Browse A-Z Authors: An-Ar

From the Author of Fates Aflame and Dark Diary, comes a brand new standalone bursting with the vibrancy and mystery of Ancient Egypt. Exile of the Sky God propels readers through a mythical journey of self discovery with revelations even a god could not see coming. Sky God, Horus--an emerging Egyptian deity oppressed by ancient ways--resolves to make his mark in the land of mortals. There, he discovers that small miracles trigger great change, and a quest for power ensues. The search leads him to the Temple of Ra, where a priestess shatters his worldview, compelling him to see humanity through different eyes. Future ambitions transformed, Horus finds himself chasing a dream that sparks controversy amongst the gods and puts the lives of both mortals and immortals at stake. With a bruised ego and crippled magic, he must risk everything to set things right before chaos reigns and all he holds sacred is lost...

Fates Aflame series, book 1. In a society fueled by unbridled magic and turbulent political landscapes, Lieutenant Hawksford is torn between prophecy and duty. With the threads of her fate tugged in all directions, uncertainty shrouds her future. She has the ability to conjure fire at will, but the birth of her powers awakens a curse and perilous trial unfolds, putting the lives of those she loves in jeopardy. When extinct beasts brought forth by ancient magic threaten her life, she has no choice but to take stand, and in the blink of an eye, her carefree life is extinguished.

Fates Aflame series, book 2. Ancient bloodmanes have declared war on Rayvenstar Castle. After Admiral Hawksford is summoned to help, she assembles a team and journeys to Alyssia to confront the threat. But when truth is distorted by fiction, and every attempt to gain information leaves her with more questions than answers, Valhara and her crew are left scrambling for a solution. Rampant beasts aren't the only menace. A stubborn king with a brash temper and archaic ways puts her under undue pressure. The Elemental Guardian's patience and powers are tested, forcing her to endure a shocking twist of fate.

Fluorescence series, book 1. Alice was a normal teenager until a dying race of aliens chose her and handful of other teens to help preserve an endangered form of DNA known as Fluorescence. Now she and the others must try and hide their secret from the rest of the world, while surviving everyday life struggles - like high school. Each volume in the Fluorescence series will be narrated by a different character, driving the story forward in a new and exciting way. Fluorescence evolves from a quiet beginning into a gritty and unabashed look at real-life limitations and struggles these teenagers face while coping with a life-changing secret.

Fluorescence series, book 2. The fire has been started and things have changed for the Fluorescent Ones. Brian is fighting to keep the seams of a once stable life from unraveling as a massive turn of events thrusts him into chaos. The Saviors had a terrible secret in store, and now he and the rest of the group must make decisions that could impact their future forever. In an engaging and unique genre all its own, Fluorescence is a striking blend of audacious young love, urban fantasy and sci-fi. Each full-length novel in the series is narrated by a different character, driving the story forward in a new and exciting way. Fluorescence evolves from a quiet beginning into a gritty, unabashed look at real-life limitations encountered while harboring a deadly secret.

Fluorescence series, book 3. Get your heart pounding with a sexy, thrilling installment that fuels your adrenaline rush until the final page turns. Kareena is struggling to find her place within the group, but will a charming new stranger separate the Fluorescent Ones for good? Decisions must be made and FAST, before the human race becomes threatened by a new evolution of the infection. Each full-length novel in the series is narrated by a different character, driving the story forward in a new and exciting way. It evolves from a quiet beginning into a gritty, unabashed look at real-life limitations encountered while harboring a deadly secret.

Fluorescence series, book 4. Lost Souls tears to shreds everything you thought you knew about the Fluorescent Ones. David's been hiding something from the group, but it's nothing compared to what the ghoulish, grey Saviors have been keeping from them all. The disease is spreading and people are dying. With a new ally at their side, and David's life hanging in the balance, the group must put their lives on the line to find a cure. In a unique genre all its own, Fluorescence is a striking blend of paranormal romance, fantasy and sci-fi. Each full-length novel in the series is narrated by a different character, driving the story forward in an exciting way. It evolves from a quiet beginning into a gripping saga exploring the real-life limitations encountered while harboring a volatile secret.

Dark Diary series, book 1. A 17th century vampire haunted by guilt over the passing of a friend and lover. An artist tormented nightly by visions of her own untimely death. Worlds collide when a young woman with a dark past encounters a man with an even darker one. More human than vampire, Dark Diary is a quaint, sophisticated romance detailing the accounts of two lovers who have paid the ultimate price... Forbidden romance in the vein of classics like Wuthering Heights, frosted with the seductive allure of immortality, the story documents a pair torn apart by time.

