Browse A-Z Authors: Th-Tm

The latest book in the Core Concepts in Higher Education series brings to life issues of governance, organization, teaching and learning, student life, faculty, finances, college sports, public policy, fundraising, and innovations in higher education today. Written by renowned author John R. Thelin, each chapter bridges research, theory, and practice and discusses a range of institutions - including the often overlooked for-profits, community colleges, and minority serving institutions. A blend of stories and analysis, this exciting new book challenges present and future higher education practitioners to be informed and active participants, capable of improving their institutions.

History; 90 pages.

The thoroughly updated second edition of this dynamic and thoughtful collection focuses on the issues that have shaped American higher education in the past decade. Essential Documents in the History of American Higher Education, designed to be used alongside John R. Thelin's A History of American Higher Education or on its own, presents a rich collection of primary sources that chart the social, intellectual, political, and cultural history of American colleges and universities from the seventeenth century to the present. The documents are organized in sections that parallel the chapters in A History both chronologically and thematically, and sections are introduced with brief headnotes establishing the context for each source. This updated edition of Essential Documents focuses on the issues that have shaped American higher education in the past decade, from congressional investigations into endowments and court cases about paying student-athletes to accounts of campus protests over racial discrimination and adjuncts struggling in the "gig economy." From the successful fund-raising campaigns of 2014 to the closing of campuses because of the COVID-19 pandemic of 2020, the book also includes * a new tenth chapter, "Prominence and Problems: American Higher Education since 2010," and an updated introduction; * a number of landmark documents, including the charter for the College of Rhode Island (1764), the Morrill Land Grand Act (1862), the GI Bill (1944), and the Knight Commission Report on College Sports (2010); and * lively firsthand accounts by students and teachers that tell what it was like to be a Harvard student in the 1700s, to participate in the campus riots of the 1960s, to be a female college athlete in the 1970s, or to enroll at UCLA as an economically disadvantaged Latina in the 1990s. Thelin even stretches the usual bounds of documentary sources, incorporating popular pieces by Robert Benchley and James Thurber on their own college days as well as an excerpt from Groucho Marx's screwball film Horse Feathers. What emerges is a complex and nuanced collection that reflects the richness of more than three centuries of American higher education.

Featuring a new introduction by the author, the paperback edition of Games Colleges Play chronicles the history of intercollegiate athletics from 1910 to 1990. Featuring a new introduction by the author, the paperback edition of Games Colleges Play chronicles the history of intercollegiate athletics from 1910 to 1990--from the early, glory days of Knute Rockne and the Gipper to the modern era of big budgets, powerful coaches, and pampered players. John Thelin describes how sports programs--although seldom accorded official mention with teaching and research in the university mission statement--have become central to university life. As administrators search for a proper balance between athletics and academics, Thelin observes, this peculiar institution grows increasingly powerful and controversial. Thelin examines the 1929 Carnegie Foundation Report, the formation of major athletic conferences, the national college basketball scandals after World War II, the dissolution of the Pacific Coast Conference in the 1950s, and the Knight Foundation Report of 1991. He finds disturbing patterns of abuse and limited reform and explores the implications of these patterns for today's college presidents, faculty, and students. Games Colleges Play provides historical background that will inform current policy discussions about the proper place of intercollegiate athletics within the American university.

The 1960s was the most transformative decade in the history of American higher education--but not for the reasons you might think. Picture going to college in the sixties: the protests and marches, the teach-ins and sit-ins, the drugs, sex, and rock 'n' roll--hip, electric, psychedelic. Not so fast, says bestselling historian John R. Thelin. Even at radicalized campuses, volatile student demonstrations coexisted with the "business as usual" of a flagship state university: athletics, fraternities and sororities, and student government. In Going to College in the Sixties, Thelin reinterprets the campus world shaped during one of the most dramatic decades in American history. Reconstructing all phases of the college experience, Thelin explores how students competed for admission, paid for college in an era before Pell Grants, dealt with crowded classes and dormitories, voiced concerns about the curriculum, grappled with new tensions in big-time college sports, and overcame discrimination. Thelin augments his anecdotal experience with a survey of landmark state and federal policies and programs shaping higher education, a chronological look at media coverage of college campuses over the course of the decade, and an account of institutional changes in terms of curricula and administration. Combining student memoirs, campus publications, oral histories, and newsreels, along with archival sources and institutional records, the book goes beyond facile stereotypes about going to school in the sixties. Grounded in social and political history, with a scope that will appeal both to a new generation of scholars and to alumni of the era, this engaging book allows readers to consider "going to college" in both the past and the present.

History; 215 pages.

Colleges and universities are among the most cherished institutions in American society - and also among the most controversial. Yet affirmative action and skyrocketing tuition are only the most recent dissonant issues to emerge. Recounting the many crises and triumphs in the long history of American higher education, historian John Thelin provides welcome perspective on this influential aspect of American life. engaging account of the origins and evolution of America's public and private colleges and universities, emphasizing the notion of saga - the proposition that institutions are heirs to numerous historical strands and numerous attempts to address such volatile topics as institutional cost and effectiveness, admissions and access, and the character of the curriculum. Thelin draws on both official institutional histories and the informal memories that constitute legends and lore to offer a fresh interpretation of an institutional past that reaches back to the colonial era and encompasses both well-known colleges and universities and such understudied institutions as community, women's, and historically black colleges, proprietary schools, and freestanding professional colleges. struggling to determine what constitutes a legitimate field of study, reminding readers that Harvard once used its medical school as a safe place to admit the sons of wealthy alumni who could not pass the undergraduate college admissions examination and that the University of Pennsylvania once considered the study of history, government, and economics unworthy of addition to the liberal arts curriculum. Thelin also addresses the role of local, state, and federal governments in colleges and universities, as well as the influence of private foundations and other organizations. And through imaginative interpretation of films, novels, and popular magazines, he illuminates the convoluted relationship between higher education and American culture.

Contents: Academics and athletics: probing a precarious balance -- Fiscal fitness? the peculiar economics of intercollegiate athletics -- From education to entertainment: public policy and intercollegiate athletics programs -- Presidential leadership: who's in charge -- Intercollegiate athletics and institutional administration -- Educational mission, academic structure, and intercollegiate athletics policy: recommendations for reform.

