Browse A-Z Authors: Le-Lm

Biography; 312 pages. "The middle of the 2006 football season was a back-against-the-wall moment for Rich Brooks and his Kentucky football team. Coming off what he termed as an embarrassing loss at LSU, Brooks thought he might not get to finish out the season if his team did not win its next game. The Wildcats did win and they would lose only twice more over the next 13 games--a stretch that included the school's first bowl win in 22 years and the first upset of a number one team in more than 40 years. A new book by Brooks and “Voice of the Wildcats” Tom Leach tells this remarkable comeback story, orchestrated by a coach revered for his integrity, toughness, loyalty and determination. This book covers Brooks’ resurrection of the Cats’ football fortunes, as well as look back at a similar turnaround the coach orchestrated at Oregon, culminating with that school’s first outright Pac-10 Conference title and a trip to the Rose Bowl. The book examines Brooks’ stint in the NFL, as head coach of the St. Louis Rams and defensive coordinator of the Super Bowl runner up Atlanta Falcons."

As one of the first voices of the University of Kentucky men's basketball program, Claude Sullivan (1924--1967) became a nationally known sportscasting pioneer. His career followed Kentucky's rise to prominence as he announced the first four NCAA championship titles under Coach Adolph Rupp and covered scrimmages during the canceled 1952--1953 season following the NCAA sanctions scandal. Sullivan also revolutionized the coverage of the UK football program with the introduction of a coach's show with Bear Bryant -- a national first that gained significant attention and later became a staple at other institutions. Sullivan's reputation in Kentucky eventually propelled him to Cincinnati, where he became the voice of the Reds, and even to the 1960 Summer Olympic Games in Rome. In Voice of the Wildcats: Claude Sullivan and the Rise of Modern Sportscasting, Claude's son Alan, along with Joe Cox, offers an engaging and heartfelt look at the sportscaster's life and the context in which he built his career. The 1940s witnessed a tremendous growth in sportscasting across the country, and Sullivan, a seventeen year old from Winchester, Kentucky, entered the field when it was still a novel occupation that was paving new roads for broadcast reporting. During the height of his career, Sullivan was named Kentucky's Outstanding Broadcaster by the National Association of Sportscasters and Sportswriters for eight consecutive years. His success was tragically cut short when he passed away from throat cancer at forty-two Featuring dozens of interviews and correspondence with sports legends, including Wallace "Wah Wah" Jones, Babe Parilli, Cliff Hagan, Ralph Hacker, Jim Host, Billy Reed, Adolph Rupp, and Cawood Ledford, this engaging biography showcases the life and work of a beloved broadcast talent and documents the rise of sports radio during the twentieth century.

Since 2002, Mike Pratt and Tom Leach have been as much a part of Kentucky basketball as Rupp Arena itself, as longtime color analysts for the UK Radio Network. This collection of candid and intimate conversations between Pratt and Leach gifts fans and readers insights into every season from 2002 to 2021--observations that only they could share. Pratt and Leach cover it all here: the games, the players, the coaches, and the moments that stood out.

Shady Gully series, book 1. It's the spring before high school, and Desiree (Desi) and Robin have little in common. Robin has lived in the small town of Shady Gully, Louisiana her whole life, while Desi comes from the big city of Albuquerque, New Mexico. Robin's family is devout, reserved, and dedicated to church. Desi has never been to church, her parents are divorced, and her mom, Sunny, is as flamboyant as they come. When Desi is introduced in class, Robin hates her on sight. But fate draws these two alienated girls to one another, and an alliance born of necessity soon evolves into an affection that endures. Together they become a force strong enough to overcome mean girls, weight hang-ups, and disturbing family dynamics. As their paths diverge and they raise families of their own, rumors of a shocking betrayal ignite old insecurities, and the three-strand cord of their friendship begins to unravel.