Dark Diary series, book 2. What doesn't kill you makes you a hell of a lot stronger. A beast lurks in Kathera's mind, shredding her sanity until all that remains hangs by a fragile thread. While the line between fiction and reality blurs, a moral dilemma keeps her from fighting back. Can she find the answer without losing herself in the process, or will there be more blood on her hands? With burdens too grave to bear, Kathera and Matthaya must grapple vengeful ghosts from their pasts and lay their demons to rest. But you can't bury your mistakes. Nor can you escape them...

This proper Puppa loves a hot cuppa-tea, that is! Puppa's favorite cup has gone missing, and he can't find his friends anywhere. Can he solve this doggone mystery in time for breakfast? Follow an adorable Aussie on an adventure filled with tasty treats and a BIG surprise.

Fiction. 339 pages.

Fiction. 227 pages. 21 cm.

Musical score. Musical setting. Book and lyrics by Barbara Anderson; music by Norman Dello Joio.

Biography. 16 pages; illustrations; 27 cm.

Drama. Program; includes clippings from the Courier Journal about the play and actors performing in it at the Iroquois Theatre, Louisville, Ky.

Manuscript. Archival material. Text by Barbara Anderson; with music by Norman Dello Joio.

Archival material. The papers of Norman Dello Joio document his professional life from the early 1920's until 2003. The few items found within this collection that precede the dates of his life are all connected to his professional career. Manuscripts that reveal the evolution of several of Dello Joio's most notable scores are within the collection. Dello Joio's creative path to The Triumph of St. Joan, can be found within this collection under the various names it held through revision, i.e. Triumph of Joan, Trial at Rouen and, finally, Triumph of St. Joan. There is also an extensive amount of compositional work in this collection on his 1961 opera Blood Moon. Though his scores, manuscripts and reproductions, make up the bulk of the collection, there is limited material on his award winning compositions Meditations on Ecclesiastes (José Limón's There is a Time) and The Louvre. The papers contain few personal items; one of the few exceptions would be the correspondence he received from family members (Box 1, Folder 23-24).

Third revised edition.

Sound recording. 1 audio disk, analog. Part of Wisconsin Music Archives. Includes recording of "Sweet Sunny from "The Tall Kentuckian.""

Coleman House series, book 1. Love creates its own rules. Ascending the corporate ladder has consumed most of Tayler Carter's adult life. Now the savvy Atlanta VP and female-empowerment speaker is ready for a well-deserved retreat. A fabulous antebellum mansion turned B and B in rural Kentucky is the perfect change of pace. But her host is no unsophisticated farm boy. Rugged hunk Rollin Coleman is educating Tayler in the wonders of natural food and down-home passion. Transforming his family's struggling homestead into an organic cooperative is starting to pay off for Rollin. But without the right woman, it's a lonely existence. Until he introduces his alluring new guest to the pleasures of the countryside. And once his small-town community embraces her, can Rollin count on Tayler to leave her fast-paced world behind and together create a place they can both call home?

Coleman House series, book 2. There's no mistaking the real thing. Everything in Corra Coleman's world is looking up since she agreed to run the gift shop at her family's antebellum B and B. The job offers a fresh start after her unhappy marriage--and a tantalizing temptation in the form of tech millionaire Christopher Williams. Her brother's high-school buddy has come home to their small Kentucky town and is now pursuing her with a passion she's never known, but definitely reciprocates. Though he grew up poor, Chris has realized his childhood ambition of becoming one of Danville's wealthiest sons. As he restores the town's oldest mansion, he already knows who he wants to share it with. Corra is all grown up--gorgeous, warmhearted and no longer off-limits. But with her newly returned ex trying to win her back, can Chris show her the way love's truly supposed to be?

Coleman House series, book 3. Love finds a way. Kentucky farm girl Kyla Coleman grew up believing in the power of healthy living choices to enrich and transform lives. Pursuing her PhD while working at her cousin's bed-and-breakfast and organic farm leaves little time for a personal life. Until Kyla meets a very handsome and incredibly astute out-of-towner, Miles Parker. There's something about the baseball legend turned food industry entrepreneur that instantly captivates her despite their wildly opposing views. His quest to end world hunger has long been Miles's passion. And Kyla's the first woman who shares his special altruistic dream. But she's strictly hands-on, and soon Miles is finding it hard to be hands-off around the enchanting, whip-smart country girl. As mutual desire leads to a scorching affair, a business opportunity drives a wedge between them. Can Miles persuade Kyla that he's worthy of her trust in order to create a meeting of minds and hearts?