Philanthropy and American Higher Education provides higher education professionals, leaders and scholars with a thoughtful, comprehensive introduction to the scope and development of philanthropy and fund raising as part of the essential life and work of colleges and universities in the United States.

Providing a clear, logical guide to an illogical topic, this book provides an easy-to-understand guide for anyone who wants to successfully navigate the labyrinth of going to college--and paying for the experience. 100 years ago, college tuition at prestigious Ivy League colleges such as Harvard and Brown was about $130 per year. Even when adjusted for inflation, today's cost of higher education has increased dramatically--to the point where a college education is shifting further out of reach for many Americans. This book explains the essential concepts in the debate regarding the staggering costs of higher education, supplying ten original essays by higher education policy experts, a lively historical narrative that provides context to current issues, and systematic guides to finding additional sources of information on the subject. Written from a historian's point of view, The Rising Costs of Higher Education: A Reference Handbook explains the economics of higher education in a manner that encourages readers to participate in the discussion on how to control ever-increasing tuition costs. Both college-bound students and parents will come to appreciate how complicated the problem of paying for college is, and grasp the crucial differences between "cost" and "price" in the specific economics of colleges and universities.

Essays, 102 pages. Contents: Small by design: resilience in an era of mass higher education / John R. Thelin -- Serving students well: independence colleges today / Alvin P. Sanoff -- From accreditation to validation: CIC's first half-century / Welch Suggs.

Contents: The role of public policy in higher education in the United States / Francis Keppel -- Is there a federal policy toward higher education? / David W. Breneman -- The demands of diversity / Maxine Greene -- The influence of public policy on the quality of higher education / Gordon K. Davies -- What counts as quality in higher education? / Amy Gutmann -- Higher education quality / Denis P. Doyle -- The goal of diversity / Robert Zemsky -- Barriers to diversity and the myth of equal access / Reginald Wilson -- Improving minority postsecondary outcomes / Alan L. Ginsburg and Maureen A. McLaughlin -- Trends in the federal and state financial commitment to higher education / Arthur M. Hauptman -- Federal support for higher education in the '90s / Terry Hartle -- Improving higher education through increased efficiency / Walter W. McMahon. The education pipeline and public policy / Lawrence E. Gladieux -- Needed : creative policy ideas to resolve the competing claims of quality, diversity, and efficiency in higher education / William J. Byron.

"Thank You, Mr. President." From the woman who has reported on every president from Kennedy to Clinton comes a privileged glimpse into the White House -- and a telling record of the ever-changing relationship between the presidency and the press. Helen Thomas wanted to be a reporter from her earliest years. She turned a copy-aide job at the Washington Daily News into a powerful and successful career spanning thirty-seven years and eight U.S. presidents. Assigned to the White House press corps in 1961. Thomas was the first woman to close a press conference with "Thank you. Mr. President." She was also the first female president of the White House Correspondents Association and the first woman member, later president, of the Gridiron Club. In this revealing memoir, which includes hundreds of anecdotes, observations, and personal details. Thomas looks back on a career spent with presidents at home and abroad, on the ground and in the air. Providing a unique view of the past four decades of presidential history. Front Row at the White House offers a seasoned study of the relationship between the chief executive officer and the press -- a relationship that is sometimes uneasy, sometimes playful, yet always integral to the democratic process. Received the American Book Award, 2000.

In a natural follow-up to her national bestseller Front Row at the White House, the dean of the White House press corps presents a vivid and personal presidential chronicle. Currently a columnist for Hearst and a former White House bureau chief for UPI, Helen Thomas has covered an unprecedented nine presidential administrations, endearing herself with her trademark "Thank you, Mr. President," at the conclusion of White House press conferences. Thomas has amassed many wonderful tales about her personal interactions with and observations of the presidents and their families that can all be found in Thanks for the Memories, Mr. President.I n nine riveting chapters -- one for each administration -- Thomas delights, informs, spins yarns, and offers opinions on the commanders in chief, from Kennedy through George W. Bush. In these accounts, Thomas reveals Kennedy's love of sparring with the press, the unique invitation LBJ extended to Hubert Humphrey to become his running mate, and Reagan's down-home ways of avoiding the press's tougher questions. This book is as entertaining and compelling as Helen Thomas herself.

The Longtime UPI White House correspondent reports on her contacts with and observations of Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford, their families, and their staffs. First published in 1975.

In the course of more than sixty years spent covering Washington politics, Helen Thomas has witnessed firsthand a raft of fundamental changes in the way news is gathered and reported. Today, she sees a growing -- and alarming -- reluctance among reporters to question government spokesmen and probe for the truth. The result has been a wholesale failure by journalists to fulfill what is arguably their most vital role in contemporary American life -- to be the watchdogs of democracy. Here, the legendary journalist and bestselling author delivers a hard-hitting manifesto on the precipitous decline in the quality and ethics of political reportage -- and issues a clarion call for change. Thomas confronts some of the most significant issues of the day and provides readers with rich historical perspective on the roots of American journalism, the circumstances attending the rise and fall of its golden age, and the nature and consequences of its current shortcomings. The book is a powerful, eye-opening discourse on the state of political reportage -- as well as a welcome and inspiring demand for meaningful and lasting reform.

Helen Thomas has covered the administrations of ten presidents in a career spanning nearly sixty years. She is known for her famous press conference closing line, "Thank you, Mr. President," but here she trades deference for directness. Thomas and veteran journalist Craig Crawford hold nothing back as they use former occupants of the White House to provide a witty, history-rich lesson plan of what it takes to be a good president. Combining sharp observation and dozens of examples from the fi rst presidency through the forty-fourth, the authors outline the qualities, attitudes, and political and personal choices that make for the most successful leaders, and the least. Calvin Coolidge, who hired the fi rst professional speechwriter in the White House, illuminates the importance of choosing words wisely. William Howard Taft, notorious for being so fat he broke his White House bathtub, shows how not to cultivate a strong public image. John F. Kennedy, who could handle the press corps and their questions with aplomb, shows how to establish a rapport with the press and open oneself up to the public. Ronald Reagan, who acknowledged the Iran-Contra affair in a television address, demonstrates how telling hard truths can earn forgiveness and even public trust. By gleaning lessons from past leaders, Thomas and Crawford not only highlight those that future presidents should follow but also pinpoint what Americans should look for and expect in their president. Part history lesson, part presidential primer, Listen Up, Mr. President is smart, entertaining, and exceedingly edifying.

