Browse A-Z Authors: Bi-Bm

This family history centered around three women from three generations spans the Civil War through the Jazz Age. Fans of Sallie Bingham's work will especially appreciate her parents Mary and Barry's romance that unfolds in letters and finally results in marriage. Bingham beautifully demonstrates an inheritance of emotion, morality, ideology, and most lasting of all, irreverence.

Poems.

Poems. Sallie Bingham's poems seek, always, to connect. The events of ordinary life--walking in the woods around Santa Fe, lighting a fire in a stove--merge with the crises of maturity: death and other losses. Always, the tonic is hope--the hope that springs from a stone, a stream, or a memory of childhood. These short lyrics provide inspiration for all travelers on the path. Sallie Bingham began writing poetry as a child. Her first verses, dictated to her mother, were sent to her father who was serving overseas during World War 11. Discouraged from becoming a poet by the attitude then prevailing at writing classes at Harvard, she has finally returned to her first love, after publishing twelve books of fiction and non-fiction.

Poetry. "Sallie Bingham's poems forge the light and darkness to shape a body of work that engages and shines. The past and the present, the inner and the outer, are all drawn precisely with small wisdom lines throughout. The poetry leaves us with 'the serene best our lives can offer' and 'the small whir of your lively heart.' A fine distillation from a life well savored"--Joan Logghe, President of New Mexico Literary Arts.

Memoir. "There are many accounts of the Bingham family saga, but no other by someone who was there. For the first time, a gifted writer born into a family of inherited wealth and power takes us with her behind the doors of that patriarchal hothouse. Passion and Prejudice is a major step toward feminist change and democracy. By her courage and example, Sallie Bingham already has inspired women in powerful families to begin to revolt. What is wrongly seen now as a private war will be come the opening skirmish in a high-level revolution." Gloria Steinem

Biography. "Don't touch that girl, she'll burn your fingers," the FBI director J. Edgar Hoover once said about Doris Duke, the inheritor of James Buchanan Duke's billion-dollar tobacco fortune. During her life, she would be blamed for scorching many, including her mother (whom she sued) and various ex-lovers. She established her first foundation when she was twenty-one; cultivated friendships with the likes of Jackie Kennedy, Imelda Marcos, and Michael Jackson; flaunted interracial relationships; and adopted a thirty-two-year-old woman she believed to be the reincarnation of her deceased daughter. Even though Duke was the subject of constant scrutiny, little beyond the tabloid accounts of her behavior has been publicly known. In 2012, when eight hundred linear feet of her personal papers were made available, Sallie Bingham set out to uncover the truth of the tobacco heiress's life. She found a spectacular character forged in the Jazz Age who not only was an early war correspondent but also was a surfer, an environmentalist, a collector of Islamic art, and a businesswoman who tripled her father's fortune. This spirited and perceptive biography dissects the stereotypes that have defined Duke's story while confronting those disturbing questions that cleave to her legacy. The Silver Swan chronicles one of the great under-explored lives of the twentieth century and the very archetype of a modern woman. First published in 2019.

Fiction.

Fiction. Part murder mystery, part adventure, this groundbreaking novel traces the mature lives of Cory and her much more conventional sister Apple, who first appeared in the author's "Matron of Honor," described by "Publishers Weekly" as "a powerful novel, her best yet."

Fiction. Two sisters from a prominent Kentucky family are unwilling to accept the limitations imposed by their culture on Southern women. One liberates herself by having an affair, the other with an early marriage to a man she can keep under her thumb.

Fiction. Short stories. In Mending, Sallie Bingham follows the often brutal course of yearning and its disappointments with an emotional acuity both unflinching and vigilant. From the first assertions and compromises of sexuality--those accommodations that tug and chafe - to the constrictions of adulthood and, finally, the fixed contours of a maturity where need has been winnowed down, but so has our ability to accommodate, Bingham's stories radiate with an honesty that is as insistent as it is compassionate

Fiction. Melanie is a dancer--the most unlikely dancer in the world, a woman who has had a hard life, waitressing, raising a son alone, putting up with an abusive husband. Late in life, she decides to pursue one dream, a dream she can't afford, which her husband opposes: she will become a skilled ballroom dancer, moving to the old love songs that have never applied to her life. And she wants to learn to lead! As she takes lessons, scrapes up the money to pay for costumes, and prepares for her first competition, she faces increasing opposition. But she persists, entering the glamorous, demanding world of professional dancing with an innocence and a determination that will change her life.