Vanessa Benton is attracted to the detective investigating charges of embezzlement at her company.

The family history of Alicia McKay, an only child, has always been shrouded in mystery. The only details she has are in the tattered journals written by her deceased mother that she inherited after her father died. Determined to uncover family secrets, Alicia travels from Atlanta to Jamaica and settles into Hotel Paradise...

After meeting Quentin Brooks at night school, Bobbi Cunningham fears his passion will fade with the summer. Quentin has a troubled past, too, but now happiness seems in reach with Bobbi. But once she finds out about his past, he could lose her forever.

"After a painful divorce, family counselor Dierdre Stanley-Levine decides to take her future into her own hands. With her daughter Mia, she takes a job back in her hometown of Brunswick, Georgia. Her goal of opening her own agency is threatened when her office is broken into, and Journalist Robert Carmichael's article on the burglary attracts the attention of an obsessed killer. Dierdre didn't know running into her high school crush would ignite such passion in her, nor make her the target of a madman. Robert Carmichael had no intention of putting Dierdre's life in jeopardy. Neither did he realize that the sight of this gorgeous woman would awaken powerful feelings he hadn't felt since the tragic death of his wife. A relationship begins to develop between them forcing Robert to risk everything to protect the woman he loves and their future together." --Summary from Fantastic Fiction

After her husband is brutally murdered, Jade Bassett tries to pick up the pieces of her life with the help of Jeff Nelson, a prominent graphic designer, and as they begin a passionate affair, she questions whether she is being deceived or if their blossoming relationship is real.

Two years after ending a disastrous marriage and opening her own design firm, Rosie Wright has convinced herself to move on and enjoy life. Then LeMar Reed, her college sweetheart, comes back to town, looking better than ever. It isn't long before painful old feelings resurface, along with a passion that is powerful and impossible to resist.--

"The pressure of trying to have it all has begun to take its toll on Cheryl and Jamal Houston's marriage. Somewhere in the hectic pace of their lives, they've lost touch with each other. A Caribbean cruise turns out to be just what they need to get reacquainted. As the tropical paradise works its magic on them, they fall in love all over again-only to find their happiness threatened by a stranger's desire. Soon their lives are turned upside down by another man who is determined to possess Cheryl, body and soul. Soon their home is invaded by bizarre occurrences and haunted by Jamal's unsettling dreams. But in their struggle to free themselves of a madman's powerful spell, Cheryl and Jamal may discover the true power of their love, as they confront a challenge that could bring them closer than they ever dreamed possible." --Summary from Fantastic Fiction

Desperate to save her 14-year-old brother from addiction, Jodie Dickerson moves back to Memphis, Tennessee - just a stone's throw away from her hometown of Clifton and her dysfunctional family. If she can rebuild a relationship with her younger brother, maybe she can save him from a fate similar to that of her older sibling. Soon she is hired by Will Duncan, ex-football star turned sports show host - and the man whom the Dickersons blame for the death of their eldest son. Can Jodie put the past behind her - and admit her burgeoning love for the man who used to fuel her fantasies?

Journey to My Heart: The fiery beauty playing bodyguard to a bank heist witness arouses FBI agent Cooper Talbot's suspicions...and desire. Independent contractor Olivia Carrington could be concealing her own complicity. But Cooper can't fight the combustible attraction that leads them into a clandestine romance. Can he put aside his past for a woman in danger? Or is he falling for Olivia at his own peril? The Sweetest Affair: Pastry chef Tracee Coleman dreams of opening her own café. But when a chance encounter with a hotel heir literally sends her flying into his arms, her vow to avoid romantic distractions goes up in flames. Tall, strong and sexy, Laurent Martin is as commanding in the boardroom as he is in the bedroom. But will Tracee be able to forgive him when his true business intentions are exposed?

Imani pairs an Atlanta career woman burned out on relationships with a Kentucky farmer who still believes in love during Kwanzaa festivities in the country that move them both to plant a seed for the future. Whisper to Me brings together a woman who prizes tradition with a self-made businessman and father of two who prizes possessions, at a Kwanzaa celebration that may open minds ... and join hearts. In Harvest the Fruits, a successful journalist haunted by a past mistake must lay her demons to rest before she can truly embrace the Kwanzaa season - and the love of the passionate photographer who is filling her with new dreams.