A hilarious adventure starring the First Kid. Sam's mom is president. That means he gets to play in the Oval Office (which is pretty cool), but it also means his busy mom has him under constant Secret Service surveillance (which sounds cool, but isn't). So Sam and his best friends, Warren the cat and Leonard the ex-NASA lab rat, hatch a daring plan: They'll bust out of the White House and take a grand tour of their historic hometown. The tour is a blast, until Sam begins to miss his home and family . . . and a kite-flying fiasco lands the trio on the Washington Monument (literally). An effective rescue mission would mean calling in several prominent troops, so it's a good thing the president's been paying attention all along! Perfect for election season, White House is sure to keep readers entertained long after the polls have closed.

Published on the occasion of presentation of the John Peter Zenger Award for Freedom of the Press and the People's Right to Know, to Helen Thomas.

The former White House spokesman for Presidents Reagan and Bush presents his memoirs along with an account of the power of the press and its influence on the presidency in setting the national agenda.

DVD video; approx. 50 minutes. Documentary Film. Originally produced as an episode of the television program Biography in 1998. A biographical sketch of the life of Helen Thomas and how she came to be known as "the first lady of the press."

DVD video; approx. 38 minutes. HBO Documentary Films; director, Rory Kennedy. " ... profiles the iconic journalist, a legend in political reporting, who has covered every president since John F. Kennedy ... Supplemented by clips of Thomas in action, plus archival photos and footage ..."--Container.

DVD video, two discs; approx. 221 minutes. Episodes broadcast individually on ABC TV during 2008. This six-part series, featuring Sir David Attenborough, Dame Elisabeth Murdoch, Isabel Allende, Bob Hawke, Helen Thomas, and Father Des Reid, explores very different lives in search of that undervalued treasure: wisdom.

"My Kentucky Home is a loving tribute to Kentucky told through the profiles of some of its most accomplished individuals. From those who attained celebrity status for their achievements in art, entertainment and sports, to those who worked tirelessly with or without recognition to move Kentucky forward, the book illuminates what has always been the state's greatest aspect, its people."

Master's Thesis from California State University.

Archival Material, housed at the Columbia University in the City of New York. Interviewed by Diane K. Gentry on December 8 and December 9, 2005; and on April 6 and April 7, 2006.

Archival Material. Housed at the Wisconsin Historical Society Archives. Papers of a reporter including clippings, correspondence, reporter's notebooks, press releases, press kits, interview notes, background material, speeches, photographs, financial records, radio spots, columns, articles, wire stories, and tape recordings relating to the major issues on which she reported, such as women's issues, Texas politics, the Kennedy assassination, civil service and welfare reform, labor, and economics. Named persons: Helen Thomas; Nina Totenberg; Judy Woodruff.

268 pages, "with documentary photographs and more than 90 songs (including 23 with music) collected from traditional singers by the author."

Social life and customs; 302 pages.

338 pages; free ebook available through Project Gutenberg.

Musical score; 180 pages.

Biography of Jilson Setters (i. e. James William Day); 242 pages.

Musical score; 113 pages. ""The singin' gatherin''; a fold festival or play in nineteen episodes by Jean Thomas and Joseph A. Leeder"

Autobiography; 275 pages.

Semi-autobiographical fiction; 277 pages.

Master's thesis, University of Louisville; 117 pages.

June 11, 12, & 13, 1971, Carter Caves State Park, Olive Hill, Carter County, Kentucky.

A print copy of The Kentucky Encyclopedia is available in William T. Young Library on the second floor in the Reference Collection.

Growing up next door to his Granny's country store in McCracken County, Kentucky, a very young Bob Thompson had unlimited access to the cold-drink box and shelves of candy. Only later did he realize that the greatest benefit of this arrangement was that his playmates and best friends were all adults who frequented the grocery. As he passed his childhood years on the store's front porch, Thompson internalized the tales and folk traditions conveyed by his grandmother and her customers. These moments allowed him to discover his own passion for storytelling. In Hitchhiker: Stories from the Kentucky Homefront, Thompson offers readers homegrown tales that interweave ghosts of the past with real and imagined worlds. The stories progress from his Tom Sawyer-esque childhood in Western Kentucky through his various incarnations as everything from an incense-burning flower-child hitchhiker to an unrepentant adventurer following the footsteps of Hemingway and the Lost Generation across Europe. This collection brings together coming-of-age tales, family stories of bygone eras, and even true accounts of unsolved murders and mysteries. Hitchhiker is Huckleberry Finn meets The Twilight Zone, with just a taste of The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test. It is a book that will make you wish you'd paid closer attention to your grandparents' and parents' stories and photo albums, that you'd been less cautious and traveled more, that you'd followed your heart and made time to search for your guides and kindred spirits.

When Bob Thompson asked his granny years ago why she continued to create so many of her beautiful quilts, she said it was the only way she could reach across time, touching and giving her descendants her energy. And just like his granny, Thompson's gift of storytelling provides a reverence and buoyancy all its own. This collection combines personal and family experiences to create a patchwork quilt of gripping stories with the comfort of memory. Thompson draws on his mother's seventy years of diaries, handwritten notes, and recipe cards to reveal that every story, no matter how small, has some wisdom to impart. He describes how, as a child, he would pass his days on the front porch of his granny's country store in western Kentucky and listen to regulars swap stories and spin yarns, which cemented his passion for storytelling. His granny's methods of quilting provide an interesting perspective on life: "She never hurried; her stitches were small and even. Fascinated with numbers, I counted as many as eight hundred per square and did the math, sixteen thousand for a twin-bed-sized quilt! When I mentioned that some of Great-Grandmother Brim's quilts had stitches so large that you could get your big toe caught in them, Granny smiled and said, 'It's not the size of the stitches that count, it's the spaces between them.'" Thompson's poignant narratives of community, friends, and family impart the significance of the quiet moments and meaningful spaces between everyday events. In doing so, they demonstrate that there is something to be gained from every human experience.