Fiction. Short stories. Forty-year veteran of the novel, noted feminist, and author of over ten books, Sallie Bingham returns with Red Car, a collection written in her signature style--discreet, sly prose circling taboo subjects. Her new offering is about love enjoyed, whether alone or with lovers, sensual or familial, comedic or tragic, often with a wry twist.

Fiction. Two middle-aged sisters, Louise and Shelby, live together in a small, Southern town. Their cousin wants to institutionalize Shelby and their tragic family history is unraveled. First published in 1992.

Fiction. In Kentucky, a bored college professor picks up a pretty hitchhiker who makes him come alive. But from her point of view the prof comes on too strong and that turns her off. When the professor becomes possessive she leaves him. A look at the uneasy and necessary alliances between men and women.

Fiction. Short stories.

Fiction. Short stories.

Fiction. Short stories. In her wise and sexy new collection,Sallie Bingham examines modern-day "transgressions" in affairs of the heart. She offers up a ménage à trois, an older woman's affair with a student, a painter who uses his age as an excuse to behave indecorously. But the reader quickly discovers the real transgressions are those of the self against the self.

Fiction. David and Ann live in an idyllic Hudson River valley town, but Ann is increasingly preoccupied with another man, and David is withdrawn and secretive about his income. First published in 1990.

(Applause Acting Series). Over one-hundred and thirty great scenes erupt from page to stage in this addition to the Applause Acting Series. Each scene has been selected as a freestanding dramatic unit offering two actors a wide range of theatrical challenge and opportunity. Each scene is set up with a synopsis of the play, character descriptions and notes on how to propel the scene to full power outside the context of the play. DUO! offers a full spectrum of age, region, genre, character, level of difficulty, and non-traditional casting potential. Includes "Paducah" by Sallie Bingham.

Drama. VHS, 80 minuets. Held at the New York Public Library. Responsibility: the Women's Project, Julia Miles, director, presents; [written] By Sallie Bingham; directed by Joan Vail Thorne.

This volume presents a selection of the best work from the 13-year history of The Women's Project and Productions of New York. Included are: Milk of Paradise, Sallie Bingham; O Pioneers , Darrah Cloud; Approximating Mother, Kathleen Tolan; and Night Sky, Susan Yankowitz.

Ask anyone working in a theatre bookstore or any bookstore with a good theatre section - they'll tell you that one of their most frequent requests comes from women looking for scenes to play, usually with other women. And these scenes are very rare - and almost always written by men. Here is a book of more than fifty previously performed scenes for women only. Most of these scenes have never been published before, providing actresses with fresh material to let their work shine. The scenes will make you weep and laugh out loud - sometimes in quick succession. Most of them are realistic in style, but a few push the borders of realism to offer actresses a more experimental acting situation. The playwrights whose work appears here include: Susan Yankowitz, Laura Harrington, Naomi Iizuka, Corrine Jacker, and many others. And as if that's not enough, Scenes for Women by Women also includes an index to more than fifty additional scenes for women by women that appear in readily available playscripts. Quite simply, this book is a treasure trove of scenes for actresses, directors, acting teachers . . . anyone interested in women or in theatre. No other book on the market provides such a variety from which to choose. Includes "In the Presence" by Sallie Bingham.

"This rich and accomplished collection showcases the range of a writer at the height of her powers. From the complex stories of artistic influence and the exhilaration/fright of solitude, to the incendiary rage of a betrayed young wife who sacrifices everything for revenge, to the struggles for independence of the three women who surrounded Ezra Pound like subservient stars, these fictions seize the reader's attention while slashing stereotypes. This Sallie Bingham Reader captures the spirit of the author's illustrious writing career via short stories, a novella, and a play"-- Summary. Includes the play, "Treason."

Includes: East of Nineveh by Jim Peyton; Marching to Zion by Jim Peyton; Mossie and the stripers by Billy Edd Wheeler; Hopscotch by Sallie Bingham; Desperate fortune by Joe Terrence Gray; His first, best country by Jim Wayne Miller; Piggyback by Sallie Bingham; The dancers of Canaan by Ron Mielech; Desert flower by Betty Peterson; Raven's gift by John Howell; Just taking up space by Nancy Gall-Clayton; Someday's gone by Frank Schaefer; Beating the varsity by Larry Pike; Liz's circus story by Liz Bussey Fentress.

