Browse A-Z Authors: Na-Ng

Love Actually meets Adventures in Babysitting in this hilarious novel written by seven authors about seven classmates who are preparing for a crazy night at their middle school dance. Lynnfield Middle School is prepped and ready for a dance to remember, including an awesome performance from Heart Grenade, the all-girl band who recently won a Battle of the Bands contest. Seven classmates--Carmen, Genevieve, Tess, Ryan, Ellie, Ashlyn, and Jade--intend to make the most of the night...or at least the five of them who are able to attend do. The other two would sacrifice almost anything to be there. One thing's for sure--this entire crew is in for one epic night! Gail Nall, Dee Romito, Rachele Alpine, Ronni Arno, Alison Cherry, Stephanie Faris, and Jen Malone have created a charming, hilarious, and relatable novel that's perfect for anyone who can't wait to dance the night away.

Figure skating is Kaitlin's passion, but she lands on thin ice after a meltdown in this funny, touching story. Because when you fall down, you have to pick yourself up--even if it's in front of judges and a crowd. Kaitlin has always dreamed of being a champion figure skater, and she's given up a lot to pursue her passion. But after she has a totally uncharacteristic tantrum at a major competition, she's dropped by her coach and her prestigious skating club. When no other club will have her, she's forced to join the ridiculed and run-down Fallton Club, jokingly referred to as the "Fall Down Club." At first Kaitlin thinks this is a complete disaster, but after meeting some of the other skaters--including a boy who happens to have the most perfect hair she's ever seen--she realizes it might not actually be so bad. Yet learning a whole new program right before regionals is a huge challenge, and when she realizes that all the other area skaters target Fallton for pranks, she begins to wonder if joining the Fall Down Club has any upsides.

A country music hopeful puts her Nashville dreams on hold when she moves into an RV to travel across the country with her family in this charming new novel from the author of Breaking the Ice. When twelve-year-old Maya's parents sell their house and move the family into the world's ugliest RV to travel the country, Maya's only goal is to get back home--and fast. No way is she going to miss the chance to audition for Dueling Duets, the singing competition show that's going to surely propel her--and her cowboy-hatted crush--to country stardom. Operation Maya Goes Home, or OMGH, turns out to be more complicated than she had expected, so Maya sets out on a secret one-day, one-hundred-mile bike ride through Yellowstone National Park with her know-it-all little sister, a cute nature boy, and blue-haired, earbud-addicted Shiver (a.k.a. the most annoying girl ever). Somewhere between the worst muscle ache she's ever experienced and losing half of their group to a flat tire, Maya starts wondering if maybe, just maybe, it's possible to find home in the last place you expected.

Four best friends start a party-planning business in this fresh, funny tween novel from the authors of At Your Service and Breaking the Ice. Twelve-year-old Sadie loves helping her mom with her wedding planning business, and with Sadie's mad organizational skills, she's a natural! That's why it's so devastating when her mother "fires" her after a Little Mermaid-themed wedding goes awry. Enter Sadie's best friends: sporty Vi, ace student Lauren, and boy-crazy Becca. The girls decide that in order to get Sadie's mom to reconsider, they have to make her see how amazing Sadie is at party planning. Except no one's gonna hire a twelve-year-old to plan a wedding. A birthday party, though? Definite possibility. Before long, RSVP--your one-stop shop for the most creative parties in town--is born. Of course, Sadie can't wait to prove herself to her mom, but the other girls also have their reasons for enlisting: Vi has her eye on the perfect gift for her hardworking dad, and Becca's all aflush at the thought of connecting with Ryan, the new Irish cutie in town. And though Lauren thinks she's too busy with summer studies to "officially" join, she's willing to help out in any way she can. But in this particular party-planning business, nothing goes according to plan! Sadie's mom is a perpetual no-show, Vi's archrival is dead set on ruining her summer, Becca can't seem to get Ryan to glance in her direction, and Lauren keeps choosing studying over her friends. Is the girls' friendship strong enough to survive a business? Or does RSVP spell the end of these BFFs?

Hello, fellow book lover! You are about to dive into the Epic Reads Impulse Sampler, which has sneak peeks of some upcoming novels from debut YA authors we are really excited about! We have something for everyone here: a little historical, a little romance, and a little contemporary. Read on and you might just discover your newest epic read! Featuring excerpts from: Map to the Stars by Jen Malone Seventh Miss Hatfield by Anna Caltabiano Exit Stage Left by Gail Nall Epic Reads Impulse is for the readers, and we're giving readers the chance to cast their votes and make their voices heard! Follow us on Twitter @EpicReads and visit EpicReads.com for updates on how you can get involved with the Epic Reads Impulse line! Epic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month.

In this funny and sweet digital-original novel perfect for fans of Fame, Casey works to find a new passion after her dreams of becoming a Broadway star are ruined. Casey Fitzgerald has always been an actress. She's known it was her destiny ever since she snagged the role of "apple" in her kindergarten's production of The Food Pyramid. But when she doesn't get the lead in her performing arts high school's production of The Sound of Music, she begins to question everything. Not getting the lead means no recommendations, and no recommendations means she can kiss good-bye any chance of getting a scholarship to the prestigious New York College of Performing Arts. After some soul searching and some wise words from her friend Harrison, Casey decides to totally reinvent herself. She's already ditched her on-again off-again boyfriend Trevor and is interested in the new boy at school, so why not start fresh with everything? But every new destiny she tries doesn't seem quite right. And when her best friend, Amanda, who did get the lead, starts hanging out with Trevor, Casey's not sure if she'll ever be able to leave the drama behind. Epic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month.

Industrial motion control is paramount in raising productivity and quality and in reducing energy and equipment maintenance costs in all industries. Electric drives share most of industrial motion control applications. This book presents a comprehensive view of modern (variable speed) electric drives, requiring no prior knowledge of power electronics or electric machinery. It serves as an excellent source to anyone seeking thorough knowledge on topology, performance, design elements, digital simulation programs (in MATLAB) and test results, as well as practical issues in industrial drives. An interactive CD-ROM version is attached, including: the entire text, for browsing problem solutions selected slides, for presentation 8 digital simulation MATLAB-Simulink programs of various drives Electric Drives represents a new philosophy on the subject, steering its readership through the numerous advances in technology and outlining ways for more improvement in the field.

259 pages; illustrations.

The field of electrical engineering has become increasingly diversified, resulting in a spectrum of emerging topics - from microelectromechanics to light-wave technology. Keeping pace with progressing technology, and covering the scope of related subjects, Electric Power Systems provides introductory, fundamental knowledge in several areas. The text focuses on three major points: Power flow Fault calculations Power systems stability Using commercially available software packages, Electric Power Systems includes illustrative computer solutions for both utility and industrial systems. Chapters discuss: basic concepts relating to power and energy ac circuit analysis - emphasizing three-phase circuits various components of a power system and their simplified models single-line and reactance diagrams representing a power system with the interconnecting components power flow balanced and unbalanced fault calculations power system protection analytical and numerical solutions to power system stability problems economic power dispatch and control of power systems Written in a clear, lively style, Electric Power Systems illustrates its concepts and methods with many examples, inspired by real-life applications. This work exceptionally fills the need for a textbook teaching the subject in a one-semester sequence.

"A Wiley-Interscience publication"; 256 pages; illustrations

Prentice-Hall Electrical Engineering Series.

Contents: Synchronous machines ; Induction machines ; Direct- current machines ; Small electric motors ; Linear electric machines ; Permanent magnet machines ; Superconducting machines ; Motors for control applications ; Heating, cooling and ventilating ; Electric machine insulation ; Noise and vibration.

Often called the workhorse of industry, the advent of power electronics and advances in digital control are transforming the induction motor into the racehorse of industrial motion control. Now, the classic texts on induction machines are nearly three decades old, while more recent books on electric motors lack the necessary depth and detail on induction machines. The Induction Machine Handbook fills industry's long-standing need for a comprehensive treatise embracing the many intricate facets of induction machine analysis and design. Moving gradually from simple to complex and from standard to new knowledge, it includes an extended presentation of windings parameters as influenced by frequency and saturation, offers a complete account of standard and new testing methods, and devotes several chapters to the design of variable-speed induction motors. With a coherence and consistency not attainable in contributed works, this handbook draws on the authors' long experience in the field and takes full advantage of its rich literature. The presentation of all types of induction machines complete with many numerical examples, digital simulations, and design sample cases make the Induction Machine Handbook a comprehensive, up-to-date resource ideal for both for practicing and student engineers.

Linear electric actuators (LEAs) and linear electric generators (LEGs) are widely used electromagnetic devices. This book deals with LEAs that convert electric energy into controlled mechanical motion of limited travel and LEGs that transform mechanical energy into electric energy. Examples range from loudspeakers and microphones to magnetically levitated material transfer in ultraclean rooms. Much of the literature on linear actuators and generators covers the principles of operation and performance calculations of these devices. Little has been published on their control or on detailed design methodologies. This book presents the first unified treatment of the subject, including the construction, operation, control and design of LEAs and LEGs. Chapters describe linear induction, permanent-magnet, linear reluctance, switched reluctance, and linear stepper actuators, as well as various types of linear electric generators. The text is amply illustrated with numerous design examples.