Shady Gully series, book 2. A torrential storm upends Shady Gully, and its citizens wake to the news that Wolfheart's beloved sister, Peony, has been brutally murdered. Wolfheart earned his reputation as the town low life in Book One, inciting unrest and corrupting the youth with his home-grown product and signature scowl. But now, it's five years later, and the scoundrel from across the creek is an upstanding citizen, a church-streamer, and a doting brother and uncle. Or is he? Luke feels responsible for Shady Gully and carries the weight of the town's progress-or lack thereof-on his tense shoulders. Even as the community rolls their eyes as he expounds incorporation, Luke is determined to present Shady Gully with the amenities it deserves. Sheriff Rick inherited the job when the last ornery official went and had a heart attack. Reluctant to trade his easy life of coasting to one of accountability, Ricky is surprised to find that the office gives him purpose. As the fates of these three uncompromising and principled men collide, another body is discovered, and Shady Gully explodes in chaos and violence.

Chapbook. Poetry, 8 pages.

Finalist for the National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle Award, A Best Poetry Book of 2015: Bright Dead Things examines the chaos that is life, the dangerous thrill of living in a world you know you have to leave one day, and the search to find something that is ultimately "disorderly, and marvelous, and ours." A book of bravado and introspection, of 21st century feminist swagger and harrowing terror and loss, this fourth collection considers how we build our identities out of place and human contact--tracing in intimate detail the various ways the speaker's sense of self both shifts and perseveres as she moves from New York City to rural Kentucky, loses a dear parent, ages past the capriciousness of youth, and falls in love. Limón has often been a poet who wears her heart on her sleeve, but in these extraordinary poems that heart becomes a "huge beating genius machine" striving to embrace and understand the fullness of the present moment. "I am beautiful. I am full of love. I am dying," the poet writes. Building on the legacies of forebears such as Frank O'Hara, Sharon Olds, and Mark Doty, Limón's work is consistently generous and accessible--though every observed moment feels complexly thought, felt, and lived.

From National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle Award finalist Ada Limón comes The Carrying--her most powerful collection yet. Vulnerable, tender, acute, these are serious poems, brave poems, exploring with honesty the ambiguous moment between the rapture of youth and the grace of acceptance. A daughter tends to aging parents. A woman struggles with infertility--"What if, instead of carrying / a child, I am supposed to carry grief?"--and a body seized by pain and vertigo as well as ecstasy. A nation convulses: "Every song of this country / has an unsung third stanza, something brutal." And still Limón shows us, as ever, the persistence of hunger, love, and joy, the dizzying fullness of our too-short lives. "Fine then, / I'll take it," she writes. "I'll take it all." In Bright Dead Things, Limón showed us a heart "giant with power, heavy with blood"--"the huge beating genius machine / that thinks, no, it knows, / it's going to come in first." In her follow-up collection, that heart is on full display--even as The Carrying continues further and deeper into the bloodstream, following the hard-won truth of what it means to live in an imperfect world.

An astonishing collection about interconnectedness--between the human and nonhuman, ancestors and ourselves--from National Book Critics Circle Award winner and National Book Award finalist Ada Limón. "I have always been too sensitive, a weeper / from a long line of weepers," writes Limón. "I am the hurting kind." What does it mean to be the hurting kind? To be sensitive not only to the world's pain and joys, but to the meanings that bend in the scrim between the natural world and the human world? To divine the relationships between us all? To perceive ourselves in other beings--and to know that those beings are resolutely their own, that they "do not / care to be seen as symbols"? With Limón's remarkable ability to trace thought, The Hurting Kind explores those questions--incorporating others' stories and ways of knowing, making surprising turns, and always reaching a place of startling insight. These poems slip through the seasons, teeming with horses and kingfishers and the gleaming eyes of fish. And they honor parents, stepparents, and grandparents: the sacrifices made, the separate lives lived, the tendernesses extended to a hurting child; the abundance, in retrospect, of having two families. Along the way, we glimpse loss. There are flashes of the pandemic, ghosts whose presence manifests in unexpected memories and the mysterious behavior of pets left behind. But The Hurting Kind is filled, above all, with connection and the delight of being in the world. "Slippery and waddle thieving my tomatoes still / green in the morning's shade," writes Limón of a groundhog in her garden, "she is doing what she can to survive."