With an introduction by Wade Hall, Morris Grubbs has sifted through vintage classics, little-known gems, and stunning debuts to assemble this collection of forty stories by popular and critically acclaimed writers. In subtle and profound ways they challenge and overturn accepted stereotypes about the land their authors call home, whether by birth or by choice. Kentucky writers have produced some of the finest short stories published in the last fifty years, much of which focuses on the tension between the comforts of community and the siren-like lure of the outside world. Arranged chronologically, from Robert Penn Warren's "Blackberry Winter" to Crystal E. Wilkinson's "Humming Back Yesterday," these stories are linked by their juxtaposition of departures and returns, the familiar and the unknown, home and beyond. Contributors: Robert Penn Warren, Caroline Gordon, James Still, Jane Mayhall, Elizabeth Hardwick, Dean Cadle, Jesse Stuart, Billy C. Clark, Janice Holt Giles, A.B. Guthrie, Jr., Hollis Summers, Ed McClanahan, Sallie Bingham, Robert Hazel, Jack Cady, Jim Wayne Miller, David Madden, Gayl Jones, Jane Stuart, Gurney Norman, Walter Tevis, Bobbie Ann Mason, Joe Ashby Porter, Leon V. Driskell, Mary Ann Taylor-Hall, Richard Cortez Day, Sena Jeter Naslund, Pat Carr, Wendell Berry, James Baker Hall, Lisa Koger, Barbara Kingsolver, Normandi Ellis, Guy Davenport, Kim Edwards, Chris Holbrook, Paul Griner, Chris Offutt, Dwight Allen, Crystal E. Wilkinson. Edited by Morris Allen Grubbs; with an introduction by Wade Hall and an afterword by Charles E. May.

Archival material. Housed at Duke University Libraries, Durham, North Carolina. "The collection provides a rich source of information about grass-roots feminist activism, philanthropy, not-for-profit organizations, artistic patronage, feminist art, and women's culture. The Administrative Files Series contains foundation newsletters; administrative correspondence; minutes for Board of Directors meetings; and financial, legal, and tax papers. The Project Files Series contains papers on special projects, including Hopscotch House and the Wolf Pen Women Writers Colony.
THE AMERICAN VOICE Files Series contains information regarding the publication of the feminist literary journal THE AMERICAN VOICE. The series contains correspondence between the editors (Frederick Smock and Sallie Bingham) and contributors; copy-edited drafts of poetry, prose, and non-fiction essays; business records; broadsides; chapbooks; miscellaneous publications; and issues of the journal. The Grant Files Series contains documentation on the evolution of the Foundation's grant program, including projects funded between 1986 to 1993. There are also videocassettes, audio cassettes, and compact discs.
Addition (2001-0021) (2,208 items, dated 1986 to 1999 and n.d.) continues to document the process of publishing THE AMERICAN VOICE. Materials include correspondence, board minutes, grant applications and evaluations, financial statements, video (3) and audio (4) cassettes and one audio compact disc, and information files for volumes 32-49. Also included are writings by Sallie Bingham. Acquired as part of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture.
Addition (2007-0126) (5.0 linear feet, approximately 3750 items, dated 1986-2000) consists primarily of files documenting the organization's grant program, and also includes project files, files related to the feminist literary journal THE AMERICAN VOICE, publications, and Hopscotch House materials." --Abstract

Archival material. Housed at the Filson Historical Society, Louisville, Kentucky. "This item is a scrapbook of newspaper articles concerning the Bingham family. Some articles concern the decision by the Bingham family to sell many of their holdings, including The Courier-Journal, and how that money was spent. Several articles concern Mary Bingham, her civic activities, honors she received, and her death. Further articles address the death of Barry Bingham Sr., and his funeral. Several articles are about Sallie Bingham, primarily her divorce proceedings and the conflict with her husband over how much, if any, of her fortune he should receive in the divorce." --Summary

Archival material. Housed at Duke University Libraries, Durham, North Carolina. "Collection provides rich documentation of the personal life, literary development, and philanthropic activities of Sallie Bingham. Includes correspondence, writings, subject files, diaries and notebooks, legal and financial papers, and photographic media. Included also are records of The Kentucky Foundation for Women, a philanthropic organization founded by Bingham; THE AMERICAN VOICE, a literary journal founded by Bingham; and Santa Fe Stages, a regional theater founded by Bingham. The Writings, Diaries and Notebooks, and Correspondence series compose the bulk of the collection. There are 551 electronic documents that have been migrated to the Special Collections server." --Summary