"A Wiley-Interscience publication"

Examines the most recent advances in linear motion electromagnetic device and system technology. Beginning with a summary of basic principles, it provides in-depth coverage of construction guidelines, performance analysis, and design criteria of linear electromagnetic energy conversion systems and devices. Applies all theory to modern applications and demonstrates designs for industrial applications such as control and guidance systems.

Alternating current (AC) induction and synchronous machines are frequently used in variable speed drives with applications ranging from computer peripherals, robotics, and machine tools to railway traction, ship propulsion, and rolling mills. The notable impact of vector control of AC drives on most traditional and new technologies, the multitude of practical configurations proposed, and the absence of books treating this subject as a whole with a unified approach were the driving forces behind the creation of this book. Vector Control of AC Drives examines the remarkable progress achieved worldwide in vector control from its introduction in 1969 to the current technology. The book unifies the treatment of vector control of induction and synchronous motor drives using the concepts of general flux orientation and the feed-forward (indirect) and feedback (direct) voltage and current vector control. The concept of torque vector control is also introduced and applied to all AC motors. AC models for drive applications developed in complex variables (space phasors), both for induction and synchronous motors, are used throughout the book. Numerous practical implementations of vector control are described in considerable detail, followed by representative digital simulations and test results taken from the recent literature. Vector Control of AC Drives will be a welcome addition to the reference collections of electrical and mechanical engineers involved with machine and system design.

Schaum's powerful problem-solver gives you 3,000 problems in electric circuits, fully solved step-by-step! The originator of the solved-problem guide, and students' favorite with over 30 million study guides sold, Schaum's offers a diagram-packed timesaver to help you master every type of problem you'll face on tests. Problems cover every area of electric circuits, from basic units to complex multi-phase circuits, two-port networks, and the use of Laplace transforms. Go directly to the answers and diagrams you need with our detailed, cross-referenced index. Compatible with any classroom text, Schaum's 3000 Solved Problems in Electric Circuits is so complete it's the perfect tool for graduate or professional exam prep!

This extremely valuable learning resource is for students of electromagnetics and those who wish to refresh and solidify their understanding of its challenging applications. Problem-solving drills help develop confidence, but few textbooks offer the answers, never mind the complete solutions to their chapter exercises. In this text, noted author Professor Syed Nasar has divided the book's problems into topic areas similar to a textbook and presented a wide array of problems, followed immediately by their solutions. First published in 1992.

Revised edition of The induction machine handbook. 2002. Developments in power electronics and digital control have made the rugged, low-cost, high-performance induction machine the popular choice of electric generator/motor in many industries. As the induction machine proves to be an efficient power solution for the flexible, distributed systems of the near future, the dynamic worldwide market continues to grow. It is imperative that engineers have a solid grasp of the complex issues of analysis and design associated with these devices. The Induction Machines Design Handbook, Second Edition satisfies this need, providing a comprehensive, self-contained, and up-to-date reference on single- and three-phase induction machines in constant and variable speed applications. Picking up where the first edition left off, this book taps into the authors' considerable field experience to fortify and summarize the rich existing literature on the subject. Without drastically changing the effective logical structure and content of the original text, this second edition acknowledges notable theoretical and practical developments in the field that have occurred during the eight years since the first publication. It makes corrections and/or improvements to text, formulae, and figures. New material includes: Introduction of more realistic specifications and reworked numerical calculations in some of the examples Changes in terminology Discussion of some novel issues, with illustrative results from recent literature New and updated photos Data on new mild magnetic materials (metglass) An industrial "sinusoidal" two-phase winding Illustrations of finite element method airgap flux density Enhanced presentations of unbalanced voltage and new harmonic-rich voltage supply IM performance Discussion of stator (multiconductor) winding skin effect by finite element method Broad coverage of induction machines includes applications, principles and topologies, and materials, with numerical examples, analysis of transient behavior waveforms and digital simulations, and design sample cases. The authors address both standard and new subjects of induction machines in a way that will be both practically useful and inspirational for the future endeavors of professionals and students alike.

Second edition. This overview of the major areas of electrical engineering focuses on what non-electrical engineering majors need to learn about electrical engineering fundamentals. This revision fits the course, which is typically one semester.

McGraw-Hill Series in Electrical Engineering, Electromagnetics; Second edition.

Students will quickly understand the popularity of this helpful sourcebook--the first edition sold 46,000 copies! The chief emphasis is on solving realistic problems, hundreds of which are included with detailed solutions. This popular study guide concisely yet clearly covers all the areas taught in two-semester survey courses and serves as an ideal review for electrical engineers and others looking for high ratings on the Professional Engineer's Examination.

If you want top grades and excellent understanding of electric power systems, this powerful study tool is the best tutor you can have! It takes you step-by-step through the subject and gives you accompanying related problems with fully worked solutions. You also get hundreds of additional problems to solve on your own, working at your own speed. This superb Outline clearly presents every aspect of real-world power system calculation and implementation. Famous for their clarity, wealth of illustrations and examples, and lack of dreary minutia, SchaumÕs Outlines have sold more than 30 million copies worldwide. Compatible with any textbook, this Outline is also perfect for standardized test or professional exam review.

Second edition. More than 50,000 copies of this powerful study guide sold in the first edition! Covering a broad range of topics, from simple DC magnetic circuits to electronic control of DC and AC motors, all the concepts and their applications are clearly explained and illustrated. Includes hundreds of problems with detailed solutions to help students learn quickly and realise test scores without investing unnecessary time. Ideal for undergraduate students of electrical engineering, for solo study, and as a refresher.

[Alanna] Nash belongs in the pantheon of great music writers, and [Baby, Let's Play House] is a fascinating study." --Rosanne Cash Just in time for Elvis Presley's would-be 75th birthday comes a new book by Elvis expert, journalist, and Country Music Association Media Achievement Award winner Alanna Nash. Called "by far the best study of Presley I have ever read. . . Impressively researched written--and felt" by New York Times bestselling author Philip Norman (author of John Lennon and Shout!) and "the most entertaining Elvis book ever" by New York Times bestselling author Jimmy McDonough (Shakey: Neil Young's Biography), Baby, Let's Play House is the first-ever Elvis book to focus solely on his complex relationships with women, including celebrities such as Ann-Margret, Linda Thompson, Mary Ann Mobley, Cher, Raquel Welch, Barbara Eden, and Cybill Shepherd. Featuring dozens of exclusive interviews and scores of never-before-seen photos, Baby, Let's Play House is a must-have collector's item for fans of The King everywhere. Overview: Thirty-three years after his death, Elvis Presley's extraordinary physical appeal, timeless music, and sexual charisma continue to captivate, titillate, and excite. Though hundreds of books have been written about the King, no book has solely explored his relationships with women and how they influenced his music and life ... until now. Based largely on exclusive interviews with the many women who knew him in various roles-lover, sweetheart, friend, costar, and family member-Baby, Let's Play House presents Elvis in a new light: as a charming but wounded Lothario who bedded scores of women but seemed unable to maintain a lasting romantic relationship. While fully exploring the most famous romantic idol of the twentieth century, award-winning veteran music journalist Alanna Nash pulls back the covers on what Elvis really wanted in a woman and was tragically never able to find.

Interviews with 27 country stars reveal the range of personalities and viewpoints that make up today's country music scene. Journalist Alanna Nash speaks in candid interviews with performers about Nashville's music industry, changes in the country audience over the past thirty years, and their own releationships to their music. Nash's interviews showcase the diversity of the performers (from college-educated professionals to ex-convicts) and their audiences. Interviewees include Tammy Wynette, Merle Haggard, Brenda Lee, Reba McEntire, Loretta Lynn, Dolly Parton, Conway Twitty, Naomi and Wynonna Judd, Bill Monroe, Steve Earle, Emmylou Harris, Hank Williams Jr., Chet Atkins, and Willie Nelson. First published in 1988.