Gonzo Papers, volume 4. Since his 1972 trailblazing opus, Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail, Hunter S. Thompson has reported the election story in his truly inimitable, just-short-of-libel style. In Better than Sex, Thompson hits the dusty trail again--without leaving home--yet manages to deliver a mind-bending view of the 1992 presidential campaign--in all of its horror, sacrifice, lust, and dubious glory. Complete with faxes sent to and received by candidate Clinton's top aides, and 100 percent pure gonzo screeds on Richard Nixon, George Bush, and Oliver North, here is the most true-blue campaign tell-all ever penned by man or beast. "[Thompson] delivers yet another of his trademark cocktail mixes of unbelievable tales and dark observations about the sausage grind that is the U.S. presidential sweepstakes. Packed with egocentric anecdotes, musings and reprints of memos, faxes and scrawled handwritten notes (Memorable." --Los Angeles Daily News "What endears Hunter Thompson to anyone who reads him is that he will say what others are afraid to. [He] is a master at the unlikely but invariably telling line that sums up a political figure. In a year when all politics is--to much of the public--a tendentious and pompous bore, it is time to read Hunter Thompson." --Richmond Times-Dispatch "While Tom Wolfe mastered the technique of being a fly on the wall, Thompson mastered the art of being a fly in the ointment. He made himself a part of every story, made no apologies for it and thus produced far more honest reporting than any crusading member of the Fourth Estate. Thompson isn't afraid to take the hard medicine, nor is he bashful about dishing it out. He is still king of beasts, and his apocalyptic prophecies seldom miss their target." --Tulsa World "This is a very, very funny book. No one can ever match Thompson in the vitriol department, and virtually nobody escapes his wrath." --The Flint Journal. First published in 1994.

With the same drug-addled alacrity and jaundiced wit that made Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas a hilarious hit, Hunter S. Thompson turns his savage eye and gonzo heart to the repellent and seductive race for President.He deconstructs the 1972 campaigns of idealist George McGovern and political hack Richard Nixon, ending up with a political vision that is eerily prophetic.A classic! First published in 1973.

From the bestselling author of The Rum Diary and king of "Gonzo" journalism Hunter S. Thompson, comes the definitive collection of the journalist's finest work from Rolling Stone. Fear and Loathing at Rolling Stone showcases the roller-coaster of a career at the magazine that was his literary home. "Buy the ticket, take the ride," was a favorite slogan of Hunter S. Thompson, and it pretty much defined both his work and his life. Jann S. Wenner, the outlaw journalist's friend and editor for nearly thirty-five years, has assembled articles--and a wealth of never- before-seen correspondence and internal memos from Hunter's storied tenure at Rolling Stone--that begin with Thompson's infamous run for sheriff of Aspen on the Freak Party ticket in 1970 and end with his final piece on the Bush-Kerry showdown of 2004. In between is Thompson's remarkable coverage of the 1972 presidential campaign and plenty of attention paid to Richard Nixon; encounters with Muhammad Ali, Bill Clinton, and the Super Bowl; and a lengthy excerpt from his acknowledged masterpiece, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. The definitive volume of Hunter S. Thompson's work published in the magazine, Fear and Loathing at Rolling Stone traces the evolution of a personal and professional relationship that helped redefine modern American journalism, presenting Thompson through a new prism as he pursued his lifelong obsession: The life and death of the American Dream.

This cult classic of gonzo journalism is the best chronicle of drug-soaked, addle-brained, rollicking good times ever committed to the printed page. It is also the tale of a long weekend road trip that has gone down in the annals of American pop culture as one of the strangest journeys ever undertaken. Reprint. Originally published in book form: New York : Random House, 1972. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Raoul Duke first appeared in Rolling Stone magazine in 1971.

First published in Rolling Stone magazine in 1971, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is Hunter S. Thompson's savagely comic account of what happened to this country in the 1960s. It is told through the writer's account of an assignment he undertook with his attorney to visit Las Vegas and "check it out." The book stands as the final word on the highs and lows of that decade, one of the defining works of our time, and a stylistic and journalistic tour de force. As Christopher Lehmann-Haupt wrote in The New York Times, it has "a kind of mad, corrosive prose poetry that picks up where Norman Mailer's An American Dream left off and explores what Tom Wolfe left out." This Modern Library edition features Ralph Steadman's original drawings and three companion pieces selected by Dr. Thompson: "Jacket Copy for Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas," "Strange Rumblings in Aztlan," and "The Kentucky Derby Is Decadent and Depraved."

Gonzo Papers, volume 2. Generation of Swine collects hundreds of columns from the infamous journalist's 1980s tenure at the San Francisco Examiner. Here, against a backdrop of late-night tattoo sessions and soldier-of-fortune trade shows, Dr. Thompson is at his apocalyptic best; covering emblematic events such as the 1987-88 presidential campaign, with Vice President George Bush, Sr., fighting for his life against Republican competitors like Alexander Haig, Pat Buchanan, and Pat Robertson; detailing the GOP's obsession with drugs and drug abuse; while at the same time capturing momentous social phenomena as they occurred, like the rise of cable, satellite TV, and CNN 24 hours of mainline news. Showcasing his inimitable talent for social and political analysis, Generation of Swine is vintage Thompson: eerily prescient, incisive, and enduring. First published in 1988.

Gonzo Papers, volume 1. The first volume in Hunter S. Thompson's bestselling Gonzo Papers offers brilliant commentary and outrageous humor, in his signature style. Originally published in 1979, the first volume of the bestselling "Gonzo Papers" is now back in print. The Great Shark Hunt is Dr. Hunter S. Thompson's largest and, arguably, most important work, covering Nixon to napalm, Las Vegas to Watergate, Carter to cocaine. These essays offer brilliant commentary and outrageous humor, in signature Thompson style. Ranging in date from the National Observer days to the era of Rolling Stone, The Great Shark Hunt offers myriad, highly charged entries, including the first Hunter S. Thompson piece to be dubbed "gonzo"--"The Kentucky Derby Is Decadent and Depraved," which appeared in Scanlan's Monthly in 1970. From this essay a new journalistic movement sprang which would change the shape of American letters. Thompson's razor-sharp insight and crystal clarity capture the crazy, hypocritical, degenerate, and redeeming aspects of the explosive and colorful '60s and '70s.