The winner of the 2005 Autumn House Press Poetry Prize, selected by Jean Valentine. Ada Limon's first full-length poetry book--startling and funny--Limon is a poet to keep your eye on.

The speaker in this extraordinary collection finds herself multiply dislocated: from her childhood in California, from her family's roots in Mexico, from a dying parent, from her prior self. The world is always in motion -- both toward and away from us--and it is also full of risk: from sharks unexpectedly lurking beneath estuarial rivers to the dangers of New York City, where, as Limón reminds us, even rats find themselves trapped by the garbage cans they've crawled into. In such a world, how should one proceed? Throughout Sharks in the Rivers, Limón suggests that we must cleave to the world as it "keep[s] opening before us," for, if we pay attention, we can be one with its complex, ephemeral, and beautiful strangeness. Loss is perpetual, and each person's mouth "is the same / mouth as everyone's, all trying to say the same thing." For Limón, it's the saying--individual and collective -- that transforms each of us into "a wound overcome by wonder," that allows "the wind itself" to be our "own wild whisper."

Winner of the 2005 Pearl Poetry Prize. "This Big Fake World is a sophisticated exploration of manners, marriage, and the fragile bonds that desire both creates and destroys...the lives and language of this book are radiant emblems of a truly discerning mind and heart." —Tom Sleigh

Chapbook. Poetry, 31 pages.

Edition of 285 copies. Contents: Against belonging / Ada Limón -- Dust dance / Curtis Bauer -- Evening / Dorianne Laux -- Tonight, the wildest stars / Ansel Elkins -- Mayflower cistern I feel my pilgrim worry / Gabrielle Calvocoressi -- Ars poetica / Marcus Wicker -- Try to see no evil / Rebecca Gayle Howell -- Thank you Lord for the dark ablaze / Steve Scafidi -- 40. Giving my body to the cause / Ross Gay -- Mail-order planets / Adrian Matejka -- Metaphor / Gregory Pardlo -- Origin story / Kazim Ali -- Sissieretta Jones, Carnegie Hall, 1902: O patria mia / Tyehimba Jess -- Another attempt / Vievee Francis -- Threshold / Nikky Finney

Featuring fiction, nonfiction, and poetry from established writers and new voices, Issue 74 will keep you warm on a cold night. Contributors: Win McCormack; Kseniya Melnik; Leni Zumas; Seth Fried; Sofi Stambo; Tania James; Delaney Nolan; Chen Chen; Ada Limon; Carl Phillips; Craig Beaven; Lauren Haldemen; Bianca Stone; Natalie Scenters-Zapica; Taylor Johnson; John Koethe; Paisley Rekdal; Abigail Chabitnoy; David Baker; Elizabeth Bradfield; Rick Barot; Chris Bauer; Megan Fernandes; Matthew Siegel; Marcus Jackson; Ross White; Ginger Gaffney; Mark Steinmetz; John Fischer; Cassandra Cleghorn; Chris Carroll; Joseph Frankel; Rohan Maitzen; Ann Tashi Slater; Rob Spillman; Holly Macarthur.

From Sioux Falls to Khartoum, from Kyoto to Darwin; from the panchayat forests to the Giant's Causeway; in taxis and at bus stops, in kitchens and sleigh beds, haystacks and airports--people are kissing one another. The sublime kiss. The ambiguous kiss. The broken kiss. The kiss that changes a life. Far from the scripted passion of Hollywood, this uniquely human gesture carries within it the possibility for infinite shades of meaning and it does not stop for anything--not war, revolution or natural disaster. In The Kiss, authors like Nick Flynn, Kristen Radtke and Pico Iyer explore our quest to bridge the gulf between ourselves and others through this fleeting physical connection, and to uncover the depths contained in words like tenderness, passion and love.