In The Colonel, Alanna Nash, the author of Golden Girl: The Story of Jessica Savitch, explores in depth the amazing story of Colonel Tom Parker, the man behind the legend and the myth of Elvis Presley. The result is a book that reads like the most riveting of real-life detective stories -- one that will completely change your view of Presley's life, success, and death. While scores of books have been written about Elvis Presley, this is the first meticulously researched biography of Tom Parker written by someone who knew him personally. And for anyone truly interested in the performer many consider the greatest and most influential of the twentieth century, it is impossible to understand how Elvis came to be such a phenomenon without examining the life and mind of Parker, the man who virtually controlled Elvis's every move. Alanna Nash has been covering the story of Elvis Presley and Colonel Tom Parker since the day of Presley's funeral in Memphis, Tennessee. She was the first journalist allowed to view Presley's body, a compelling and surprising sight. But the profile of Parker attending the funeral in a Hawaiian shirt and a baseball cap was even stranger, and led her to investigate the man behind the myth. It has been known for twenty years that Thomas Andrew Parker was, in fact, born in Holland as Andreas Cornelis van Kuijk. But Nash has dug much deeper and, in a masterpiece of reporting, unearthed never-before-seen documents, including Parker's army records and psychiatric evaluations, and the original police report of an unsolved murder case in Holland that lies at the heart of the Parker mystery. In the process of weighing the evidence, she answers the biggest riddle in the history of the music industry, as it becomes clear that every move Parker made in the handling of Elvis Presley -- from why he never allowed Elvis to perform in Europe, to why he didn't halt Elvis's drug use, to why he put him in so many mediocre movies, and even the Colonel's direction of Presley's army career -- was designed to protect Parker's own secrets. Filled with startling new material, her book challenges even the most familiar precepts of the Presley saga -- everything we presumed about Parker's handling of the world's most famous entertainer must now be reevaluated in the light of information Nash reveals about Parker, who cared little for Presley beyond what the singer could do to bolster the Colonel's precarious position as an illegal alien. Elvis Presley, as one of Parker's unwitting victims, paid a major price for the Colonel's past and his overwhelming need to be more important than his client. As a result, Presley was never allowed to reach his potential and died in drug-induced frustration over his stunted and mismanaged career. In this astonishing, impeccably written, and vastly entertaining book, Nash proves that the only figure in American popular culture as fascinating as Elvis Presley is Colonel Tom Parker, the man who shaped Elvis, who in turn helped shape us. Originally published: 2003.

Country Music gives a lively and authentic picture of the American people and their songs, drawing on the archive of the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum to showcase all the stars, the styles, the history and the classic recordings. Includes index. "Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum."

The only thing better than listening to your favorite country music stars is reading about them. Following in the tradition of the Best American Essays and Best American Magazine Writing series, the Country Music Reader 2007 includes articles, interviews, and essays from top publications like No Depression, Bluegrass Unlimited, Time Magazine, American Songwriter, Country Weekly, Music City News, and many more. With an eye-catching cover and a foreword by Rosanne Cash, the Country Music Reader is sure to be a hit with country fans this Christmas. This year's edition includes articles on legends like Mac Wiseman, Emmylou Harris, Earl Scruggs, Buck Owens, and Kris Kristofferson, as well as hot new stars like Brad Paisley, Faith Hill, Carrie Underwood, and many others.

Biography. "A Country music magazine book." 275 pages, illustrations.

A classic American success story, country music singer and actress Dolly Parton started out in a two-room shack in the Tennessee mountains and now has her own theme park. Alanna Nash's updated biography covers the early years fronting Porter Wagoner's band, and the subsequent solo career that had critics in Nashville wondering if the five-foot singer with the outrageous figure and the mountain of blonde hair wasn't heading off in the direction of pop music. Nash depicts Parton as a determined woman with an unflaggingly bright, companionable disposition-a personality that can handle numerous accolades (Grammy Awards, American Music Awards, and membership in the Country Music Association Hall of Fame) and disappointments (her 70's TV show) with sincere amusement. Originally published: Los Angeles: Reed Books, 1978. With a new chapter and an updated discography.

Alan Fortas and Alanna Nash present this close-up and unguarded portrait of Elvis. Alan Fortas spent nearly twelve years working for Elvis Presley. This memoir shows how Elvis become increasingly disillusioned with the endless stream of movies he was forced to act in, his reliance on drugs, and his colourful sex life. Originally published: Ann Arbor, Minn.: Popular Culture, 1992. Includes index

"A monumental oral biography, Elvis Aaron Presley is the first book to capture Elvis Presley - the man and the phenomenon - in his full complexity." "Elvis Aaron Presley is the product of more than five years of interviews with the three individuals who knew him best:" "Billy Smith - Elvis's first cousin and the person Elvis reputedly loved most after his own mother; the man who slept at the foot of Elvis's bed during his bouts of horrific nightmares; and, at the end, one of the few who continued to see the pop icon on a daily basis." "Marty Lacker - the best man at Elvis's wedding and foreman of the famed "Memphis Mafia," the handpicked group of gatekeepers and confidants who formed Presley's entourage." "Lamar Fike - decades-long member of the "Memphis Mafia"; touring crew member; and the man who accompanied Elvis to his army posting in Germany." "Together, these three were with Elvis from his teens to his last day on earth, and the story they have to tell - most of it never before on the record - is as complete a psychological portrait of the pop icon as we're ever likely to get."--Book Jacket. Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Elvis & the Memphis Mafia is the first book to capture the King - the man and the phenomenon - in his full complexity. This vivid oral biography of Elvis Presley is based on the recollections of three members of the Memphis Mafia, the entourage who accompanied Elvis every day, from 1956 to his death in 1977. These were the men closest to Elvis, the ones who knew him best, Billy Smith, Elvis' first cousin; Marty Lacker, foreman of the Memphis Mafia; and Lamar Fike, who joined the army with Elvis. Together, they offer rare insights into the greatest legend of them all, from the phenomenal successes to the long, devastating decline. It is a uniquely revealing portrait of a tragic figure whose immense talent changed the course of American music and culture. Originally published as: Elvis Aaron Presley. New York: HarperCollins, 1995. Includes index.

Biography; 330 pages; illustrations. First published in 1988.

Charting the history of country music from its folk beginnings to the billion-dollar business it is today, this comprehensive guide will delight fans, collectors, and those just discovering America's music. Foreword by Willie Nelson. Essays by Roseanne Cash and Mary Chapin Carpenter, among others. Published in cooperation with the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. (Country Music)

DVD video; 124 minutes. Based on Golden Girl by Alanna Nash. Originally released as a motion picture in 1996. An ambitious young reporter falls under the tutelage of a veteran newsman and then falls in love with him.

Long before the official establishment of the Commonwealth, intrepid pioneers ventured west of the Allegheny Mountains into an expansive, alluring wilderness that they began to call Kentucky. After blazing trails, clearing plots, and surviving innumerable challenges, a few adventurers found time to pen celebratory tributes to their new homeland. In the two centuries that followed, many of the world's finest writers, both native Kentuckians and visitors, have paid homage to the Bluegrass State with the written word. In The Kentucky Anthology, acclaimed author and literary historian Wade Hall has assembled an unprecedented and comprehensive compilation of writings pertaining to Kentucky and its land, people, and culture. Hall's introductions to each author frame both popular and lesser-known selections in a historical context. He examines the major cultural and political developments in the history of the Commonwealth, finding both parallels and marked distinctions between Kentucky and the rest of the United States. While honoring the heritage of Kentucky in all its glory, Hall does not blithely turn away from the state's most troubling episodes and institutions such as racism, slavery, and war. Hall also builds the argument, bolstered by the strength and significance of the collected writings, that Kentucky's best writers compare favorably with the finest in the world. Many of the authors presented here remain universally renowned and beloved, while others have faded into the tides of time, waiting for rediscovery. Together, they guide the reader on a literary tour of Kentucky, from the mines to the rivers and from the deepest hollows to the highest peaks. The Kentucky Anthology traces the interests and aspirations, the achievements and failures and the comedies and tragedies that have filled the lives of generations of Kentuckians. These diaries, letters, speeches, essays, poems, and stories bring history brilliantly to life. Jesse Stuart once wrote, "If these United States can be called a body, Kentucky can be called its heart." The Kentucky Anthology captures the rhythm and spirit of that heart in the words of its most remarkable chroniclers.

"Historical Views of Carter County was a radio series broadcast on GO radio WGOH-WUGO, TV-14, wghowugh.com with announcer Tim Carper."

Biography; 236 pages; illustrations.

History; 384 pages; illustrations

Marie Antoinette was a child of fourteen when her mother, the Empress of Austria, arranged for her to leave her family and her country to become the wife of the fifteen-year-old Dauphin, the future King of France. Coming of age in the most public of arenas, she warmly embraces her adopted nation and its citizens. She shows her new husband nothing but love and encouragement, though he repeatedly fails to consummate their marriage and in so doing is unable to give her a child and an heir to the throne. Deeply disappointed and isolated in her own intimate circle, and apart from the social life of the court, she allows herself to remain ignorant of the country's growing economic and political crises, even as poor harvests, bitter winters, war debts, and poverty precipitate rebellion and revenge. The young queen, once beloved by the common folk, becomes a target of scorn, cruelty, and hatred as she, the court's nobles, and the rest of the royal family are caught up in the nightmarish violence of a murderous time called "the Terror." Sena Jeter Naslund offers a dramatic reimagining of this truly compelling woman that goes far beyond the popular myth. Originally published in hardcover: New York: William Morrow, 2006.