First published in 1999. In this sequel to Conversations with Kentucky Writers, L. Elisabeth Beattie brings together in-depth interviews with sixteen of the state's premiere wordsmiths. This new volume offers the perspectives of poets, journalists, and scholars as they discuss their views on creativity, the teaching of writing, and the importance of Kentucky in their work. They talk frankly about how and why they do what they do. The writers speak for themselves, and their thoughts come alive on the page. Beattie's interviews reveal the allegiances and alliances among Kentucky writers that have shaped literary trends by bringing together people with shared interests, values, subjects, and styles. The interviewees include authors who are captivated in other writers and in what they have to say about the process and craft of writing; educators who are interested in Kentucky writers and what their work reveals about the nature of creativity; and historians who are concerned with Kentucky's literary and cultural heritage. The interviews reveal patterns in Kentucky literature from mid-century to the millennium, as authors talk about how their sense of place has changed over the decades and reveal the ways in which the roots of Kentucky writing have produced a literary flowering at the century's end. Includes: Sallie Bingham, Joy Bale Boone, Thomas D. Clark, John Egerton, Sarah Gorham, Lynwood Montell, Maureen Morehead, John Ed Pearce, Ameilia Blossom Pegram, Karen Robards, Jeffrey Skinner, Frederick Smock, Frank Steele, Martha Bennett Stiles, Richard Taylor, and Michael Williams.

Grace Hall is a society beauty and an heiress whose fortune has made her the target of a madman killing off some of Manhattan's most influential women, leaving Grace vulnerable. She reluctantly hires a bodyguard, and finds herself subject to his ironclad will. As he lays down the rules, anger - and desire - ignite between them. Grace is drawn to John Smith in ways she can't explain. Beneath his tough exterior and dark past, there's an inner core that is tantalizingly seductive. John is a professional and understands that to do his job, his relationships need to be all business. Though it makes for a solitary life, that's the way he likes it, and that's exactly how he plans to keep it. But there's something about Grace that gets under his skin. With each passing day, the attraction grows more intense - until John is faced with a decision he never thought he'd have to make. As the warm nights grow hot, and the canny killer closes in, Grace and Smith face a crucial choice: Follow the rules or follow their hearts.

Art conservator Callie Burke's new assignment is restoring a masterpiece owned by ruthless, wealthy, and sexy politico Jack Walker. When she's persuaded to move into Jack's sprawling estate to finish the job, a mere business proposition turns into something far more complicated-and passionate. First published in 2004.

A.J. Sutherland knows her own mind. She also knows a champion when she sees him... Everyone thinks A.J. Sutherland is crazy to buy a rogue stallion that no rider or trainer has been able to tame. But if anybody has the hustle to make something out of that hell-raiser, it's her. She can't do it alone, however, and goes after the great Devlin McCloud, an equestrian legend with a bad leg- and a worse attitude. Devlin recognizes a fighter when he sees one- and that horse isn't a wallflower, either. Before he knows it, he's got a wild stallion in his empty stable and a hot-headed, heavenly-bodied rider sleeping on his couch. But can he get all three of them through the championship in one piece? This passion he's found with his rider is compromising training- and at this level of competition, any distraction is not just unprofessional, but downright deadly... First published in 2002.

She has a passion for unlocking the secrets of the past... Archaeologist Carter Wessex is drawn to Farrell Mountain to solve a centuries old mystery- and find a fortune in hidden gold. One thing stands in her way: Nick Farrell, a notorious corporate raider with no patience for trespassers on his land, and way too much sex appeal. After an explosive introduction, Carter abandons the project...but with Nick in hot pursuit. What she finds is something more valuable than gold... Though wary of Nick's change of heart, Carter is soon swept up into the mystery- and the arms of a man she swore she'd never fall for. As buried secrets surface and passion grows, the shocking details of the missing gold are revealed. So are Nick's true motives, leaving Carter to wonder...has everything between them been just another cunning ruse? And how many more secrets has he yet to share? It will take a heart of gold to find the truth--and have faith in a timeless love... First published in 2003.

Joy had been attracted to Grayson Bennett for some time. Now that she meet him again, he was looking at her with the same desire she had held for him. Also published as "The Player."

The force of the those eyes hit Frankie Moorehouse like a gust of wind. But she quickly reminded herself that she had dinner to get ready, the staff of White Caps B & B to motivate. She didn't have the luxury of staring into a stranger's face.

Cassandra, the forbidden woman Alex had yearned for from the first moment he'd laid eyes on her six years ago. The woman who'd been married to his best friend, the friend he'd lost to the sea.