"In the tradition of Arabesque's bestseller, Spirit of the Season, here is a romantic collection of short stories surrounding the December celebrations of Christmas, Kwanzaa and New Year's Eve. Stories include "Keepsake" by Adrienne Ellis Reeves, "Imani" by Bridget Anderson and "A New Year, A New Beginning" by Candice Poarch." --Summary from Fantastic Fiction

Donna Hill, acclaimed author of If I Could, provides the narrative linking this compelling collection of stories from four of today's most exciting writers... For Maxine, Morgan, Taylor and Samantha Chambers, being the daughters of Liberty, Georgia's most respected private investigator, is a double-edged sword. As the founder of the state's only black owned PI firm, Henry Chambers was revered - but after his death, his girls hope to put his dangerous business behind them. When their father's will is read, however, the sisters discover each has inherited a case of her own...

Short stories. Dr. Arlan Andrews Sr. has published dozens of science fiction stories over the years, often in hard-to-find venues such as out-of-print magazines and obscure publications. For the first time ever, seventeen of those shorter pieces (known as 'Flash Fiction') are collected here in one volume. Thirteen of these stories are semi-serious, with four previous published poems completing the mix. A must read collection for Arlan's collectors and fans.

Kindle book; 98 pages. "Were any of the Moon landings hoaxed? Will we ever forget that we went to the Moon? What happens in a future where everyone else in the world is suddenly many times smarter than you? What happens after hundreds of millions of people are frozen in suspended animation? What will amateur matter transmitter operators do? Is there a solution to the abortion issue that will satisfy all sides? And -- what is that Face on Mars? Come and read Arlan's stories and find the answers!" - Amazon

"In the near future, the drug cartels of South America establish their own criminal nation, Cordillera, and proceed to flood the world with cocaine and political corruption. America responds by using the new science of nanotechnology to produce microscopic machines – “nanobots” – to eradicate such drugs once and for all. But these tiny devices can also be used to create new kinds of drugs inside a human body – a “pharm” -- or to devour it from within. After a catastrophic nano-plague, a new and powerful drug lord, El Hombre – “The Guy” – uses nanobots to set up a worldwide drug ring, harvesting new drugs from human bodies and enforcing obedience with threats of devourment. Jerry Gade, a nano-engineer with a horrific secret, fights back. The struggle between Gade and The Guy takes place in both the human domain and in the invisible world of their own nano-creations. The outcome of their battle will determine the future of the human race." - Amazon

There is a longing that Truth cannot tell, a yearning that Fact cannot satisfy, a thirst that only Myth may sate. There, is a Valley-- El Viejo. With this mysterious e-mailed message, a New Age researcher is led toward a mysterious Valley in New Mexico, along the way finding an enigmatic slab of stone carved with mysterious Native American rock art, and encountering a strange shamanic guide, El Viejo (the "Old Man"). As he journeys through The Valley carrying the carved stone slab back to its ancient location, he fights for his life against men who want the stone for themselves. Along the way, his path enlightened by El Viejo at times of crisis, he learns the true meaning of the heavy treasure he carries, discovering the nature of his own existence, and hints of lost civilizations, alternate realities, and the hidden history of Mankind.. Second edition.

Video documentary; 45 minutes. On December 21st, 2012, the Mayan Calendar ends. Does this ancient prediction foretell the end of the world as we know it, or, is it the dawning of a new age? Nuclear terrorism: real of imagined threat? According to odds makers, including Warren Buffett, there is a greater than 50% chance that the US will experience a nuclear terrorist attack with in the next ten years.

"Circe's Lament is a collection of powerhouse poems by women that make you want to get down and growl. These aren't poems for the faint of heart or the bashful. These are poems for the she-wolves. These are poems for the brazen hussies. These are poems for the wicked, the loud-mouthed, the ballsy, and the big-hearted. Lean in and listen closely. They'll teach you how to bite." --Ada Lim n

Poems. "Exhale! In ransom notes Tina Andry fills the void in between heartbeats. This collection, like the time in between the left and right ventricles, takes you for a gasping ride that may seem brief, yet each poem stays with you, as they float around in your lungs collecting the air that you inhale." - Ricardo Nazario y Colón, Author of Of Jibaros and Hillbillies. Review from publisher's website.

"There are sharp flashes of light, moments when the miraculous world reveals itself to us swiftly, fully. And, because the mind is also a miracle, the lucky words sometimes arrive to capture that revelation and through it witness what it means to be alive. That is the figt of this gorgeous collection" - Mary Ann Taylor-Hall

Poems; 162 pages.

Poems, 177 pages.

Poems; 181 pages.

Poems; 221 pages.

Poems; 269 pages.