Sena Jeter Naslund, the New York Times bestselling author of Ahab's Wife, Four Spirits, and Abundance explores both the dark nature of fundamentalism and the brightness of true faith in her dazzling novel, Adam & Eve. A provocative, eloquent, and deeply compelling story of a woman caught between two warring worlds--science and religion--Adam & Eve raises timely questions about identity, innocence, and sin, and represents a new literary high-water mark for New York Times Notable author and Harper Lee Award-winner Naslund. Entrusted with her late husband's discovery of extraterrestrial life and enlisted by her dead husband's friend, anthropologist Pierre Saad, to help him smuggle a newly discovered artifact out of Egypt -- an ancient codex concerning the human authorship of the Book of Genesis -- Lucy Bergmann crash lands her plane on a slip of land between the Tigris and Euphrates rivers in the Middle East. Burned in the crash landing, she is rescued by Adam, a delusional American soldier whose search for both spiritual and carnal knowledge has led to madness.

A magnificent, vast, and enthralling saga, Sena Jeter Naslund's Ahab's Wife is a remarkable epic spanning a rich, eventful, and dramatic life. Inspired by a brief passage in Moby Dick, it is the story of Una, exiled as a child to live in a lighthouse, removed from the physical and emotional abuse of a religion-mad father. It is the romantic adventure of a young woman setting sail in a cabin boy's disguise to encounter darkness, wonder, and catastrophe; the story of a devoted wife who witnesses her husband's destruction by obsession and madness. Ultimately it is the powerful and moving story of a woman's triumph over tragedy and loss through her courage, creativity, and intelligence. First published in 1999.

Fiction.

The eight stories in this collection explore the boundary conditions between self and others. Social realities--racial and ethnic tensions, sexual harassment and abuse--provide the backdrop for struggles that ultimately take place in the heart. While Naslund's characters accept that their inner tides cannot be brought into obedience, sometimes, in the act of recognizing the force of their own hopes, needs, and fears, they learn to navigate those waters.

"New York Times bestselling author Sena Jeter Naslund explores the artistic processes and lives of creative women in her groundbreaking literary opus The Fountain of St. James Court; or Portrait of the Artist as an Old Woman. Sena Jeter Naslund's inspiring novel-within-a-novel depicts the lives of both a fictional contemporary writer and a historic painter whose works now hang in the great museums of Europe and America. The story opens at midnight beside a beautifully illumined fountain of Venus Rising from the Sea. Kathryn Callaghan has just finished her novel about painter Élisabeth Vigée-LeBrun, a survivor of the French Revolution hated for her sympathetic portraits of Marie Antoinette. Though still haunted by the story she has written, Kathryn must leave the eighteenth-century European world she has researched and made vivid in order to return to her own life as an American in 2012. Naslund's spellbinding new novel presents the reader with an alternate version of The Artist: a woman of age who has created for herself, against enormous odds, a fulfilling life of thoroughly realized achievement." --Amazon

Weaving together the lives of blacks and whites, racists and civil rights advocates, and the events of peaceful protest and violent repression, Sena Jeter Naslund creates a tapestry of American social transformation at once intimate and epic. In Birmingham, Alabama, twenty-year-old Stella Silver, an idealistic white college student, is sent reeling off her measured path by events of 1963. Combining political activism with single parenting and night-school teaching, African American Christine Taylor discovers she must heal her own bruised heart to actualize meaningful social change. Inspired by the courage and commitment of the civil rights movement, the child Edmund Powers embodies hope for future change. In this novel of maturation and growth, Naslund makes vital the intersection of spiritual, political, and moral forces that have redefined America. First published in 2003.

A collection of poetry, fiction, non-fiction, plays, etc.

Short stories. Fiction.

When Sherlock Holmes went to his grave, what unutterable secret went with him? Why is the now-venerable Doctor Watson, having decided to write his old friend's biography, suddenly receiving death threats? What do Holmes's celebrated Stradivarius, an unpublished and long-forgotten adventure, and a mysterious musician-cum-prestidigitator have in common? These are the questions that Watson must answer, before the anonymous threats on his life become a reality.

With an introduction by Wade Hall, Morris Grubbs has sifted through vintage classics, little-known gems, and stunning debuts to assemble this collection of forty stories by popular and critically acclaimed writers. In subtle and profound ways they challenge and overturn accepted stereotypes about the land their authors call home, whether by birth or by choice. Kentucky writers have produced some of the finest short stories published in the last fifty years, much of which focuses on the tension between the comforts of community and the siren-like lure of the outside world. Arranged chronologically, from Robert Penn Warren's "Blackberry Winter" to Crystal E. Wilkinson's "Humming Back Yesterday," these stories are linked by their juxtaposition of departures and returns, the familiar and the unknown, home and beyond. Contributors: Robert Penn Warren, Caroline Gordon, James Still, Jane Mayhall, Elizabeth Hardwick, Dean Cadle, Jesse Stuart, Billy C. Clark, Janice Holt Giles, A.B. Guthrie, Jr., Hollis Summers, Ed McClanahan, Sallie Bingham, Robert Hazel, Jack Cady, Jim Wayne Miller, David Madden, Gayl Jones, Jane Stuart, Gurney Norman, Walter Tevis, Bobbie Ann Mason, Joe Ashby Porter, Leon V. Driskell, Mary Ann Taylor-Hall, Richard Cortez Day, Sena Jeter Naslund, Pat Carr, Wendell Berry, James Baker Hall, Lisa Koger, Barbara Kingsolver, Normandi Ellis, Guy Davenport, Kim Edwards, Chris Holbrook, Paul Griner, Chris Offutt, Dwight Allen, Crystal E. Wilkinson. Edited by Morris Allen Grubbs; with an introduction by Wade Hall and an afterword by Charles E. May.

A collection of poetry, fiction, non-fiction, plays, etc.

Sound recording. Eight Kentucky writers read from their own works; previously recorded as part of the Kentucky Center for the Arts' Readings series beginning in 1988. Named persons: James Still; Marsha Norman; Jim Wayne Miller; Sena Jeter Naslund; Sarah Gorham; Jeffrey Skinner; Maureen Podshadley Morehead; Fenton Johnson.
7 audiocassettes.

Christian Fiction; 366 pages.

Erupting from an explosion in Detroit that kills eight, including the innocent family of Dr. Michael George, this page turning psychological action-thriller spreads like an epidemic from Los Angeles to Damascus leaving death in its wake. Michael, a neurosurgeon, becomes obsessed with vengeance. He is joined by his brother David, his friend Susan, & a beautiful Parisian, Juda, as they uncover & track relentlessly a secret society within the Vatican that has orchestrated the killings. Their search takes them into the National Institute of Health, the Pasteur Institute, a giant French pharmaceutical firm, & the jungles of Zaire as they are pursued by an Arab contract killer, Raol Shamir, in a trail of murder & religious intrigue from Paris to Rome, the dark streets of Venice & the deserts of Syria. In the shadows of the Vatican, Michael must confront a power-crazed Cardinal & a Masonic society of criminals, as Juda grapples with assassins who would kill the Pope as a part of their plan to restore the Church's absolute power in the world & place their leader into the Papacy. A blending of historical fact & fiction, it has unforgettable characters & compelling action that will carry the reader late into the night to its shuddering climax.

Carrie Amelia Nation (1846-1911) was a member of the temperance movement - the battles against alcohol in pre-Prohibition America. She has been the topic of numerous books, articles and even a 1966 opera at the University of Kansas. Born Carrie Moore in Garrard County, Kentucky, Nation got her myth-making last name from her second husband, David Nation. A large woman (nearly 6 feet tall and 175 pounds) she described herself as "a bulldog running along at the feet of Jesus, barking at what he doesn't like" and claimed a divine ordination to promote temperance by smashing up bars. Second edition.

Temperance newspaper. Topeka, Kansas.

Temperance newspaper. Guthrie, Oklahoma.

It began with the best of intentions. Worried about the effects of alcohol on American families, mothers and civic leaders started a movement to outlaw drinking in public places. Over time, their protests, petitions, and activism paid off--when a Constitutional Amendment banning the sale and consumption of alcohol was ratified, it was hailed as the end of public drunkenness, alcoholism, and a host of other social ills related to booze. Instead, it began a decade of lawlessness, when children smuggled (and drank) illegal alcohol, the most upright citizens casually broke the law, and a host of notorious gangsters entered the public eye. Filled with period art and photographs, anecdotes, and portraits of unique characters from the era, this fascinating book looks at the rise and fall of the disastrous social experiment known as Prohibition. Bootleg is a 2011Kirkus Best Teen Books of the Year title. One of School Library Journal's Best Nonfiction Books of 2011. YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Finalist in 2012.

