Browse A-Z Authors: Je-Jm

Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. Summary: "This collection consists of papers of the Jeffrey family and of Rosa Vertner Jeffrey, the author. The Jeffrey family papers include family and business correspondence, reports from many of their gas companies, stock transactions, sketches of mechanical operations of the plants, printed regulations, etc. Two ledgers and a receipt book, dated 1852-1853, from the Lexington Gas Company, are also included. Among the correspondents are Kentucky politician Leslie Combs and Thomas Lewinski, Lexington architect and secretary of the Lexington Gas Company, who remained in Lexington during the Civil War and reported on company business and the impact of the war on Lexington in monthly letters to Alexander Jeffrey. Rosa Vertner Jeffrey's papers consist largely of family letters and correspondence with friends and publishers about her writing. Among her correspondents are Charles S. Morehead, governor of Kentucky; Elizabeth Fries Ellet, David Bates, George Bancroft, W.H. Prescott and John G. Saxe, literary figures of the day; Edward Everett, governor of Massachusetts; and John J. Crittenden, Kentucky statesman. There are also some communications from Ainsworth Spofford, the Librarian of Congress."

Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. Summary: "The Jeffrey Family photographs, (dated 1861- circa 1900; 0.5 cubic feet; 76 items) consists of tintypes, albumen cartes de visite, and gelatin silver prints of the Jeffrey Family of Scotland, Rochester, New York, Louisville and Lexington, Kentucky. Additionally, the collection contains a few personal photographs by John Hunt Morgan II (1870-1940), husband of Virginia Abercrombie Jeffrey (1876-1934). The papers are arranged into two series: Jane Charlotte McConnell Ross photographic album and Jeffrey-Morgan family photographs."

Wikipedia is a free encyclopedia that anyone can edit.

Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. Summary, "This is an artificially constructed collection of some of Jillson's writings, which is actually comprised of 103 separate accessions. It is made up of the typed manuscripts of pamphlets and articles, the bulk of them having to do with the geology of different areas in Kentucky. There are 60 pieces in this group, of which 11 are on abandoned channels of the Kentucky River. There are 26 pieces on topics generally related to Kentucky history, including some bibliographies and checklists, on such topics as early newspapers, Indian captivities, Squire Boone, and early taverns in the state. There are 17 bibliographies on areas in Kentucky, of which 11 are on individual counties, and most of the rest on natural features, such as river valleys and Mammoth Cave. Information on geological aspects of any of the topics in the latter two groups may be included as part of the coverage."

Housed at the Berea College Special Collections and Archives. Summary, "These are correspondence, maps, photographs and published works of Willard Rouse Jillson (1890-1975) who served as Kentucky State Geologist from 1919 to 1932. Material of particular interest in this collection are a nearly complete set of Kentucky county survey maps executed while Jillson was State Geologist and over 2000 photographs that document Kentucky’s geography and culture as well geological features. Additionally there are manuscripts and published copies of several of his many publications including Geography of Kentucky and Oil and Gas Resources of Kentucky."

Housed at Eastern Kentucky University, Special Collections and Archives. Summary, "The Willard Rouse Jillson Papers feature only a few of his more than 300 publications. They include local histories, bibliographies, geological treatises on Kentucky locations and volumes on Kentucky books. Included in each is the handwritten or typed draft and a proof from the publisher with changes noted throughout. One volume is a typescript of a deposition he gave regarding a mudslide on Highway 23. Two volumes include a carbon copy of an acknowledgement letter to Jillson from Eastern librarian, Mary Floyd."

Housed at the University of Louisville. Summary, "The collection contains a variety of material reflecting Jillson's varied life. The collection contains photographs and other memorabilia of his fraternity's fiftieth anniversary celebration in 1959. There is extensive business correspondence from the periods of oil surveys in the Kansas-Oklahoma area; correspondence concerning state and federal appointments from the 1920s; and letters dealing with daily life. There are also notes and manuscripts compiled as his research for his many books and articles."

Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. Summary, "The Willard Rouse Jillson Geology of the Mintonville Dome manuscript (dated 1962; 0.23 cubic feet; 1 box) contains the proofs and rough draft typescript of this book. The proofs and typescript are annotated by the author. The book was printed by the Roberts Printing Company in Frankfort Kentucky, 1962. This book discusses the location of the Dome, the field work done while at the Dome, and other geological surveying done of the Dome."

Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. Summary, "The Willard Rouse Jillson A Bibliography of Powell County Kentucky manuscript (dated 1960-1961; 0.23 cubic feet; 1 box) consists of a manuscript and typescript copy of A Bibliography of Powell County Kentucky. The manuscript is hand written and glued onto proof pages. The entries have been removed from the pages. The typescript copy has been annotated."

Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. Summary, "The Willard Rouse Jillson A Bibliography of the Cumberland River Valley manuscript (dated 1960; 0.23 cubic feet; 1 box) contains rough drafts and galley proofs of the A Bibliography of the Cumberland River Valley. There is an annotated typescript, rough draft galley proofs with hand written entries taped to the pages, a printed galley proof, and German newspapers that came from the Willard Rouse Jillson personal library."

Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. Summary, "Willard Rouse Jillson Geology of the Pitman Oil Pool in Kentucky manuscript (dated 1959; 0.23 cubic feet; 1 box) contains three copies of Jillson's work. The copies include a preliminary draft, with original photographs, a copy of page proofs and a printers copy. The work contains geological and historical documentation of the Pitman Oil Pool in Greene County, Kentucky."

Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. Summary, "The Willard Jillson Geology of Union Co. manuscript collection contains two proofs as well as four copies of the manuscript itself. There is a first draft (with author/editor notes) manuscript, two printer's manuscripts (one with annotations), and an original handwritten manuscript."

Wikipedia is a free encyclopedia that anyone can edit.