As far as bad boy Spike Moriarty was concerned, Madeline Maguire defined female perfection. When they'd met, she'd walked up as if she wasn't the most gorgeous thing on the planet and asked to see his tattoos. He--a tough guy who'd make grown men run--had just about passed out. But their connection was definitely one-way...it had to be. Because he could never be the man in a million she was looking for, not with the things he'd done and seen. So for as long as she'd let him, he'd give her whatever she wanted. He'd worry about her walking away when it happened.

Take-no-prisoners deal-maker Sean O'Banyon ate Wall Street financiers for lunch. So why was he losing sleep over a fresh-scrubbed nurse in old jeans and a too-big T-shirt? Maybe it was those warm green eyes. Or the way she blushed when he got personal. There was no denying the serious chemistry between them. But sooner or later Lizzie would learn his deep, dark secrets: First, he had trust issues. And second--he'd rather not go into the whole family thing. He didn't do relationships...but amazingly, Lizzie made him want one anyway.

New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward delivers a behind-the-scenes look at her "to die for" ( Publishers Weekly) Black Dagger Brotherhood series--and a brand-new short story starring Zsadist and Bella. This is a book no Black Dagger Brotherhood fan should miss--an insider's guide that will seduce readers as powerfully as the sexy band of Brothers and the world they live in. And also included is an original short story about stars Zsadist and Bella! This comprehensive guide features insider information on the Brotherhood, their dossiers, stats, and special gifts. Readers will savor interviews with their favorite characters, deleted scenes, exciting material from the J.R. Ward message board and the answers to their burning questions. They'll learn what it's like for J.R. Ward to write each installment of the series, and in a fascinating twist, read an interview with the author--conducted by the Brothers. Plus readers will get a sneak peek at the much anticipated next book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, Lover Avenged.

BDB series, book 1. In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood. The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

BDB series, book 2. A warrior with inner demons falls for a woman who could save his soul in this seductive novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood series. Within the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Rhage is the warrior vampire with the strongest appetites. He's the deadliest fighter, the most voracious lover, the quickest to act on his impulses. He's also been cursed with two hundred years of hell. Possessed by a beast, he lives in fear of the times when his inner dragon comes out and he's a danger to everyone around him. Mary Luce has unwittingly found herself in the vampire world, and under Rhage's protection. With her own life-threatening curse to bear, she's not looking for love. Besides, she's stopped believing in saving grace and miracles long ago. But when Rhage's intense sexual attraction turns into emotional bonding, he knows he must have her for his mate. As their enemies close in, Mary finds herself praying for something she fears she'll never have: life eternal with the one she loves.

BDB series, book 3. #1 New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward's ferociously inventive series continues as the most fearsome member of the Black Dagger Brotherhood discovers just how tempting the night can be... A former blood slave, Zsadist still bears the scars from a past filled with suffering and humiliation. Renowned for his unquenchable fury and sinister deeds, he is a savage feared by humans and vampires alike. Anger is his only companion, and terror is his only passion--until he rescues a beautiful female from the evil Lessening Society. Bella is instantly entranced by the Brother's seething power. Except even as their desire for each other begins to overtake them, Zsadist's thirst for vengeance against her abductor drives him to the brink of madness. Now Bella must help her lover not only overcome the wounds of his tortured past, but find a future with her...

BDB series, book 4. Butch O'Neal is a fighter by nature. A hard-living ex-homicide cop, he's the only human ever to be allowed in the inner circle of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. And he wants to go even deeper into the vampire world-to engage in the turf war with the lessers. His heart belongs to a female vampire, Marissa, an aristocratic beauty who's way out of his league. And if he can't have her, then at least he can fight side by side with the Brothers.But fate curses him with the very thing he wants. When Butch sacrifices himself to save a civilian vampire from the slayers, he falls prey to the darkest force in the war. Left for dead, he's found by a miracle, and the Brotherhood calls on Marissa to bring him back, though even her love may not be enough to save him.

BDB series, book 5. #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series continues as the cold heart of a cunning predator is warmed against its will... Ruthless and brilliant, Vishous, son of the Bloodletter, possesses a destructive curse and a frightening ability to see the future. As a pretrans growing up in his father's war camp, he was tormented and abused. As a member of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, he has no interest in love or emotion, only the battle with the Lessening Society. But when a mortal injury puts him in the care of a human surgeon, Dr. Jane Whitcomb compels him to reveal his inner pain and taste true pleasure for the first time--until a destiny he didn't choose takes him into a future that cannot include her....