Gonzo journalist and literary roustabout Hunter S. Thompson flies with the angels--Hell's Angels, that is--in this short work of nonfiction. "California, Labor Day weekend . . . early, with ocean fog still in the streets, outlaw motorcyclists wearing chains, shades and greasy Levis roll out from damp garages, all-night diners and cast-off one-night pads in Frisco, Hollywood, Berdoo and East Oakland, heading for the Monterey peninsula, north of Big Sur. . . The Menace is loose again." Thus begins Hunter S. Thompson's vivid account of his experiences with California's most notorious motorcycle gang, the Hell's Angels. In the mid-1960s, Thompson spent almost two years living with the controversial Angels, cycling up and down the coast, reveling in the anarchic spirit of their clan, and, as befits their name, raising hell. His book successfully captures a singular moment in American history, when the biker lifestyle was first defined, and when such countercultural movements were electrifying and horrifying America. Thompson, the creator of Gonzo journalism, writes with his usual bravado, energy, and brutal honesty, and with a nuanced and incisive eye; as The New Yorker pointed out, "For all its uninhibited and sardonic humor, Thompson's book is a thoughtful piece of work." As illuminating now as when originally published in 1967, Hell's Angels is a gripping portrait, and the best account we have of the truth behind an American legend. First published in 1967.

This volume presents a collection of writings from the author's column "Hey Rube" on ESPN.com, covering such topics as retaliation for September 11th, his suggestions for "fixing" baseball, and other thoughts on politics, sports, and gossip. For decades, Hunter S. Thompson has galvanized American journalism with his acerbic wit, radical ideas, and gonzo tactics. He continues his reign as "The Unabomber of contemporary letters" (Time) with Hey Rube. Fear, greed, and action abound in this hilarious, thought-provoking compilation as Thompson doles out searing indictments and uproarious rants while providing brilliant commentary on politics, sex, and sports -- at times all in the same column. Filled with critics' favorites, as well as never before published columns, Hey Rube follows Thompson through the beginning of the new century, revealing his queasiness over the 2000 election ("rigged and fixed from the start"); his take on professional sports (to improve Major League Baseball "eliminate the pitcher"); and his myriad controversial opinions and brutally honest observations on issues plaguing America -- including the Bush administration and the inequities within the American judicial system.Hey Rube gives us a look at the gonzo journalist in his most organic form -- unbridled, astute, and irreverent. First published in 2004.

Many had questioned the probability that Hunter S. Thompson would ever write a memoir. But the enigmatic legend of letters bucked the odds, resulting in a hilarious account of the making of the Gonzo journalist. From the Publisher: Brilliant, provocative, outrageous, and brazen, Hunter S. Thompson's infamous rule breaking-in his journalism, in his life, and of the law-changed the shape of American letters and the face of American icons. Kingdom of Fear traces the course of Thompson's life as a rebel-from a smart-mouthed Kentucky kid flouting all authority to a convention-defying journalist who came to personify a wild fusion of fact, fiction, and mind-altering substances. Call it the evolution of an outlaw. Here are the formative experiences that comprise Thompson's legendary trajectory alongside the weird and the ugly. Whether detailing his exploits as a foreign correspondent in Rio, his job as night manager of the notorious O'Farrell Theatre in San Francisco, his epic run for sheriff of Aspen on the Freak Power ticket, or the sensational legal maneuvering that led to his full acquittal in the famous 99 Days trial, Thompson is at the peak of his narrative powers in Kingdom of Fear. And this boisterous, blistering ride illuminates as never before the professional and ideological risk taking of a literary genius and transgressive icon.

Gonzo Papers, volume 3. First published in 1990, Songs of the Doomed is back in print -- by popular demand! In this third and most extraordinary volume of the Gonzo Papers, Dr. Hunter S. Thompson recalls high and hideous moments in his thirty years in the Passing Lane -- and no one is safe from his hilarious, remarkably astute social commentary. With Thompson's trademark insight and passion about the state of American politics and culture, Songs of the Doomed charts the long, strange trip from Kennedy to Quayle in Thompson's freewheeling, inimitable style. Spanning four decades -- 1950 to 1990 -- Thompson is at the top of his form while fleeing New York for Puerto Rico, riding with the Hell's Angels, investigating Las Vegas sleaze, grappling with the "Dukakis problem," and finally, detailing his infamous lifestyle bust, trial documents, and Fourth Amendment battle with the Law. These tales -- often sleazy, brutal, and crude -- are only the tip of what Jack Nicholson called "the most baffling human iceberg of our time." Songs of the Doomed is vintage Thompson -- a brilliant, brazen, bawdy compilation of the greatest sound bites of Gonzo journalism from the past thirty years.

A wild ride to the dark side of Americana. Hunter S. Thompson's and Ralph Steadman's most eccentric book "The Curse of Lono" is to Hawaii what "Fear and Loathing" was to Las Vegas: the crazy tales of a journalist's "coverage" of a news event that ends up being a wild ride to the dark side of Americana. Originally published in 1983, "The Curse of Lono" features all of the zany, hallucinogenic wordplay and feral artwork for which the Hunter S. Thompson/Ralph Steadman duo became known and loved.

Bristling with inspired observations and wild anecdotes, this first collection offers a unique insight into the voice and mind of the inimitable Hunter S. Thompson, as recorded in the pages of Playboy, The Paris Review, Esquire, and elsewhere. Fearless and unsparing, the interviews detail some of the most storied episodes of Thompson's life: a savage beating at the hands of the Hells Angels, talking football with Nixon on the 1972 Campaign Trail ("the only time in 20 years of listening to the treacherous bastard that I knew he wasn't lying"), and his unlikely run for sheriff of Aspen. Elsewhere, passionate tirades about journalism, culture, guns, drugs, and the law showcase Thompson's voice at its fiercest. Arranged chronologically, and prefaced with Anita Thompson's moving account of her husband's last years, the interviews present Hunter in all his fractured brilliance and provide an exceptional portrait of his times.