From the Cheapside slave markets of the 1850's to a lynch mob shouting for blood outside the 1920 Lexington courthouse, Joseph G. Anthony remembers and creates a vivid and dramatic Kentucky. Anthony's characters bear witness to it all: feuds over "floater" votes in the 1870's lead to burnings and killings; efforts to force black farmers off good land cause tragedy in 1930's horse country; two mourning mothers, one aristocratic, one a former "fancy" girl, find solace in the decade after the Civil War; interracial lovers seek refuge in the only Colored Reading Room in 1920's Lexington; a girl hitchhiker discovers courage in an old song; an aging black farmer determines to go down fighting; an escaped slave hides out at the Phoenix Hotel; and a bluegrass divorcee sardonically views the scene at her ex's funeral.

New York City and the dying factory town of Camden are the settings for a fascinating cast of characters in Joe Anthony's Camden Blues. Anthony demonstrates remarkable versatility as he writes in a variety of voices, both male and female, of mothers and daughters, fathers and sons, drinkers and lovers. He chronicles stevedores contending with the Great Depression, and nuns, priests, and young people struggling with their beliefs (Catholic, Buddhist, Scientologist). Sometimes set in the upheavals of the '60s, sometimes entangled in the uncertainty of the '70s, Anthony's characters explore sex, religion, and work. They create new lives and new loves as they strive to hold themselves together in a manner that is certain to capture your attention from beginning to end.

A tale of modern-day Appalachia. A teacher at a community college strives to become a member of the community. After a tragic incident involving one of her adult students she finds peace, not her acceptance by the community, but in her acceptance of the community.

Joseph G. Anthony's novel is set in the Appalachian mountains of eastern Kentucky. The characters and the landscape are true to current life and conditions in some of the most distressed areas of the United States. When Sam and Margery Weatherby leave New York behind and head for the Kentucky mountains for his newspaper job, they think they are headed for a simpler place. But they end up living in Alma Pickering's household and are soon embroiled in complicated Appalachian battles over religion and mountaintop removal for coal mining. They also find themselves behind the front lines in Alma Pickering's own civil war with her "former" husband, the Reverend Joshua Pickering.

Black Lexington, Kentucky is hopping in 1948, Cab Calloway even playing at the Lyric. But housing is still tight, especially for "colored." Rudy Johnson takes his young family out to the wilds of nearby Scott County, certain the Ku Klux Klan is long gone. But is it? / "Joseph Anthony has written a pitch perfect novel about race, class, and struggle in the heartland. Driven by voice and longing, Wanted: Good Family is the work of a writer in top form, capable of showing how the social and familial intertwine in the making of American character." ~Charles Dodd White, author of A Shelter of Others

It's 1898 and the African-American population of Lexington, Kentucky, is trying to cross the boundaries imposed by newly-legalized Jim Crow laws while holding onto rights won in the Civil War. The struggle for these rights and for dignity is seen through the eyes of multiple narrators including Noah Webster and Maria Lulu, who joins the historic campaign for women's rights.

Renowned photographer James Archambeault has the rare ability to capture the historic, archival, and artistic aspects of his photographic subjects. His award-winning craft is evident in the careful selection of time, season, and subjects in his beloved Kentucky. In his new book, he preserves the landscapes, buildings, and sights of old Kentucky as many of them fall into neglect, become irreversibly altered, or disappear completely. In addition to his essay describing the early settlement of Kentucky, Archambeault explains the historical and cultural significance of each of the more than 100 color photographs. Some of these subjects are well-preserved historic landmarks, such as White Hall in Madison County and "My Old Kentucky Home" in Bardstown. Others support the daily life and work of Kentuckians, such as a Sunday afternoon celebration of a baptism in Jessamine Creek or friends sharing their thoughts on a warm February day in Sharpsburg, Bath County. The passing of a previous way of life resonates in photographs of a drive-in theater, mom-and-pop grocery store, covered bridges, and old farm houses. Archambeault captures the friction between the historic Kentucky and its future, such as grain silos from the 1930s standing within view of a new subdivision in Shelby County or the Joseph Ewing log cabin in Scott County bordering the site of a future industrial park. James Archambeault's Historic Kentucky is a photographic elegy to the scenic treasures of our culture. Including a foreword by Wendell Berry, the book also reminds us of our responsibility to serve as stewards for Kentucky's rich history and historic places.

"Kentucky" takes you through stately mansions and pastoral horse ranches, as well as the golden rows of tobacco fields and quiet country roads.

