (First Place) and Cover Design (Second Place). Monastic life and its counter-cultural wisdom come alive in the stories and lessons of Br. Paul Quenon, O.C.S.O., during his more than five decades as a Trappist at the Abbey of Gethsemani. He served as a novice under Thomas Merton and he also welcomed some of the monastery's more well-known visitors, including Sr. Helen Prejean and Seamus Heaney, to Merton's hermitage. In Praise of the Useless Life includes Quenon's quiet reflections on what it means to live each day with careful attentiveness. The humble peace and simplicity of the monastery and of Quenon's daily life are beautifully portrayed in this memoir. Whether it be through the daily routine of the monastery, his love of the outdoors no matter the season, or his lively and interesting conversations with visitors (reciting Emily Dickinson with Pico Iyer, discussing Merton and poetry with Czeslaw Milosz), Quenon's gentle musings display his love for the beauty in his vocation and the people he's encountered along the way. Inspired by his novice master Merton, the poet and photographer's stories remind us that the beauty of life can best be seen in the "uselessness" of daily life--having a quiet chat with a friend, spending time in contemplation--in our vocations, and in the memories we make along the way.
To understand the life and thought of Thomas Merton, one must understand him as a monk. After introducing his vocation and entrance into the Trappist order, this book highlights some of his basic spiritual presuppositions. Relying primarily on Merton's writing, Bonnie B. Thurston surveys his thought on fundamental aspects of monastic formation and spirituality, particularly obedience, silence, solitude, and prayer. She also addresses some of the temptations and popular misunderstandings surrounding monastic life. Accessible and conversational in style, the book suggests how monastic spirituality is relevant, not only for all Christians, but also for serious spiritual seekers.
A volume of inspiring and thought-provoking poetry, this anthology contains writings inspired by monastic life. Filled with unique and holy individuals, such as Saint Marina--who, disguised as a monk, was accused of fathering a child--and Prioress Czeslaw Milosz--who, before entering the Benedictines, had been an actress--this collection will appeal to those wishing to deepen their spiritual life and insight.
Within the covers of Smaller Than God: words of spiritual longing, readers will find what we don't often come to expect from works of spiritual contemplation. These poems and prose pieces are rich in irony, full of mischief and celebratory works with a deep sense of play. Smaller Than God is anything but solemn. These works take us to sky church where heaven begins on the ground and we find the possibility of the spiritual atheist as friend to the devout believer. This book will include a previously unpublished posthumous poem by the famous Trappist monk, Thomas Merton. There is also new work by much-celebrated and well-established authors Margaret Avison and James Reaney, as well as work of younger upcoming and exciting new voices.
VHS video recording; 87 minutes. Dr. Wade Hall interviews five Trappist monks who lived with Thomas Merton at the Abbey of Gethsemani and share their memories of Merton. Recorded December 10, 1995 at Bellarmine College, Louisville, Kentucky.
Banana lovers rejoice! Here is a feast of mouth-watering recipes for your favorite fruit, from breakfast to main dishes to desserts: Crisp-fried plantain chips dipped in fiery pepper sauce. Sea bass fillets grilled in aromatic banana leaves. Caramelized banana cream pie. Healthful smoothies, hearty vegetarian meals, cool banana cocktails, and, yes, the ultimate banana bread, studded with chunks of dark chocolate. Packaged in its own distinctive wrapper, the yellow banana is as good for you as it is good to eat. And its relatives are equally nutritious and delicious: plantains, baby bananas, peach-fleshed red bananas, and exotic manzanos (tasting of apples and strawberries). Filled with fascinating banana lore, Go Bananas!offers 150 imaginative recipes for the banana and its cousins. You're certain to "go bananas" over this banan-za of a cookbook.
Presents recipes that emphasize fresh, high-quality ingredients and easy cooking methods to create international specialties, including perfect grilled steak, cumin chicken with spicy black beans, and root vegetable soup.
Hardworking. Loyal. Outspoken. Ahead of their time. Hilarious. The "Fancy Frosters" of Charleston, West Virginia, were a close-knit and devoted circle - a merry band of Southern women who got together once a month to swap recipes and stories, to cook and bake together, to celebrate friendship and have some hearty laughs... and of course to eat. Food editor and cookbook author Susie Quick's mother Emma was a member of this very special circle of sisters, aunts, cousins, and friends. Susie grew up to be a sophisticated "foodie," but she never forgot the great homemade desserts and ingenious creativity of these talented and delightful home cooks. The Cake Club collects their most prized recipes for southern desserts, along with those of Susie's other colorful friends and relatives - all presented with their original homespun flair combined with the author's modern simplicity and style. The book includes seventy-five recipes for cakes, pies, cobblers, crumbles, cookies, candies, and other treats, plus a chapter of "Lady Food" that's sure to make a lady out of any cook.From the very first recipe ("Funeral Cake") to Brown Sugar Pound Cake, Tunnel of Love Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake, Blackberry Bread Pudding, Emma's Molasses Crinkles, Minnie Pearl's Chess Pie, and the other treasured creations in this book, The Cake Club will entertain, inspire, and bring back memories of an earlier era. With stories like "A Good Man Really is Hard to Find" and "Driving Miss Minnie," photographs, and voices from several generations, this unique and delightful cookbook pays tribute to the healing power of friendship, shared recipes, and a delicious piece of cake.