"A rich coming-of-age tale that sheds light on an uncommon Civil War perspective." Kirkus Reviews Fourteen-year-old Manny Weaver, a Mennonite boy living near Harrisonburg, Virginia, in 1861, has a habit of biting off more than he can chew. The Weavers are Unionists and pacifists and do not wish to secede from the Union or to participate in the fighting. In the past, Manny's father and uncle have avoided militia service by paying a small fine, but when Virginia secedes from the Union, the fine is no longer accepted. Manny loves his family and would do anything to protect Father and Uncle Davy from being forced to join the Confederate Army. That's when his trouble begins! With his world crumbling into chaos, Manny is forced to deal with issues of honesty, justice, loyalty, and good judgment. He must find answers to serious questions. Is it really better to "turn the other cheek," as his Mennonite faith tells him? What actions lead to peace? How does a boy grow into a man?

Detached from Frank Leslie's popular monthly (July 1901). Pages [224]-234; illustrations; 25 cm.

Fiction. A young girl is brutally killed, apparently by an animal. Detective Jard discovers some fierce pets kept by neighbors, a vicious watchdog, a panther, and a huge ape; he tries to find the man behind the fiendish murder. 220 pages; 20 cm.

Fiction. 301 pages; 20 cm.

Fiction. "Based on the life of Jesus of Nazareth." "First edition, 300 copies." 98 pages; 22 cm.

First edition. "300 copies"--Title page verso. 90 pages; 22 cm.

Fiction. 231 pages; 20 cm.

Originally published in 1902.

Fiction. 380 pages.

Fiction. 290 pages; 19 cm.

Fiction. 323 pages; illustrations; 18 cm.

Originally published in 1905.

Fiction. 308 pages; 21 cm.

Reprinted in part from various periodicals. 105 pages; 20 cm.

Fiction. 284 pages; 22 cm.

Archival material. Includes holograph draft of "The Flight of Birds," later published in The Atlantic, vol. 126, pages 279-82, (1920). Also includes clippings and a letter from Edwin Carlile Litsey to Burroughs, 1920 May 13.

Archival material. The holdings consist primarily of correspondence about Coleman's writings on the history of the Commonwealth. Many are letters from politicians, writers, historians, librarians, and publishers. There are a few 18th and 19th century documents and letters, photographs (removed to the Photo Archives), and biographical information about Coleman. There are frequent references to his publications, including his work on masonry in Kentucky (1933) and his book STAGECOACH DAYS IN THE BLUEGRASS (1935). Some of the many correspondents include: Albert B. Chandler, Earle Clements, John Sherman Cooper, Emmet Field Horine, Keen Johnson, Ruby Laffoon, Edwin Carlile Litsey, Gene Markey, Thruston B. Morton, Stanley Reed, Irving Stone, Jesse Stuart, Robert Penn Warren, Lawrence Wetherby, Simeon Willis and Judge Samuel M. Wilson.

Archival material. In the collection are many of the author's original and draft typescripts of poetry collections, some of which were later published. Included among the typescripts are those of "Oolooloon", "Tip Sams" and "Pen Sketches of Kentucky Folk". Also present is a typescript of IN KENTUCKY, an anthology of poems by Noe published in 1940. One folder contains many printed papers and poems the majority published in various issues of the KENTUCKY HIGH SCHOOL QUARTERLY. In addition there are addresses given by Noe, lectures and critiques by the author, articles and correspondence. Among the correspondents are Alice Hegan Rice, Lucy Furman, James Lane Allen, Edwin Carlile Litsey and Lynn Hamilton.

Archival material. Details the life of Edwin Carlile Litsey, the titles and publication dates of his books and a brief description of his personality.

A history of Kentucky's poets laureate since 1926. Contains works by J.T. Cotton Noe, Edward Gay Hill, Louise Scott Phillips, Edwin Carlisle Litsey, Jesse Hilton Stuart, Lowell Allen Williams, Lillian D. Chaffin, Senator Tom Mobley, Agnes Todd Saffell O'Rear, Clarence "Soc" Henry Clay, Lee Pennington, Paul Salyers, Dale Faughn, Jim Wayne Miller, Henry E. Pilkenton, James H. Patton, James Still, Joy Bale Boone, Richard Lawrence Taylor, James Baker Hall and Joe Survant.

Fiction; 375 pages. Free ebook available through Google Books, Hathitrust, Project Gutenberg, and Internet Archive.