From the king of "Gonzo" journalism and bestselling author who brought you Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas comes another astonishing volume of letters by Hunter S. Thompson. Brazen, incisive, and outrageous as ever, this second volume of Thompson's private correspondence is the highly anticipated follow-up to The Proud Highway. When that first book of letters appeared in 1997, Time pronounced it "deliriously entertaining"; Rolling Stone called it "brilliant beyond description"; and The New York Times celebrated its "wicked humor and bracing political conviction." Spanning the years between 1968 and 1976, these never-before-published letters show Thompson building his legend: running for sheriff in Aspen, Colorado; creating the seminal road book Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas; twisting political reporting to new heights for Rolling Stone; and making sense of it all in the landmark Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail '72. To read Thompson's dispatches from these years--addressed to the author's friends, enemies, editors, and creditors, and such notables as Jimmy Carter, Tom Wolfe, and Kurt Vonnegut--is to read a raw, revolutionary eyewitness account of one of the most exciting and pivotal eras in American history.

Short story, fiction. An otherwise unpublished short story by Thompson about a struggling young writer in the late 1950s in Greenwich Village.

"Gonzo" presents a rare look into the life of Thompson, whose groundbreaking style of "gonzo" journalism made him one of the greatest writers of his generation. For the first time, his photographs and archives have been collected into a visual biography worthy of his literary legacy. Enhanced by new biographical material, a visual biography collects the gonzo journalist's photography and archives, featuring many photographs taken by Thompson himself, accompanied by writings and memorabilia.

Poems. "Woody Creek, Colorado, June 9, 1996"--Front fold-out."Printed by hand in New Orleans at The New Orleans School of GlassWorks and Printmaking Studio in an edition of 326. 300 are numbered plus 26 special lettered copies. Design by Johnny Brewton and Karoline Schleh."--Colophon.

A final volume of previously unpublished letters spans a nearly thirty-year period at the end of the twentieth century and offers insight into the late writer's friendships and animosities, his political beliefs, and his iconoclastic career.

This first volume of the Fear and Loathing Letters begins with a high school essay written in 1955 - when Hunter S. Thompson was a wise (perhaps too wise) teenager in Louisville - and takes us through 1967, when the publication of Hell's Angels made the author an international celebrity (and nearly resulted in his death). In the intervening years, Thompson's prolific and often profound correspondence gives us an unforgettable vista of the America of the Eisenhower and Kennedy years as well as an authoritative introduction to the cultural revolution of the sixties. With a vicious eye for detail, a rude wit, and a brutal take on any and all pretenders, Thompson's missiles pierce pomposity and rattle the soul. Whether written to his mother, Virginia, or to such luminaries as Charles Kuralt, Philip Graham, Norman Mailer, Tom Wolfe, Carey McWilliams, Lyndon Johnson, and Joan Baez, the letters represent the evolution of an American original, a singular voice defying an era of banality.

Made into a major motion picture starring Johnny Depp, The Rum Diary--a national bestseller and New York Times Notable Book--is Hunter S. Thompson's brilliant love story of jealousy, treachery, and violent lust in the Caribbean. Begun in 1959 by a twenty-two-year-old Hunter S. Thompson, The Rum Diary is a brilliantly tangled love story of jealousy, treachery, and violent alcoholic lust in the Caribbean boomtown that was San Juan, Puerto Rico, in the late 1950s. The narrator, freelance journalist Paul Kemp, irresistibly drawn to a sexy, mysterious woman, is soon thrust into a world where corruption and get-rich-quick schemes rule, and anything (including murder) is permissible. Exuberant and mad, youthful and energetic, this dazzling comedic romp provides a fictional excursion as riveting and outrageous as Thompson's Fear and Loathing books. First published in 1998.

Hunter S. Thompson's legions of fans have waited a decade for this book. They will not be disappointed. His notorious Screwjack is as salacious, unsettling, and brutally lyrical as it has been rumored to be since the private printing in 1991 of three hundred fine collectors' copies and twenty-six leather-bound presentation copies. Only the first of the three pieces included here -- "Mescalito," published in Thompson's 1990 collection Songs of the Doomed -- has been available to the public, making the trade edition of Screwjack a major publishing event. "We live in a jungle of pending disasters," Thompson warns in "Mescalito," a chronicle of his first mescaline experience and what it sparked in him while he was alone in an L.A. hotel room in February 1969 -- including a bout of paranoia that would have made most people just scream no, once and for all. But for Thompson, along with the downside came a burst of creativity too powerful to ignore. The result is a poetic, perceptive, and wildly funny stream-of-consciousness take on 1969 America as only Hunter S. Thompson could see it. Screwjack just gets weirder with its second offering, "Death of a Poet." As Thompson describes this trailer-park confrontation with the dark side of a deservingly doomed friend: "Whoops, I thought. Welcome to the night train." The heart of the collection lies in its final, title piece, an unnaturally poignant love story. What makes the romantic tale "Screwjack" so touching, for all its queerness, is the aching melancholy in its depiction of the modern man's burden: that "we are doomed. Mama has gone off to Real Estate School ...and after that maybe even to Law School. We will never see her again." Ostensibly written by Raoul Duke, "Screwjack" begins with an editor's note explaining of Thompson's alter ego that "the first few lines contain no warning of the madness and fear and lust that came more and more to plague him and dominate his life...." "I am guilty, Lord," Thompson writes, "but I am also a lover -- and I am one of your best people, as you know; and yea tho I have walked in many strange shadows and acted crazy from time to time and even drooled on many High Priests, I have not been an embarrassment to you...." Nor has Hunter S. Thompson been to American literature. Quite the contrary: What the legendary Gonzo journalist proves with Screwjack is just how brilliant a prose stylist he really is, amid all the hilarity. As Thompson puts it in his introduction, the three stories here "build like Bolero to a faster & wilder climax that will drag the reader relentlessly up a hill, & then drop him off a cliff....That is the Desired Effect".

DVD video; documentary; approx. 120 minutes. Traces Dr. Thompson's life from his travels with the Hell's Angels, through his various Wild Turkey & drug ingested episodes in politics and righting the wrongs of society. A Sundance Film Festival Best Documentary Grand Jury Prize nominee.

