It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A history of Kentucky's poets laureate since 1926. Contains works by J.T. Cotton Noe, Edward Gay Hill, Louise Scott Phillips, Edwin Carlisle Litsey, Jesse Hilton Stuart, Lowell Allen Williams, Lillian D. Chaffin, Senator Tom Mobley, Agnes Todd Saffell O'Rear, Clarence "Soc" Henry Clay, Lee Pennington, Paul Salyers, Dale Faughn, Jim Wayne Miller, Henry E. Pilkenton, James H. Patton, James Still, Joy Bale Boone, Richard Lawrence Taylor, James Baker Hall and Joe Survant.
Tony's Tiny Arms is the charming story of a little boy, a little girl, their pet mouse, and their numerous dinosaur friends. Moreover, the story presents an invaluable life lesson: everyone and everything is different for a reason. In the case of this particular story, we learn of all the reasons why our dinosaur companions are so unique in their own way. Some are shorter; some are taller. Some can fly; some have horns. What's important is that we find ways to stick out and use our distinct differences to our advantage to be the best person (or dinosaur) we can be.
Kitchens serve as more than a place to prepare food; they are cornerstones of the home and family. Just as memories are passed down through stories shared around the stove, recipes preserve traditions and customs for future generations. The rich, diverse heritage of Kentucky's culinary traditions offers a unique way to better understand and appreciate the history of the commonwealth. The Historic Kentucky Kitchen assembles more than one hundred dishes from nineteenth and twentieth-century Kentucky cooks. Deirdre A. Scaggs and Andrew W. McGraw collected recipes from handwritten books, diaries, scrapbook clippings, and out-of-print cookbooks from the University of Kentucky Libraries Special Collections to bring together a variety of classic dishes, complete with descriptions of each recipe's origin and helpful tips for the modern chef. The authors, who carefully tested each dish, provide recipe modifications and substitutions for rare and hard-to-find ingredients. This entertaining cookbook also serves up famous Kentuckians' favorite dishes, such as John Sherman Cooper's preferred comfort food (eggs somerset) and Lucy Hayes Breckinridge's "excellent" fried oysters. The recipes are flavored with humorous details such as "[for] those who thought they could not eat parsnips" and "Granny used to beat 'em [biscuits] with a musket." Accented with historic photographs and featuring traditional meals ranging from skillet cakes to spaghetti with celery and ham, The Historic Kentucky Kitchen presents a novel and tasty way to experience the history of the Bluegrass State.
In 1880, forty-three women walked into the president's office at the University of Kentucky (UK) and signed the student register, becoming the first female students at a public college in the commonwealth. But gaining admittance was only the beginning. For the next sixty-five years -- encompassing two world wars, an economic depression, and the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment -- generations of women at UK claimed and reclaimed their right to an equitable university experience. Their work remains unfinished. Drawing on yearbooks, photographs, and other private collections, Our Rightful Place: A History of Women at the University of Kentucky, 1880--1945 examines the struggle for gender equity in higher education through the lens of one major institution. In the face of shifting resistance, pioneering women constructed opportunities for themselves. Terry L. Birdwhistell and Deirdre A. Scaggs highlight three women -- Sarah Blanding, Frances Jewell McVey, and Sarah Bennett Holmes -- who fought for access to basic facilities that were denied to UK women for decades, including housing and study spaces. By examining the trials and triumphs of UK's first female undergraduates, faculty, and administrators, this book uncovers the lasting impact women had on higher learning in the early days of coeducation.
Images of America: Women in Lexington is a celebration of Kentucky women at work, in the home, at play, in society, and as part of the larger fabric of women's equality. Women in Lexington were active during World War II: they fought for women's rights, experienced changes within the family, and took advantage of or created new opportunities in the workplace. The 200 vintage photographs featured in this volume were drawn from collections housed in the archive of the University of Kentucky. With nearly 2 million photographs, the collections offer unparalleled coverage of the cultural, social, agricultural, and industrial changes that have shaped Lexington and Central Kentucky.
Juvenile fiction; 491 pages.. Treasure in the tropics originally presented as a radio drama, broadcast three times a week February 7, 1933 to April 1, 1933. The boat house boys originally published serially over ten issues, December 1922 to September 1923.
Maps on lining papers.
Seckatary Hawkins and his club have crossed this dangerous lad, and (to make matters worse) Briggen and the Pelham gang across the river won't leave the ruthless thief alone: They know that he's hidden his treasure hoard somewhere in his cliff cave lair, and they're dead set on having it for themselves.
Trilogy Four. Each story has a separate title page. Originally published as newspaper serials. Maps on lining papers. Stories: The Nip and Tuck gang (January 28, 1940 to March 24, 1940); Related stories (March 3, 1940 to May 5, 1940); The gang of Usher, or, "The far away voice" (August 9, 1941 to April 26, 1941).
