Browse A-Z Authors: Du-Dz

Biography; 171 pages, illustrations.

My teacher told me to make my mother a birthday present. I wondered about what I could make and how I would make it. Mike decides to write stories for his mother, but he doesn't know how to write. He uses his father's tape recorder to tell the stories, his grandmother writes his words for him, and his grandfather helps him to draw the pictures. The end result is a delightful collection of children's stories dealing with Mike's relationships with nature and people.

Fiction; 98 pages.

The Laney McVey series, book 1. Fiction, mystery; 257 pages.

The Laney McVey series, book 2. Laney McVey, along with Pittsburgh friend, Shar Hamilton, are sucked into a vortex of violence and deception that surrounds Laney's friend, Gray Prescott. When fellow veterinarian, Derek Beale, is murdered the same day that Gray physically assaults him over a potentially deadly misdiagnosis, Gray be comes the prime suspect in Beale's death. An empty audio cassette case is found near the body and Laney believes that the only way to stop the vicious swell of suspicion certain to culminate in Gray's arrest, is to find the missing tape. As Laney and Shar draw ever closer to the truth behind the horrifying recording that could alter lives forever, they find themselves hurtling into their own whirlpool of terror.

The Laney McVey series, book 3.

The Laney McVey series, book 4.

Historical fiction; 323 pages.

Biography; 185 pages. "This book has two authors--Maxwell Harding ... and Marilyn Dungan"--Authors' notes.

A history of Black Americans in Kentucky and a discussion of their contributions to that state.

In 1942 Alice Allison Dunnigan, a sharecropper's daughter from Kentucky, made her way to the nation's capital and a career in journalism that eventually led her to the White House. With Alone atop the Hill, Carol McCabe Booker has condensed Dunnigan's 1974 self-published autobiography to appeal to a general audience and has added scholarly annotations that provide historical context. Dunnigan's dynamic story reveals her importance to the fields of journalism, women's history, and the civil rights movement and creates a compelling portrait of a groundbreaking American. Dunnigan recounts her formative years in rural Kentucky as she struggled for a living, telling bluntly and simply what life was like in a Border State in the first half of the twentieth century. Later she takes readers to Washington, D.C., where we see her rise from a typist during World War II to a reporter. Ultimately she would become the first black female reporter accredited to the White House; authorized to travel with a U.S. president; credentialed by the House and Senate Press Galleries; accredited to the Department of State and the Supreme Court; voted into the White House Newswomen's Association and the Women's National Press Club; and recognized as a Washington sports reporter. A contemporary of Helen Thomas and a forerunner of Ethel Payne, Dunnigan traveled with President Truman on his coast-to-coast, whistle-stop tour; was the first reporter to query President Eisenhower about civil rights; and provided front-page coverage for more than one hundred black newspapers of virtually every race issue before the Congress, the federal courts, and the presidential administration. Here she provides an uninhibited, unembellished, and unvarnished look at the terrain, the players, and the politics in a roughand- tumble national capital struggling to make its way through a nascent, postwar racial revolution.

Autobiography. Includes index.
Part I-Those Early Years --
Part II-Exploring a Great New World --
Part III-The Political Arena.

DVD; approx. 70 minutes. A film inspired by women in the Commonwealth who boldly opened doors in politics, science, education, entertainment, literature, athletics, religion and the military. This documentary profiles 40 extraordinary Kentucky women, including: Cora Wilson Stewart, Mae Street Kidd, Katherine Langley, Sophia Alcorn, Josephine Henry, Madeline Breckinridge, Alice Allison Dunnigan, Verna Mae Slone, Laura Clay, Mary Elliot Flanery, Willa Beatrice Brown, Martha Layne Collins, Dr. Louise Southgate, the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, Alice Allison Dunnigan, Margaret Ingels, Marie Caldwell Humphries, Nettie Depp, and Mary Breckinridge.