"A needed and welcome account of Carry Nation's story . . . deserves the highest praise." --Journal of American History "Admirably interweaves early 20th-century religious culture, regional politics, the suffrage and temperance movements, and the woman who worked zealously to unite them all." --Library Journal (starred review) In her well-received biography of Carry A. Nation, Fran Grace unfolds a story that often contrasts with the common public image of Nation as "Crazy Carry," a bellicose, blue-nosed, man-hating killjoy. Using newly available archival materials and placing Nation in her various historical and cultural contexts, Grace "retells" the crusader's tumultuous life. This complexly woven and delightfully written biography begins the work of recovering Nation's often fascinating, often disturbing life. Religion in North America--Catherine L. Albanese and Stephen J. Stein, editors

This volume examines the life of Carry A. Nation, whose destruction of saloons and other businesses that sold liquor in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century won her both praise and criticism from fellow temperance advocates. Although she was arrested, beaten, and often criticized, she impressed many people with her sincerity and courage. She carried the temperance crusade from the level of education to that of action, and helped bring on national prohibition.

Biography. Portrays the personal crises, determination, and deep religious faith that led Carry Nation to conduct her temperance crusade.

Biography; 307 pages; illustrations; plates; portraits.

Biography; 364 pages; illustrations.

Women's stories are noticeably absent from the master narrative of the Populist and Progressive movements, where their struggle for civil rights was more evident in the Midwest than any other region in the country. This collection of eleven biographical essays highlights women leaders in the Midwest who challenged gender, racial, class, and ethnic boundaries in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Not only were these midwestern women powerful orators and active leaders, they were influential in shaping the culture in their communities. These pioneering women include Amanda Berry Smith and Carry Nation who helped lay the groundwork for the Progressive Era, Esther Twente who helped develop higher education, Elfrieda von Rohr, Mary Sibley, and Linda Slaughter whose religious affiliations gave them leadership opportunities for political and social influence, Frances Dana Gage who contributed to women's rights and temperance issues, Marietta Bones who championed the women's suffrage movement, Alice Moore French who was American War Mothers founder and first president, socialist Genora Dollinger who spoke out for quality of life and rights in organising a strike at a General Motors plant, and Harriett Friedman Woods who held various state political offices and a national office.

Biography; 106 pages; plates; portraits.

"In the long and painful annals of good works," Robert Lewis Taylor begins this dual portrait of a woman and an age, "no name leaps out with more concussive impact than that of Carry Nation." The Pulitzer-prize-winning novelist and biographer tells Nation's whole remarkable story--as well as the story of her turbulent era, raucous with hymn singing and gunfighting, rampant with high ideals and low politics. Carry Nation and her hatchet have long passed into legend, but at the turn of the century, this extraordinary phenomenon was the most discussed woman in the world. She was a force to be reckoned with, fought against, fled from, or fervently admired. Kansas tenaciously survived the Daltons, the James brothers, and Belle Starr, but its marshals, its judges, its rough-and-ready populace had never been called upon to deal with anyone quite like "stand up and fight" Carry Nation. America's most uninhibited crusader was born into a family of oddities. One of her aunts made repeated attempts to convert herself into a weathervane. Carry's mother firmly believed herself to be Queen Victoria. As a child, Carry had "visions"; as an adult, she was sane, if rigorously single-minded, in her determination to reform. She carried her free-swinging campaign against drink, tobacco, sex, the Masonic Lodge, William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, and many more, far and wide. Carry Nation swung her hatchet from the brawling Wichita of Wyatt Earp to the Tenderloin of New York, to the halls of Yale and Harvard, to the far corners of America, and overseas to a bemused Old World. Thanks to a masculine bias of the period against shooting women, she not only survived, she thrived to demolish saloons, insult judges, defy sheriffs, and terrorize bartenders. She invaded the most sacred of male preserves--and she inspired women everywhere to revolt. Even today, for readers accustomed to all the varieties of public protest, her exploits can only produce a kind of awed wonder. In magnificently capturing Carry Nation and her world, Robert Lewis Taylor has created a work no lover of true Americana can afford to miss. Marvelously detailed, delightfully witty, this is an altogether spellbinding biography by a major American author.--Adapted from jacket.

Postcard from Carry Nation to her friend, Mrs. Marion Armstead Wilson, 1901. Archival material.

Audio recording; approx. 10 minutes.

Housed at the Wichita State University Library, Special Collections Department.

Housed at the Wichita State University Library, Special Collections Department. Summary, "This collection includes two letters written to Brother James by Carry Nation, a telegram to M.B. Jones, a bail bond (Nation was jailed for malicious destruction of property), and a photograph."

Housed at Abilene Christian University, Texas. Primarily consists of hand written letters composed by Disciples of Christ church leaders.

Sung in English. Performers: Beverly Wolff (Carry Nation); Ellen Faull (Her mother); Julian Patrick (Charles); Arnold Voketaitis (Her father); Dan Kingman (1st man in saloon); Don Carlo (2nd man in saloon); Don Yule (City mashal); Kellis Miller (Ben); Edward Pierson (Preacher); Ronald Bentley, John Stewart (young men at hoedown); Arlene Adler (young girl at hoedown); Jack Bittner (Toaset at hoedown, Caretaker); Michael Ahearn (Boy); Colette Martin (Girl); Joan August (1st auxiliary lady) ; Maria West (2nd auxiliary lady); Lila Herbert (3rd auxiliary lady); Donna Owen (4th auxiliary lady); New York City Opera, Samuel Krachmalnick, conductor.

Musical score; vocal score with piano. Music by Douglas Moore; libretto by William North Jayme.

DVD video; approx. 119 minutes. This is a journey into the past of Kansas City. It's a collection of stories about people, places and events woven through time. Hosted by Bill Kalahurka. Named persons: Carry Amelia Nation; Ewing Marion Kauffman; James Naismith; George Edward Kessler; C. W. Parker; George Brett; Robert Stroud; and Mr.s Sam Ray.

"In this examination of German texts written about the First World War, Wolfgang Natter offers a new understanding of the relationship between culture and warfare. He focuses not only on the literary voices of German authors whose works are found in a library today but also on the wartime agencies, institutions, and individuals that produced and distributed an enormous body of books and printed materials during the First World War, the Weimar period, and the years preceding the Second World War. Natter argues that the militarization of literature that occurred between 1914 and 1918 and the ways war events reconfigured literary institutions, aesthetics, and cultural politics help to explain how a military ethos could remain vibrant in a defeated Germany and lay the groundwork for another world war."--Jacket.

John Paul Jones III, Wolfgang Natter, and Theodore Schatzki are co-Directors of the University of Kentucky Committee on Social Theory. They are members, respectively, of the departments of Geography, Germanic Languages and Literatures, and Philosophy.

Beginning with the provocative premise that the body is the anchor of the social order, this unique book delves into the multidimensional relationship between sociopolitical bodies and human bodies. Celebrated authors, including Judith Butler and Emily Martin, explore the ways that prevailing economic and political institutions affect our physical selves and how we experience them, and, in turn, the ways that our bodily senses, energies, activities, and desires reinforce or challenge the societal status quo. Timely and theoretically sophisticated, this book makes a significant contribution to some of the most vital debates of cultural studies and political theory today.

Wolfgang Natter, Theodore R. Schatzki, and John Paul Jones III, the editors of Postmodern Contentions and Objectivity and Its Other, are founding members of the Committee on Social Theory at the University of Kentucky, where they teach in the Departments of Germanic Languages and Literature, Philosophy, and Geography.

Poems; 85 pages. "...this new world fraught with enormous new challenges weighted down with inherited old world problems, needs new navigational tools, new tongues unafraid of truth, and new poets with hearts and words almost too big for the treasure chests they beat in. You can find all of that and a hint of raw sugarcane in these pages." Frank X Walker. "In Of Jíbaros and Hillbillies, Ricardo Nazario y Colón connects the dots between Puerto Rico and Affrilachia, creating a route that is poetic narrative, grito, reflection and canci n. The writing is muscular, intimately masculine, yet able to fully embrace a female essence-in poems that reference the Great Mother or in intimate connection with a woman the poet desires. The present legacy of racism, sexism, eco-exploitation, and colonialism, of psychic damage suffered in war-all are articulated here. In a favorite piece, Nazario y Colón crafts an ode/psalm to his spirit brother, Frank X Walker, where the ties that connect are lovingly etched." Lisa Alvarado.

Poems; 24 pages. Contents: Nacimiento -- Lecciones de Piano -- Tío Carmen -- Rafael -- Recital -- Jardinera de Dios -- El Despertar de Santos -- Orfeo y la Ballena -- India -- Testigo a sus Vidas.