Poet, social justice advocate, and theologian Thomas Merton (1915--1968) is arguably the most influential American Catholic author of the twentieth century. In his short lifetime, he penned over seventy books and maintained a brisk correspondence with colleagues around the globe. However, many Merton scholars and fans remain unaware of the significant body of letters that were exchanged between the Trappist monk and Victor and Carolyn Hammer. Unable to leave his home at the Abbey of Gethsemani except on special occasions, Merton developed a unique friendship with this couple from nearby Lexington, Kentucky. Carolyn, who supplied Merton with many of the books he required for his writing and teaching, was a founder of the King Library Press at the University of Kentucky. Victor was an accomplished painter, sculptor, printer, and architect. The friendship and collaborations between Merton and the Hammers reveal their shared interest in the convergence of art, literature, and spirituality. In this volume, editors F. Douglas Scutchfield and Paul Evans Holbrook Jr. have collected the trio's complete correspondence for the first time. Their letters, arranged chronologically, vividly demonstrate a blossoming intellectual camaraderie and provide a unique opportunity to understand Merton's evolving philosophies. At times humorous, often profound, the letters in this volume shed light on a rare friendship and offer new insights into the creative intellect of Thomas Merton.
Pre-test questions; 213 pages. Seventh edition. Provides medical students with an instrument for self-assessment within the speciality of preventative medicine and public health. It contains 500 questions, each accompanied by an answer, a paragraph-length explanation, and a specific page reference to either an article, a textbook or both.
72 pages. Contents: A deepening dilemma? -- Trends influencing access to health care -- The impact of government initiatives on Kentucky's health care system -- Leadership perspectives on the future of health care -- What works: private and public initiatives to improve access to health services -- Prescriptions for change.
An extensive, in-depth look at public health and preventive medicine topics from experts in the field This trusted one-stop resource is a completely up-to-date, all-in-one public health and preventive medicine guide. Sponsored by the Association of Teachers of Preventive Medicine and edited and written by well-respected authorities in the range of topics covered, Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine is also an outstanding guide to additional resources of information in preparing for the board exam in preventative medicine and public health. The new edition of Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine has been completely updated to encompass many new diseases, conditions, and policy issues that continue to dramatically shape-and expand the influence of-public health and preventive medicine. New to this Edition: Important coverage of new diseases, conditions, and policy issues, including critical lessons learned from the SARS epidemic, the most recent perspectives on monkey pox, plus an increased emphasis on West Nile Virus Restructured infectious and communicable disease section that reflects the emergence of many emerging and recrudescent conditions Greater focus on existing web-based resources for further reading New information on community-based participatory research Timely new chapter on bioterrorism and preparedness Additional insights on the amelioration of disease-producing lifestyles Research-enhancing lists and catalogs based on federal and other public access databases that are relevant to public health and prevention More streamlined coverage of chemical exposures and diseases overall Essentials of the public health service delivery infrastructure
Appalachian Health explores major challenges and opportunities for promoting the health and well-being of the people of Appalachia, a historically underserved population. It considers health's intersection with social, political, and economic factors to shed light on the trends affecting mortality and morbidity among the region's residents. Editors F. Douglas Scutchfield and Randy Wykoff have assembled high-profile experts working in academia, public health, and government to offer perspectives on a wide range of topics including health behaviors, environmental justice, and pandemic preparedness. This volume also provides updated data on issues such as opioid abuse, "deaths of despair," and the social determinants of health. Together, the contributors illuminate the complex health status of the region and offer evidence-based programs for addressing the health problems that have been identified.
"Public health" refers to the management and prevention of disease within a population by promoting healthy behaviors and environments in an effort to create a higher standard of living. In this comprehensive volume, editor James W. Holsinger Jr. and an esteemed group of scholars and practitioners offer a concise overview of this burgeoning field, emphasizing that the need for effective services has never been greater. Designed as a supplemental text for introductory courses in public health practice at the undergraduate and graduate levels, Contemporary Public Health provides historical background that contextualizes the current state of the field and explores the major issues practitioners face today. It addresses essential topics such as the social and ecological determinants of health and their impact on practice, marginalized populations, the role of community-oriented primary care, the importance of services and systems research, accreditation, and the organizational landscape of the American public health system. Finally, it examines international public health and explores the potential of systems based on multilevel partnerships of government, academic, and nonprofit organizations. With fresh historical and methodological analyses conducted by an impressive group of distinguished authors, this text is an essential resource for practitioners, health advocates, and students.
This state-of-the-art book describes the characteristics of local, state and federal public health agencies. All aspects of public health information are discussed in this book, including history, legal issues, delivery of core services like data management and disease control as well as tools required to practice public health services, such as leadership and budgeting. This book is essential for anyone involved in the development of public health systems today and into the future.
Curated by the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, University of Kentucky Libraries; part of the Development of Health Insurance in the United States Oral History Project. Summary: "In this interview, Dr. Scutchfield discusses his career as a physician, researcher, and professor. He talks about his experiences and opinions concerning health insurance in the United states, and particularly Kentucky. He also talks about changes caused by the Affordable Care Act (Obama-care) and the possible directions for future health care policy."
Curated by the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, University of Kentucky Libraries; part of the Health Care Advocates in Eastern Kentucky Oral History Project. Summary: "In this interview, Dr. Scutchfield describes his experience growing up in Eastern Kentucky and his contributions to the region. Dr. Scutchfield talks about his many roles in working for different universities for the better good of rural health and he even touches on a new book he has coming out. Finally, he also added in his creation of 3 different colleges of public health around the country."