On any given day, more than forty thousand horses roam the fields of the Bluegrass, and there are more than five hundred horse farms in the region known for its rich soil and rolling hills. Kentucky Horse Country: Images of the Bluegrass is renowned photographer James Archambeault's pictorial portrait of the natural beauty of Kentucky's Bluegrass region and the thriving thoroughbred industry for which it is famous. The book contains more than 150 full-color images ranging from tender scenes of mares and foals grazing, to the excitement of race day at Keeneland, to gorgeous landscapes of pristine white fences enclosing lush pastures. The region has long been associated with the best achievements of the equine world. In 1871, a horse named Lexington was foaled in Scott County, and many famous thoroughbreds can trace their lineage back to this great sire. Having photographed the bluegrass for decades, Archambeault is intimately familiar with the backstretch and the barns, the fields and the foals, that are known around the world. In the course of his career, he has been able to see many of the legendary horses that have made horse racing so exciting and popular: Affirmed, Alydar, Spectacular Bid, Secretariat, Seattle Slew, and Cigar. Rare photographs of these and other racing royalty are included in the book. The handsome barns and well-tended pastures found throughout central Kentucky have been the home to international racing champions, and now individuals from all over the world, including England, Ireland, Japan, Dubai, and Saudi Arabia, have a stake in the region's flourishing horse industry. As preeminent racing historian Edward L. Bowen notes in his introduction, "It is a special place where the ruler of Dubai and a stable groom have something in common; the queen of England can admire a leathery old jockey; a philanthropist and a veterinary professor have the same goals; and a $2 bettor celebrates at the same moment that a corporate CEO grits his teeth in disappointment." The vibrant photographs in Kentucky Horse Country are accompanied by Archambeault's captions and narrative descriptions, as well by a lively introduction to the history of thoroughbreds in the Bluegrass by Bowen. The book also includes a foreword by Kentucky native Steve Cauthen, the youngest jockey to win the Triple Crown, who once again calls the Bluegrass his home. James Archambeault's latest work is a Kentucky triple crown for those who love horses and horse racing, for those who revel in the magical beauty of the Bluegrass, and for those who are looking for a grand introduction to what makes this region so unique.

The Shakers, one of America's most successful utopian societies, settled in central Kentucky's Bluegrass country in 1805. Within a short time, they had established an indelible legacy. The Shakers of Pleasant Hill are no more; however, the integrity of their way of life lives on. Their dwellings & shops have been restored & their farmlands preserved. Photographer James Archambeault spent more than two years documenting America's largest restored Shaker village in every season. The grace & symmetry of their handsome structures & timeless beauty of the farmland make an impressive backdrop. An insightful look at everyday life of the Shakers of Pleasant Hill, in the introduction by Dr. Thomas D. Clark, provides appreciation for these remarkable people. THE GIFT OF PLEASANT HILL is a visual reminder that in an ever-changing world, the enduring spirit of Pleasant Hill remains unchanged.

The award-winning team of photographer James Archambeault and writer Dr. Thomas D. Clark captures the magic of Kentucky.

"Kentucky III" is filled with crisp, evocative images: the delicacy of dogwood trees in full bloom, the magnificence of fine thoroughbreds, the view of rolling hills from a gracious antebellum porch.

Bibliography; 282 pages. "Over 3000 titles with accurate descriptions and easy guide for determining first editions."

"The state of Kentucky has a unique military heritage, having involvement in all wars and conflicts since the birth of our nation. Call To Arms is a non-fiction anthology of events, persons, and facts related to Kentucky's remarkable military history. It documents thousands of interesting facts and stories about hundreds of men and women who served in the Armed Forces from the American Revolution to Bosnia and includes over 100 pictures. It provides material of general historic interest on such things as individual battles, statistics, places of military interest and Kentucky military units. Each chapters is chronologically organized by date and an index assists the reader to quickly find a person or action of interest." --Amazon

261 pages; contents: "The price of freedom: frontier, settlement and statehood (1774-1860)" -- "America's personal challenge: the Civil War (1861-1865)" -- "United we stand: our world at war (1866-1949)" -- "Unclaimed victory: undeclared and deadly (1950-1975)" -- "A lesson in resolve: America in conflict (1976-present)" -- "America's patriots in action."

Teens Victor Benucci and Madeline Falco sit in separate police interrogation rooms telling about the misfits who brought them together and their journey sparked by a message in an urn. Includes an interview with the author and an excerpt from his book Mosquitoland.