The Appalachian region stretches from Mississippi to New York, encompassing rural areas as well as cities from Birmingham to Pittsburgh. Though Appalachia's people are as diverse as its terrain, few other regions in America are as burdened with stereotypes. Author Frank X Walker coined the term "Affrilachia" to give identity and voice to people of African descent from this region and to highlight Appalachia's multicultural identity. This act inspired a group of gifted artists, the Affrilachian Poets, to begin working together and using their writing to defy persistent stereotypes of Appalachia as a racially and culturally homogenized region. After years of growth, honors, and accomplishments, the group is acknowledging its silver anniversary with Black Bone. Edited by two newer members of the Affrilachian Poets, Bianca Lynne Spriggs and Jeremy Paden, Black Bone is a beautiful collection of both new and classic work and features submissions from Frank X Walker, Nikky Finney, Gerald Coleman, Crystal Wilkinson, Kelly Norman Ellis, and many others. This illuminating and powerful collection is a testament to a groundbreaking group and its enduring legacy.

Daniel Cross Turner and William Wright's anthology Hard Lines: Rough South Poetry centers on the darker side of southern experience while presenting a remarkable array of poets from diverse backgrounds in the American South. As tough-minded as they are high-minded, the sixty contemporary poets and two hundred poems anthologized in Hard Lines enhance the powerful genre of ""Grit Lit."" The volume gathers the work of poets who have for some decades formed the heart of southern poetry as well as that of emerging voices who will soon become significant figures in southern literature. These poems sting our sensesinto awareness of a gritty world down South: hard work, hard love, hard drinking, hard times; but they also explore the importance of the land and rural experience, as well as race- , gender- , and class-based conflicts. Readers will see, hear (for poetry is meant to ring in the ears), and feel (for poetry is meant to beat in the blood); there is plenty of raucousness in this anthology. And yet the cultural conflicts that ignite southern wildness are often depicted in a manner that is lyrical without becoming lugubrious, mournful but not maudlin. Some of these poets are coming to terms with a visibly transforming culture--a ""roughness"" in and of itself. Indeed many of these poets are helping to change the definition of the South. The anthology also features biographical information on each poet in addition to further reading suggestions and scholarly sources on contemporary poetry. Featured Poets: Betty Adcock, David Bottoms, Kathryn Stripling Byer, James Dickey, Rodney Jones, Yusef Komunyakaa, Ron Rash, Dave Smith , Natasha Trethewey, Charles Wright, Fred Chappell, Kelly Cherry, Allison Adelle Hedge Coke, Kate Daniels, Kwame Dawes, Claudia Emerson, Andrew Hudgins, T. R. Hummer, Robert Morgan, Ellen Bryant Voigt, Dan Albergotti, Tarfia Faizullah, Forrest Gander, Terrance Hayes, Judy Jordan, John Lane, Michael McFee, Paul Ruffin, Steve Scafidi, Jake Adam York, Richard Narario Y Colón...

DVD video. This disc is a recorded DVD and may not play on all DVD players or drives. Originally produced as a motion picture in 2001; broadcast on television on KET Kentucky Educational Television's Kentucky Muse series on February 5, 2008.
"Coal Black voices is an intimate mosaic of images, poetry, and storytelling by Afrilachian poets as they give glimpses of life in the American Black South and Appalachian region. The ensemble of African-American writers challenge simple notions of an all white Appalachian region and culture while drawing on the traditions such as the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts Movement, and the experiences of the African Disapora. The poetry of the Affrilachian poets celebrates their African heritage and rural roots while encompassing themes of racism and Black identity. In this documentary they give voice to the pleasures of family, land, good food, artistic community, music and transformation"--Container.

The acclaimed autobiography from the Tony and Academy Award-winning actress casts Patricia Neal in her greatest role--as the indomitable heroine of her own incredible real-life story: "Destined for bestsellerdom" (Library Journal). Throughout her triumphant career, Patricia Neal faced a series of devastating challenges and losses, sometimes privately, sometimes before an audience of millions. By age twenty-one, the self-confident, determined, Southern-bred actress had starred in a Broadway hit, won a Tony, was "the toast of New York" and was featured on a Life cover--only the first of many triumphs in a celebrity life. "In this account, Neal writes candidly about her numerous love affairs, both transient and profound, such as a liaison with Gary Cooper and her twenty-five-year marriage to writer Roald Dahl. More arresting are the tragedies that beset her, including the deaths of two of her five children and, at age thirty-nine, a massive stroke suffered when she was at the peak of her career and carrying her fifth child. Her heroic struggle to regain her speech, mobility, and mental capacities adds another dimension to an already courageous human being" (Publishers Weekly). First published in 1988.

DVD; approx. 156 minutes. Adaptation of Erich Maria Remarque's novel. Originally broadcast as made for TV movie in 1979. At the rise of what would become known as World War I, German patriot Paul Baumer and his friends enlist in the Imperial German Army. In search of adventure and eager to assert the superiority of their nation, the young men endure a brutal training camp and soon find themselves face to face with the full horrors of war when they are sent to the front lines to fight, and likely die.

DVD video; approx. 114. Based on the novel by Truman Capote. Originally produced as a motion picture in 1961. Holly Golightly is an eccentric New York City playgirl determined to marry a Brazilian millionaire. Her next-door neighbor, a writer, is "sponsored" by a wealthy patroness. Guessing who's the right man for Holly is easy; seeing just how romance blossoms is one of the enduring delights of the film.

DVD; approx. 97 minutes. Based on the novel "To have and have not" by Ernest Hemingway. Originally produced as a motion picture in 1950. "Michael Curtiz brings a master skipper's hand to the helm of this thriller, Hollywood's second crack at Ernest Hemingway's To Have And Have Not. John Garfield stars as Harry Morgan, an honest charter-boat captain who, facing hard times, take on dangerous cargo to save his boat, support his family, and preserve his dignity. Left in the lurch by a freeloading passenger, Harry starts to entertain the criminal propositions of a sleazy lawyer (Wallace Ford) as well as the playful come-ons of a cheeky blonde (Patricia Neal), making a series of compromises that stretch his morality--and his marriage--further than he'll admit. Hewing closer to Hemingway's novel than Howard Hawks's Bogart-Bacall vehicle does, The Breaking Point charts a course through daylight noir and working-class tragedy, guided by Curtiz's effortless visual fluency and a stoic, career-capping performance from Garfield"--Container.

DVD; approx. 118 minutes. Originally released as a motion picture in 1999. The small southern town of Holly Springs hasn't had such a claim to fame since the advance of General Grant was halted there in 1862. But now the mysterious death of Holly Springs matriarch Jewel Mae, known affectionately as "Cookie," has the small town in an uproar. Who is the murderer? Where is the murderer? Has there even been a murder?--Container.

DVD; approx. 92 minutes. Based on the story "Farewell to the master" by Harry Bates. Originally produced as a motion picture in 1951. In this influential sci-fi classic produced in the early 50s, a spaceship lands in Washington, D.C. capturing the attention of the world. But the alien emissary it brings refuses to reveal his mission to any single government, leaving the military, the politicians, and millions of ordinary people to wait in fear. Soon their distrust turns to calls for violence. But one young woman and her son befriend him ... and soon realize that they may be all that stands between the human race and total destruction.

DVD; approx. 126 minutes. Originally produced as a motion picture in 1957. An Arkansas hobo becomes an overnight media sensation. But as he becomes drunk with fame and power, will he ever be exposed as the fraud he has become?

DVD; approx. 112 minutes. Originally produced as a motion picture in 1949. From the novel The fountainhead by Ayn Rand. An uncompromising architect refuses to change his designs and when he discovers the plans for one of his buildings has been changed, he blows up the structure and attempts to defend his actions.

DVD; approx. 111 minutes. Originally released as a motion picture in 1981. Based on the book by Peter Straub. In a gloomy New England setting, four elderly men who gather once a week to thrill each other with tales of terror find one of their scariest stories coming to life. A woman they mistakenly left for dead fifty years earlier returns to life to get revenge.

DVD; approx. 102 minutes. From the stage play by John Patrick produced by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse. Originally produced as a motion picture in 1949. The war is suddenly over for two Allied soldiers injured in Burma and sent to a remote jungle hospital. Facing the battle of recovery, the easy-going Yank and the proud yet stubborn Scotsman form a bond with the other patients and Army staff.

DVD; approx. 191 minutes. Originally produced on television in 1993. After charming her reclusive grandfather and falling in love with the beautiful mountain he calls home, Heidi is uprooted and sent to Frankfurt where she befriends Klara, a young girl confined to a wheelchair, and must make a difficult decision.

DVD; approx. 98 minutes. Originally produced for television broadcast in 1971. Based on the novel "The Homecoming" by Earl Hammer. "The heartwarming holiday movie that inspired 'The Walton'"--Container. Set on a Depression Christmas Eve in 1933, this heart-tugging story centers around the Waltons, a rural family, as they prepare to celebrate Christmas together.

DVD; approx. 111 minutes. Originally released as a motion picture in 1963. Based on the novel Horseman pass by, by Larry McMurtry. Hud Bannon has always preferred drinking, fighting and womanizing to the very traditional ways of his father. Hud is a man who cares more for himself than he does his young nephew, his dad, or even their understanding housekeeper. When disease threatens the cattle on the Bannon Ranch, the conflict between Hud and his old-line father reaches an all time high.