Few American lives are stranger, more action-packed, or wilder than that of Hunter S. Thompson. Born a rebel in Louisville, Kentucky, Thompson spent a lifetime channeling his energy and insight into such landmark works as Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas - and his singular and provocative style challenged and revolutionized writing. Now, for the first time ever, Jann Wenner and Corey Seymour have interviewed the Good Doctor's friends, family, acquaintances and colleagues and woven their memories into a brilliant oral biography. From Hell's Angels leader Sonny Barger to Ralph Steadman to Jack Nicholson to Jimmy Buffett to Pat Buchanan to Marilyn Manson and Thompson's two wives, son, and longtime personal assistant, more than 100 members of Thompson's inner circle bring into vivid focus the life of a man who was even more complicated, tormented, and talented than any previous portrait has shown. It's all here in its uncensored glory: the creative frenzies, the love affairs, the drugs and booze and guns and explosives and, ultimately, the tragic suicide. As Thompson was fond of saying, "Buy the ticket, take the ride."

Gonzo Republic looks at Hunter S. Thompson's complex relationship with America. Thompson was a patriot but also a stubborn individualist.Stephenson examines the whole range of Thompson's work, from his early reporting from the South American client states of the USA in the 1960s to his twenty-first-century internet columns on sport, politics and 9/11. Stephenson argues that Thompson inhabited, but was to some extent reacting against, the tradition of American individualism begun by the Founding Fathers and continued by Emerson and Thoreau. Thompson sought out the edge-the threshold of chaos and insanity-in order to define himself. His characters enact the same quest, travelling through the surreal landscape of his literary America: the Gonzo Republic.

The writer Tom Wolfe once described Hunter S. Thompson as the finest comic writer of the 20th century. Thompson was this and more, an apt observer of the American scene for almost four decades, the founding father of Gonzo journalism, and an inspiration to many. Through his writings, Thompson examined the loss of American innocence in the latter part of the 20th century, all the while holding up those deserving of contempt for closer examination and espousing (and exemplifying) what it meant to be a citizen at the end of the American Century. With his death, a vacuum was created that remains to be filled. Anita Thompson explores the legacy of her late husband as a writer and as a citizen, through her own words and through interviews with those who knew him best including Johnny Depp, Ed Bradley, Doug Brinkley, Jack Nicholson, Bill Murray, Senator George McGovern, and others.

Hunter S. Thompson detonated a two-ton bomb under the staid field of journalism with his early magazine pieces and revelatory "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" and "Fear and Loathing" campaign coverage in Rolling Stone. When Thompson was on, there was no one better at capturing who Americans were and what America was, be it in politics, at the Kentucky Derby, or in the Hells Angels' lair. William McKeen became friends with Thompson after writing a monograph on his journalism. McKeen now has interviewed many of Thompson's associates who wouldn't speak before, from childhood friends to colleagues, to assistants who sat around the Woody Creek, Colorado, kitchen control room late at night when Thompson did most of his work. McKeen gets behind the drinking and drugs to show the man and the writer--one who was happy to be considered an outlaw but took the calling of journalism as his life.

A study that analyzes the rhetoric of selected texts by the New Journalists in order to highlight their use of self-consciously persuasive styles not only to report on but to critique contemporary political scene. It also analyzes Herr's Dispatches, Mailer's The Armies of the Night, and Didion's Salvador and Miami.

Hunter S. Thompson, "smart hillbilly," boy of the South, born and bred in Louisville, Kentucky, son of an insurance salesman and a stay-at-home mom, public school-educated, jailed at seventeen on a bogus petty robbery charge, member of the U.S. Air Force (Airmen Second Class), copy boy for Time, writer for The National Observer, et cetera. From the outset he was the Wild Man of American journalism with a journalistic appetite that touched on subjects that drove his sense of justice and intrigue, from biker gangs and 1960s counterculture to presidential campaigns and psychedelic drugs. He lived larger than life and pulled it up around him in a mad effort to make it as electric, anger-ridden, and drug-fueled as possible. Now Juan Thompson tells the story of his father and of their getting to know each other during their forty-one fraught years together. He writes of the many dark times, of how far they ricocheted away from each other, and of how they found their way back before it was too late. He writes of growing up in an old farmhouse in a narrow mountain valley outside of Aspen--Woody Creek, Colorado, a ranching community with Hereford cattle and clover fields . . . of the presence of guns in the house, the boxes of ammo on the kitchen shelves behind the glass doors of the country cabinets, where others might have placed china and knickknacks . . . of climbing on the back of Hunter's Bultaco Matador trail motorcycle as a young boy, and father and son roaring up the dirt road, trailing a cloud of dust . . . of being taken to bars in town as a small boy, Hunter holding court while Juan crawled around under the bar stools, picking up change and taking his found loot to Carl's Pharmacy to buy Archie comic books . . . of going with his parents as a baby to a Ken Kesey/Hells Angels party with dozens of people wandering around the forest in various stages of undress, stoned on pot, tripping on LSD . . . He writes of his growing fear of his father; of the arguments between his parents reaching frightening levels; and of his finally fighting back, trying to protect his mother as the state troopers are called in to separate father and son. And of the inevitable--of mother and son driving west in their Datsun to make a new home, a new life, away from Hunter; of Juan's first taste of what "normal" could feel like . . . We see Juan going to Concord Academy, a stranger in a strange land, coming from a school that was a log cabin in the middle of hay fields, Juan without manners or socialization . . . going on to college at Tufts; spending a crucial week with his father; Hunter asking for Juan's opinion of his writing; and he writes of their dirt biking on a hilltop overlooking Woody Creek Valley, acting as if all the horrible things that had happened between them had never taken place, and of being there, together, side by side . . . And finally, movingly, he writes of their long, slow pull toward reconciliation . . . of Juan's marriage and the birth of his own son; of watching Hunter love his grandson and Juan's coming to understand how Hunter loved him; of Hunter's growing illness, and Juan's becoming both son and father to his father . . .

A look at the life and lunacy of the well-known journalist traces the people and events that shaped Thompsons life, describing his troubled Kentucky childhood, his life in New York City in the 1950s, his encounters with Kesey and others, and his writing.