"Top-notch" --USA Today "Illuminating" --Washington Post "A breath of fresh air" --Entertainment Weekly "Memorable" --People. After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the "wastelands" of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland. So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane. *Includes a discussion guide, exclusive author interview, and music lyrics written by David Arnold

"As he did in his fantastic debut Mosquitoland, David Arnold again shows a knack for getting into the mind of an eccentric teenager in clever, poignant fashion."-USA Today. This is Noah Oakman, sixteen, Bowie believer, concise historian, disillusioned swimmer, son, brother, friend. Then Noah gets hypnotized. Now Noah sees changes-his mother has a scar on her face that wasn't there before; his old dog, who once walked with a limp, is suddenly lithe; his best friend, a lifelong DC Comics disciple, now rotates in the Marvel universe. Subtle behaviors, bits of history, plans for the future-everything in Noah's world has been rewritten. Everything except his Strange Fascinations . . . A stunning surrealist portrait, The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik is a story about all the ways we hurt our friends without knowing it, and all the ways they stick around to save us.

New York Times bestseller David Arnold's most ambitious novel to date; Station Eleven meets The 5th Wave in a genre-smashing story of survival, hope, and love amid a ravaged earth. When a deadly Fly Flu sweeps the globe, it leaves a shell of the world that once was. Among the survivors are eighteen-year-old Nico and her dog, on a voyage devised by Nico's father to find a mythical portal; a young artist named Kit, raised in an old abandoned cinema; and the enigmatic Deliverer, who lives Life after Life in an attempt to put the world back together. As swarms of infected Flies roam the earth, these few survivors navigate the woods of post-apocalyptic New England, meeting others along the way, each on their own quest to find life and love in a world gone dark. The Electric Kingdom is a sweeping exploration of art, storytelling, eternal life, and above all, a testament to the notion that even in an exterminated world, one person might find beauty in another.

"Between the Flowers" is Harriette Simpson Arnow's second novel. Written in the late 1930s, but unpublished until 1997, this early work shows the development of social and cultural themes that would continue in Arnow's later work: the appeal of wandering and of modern life, the countervailing desire to stay within a traditional community, and the difficulties of communication between men and women in such a community. " Between the Flowers" goes far beyond categories of "local color," literary regionalism, or the agrarian novel, to the heart of human relationships in a modernized world. Arnow, who went on to write "Hunter's Horn "(1949) and" The Dollmaker" (1952)--her two most famous works--has continually been overlooked by critics as a regional writer. Ironically, it is her stinging realism that is seen as evidence of her realism, evidence that she is of the Cumberland--an area somehow more "regional" than others. Beginning with an edition of critical essays on her work in 1991 and a complete original edition of "Hunter's Horn" in 1997, the Michigan State University Press is pleased to continue its effort to make available the timeless insight of Arnow's work with the posthumous publication of "Between the Flowers."

Harriette Simpson Arnow is an American treasure. Of the twenty-five stories in this collection, fifteen were previously unpublished. Until now, the short fiction of Arnow has remained relatively obscure despite the literary acclaim given to her novels The Dollmaker and Hunter's Horn. These stories, written early in her career for the most part, reveal an artistic vision and narrative skill and serve as harbingers for her later work. They echo her interest in both agrarian and urban communities, the sharpening of her social conscience, and her commitment to creating credible and complex characters. This collection is organized against the backdrop of her life, from Kentucky in the 1920s to Ohio and Kentucky in the 1930s and to Michigan in the 1940s. As Arnow fans read these early gems, they will be led from gravel roads to city pavement and open layers of Arnow's development as a novelist to expose the full range of her contributions to American literature.      In 1938, Esquire purchased "The Hunters," which was eventually published as "The Two Hunters," a chilling story of a seventeen-year- old boy's confrontation with a deputy sheriff. At the time, Esquire did not accept submissions from women, and its editors had no idea that writer H. L. Simpson was not a man. Years later, she admitted in an interview, "it worried me a little, that big lie, but I thought if they wanted a story, let them have it." Esquire paid her $125 for this story. The contributor's notes at the back of the magazine include a photo of "H.L.Simpson," actually a photo of one of her brothers-in-law. It was her little joke on a publisher that discriminated against women.... --from the Introduction

Gertie Nevels and her husband Clovis are untouched by city life until the outbreak of World War II. They are forced to abandon their Kentucky mountain home and travel to Detroit so that Clovis can participate in the war effort by repairing heavy machinery. Gertie's survival techniques are useless in an urban milieu. In spite of the debasing effect of city life, Gertie maintains her faith in her fellow beings.

Companion volume to the author's Seedtime on the Cumberland.

Many-sided picture of family and community life in the Kentucky hills.

Surveyor William David Leslie Collins struggles with other settlers to live in the Kentucky winderness.