DVD; approx. 167 minutes. Based on the novel Harm's way by James Bassett. Originally released as a motion picture in 1965. Epic treatment of the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the attack on the naval base.

DVD; approx. 111 minutes. Videodisc release of the 1951 motion picture; copyright renewed ©1979 by Warner Bros. World War II rages across the Pacific and Lt. Cmdr. Duke E. Gifford (John Wayne) is in the thick of it. He evacuates children from enemy-held islands ; oversees the research and development of torpedoes at Pearl Harbor ; and prowls the depths in the submarine Thunderfish, hoping for a chance to aim his improved "tin fish"--Torpedoes - at the hulls of the enemy fleet.

The internationally acclaimed actress Patricia Neal has been a star on stage, film, and television for nearly sixty years. On Broadway she appeared in such lauded productions as Lillian Hellman's Another Part of the Forest, for which she won the very first Tony Award, and The Miracle Worker. In Hollywood she starred opposite the likes of Ronald Reagan, Gary Cooper, John Wayne, Paul Newman, Fred Astaire, and Tyrone Power in some thirty films. Neal anchored such classic pictures as The Day the Earth Stood Still, A Face in the Crowd, and Breakfast at Tiffany's, but she is perhaps best known for her portrayal of Alma Brown in Hud, which earned her the Academy Award for Best Actress in 1963. But there has been much, much more to Neal's life. She was born Patsy Louise Neal on January 20, 1926, in Packard, Kentucky, though she spent most of her childhood in Knoxville, Tennessee. Neal quickly gained attention for her acting abilities in high school, community, and college performances. Her early stage successes were overshadowed by the unexpected death of her father in 1944. Soon after she left New York for Hollywood in 1947, Neal became romantically involved with Gary Cooper, her married co-star in The Fountainhead, an attachment which brought them both a great deal of notoriety in the press and a great deal of heartache in their personal lives. In 1953, Neal married famed children's author Roald Dahl, a match that would bring her five children and thirty years of dramatic ups and downs. In 1961, their son, Theo, was seriously injured in an automobile accident and required multiple neurosurgeries and years of rehabilitation; the following year their daughter, Olivia, died of measles. At the pinnacle of her screen career, Patricia Neal suffered a series of strokes which left her in a coma for twenty-one days. Variety even ran a headline erroneously stating that she had died. At the time, Neal was pregnant with her and Dahl's fifth child, Lucy, who was born healthy a few months later. After a difficult recovery, Neal returned to film acting, earning a second Academy Award nomination for The Subject Was Roses. She appeared in a number of television movie roles in the 1970s and 1980s and won a Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Dramatic TV Movie in 1971 for her role in The Homecoming. Patricia Neal: An Unquiet Life is the first critical biography detailing the actress's impressive film career and remarkable personal life. Author Stephen Michael Shearer has conducted numerous interviews with Neal, her professional colleagues, and her intimate friends and was given access to the actress's personal papers. The result is an honest and comprehensive portrait of an accomplished woman who has lived her life with determination and bravado.

This is the story of Patricia Neal's extraordinary recovery from a massive series of strokes.

Biography; 42 pages; illustrations.

"My Kentucky Home is a loving tribute to Kentucky told through the profiles of some of its most accomplished individuals. From those who attained celebrity status for their achievements in art, entertainment and sports, to those who worked tirelessly with or without recognition to move Kentucky forward, the book illuminates what has always been the state's greatest aspect, its people. This book celebrates the many facets of Kentucky. It is a portrait of a land that calls us home to hiking trails, river rapids, bourbon, horse racing and our family. It's an insightful portrait of the people of Kentucky-from one of the nation's most prominent television journalists, Diane Sawyer; the most awarded woman in country music history, Loretta Lynn; to Cal Turner Sr., founder of Dollar General and Master Distiller, Parker Beam. In his introduction, award winning American journalist, anchorman and television host Nick Clooney celebrates the important role Kentucky played in his life. 'At a recent family reunion, as I looked at the 100 or so of us gathered, I felt a deep gratitude to be their kin. They live everywhere now and they are as diverse as can be imagined. But when they came to this place, where so many of our ancestors are buried, it was impossible to deny what an important role Kentucky had played in their lives, even those who were visiting the Bluegrass for the first time.' Today Kentucky is traditional, hospitable, vibrant and diverse. It is free-spirited and on the move. It still has its enchanting old towns with their own individual histories, as well as shining new suburban neighborhoods. My Kentucky Home is a book that celebrates those who believe Kentucky is a beautiful place to call home."--Inside dust jacket.

Concentrating on the early twentieth century, Images of America: Louisville celebrates a dynamic community and the people, both famous and everyday, who have contributed to its lasting legacy. Since its founding at the Falls of the Ohio by George Rogers Clark in 1778, Louisville and its people have looked to the mighty Ohio River as the city's lifeblood. Louisville has counted on the river for transportation, commerce, leisure, culture, and natural beauty. Characterized by abundant opportunity-both professional and recreational-this renowned city has grown and prospered to become the business and industrial center of Kentucky. Is Louisville the southernmost midwestern town, or is it an upper south, southern city? This identity crisis has arisen from a historical diversity of people, industries, architecture, and commerce. Louisville has been home to large populations of German, Irish, French, and other immigrants. Large multi-national corporations, such as General Electric, Brown Forman, Philip Morris, and UPS have also called Louisville home over the years. The city counts among its famous sons William Clark, who, with Merriwether Lewis, led the Lewis and Clark Expedition in 1803, and sports icon Muhammad Ali. Local streets boast modern architectural treasures such as the Humana Building, designed by Michael Graves, and the American Life Building by Mies van der Rohe. Louisville is also home to Churchill Downs and the country's premier equestrian competition, the Kentucky Derby. These and many other notable facets of the city's rich heritage are illuminated in the vintage photographs within this volume.

History, 159 pages. "A guide to historic places in Jefferson County, Kentucky gleaned from county records, National Register nominations and other sources." --Author's description

29 unnumbered pages. "An edited collection of Moremen family recipes" --Author's description. Riverside, The Farnsley-Moremen Landing is located on Lower River Road at Moorman Road, Louisville, Kentucky.

History; various paging.

Fiction; 393 pages. Stella Jasper, a self-centered, free-spending socialite in suburban McLean, Virginia, is jolted into reality when her husband, a well-connected Washington lobbyist, abruptly disappears and leaves her cash-strapped, snubbed by her friends, and under investigation by the FBI. Angered and on her own, she slips away incognito and follows his trail to a small town in the Kentucky mountains, where she meets B. J. Matson, a local man who has been a lifelong loner. Together, they unexpectedly play a behind-the-scenes role in solving a mystery that fuels a major scandal in the White House and throws the presidential election campaign into disarray. Set in Washington, D.C. and rural Kentucky, the book provides a vivid portrayal of characters in both places.

Biography; 222 pages. Offers a rare and insightful look into the mind of the man behind the aloof public image, the man whose decisions have altered economies of countries around the world.

Non-fiction; 255 pages.

History; 314 pages, illustrations. "Dr. Nelli . . . describes the kinds of crime that prevailed in Italian immigrant enclaves in America; like most American crime, then as now, Italian crime was one aspect of the so-called culture of urban poverty-boys graduated from street gangs to criminal gangs. None of these gangs were very big until Prohibition brought the Great Leap Forward, to a level that Dr. Nelli calls 'entrepreneurial crime.' His fine account makes sense of many murderous incidents, differentiates among places, and sketches individuals and the talents (Torrio's brains, Capone's brutality) that enabled them to rise in the underworld."-New Yorker "A definitive history of organized crime in America."-American Historical Review

History; 225 pages.

"Reprinted for private circulation from the American journal of sociology, vol. 74, no. 4, January 1969." From the American Journal of Sociology, vol.74, no.4 (January, 1969), pages 373-391.

History; 300 pages, illustrations, maps. Contents: From rural Italy to urban America; Patterns of settlement; Economic activity: The Padrone era and after; Ethnic group politics; Italians and crime: The formative years; Community institutions and assimilation; Decade of transition: From World War to Depression.

"Funded in part by the Kentucky Humanities Council."