Fiction; 375 pages.

Fiction; 208 pages. Free ebook available through ExploreUK and Internet Archive.

Fiction; 59 pages. Free ebook available through HathiTrust and Internet Archive.

Fiction; 119 pages. Free ebook available through HathiTrust and Internet Archive.

Fiction; 413 pages. Free ebook available through Google Books, HathiTrust, and Internet Archive.

Fiction; 305 pages, illustrations. Includes photographic scenes of Boone (Stringtown) County, Kentucky, by Mrs. John Uri Lloyd. Free ebook available through HathiTrust and Internet Archive.

Free ebook available through Google Books and Internet Archive.

Free ebook available through HathiTrust.

Free ebook available through Internet Archive.

Journal. Free ejournal available through Google Books and HathiTrust.

Free ebook available through Google Books, HathiTrust, and Internet Archive.

Bulletin of the Lloyd Library of Botany, Pharmacy and Materia Medica. Free ebook available through Google Books and HathiTrust.

19th edition, 4th revised. Free ebook available through Google Books and HathiTrust.

Free ebook available through HathiTrust and Internet Archive.

Free ebook available through Google Books and Internet Archive.

Free ebook available through ExploreUK.

Bulletin of the Lloyd Library and Museum. Free ebook available through Google Books and HathiTrust.

Free ebook available through Google Books and HathiTrust.

Biography of a young man in Boone County, Kentucky and his adventures in the Civil War; 354 pages.

Michael A. Flannery provides the first full-length biography of John Uri Lloyd (1849-1936), the man generally accepted as one of America's most influential pharmaceutical pioneers. Lloyd was a phytochemical researcher, pharmaceutical manufacturer, teacher, author, library founder, and leader among both professional pharmacists and the sectarian medical practitioners known as eclectics. Most of Lloyd's story takes place in the Cincinnati area, where the eclectics emerged in response to America's dissatisfaction with the harsh, heroic therapies characteristic of regular physicians. Instead of bloodletting and chemical cures, the eclectics stressed botanical remedies derived from natural sources. In 1871, when prominent physicians John King and John Milton Scudder offered him the job of developing a line of botanical tinctures known as "Specific Medicines" for the eclectic drug wholesaler H. M. Merrell, Lloyd began his lifelong professional association with the eclectics. Called upon to develop more and better botanical drugs, he turned to original research in fluidextracts, formulated schemes for assaying, discovered a buffering compound that came to be known as Lloyd's Reagent, and created a world-class pharmaceutical and botanical library. He was elected to the presidency of the American Pharmaceutical Association and won three Ebert Prizes for original research and American pharmacy's highest honor, the Remington Medal.

Biography; 337 pages. John Uri Lloyd lived in Crittenden during his childhood. He married Emma Rouse who wrote "Clasping hands of Generations Past", a history of early Crittenden. Also a chapter on Curtis Gates Lloyd who was founder of Lloyd Wildlife are in Crittenden. Lots of references to people and places in Grant County.

Biography; 72 pages. Series: Bulletin of the Lloyd Library of Botany, Pharmacy and Materia Medica, no. 28.

Biography, microfiche; 8 pages. Series: Pamphlets in American History, Biography, B 1431.

Biography; ebook.

Archival material; housed at the Lloyd Library and Museum. Consists of Minutes of Board of Trustees, accreditations files, financial records, matriculation records and student files, theses, and holdings of the library. Library holdings consist of books and journals (separately indexed) and vertical files, including materials gathered by Harvey W. Felter for his history of the college. Also contains materials of Eclectic Institute Publishing Co., and papers of Byron H. Nellans. The subject files include: medical colleges, homeopathy, eclecticism, and thesis of the college.

Housed at the Lloyd Library and Museum. Genealogical and research materials used to write "Clasping Hands With Generations Past" and galley proofs of the work. Consists of correspondence, research files, biographical items, monographs and articles.

Housed at the Lloyd Library and Museum. The collection contains correspondence, biographical sketches, pamphlets, reprints, clippings used as research for: His "John Uri Lloyd : the great American eclectic", 1998.