Masterfully wrought and keenly observed, Mountain Path draws on Harriette Simpson Arnow's experiences as a schoolteacher in downtrodden Pulaski County, Kentucky, deep in the heart of Appalachia, prior to WWII. Far from a quaint portrait of rural life, Arnow's novel documents hardships, poverty, illiteracy, and struggles. She also recognizes a fragile cultural richness, one characterized by "those who like open fires, hounds, children, human talk and song instead of TV and radio, the wisdom of the old who had seen all of life from birth to death," and which has since been eroded by the advent of highways and industry. In Mountain Path, Arnow exquisitely captures the voices, faces, and ways of a people she cared for deeply, and who evoked in her a deep respect and admiration.

In the early years of this century, Burnside, Kentucky, was a bustling community perched on and above the floodplain formed by the Cumberland River and the South Fork. It was a center for shipping by rail and steamboat packet, and its lumber mills sent their products all over the world. The lower part of the town -- once the heart of its economic being -- now lies beneath the waters of Lake Cumberland, and the remaining streets above no longer resound with the clatter and roar of older and busier times. Harriet Simpson Arnow moved to Burnside with her parents and sisters in 1913, a few months before her fifth birthday. She recreates for us the sights and sounds of the town as she sets her childhood memories against the history of the region from the days of early settlers until Wolfe Creek Dam was built, creating the hundred-mile-long Lake Cumberland. Arnow charms the reader with her account of what it was like to be child in such a place and time, describing the fascination of the general stores of the town, the grand sight of the Seven Gables Hotel, the excitement of school, and the ever-interesting river and railroad traffic, all of which lent diversion to a life that sometimes seemed overburdened with household chores and errand running. Though much of old Burnside has disappeared, the way of life Arnow describes is an important part of the fabric of the history of Kentucky and the nation. Evoking vivid scenes of river and railroad, lumber mill and country store, Arnow recreates for us with great artistry a long-vanished place and time.

Life in the Cumberland River region of Kentucky and Tennessee, 1780-1803.

A near-genius teenager with a right-wing hate-monger father and a shallow ex-beauty-queen mother, has devised some amazing gadgets and tactics to ensure her privacy.

Contributing authors include: Cleanth Brooks; Robert Penn Warren; Edward Donahoe; Jesse Stuart; George Milburn; S S Field; Harriette Louisa Simpson Arnow; Andrew Nelson Lytle; Howell Vines; Manson Radford; Louis Moreau; Elma Godchaux; Thomas Thompson; Katherine Anne Porter; Kay Boyle; Michael Seide; Mary McCarthy; Eudora Welty; P M Pasinetti; Mary King; Edwin Eugene Herron; Grace Lumpkin; Gene Albrizio; Peter Taylor; James Hinton

The blossoming of Appalachian studies began some thirty years ago. Thousands of young people from the hills have since been made aware of their region's rich literary tradition through high school and college courses. An entire generation has discovered that their own landscapes, families, and communities had been truthfully portrayed by writers whose background was similar to their own. An American Vein: Critical Readings in Appalachian Literature is an anthology of literary criticism of Appalachian novelists, poets, and playwrights. The book reprises critical writing of influential authors such as Joyce Carol Oates, Cratis Williams, and Jim Wayne Miller. It introduces new writing by Rodger Cunningham, Elizabeth Engelhardt, and others. Many writers from the mountains have found success and acclaim outside the region, but the region itself as a thriving center of literary creativity has not been widely appreciated. The editors of An American Vein have remedied this, producing the first general collection of Appalachian literary criticism. This book is a resource for those who teach and read Appalachian literature. What's more, it holds the promise of introducing new readers, nationally and internationally, to Appalachian literature and its relevance to our times.
Intending to create a foundational text for further scholarship on Appalachian writing, the editors have selected 29 critical reviews for this collection. They include thematic surveys on the reasons why Appalachian authors are becoming considered worthy of academic criticism and the history of the regional genre as well as commentary on specific authors and works. Authors and works include Jesse Stuart, a comparison of changing views about Stuart and Pound, the poetry of James Still, Hariette Arrow's The Dollmaker, social criticism in the works of Wilma Dykeman, Mary Lee Settle's autobiographies, the concepts of home and machine, the roles of kin and counterculture in Gurney Norman, John Ehle's fiction, Lee Smith's use of language in Oral History, two reviews of works by Jo Carson, the role of community in Fred Chappell's works, the role of Calvinism in the poetry of Robert Morgan, and the promise of feminist ecocriticism.