DVD video; approx. 119 minutes. "Fueled by a suitcase full of pharmaceuticals, journalist Raoul Duke and his sidekick Dr. Gonzo set off on a fast and furious ride through nonstop neon, surreal surroundings and a crew of the craziest characters ever. But no matter where misadventure leads them, Duke and Gonzo discover that sometimes going too far is the only way to go."--Back of container. Based on the book by Hunter S. Thompson. Originally released as a motion picture in 1998.

Collected poems, 1967-1993, with notes.

This book is an expanded version of an earlier work entitled Wheat Rippling in the Sunlight published by RoseDog in 2005. In this work the Table of Contents is enhanced by grouping the poems into eight sections by year. The primary purpose of this new book is to incorporate ten poems that did not go into the original work. Included are four poems written over forty years ago and preserved by a friend who returned them to the author in 2005 after Wheat Rippling in the Sunlight was published. These poems are included in Poems of the Lost Thompson along with Inner Landscapes and The Gift which were written in the same period. Following is a list of the added poems and the sections they are in. POEMS OF THE LOST THOMPSON 1969 - 1972 My Father's Death in 1968 Autumn Leaves Hitchhiking in Winter, 1972 Truck Stop Ride REVERBERATIONS 1975 - 1976 Merry Xmas & a Drafty New Year LOVE INTERLUDES 1988 - 1989 Couple's Dialogue APPALACHIAN POEMS 1992 - 2012 Moles Who? Valentine Darkness Goodbye, Until Then The four most recent poems where included in the Appalachian Poems section along with For a Woman Hurt at Home which was written during the same period. In addition to incorporating these ten new poems, a brief biography of the author has been added plus the notes written for a YouTube video which discusses the poetry. To access this video, get into YouTube and search for Wheat Rippling in the Sunlight. Themes prominent in the poems include sexual desire and wooing of women, spirituality and personal growth, homelessness, and loneliness. Wheat, water, and light are symbolic of life and spirituality in the poems. Love for the earth is expressed in descriptions of fields and the prairie, mountains and the ocean. There are several styles of poetry in the collection including rhymed verse, prose poems, haikus, and stream-of-consciousness. Many of the poems rely on internal rhyme and alliteration or ease of word flow to establish poetic unity, rather than end rhyme. The earliest poems were written while the author was attending a small college in southern Minnesota. The poems include topics such as sexual passion, the inevitability of death, and mental disintegration that was healed partly by the writing of the poems themselves. These poems of healing include the mystic poem The Gift written in the spring of 1970. The author spent several years, 1969-1972, living on the streets, riding freight trains and hitch-hiking around the country. A particularly enjoyable train ride is remembered in the poem Whitefish Train Station. After this period of wandering the author moved west in 1975 and eventually quit drinking alcohol on April 29, 1985. The flowering of poetry in 1986 began during a personal growth seminar with the stream-of-consciousness In Flight, a poem of mystical union with God.

Ph. D. Dissertation. Archival material. 208 leaves, bound, illustrations, 29 cm.

"Everyone saw you in / fragments / even you,” Allison Thorpe writes of Dorothy Wordsworth, William’s sister and muse. In Dorothy’s Glasses, Thorpe makes Dorothy whole. By prefacing each poem with one of Dorothy’s journal entries, she merges their two lives and time periods, linking them by the experience of each as women. This volume helps recover, by Thorpe’s empathy and imagination, the lost herstory of one more woman who was previously only a footnote, if that. Allison Thorpe does truly see through “Dorothy’s Glasses,” and so will the reader! –Elizabeth Oakes, author of Leave Here Knowing. From her discovery of Dorothy Wordsworth and her writing, Allison Thorpe has created a stunning garden of poems that will resonate with women everywhere. Layered with color and fragrance, and rife with authenticity, this book will nourish the heart. An impressive collection not to be missed. –Jan Sparkman, author of Lucy J.: The Life and Times of an Early Feminist" --Reviews found at Finishing Line Press

Master's thesis from Western Kentucky University. Poems.

"Allison Thorpe‘s gimlet eye misses nothing: girlhood, womanhood, home, and the natural world are all given equal due through a poet’s gaze as loving as it is sharp, as generous as it is appraising. These poems love what they’re talking about, and I love them right back. –Sarah Combs, author of The Light Fantastic. In this collection of poems Allison Thorpe demonstrates an uncanny ability to draw the reader into the world of the protagonist. Every emotion imaginable is lived through the very rich language and masterful poetic technique of the author. Many of these recollections are told with a tone of sweet melancholia but always with resolute optimism. Strong emotions are often made universally applicable by a surprising twist at the end of the poem. The writing is fun and troubling and deeply moving. –Bobby Steve Baker, author of This Crazy Urge to Live. Using lush language, Allison Thorpe creates word paintings: a veritable chiaroscuro of youth. Days are redolent with blossoms and scent, nights, a garden with a serpent in it. While the childhood she describes is often fraught, her poems about craving a lime green bikini, dreaming of Fabian, plus wild girls Janis and Gracie, and of misadventures with hair dye, inject a readily identifiable, wry sense of embarrassment at stupid-things-done-when-young. We can survive trauma and abuse. Thorpe shows us in this collection there is a real art to it. –Alan Catlin, Editor, Misfit Magazine, Poet, Blue Velvett, 2017 Slipstream Chapbook Contest Winner" --Reviews found at Finishing Line Press

Poetry; 60 pages.

Poems.

Includes stories by Rebecca Bailey, Michelle Boisseau, Mary Lou Brown-Byrd, Leon Driskell, Paul Griner, James Baker Hall, Jim R. Hinsdale, Chris Holbrook, Lisa Koger, Ed McClanahan, Jim Wayne Miller, Sean Jeter Naslund, Chris Offutt, Eugene Sisco, Jeffrey Skinner, Frederick Smock, Allison Thorpe, Jeff Worley.

Poems, 177 pages.

Juvenile fiction.

Juvenile fiction. Little Bernel is surprised by the gift of a bicycle for Christmas.

Special seventh edition.

65 pages; illustrations; 23 cm.

Juvenile fiction. Second edition. "First edition, 1979 was printed A pioneer Civil War for Molly and Ben"--Page ii. "This book is based on a true story of a family settling in Kentucky before the Civil War"--Page ii.

28 pages; illustrations; 22 cm.

Biography. 36 pages; illustrations; map; 23 cm.