In its 95-year history, the Kentucky Wildcats have won more games than any other college basketball team. Their winning percentage is the highest in the country. They share the record for the most 20-win seasons. They are second in all-time number one rankings. And despite no longer holding the record for winningest coach, Adolph Rupp will always be a giant in the pantheon of college basketball. When The Winning Tradition first appeared in 1984, it was the first complete history of the Wildcat basketball program. Bert Nelli pointed out that, contrary to the accepted mythology, Adolph Rupp arrived at a program already strong and storied. Nor did Rupp bring an entirely new style of play to the Bluegrass. Instead he adopted -- and perfected -- that of his predecessor, John Mauer. What Rupp did bring was an ability to charm the news media and a fierce determination to turn out winning teams, making him the undisputed "Baron of Basketball." This new and expanded edition of The Winning Tradition brings the history of Kentucky basketball up to date. Nelli and his son Steve turn the same unflinching gaze that characterized the honesty of the first edition on the scandals that marred Eddie Sutton's tenure, the return to glory under Rick Pitino, and a full accounting of Tubby Smith's history-making first year. The start of basketball season is welcomed in the Bluegrass with an unmatched enthusiasm and intensity. Each year brings a new team, new stars, and new glory. Other books have documented individual seasons, individual players, or individual coaches. But The Winning Tradition remains the only complete and authoritative history of the most celebrated college basketball program in the world. A book no fan can afford to be without, The Winning Tradition brings alive the agonies, frustrations, and glories of each season of Kentucky basketball, from the first team (fielded by women) to the surprising victory in the 1998 NCAA tournament.

Conference papers and proceedings; 242 pages.

Dissertation from the University of Chicago.

The Book of the Knight Zifar (or Cifar), Spain's first novel of chivalry, is the tale of a virtuous but unfortunate knight who has fallen from grace and must seek redemption through suffering and good deeds. Because of a curse that repeatedly deprives him of that most important of knightly accoutrements -- his horse -- Zifar and his family must flee their native India and wander through distant lands seeking to regain their rank and fortune. A series of mishaps divides the family, and the novel follows their separate adventures -- alternatively heroic, comic, and miraculous -- until at length they are reunited and their honor restored. The anonymous author of Zifar based his early fourteenth-century novel on the medieval story of the life of St. Eustacius, but onto this trunk he grafted a surprising variety of narrative types: Oriental tales of romance and magic, biblical stories, moralizing fables popular since the Middle Ages, including several from Aesop, and instructions in the rules of proper knightly conduct. Humor in the form of puns, jokes, and old proverbs also runs through the novel. In particular, the foolish/wise Knave offers a comic contrast to the heroic Knight, whom he must continually rescue through the application of common sense. Zifar was to have an important influence on later Spanish literature, and perhaps on Cervantes' great tale of a knight and his squire, Don Quixote. All those with an interest in Spanish literature and medieval life will be grateful for Mr. Nelson's excellent translation, which brings to life this extraordinary early novel.

Cover title: Book of the Cats.

PhD dissertation from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

MA thesis from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1964

Conference proceedings; 611 pages.

Bibliography; compiled and with an introduction and notes by James G. Nelson; 74 pages; plates, illustrations, portraits.

Bibliography, history; 387 pages, illustrations, facsimiles, portraits.

Biography; 299 pages, illustrations. The book is an account of Elkin Mathews achievement as a publisher and the means by which he sought to attain his goals. During his more than 30 years as a publisher, Mathews brought out books central to the Decadent and Symbolist movements of the 1890s. He also published the work of authors in the forefront of the Celtic movement and issued numerous books by Ezra Pound. There is also an account of the role he played in the literary careers of his best-known and most significant authors, separate chapters being devoted to Yeats, Joyce and Pound.

Publisher to the Decadents chronicles the experiences of Leonard Smithers (1861-1907), a key figure in the literary culture of late Victorian England. In his day he was known primarily for publishing books of upscale pornography. He became the publisher of choice for the Decadents, including most notably Oscar Wilde and Audrey Beardsley. While a young solicitor in his native Sheffield, Smithers established a correspondence with the famed explorer and translator of exotic texts, Captain Sir Richard Burton. Burton translated The Thousand Nights and a Night (popularly known as The Arabian Nights), which was published by Smithers in 1885. Smithers collaborated with Burton in the publication of two Latin texts, the Priapeia and the Carmina of Catullus, both of erotic cast. After the death of Burton in 1890, Smithers continued a significant involvement with his work, serving as an adviser to Lady Isabel Burton. During this time Smithers formed a partnership with Harry Sidney Nichols, and together they produced a series of pornographic books under the imprint of the Erotika Biblion Society. The years between 1895 and 1900 were Smithers's glory years when he managed to publish a number of books illustrated by Beardsley, a magazine known as the Savoy, and books of verse by Ernest Dowson and Arthur Symons that have proved to be the finest expression of the Decadent Movement. Throughout his career Smithers sought to produce attractive, well-made books that were tastefully designed and printed. This book provides expansive insight into the prizes and pitfalls of an early English publisher of the decadent Nineties.

Biography; 193 pages. Twayne's English Authors series, TEAS 45.

Criticism; 209 pages. This is a study of poet John Milton's reputation and importance during the Victorian era, while highlighting the difference between modern and Victorian modes of criticism. Modern critics are concerned with what Milton means, while Victorian critics focused on what Milton meant to their entire society. For Victorians' Milton remained a vital presence, his political ideas found new champions, and his poetry continued to provoke responses from all levels of society--positive to negative--but never indifferent.

Essays. Contributors: G. Thomas Tanselle; Jonathan Allison; Mark Samuels Lasner; Nicholas Frankel; Margaret D. Stetz; Linda K. Hughes; Philip K. Cohen; Steven Halliwell; Linda Gertner Zatlin; James G. Nelson.

Exhibition catalog. "The Niles Gallery, Lucille Little Fine Arts Library, University of Kentucky, Fall 2004." Program titled An 1890's symposium & exhibition honoring James G. Nelson, laid in.

Biography. Reprint of the 1934 edition published by Young Pub. Co., Paducah, Ky.

262 pages; illustrations; plates; portraits. With an introduction by O. O. McIntyre.

Second edition. Contents: Chief Paduke and his peaceful Indian tribe; Hon. Linn Boyd and noted career; Gen. Lloyd Tilghman and his dashing bravery; Colonel Albert P. Thompson and the battle of Paducah; "Old Judge Priest" and his noble characteristics; Irvin S. Cobb and his teachers and old school days; Paducah's mayors and their achievements.

Biography; 80 pages. "An enlarged edition of the author's Irvin S. Cobb, pub. 1924."

Second , revised printing. First published in 1927. The Story of Paducah carries one back to the earliest knowledge of the city, to the time the Chickasaw Indians inhabited it. The city was first called Pekin but was afterward changed to Paducah, named for the Indian chief "Paduke" who lived here. Paducah is abundant in history and no one knew it better and was more acquainted with the facts than the writer who spent many days, months and years in the collection of data on the happenings of the time. the story is told in a very interesting manner and is a delight to read, for both young and old. Paducah was platted in 1827 and incorporated as a town in January, 1830. This, the second printing of "Story of Paducah" has been revised and brought to the present time by his wife, Catherine Neuman Adams.

[32] pages; illustrations.

42 unnumbered pages; illustrations.

Fiction; 76 pages. Contents: Youth. Neglecting our worthy. How praise is bestowed. Books and friendship. Pretense and learning. The gift of memory. Repartee. Fun in newspaper errors. Phrases that confuse. Cheer up at forty!

15 unnumbered pages; illustrations. "Century and More of Fire-Fighting in Paducah." 26th Annual Convention.

Housed at Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky. Summary: "Collection consists of a photocopied scrapbook containing a series of articles by columnist Fred G. Neuman titled 'Do you remember way back when?' The scrapbook was compiled by John T. Donovan from September of 1931 to December of 1934. The bulk of the articles include short stories on the history of Paducah, Kentucky and the Jackson Purchase. The collection also contains a photocopied notebook of research notes and materials."

56 pages; illustrations; 22 cm.

Dancy Wilder and her sister Marla are navigating childhood successfully in spite of their father's crazy romantic encounters a spiritualistic grass-smoking hippie, a double-D cup kleptomaniac known over the CB airwaves as Hot Ginger, and an olive-skinned Greek goddess, just to name a few. Dancy and Marla's father, Everett is raising his two girls alone. A perpetual bachelor and successful lady's man, Everett can have just about any woman he wants. Problem is he wants them all and likes them all a little crazy. Follow Dancy and Marla as they grow into strong, capable, common sense women who have taken something of benefit from each of their father's many love interests, including their Momma Lou, a biker chick, who they learn has a secret profession that keeps the Wilder financials in the black.

Annie Cleaving watched her young son take his last breath trapped inside the mangled wreckage of her car. The drunk driver walked away without a scratch. A year later breast cancer took Annie's mother, a tender and genteel woman. As a means to escape painful memories Annie attempts to sell the old Cleaving house, leaving the only home she has ever known. Only then she discovers the botched deed and her only choice, to find her mother's siblings and convince each to release their claims. From crazy Aunt Veda, who thinks a televangelist is sending her secret love messages, to Uncle Asher who has given up his Wall Street career and joined a hippie commune, Annie is thrust into a bizarre new world where it seems the Cleaving family history has been altered. Her journey reveals the many secrets woven throughout the Cleaving family, including a murder, involve her mother.