This extraordinary reference series provides biographical profiles of important persons of African heritage whether they are personalities from the news, selected 20th-century notables, or individuals who are not yet household names. Each volume of Contemporary Black Biography contains 55 full-length biographies, Name, occupation, nationality and subject indexes are included in each volume.
Volume 41: Sunny Ade; Rod Adkins; Valerie Amos; Alvin Aubert; Regina Harris Baiocchi; Frank W Ballance; Hank Ballard; Ronde Barber; Barry Beckham; James Berry; Jesse Brown; Ashley F Bryan; Joye Maureen Carter; Xam Wilson Cartier; Reginal G Clemmons; Clarence Clemons; Arthur Paul Davis; Artur Davis; Gary Davis; Mike Davis; Larry Doby; Henry Dumas; Alice Allison Dunnigan; Ibrahim Ferrer; Bill Fletcher, Jr.; Elson S Floyd; Brenda Gaines; Addison Gayle, Jr.; Bruce S Gordon; Ida "Nelson Rollins " Gray; Lionel Hampton; Leroy Rountree Hassell; Hal Jackson; Maynard Jackson; Georgia Douglas Camp Johnson; Thomas W Jones; Edith Lefel; Denise Majette; Jeff Majors; Jonathan Mariner; Ziggy Marley; Delfeayo Marsalis; Derrick May; Derrick Mays; Leslie A Mays; Kendrick Meek; Kweisi Mfume; Tim Montgomery; G E Patterson; Jada Pinkett Smith; Josephine Premice; Condace L Pressley; Linda Johnson Rice; David Scott; Nina Simone; Lynne Thigpen; Gloria Jean Wade Gayles; Diane Watson; Damon Wayans; Barry White; Serena Williams.

Archival material. Sound recording: 1 cassette; transcript: 49 pages. In this interview, Dunnigan discusses her education, her work as an educator, her move to Washington, D.C., the job discrimination she faced as a black woman, and the barriers she broke. She describes her salary at different organizations, the need in journalism to work for multiple publications to make a livable wage, and how she gained accreditation to the Senate press gallery. Other topics of discussion include: Dunnigan’s work as a sports writer; the 1948 whistle stop train tour for President Truman’s reelection campaign; her opinions on the importance and future of the black press; and work-related trips abroad to Israel, the Dominican Republic, Haiti, and Canada. Publications discussed in the interview include: Louisville Sender, Service Magazine, Journal and Guide, Chicago Defender, Sepia Magazine, Louisville Defender, Louisville Leader, Afro American, Pittsburgh Courier, and the news service Associated Negro Press.

Transcript of oral history interview. Her career as a teacher and journalist, working also as chief of the Washington Bureau of the Associated Negro Press.

Sound recording, audiocassette; approx. 29 minutes. Originally broadcast January 5, 1983, on NPR's radio program: Horizons. Features interviews with Ethel Payne, Art Carter, Alice Dunnigan, and Carl Rowan, Black journalists who share their vast experiences about reporting the news in Washington, D.C.

Correspondence, clippings, reports, minutes, speeches, and financial records of Claude Albert Barnett, the director of the Associated Negro Press (ANP); news releases of the ANP (1928-1964) and of the World News Service (1961-1963). Topics include African American newspapers and journalists; colleges, especially Tuskegee Institute and the Conference of Presidents of Negro Land Grant Colleges; businesses, especially advertising, beauty products, and insurance; churches; hospitals; fraternal societies; entertainment; agricultural extension services; racial segregation and integration of the United States armed forces; the home front during World War II; and African travel and culture, especially in Liberia, Ghana, and Nigeria. Also includes materials on Barnett's family and the singing and acting career of Etta Moten (Mrs. Barnett), including correspondence and advertising. Some records pertain to Barnett's service as a trustee of Tuskegee Institute (1932-65), as special assistant to the U.S. secretary of agriculture (1942-52), and as board member of Phelps-Stokes Fund, of Booker T. Washington Institute in Liberia, of American Negro Exposition (1940 : Chicago), of Supreme Liberty Insurance Company, of Provident Hospital, of The Liberia Company, and of the American National Red Cross. Persons who corresponded with ANP or with Barnett include J.V. Clinton, Henry B. Cole, Frank Marshall Davis, Rudolph Dunbar, Alice Dunnigan, Albon Holsey, Harry Levette, William Pickens, Percival L. Prattis, Emmanuel Racine, John C. Robinson, Alvin E. White, and editors and publishers of most African American newspapers, including Afro American (Baltimore, Md.), Amsterdam news (New York City), Atlanta daily world, Black dispatch (Okla.), Houston informer, Kansas City call (Mo.), New York age, Norfolk journal and guide, Philadelphia tribune, and Pittsburgh courier. Other correspondents include U.S. Representative Frances P. Bolton, Horace Mann Bond, Sherman Briscoe, George Washington Carver, E.M. Glucksman, Charles S. Johnson, Mordecai Johnson, Bishop Frederick D. Jordan, Robert R. Moton, Clarence Muse, Frederick D. Patterson, James E. Shepard, Jesse O. Thomas, Channing H. Tobias, President William V.S. Tubman of Liberia, and Annie M. Turnbo Malone.

Archival material. Part of: Black Women Oral History Project. Summary: Education, 1912-32; sharecropping; marriages; race prejudice; sex discrimination; careers: journalist, teacher, local organizer, civil servant, political appointee; meeting with President Truman and Elizabeth II, Queen of England.