BDB series, book 6. In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly war raging between vampires and their slayers. And there exists a secret band of brothers like no other--six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. And now, a dutiful twin must choose between two lives... Fiercely loyal to the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Phury has sacrificed himself for the good of the race, becoming the male responsible for keeping the Brotherhood's bloodlines alive. As Primale of the Chosen, he is to father the sons and daughters who will ensure that the traditions of the race survive and that there are warriors to fight those who want all vampires extinguished. As his first mate, the Chosen Cormia wants to win not only his body but his heart for herself- she sees the emotionally scarred male behind all his noble responsibility. But while the war with the Lessening Society grows more grim, and tragedy looms over the Brotherhood's mansion, Phury must decide between duty and love.

BDB series, book 7. Rehvenge, a "symphath" vampire, harbors a deadly secret that could make him a huge liability in the Brotherhood's war against the lessers. As plots within and outside of the Brotherhood threaten to reveal the truth about Rehvenge, he turns to the only source of light in his darkening world, Ehlena, a vampire untouched by the corruption that has its hold on him.

BDB series, book 8. In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly war raging between vampires and their slayers. And there exists a secret band of brothers like no other - vampire warriors, defenders of their race ... John Matthew has been through his vampire transition and taken to the life of the Brotherhood with a vengeance, but he still can't shake the nightmare of his past and is unsure of his future as a warrior hero. He's made a promise to honour the Brotherhood and their fight with the slayers at all costs, until the love of his life is kidnapped and he is forced to make a choice that could change his life and the Brotherhood's forever ...

BDB series, book 9. Payne, twin sister of Vishous, is cut from the same dark, seductive cloth as her brother. Imprisoned for eons by their mother, the Scribe Virgin, she finally frees herself-only to face a devastating injury. Manuel Manello, M.D., is drafted by the Brotherhood to save her as only he can-but when the human surgeon and the vampire warrior meet, their two worlds collide in the face of their undeniable passion. With so much working against them, can love prove stronger than the birthright and the biology that separates them?

BDB series, book 10. #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward's novels of the Black Dagger Brotherhood continue as a vampire warrior crosses the line between life and death...and ventures into an erotic world of dark dreams and darker desires. Ever since the death of his shellan, Tohrment has been unrecognizable from the vampire leader he once was. Physically emaciated and heartbroken beyond despair, he has been brought back to the Brotherhood by a self-serving fallen angel. Now, fighting once again with ruthless vengeance, he is unprepared to face a new kind of tragedy. When Tohr begins to see his beloved in his dreams--trapped in a cold, isolated netherworld far from the peace and tranquillity of the Fade--he turns to the angel in hopes of saving the one he has lost. But because Lassiter tells him he must learn to love another to free his former mate, Tohr knows they are all doomed.... Except then a female with a shadowed history begins to get through to him. Against the backdrop of the raging war with the lessers, and with a new clan of vampires vying for the Blind King's throne, Tohr struggles between the buried past and a very hot, passion-filled future...but can his heart let go and set all of them free?

BDB series, book, 11. Qhuinn, son of no one, is used to being on his own. Disavowed from his bloodline, shunned by the aristocracy, he has finally found an identity as one of the most brutal fighters in the war against the Lessening Society. But his life is not complete. Even as the prospect of having a family of his own seems to be within reach, he is empty on the inside, his heart given to another.... Blay, after years of unrequited love, has moved on from his feelings for Qhuinn. And it's about time: it seems Qhuinn has found his perfect match in a Chosen female, and they are going to have a young. It's hard for Blay to see the new couple together, but building your life around a pipe dream is just a heartbreak waiting to happen. And Qhuinn needs to come to terms with some dark things before he can move forward...Fate seems to have taken these vampire soldiers in different directions... but as the battle over the race's throne intensifies, and new players on the scene in Caldwell create mortal danger for the Brotherhood, Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage, and two hearts who are meant to be together... finally become one.

BDB series, book 12. After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father's mantle--with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sits heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything--and everyone--at risk. Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated with the last pure-blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she's unprepared for Wrath's response--or the distance it creates between them. The question is, will true love win out ... or will tortured legacy take over?

BDB series, book 13. Two brothers bound by more than blood fight to change a brutal destiny in the heart-wrenching new novel of the Black Dagger Brotherhood by #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward. Trez "Latimer" doesn't really exist.  And not just because the identity was created so that a Shadow could function in the underbelly of the human world.  Sold by his parents to the Queen of the S'Hsibe as a child, Trez escaped the Territory and has been a pimp and an enforcer in Caldwell, NY for years- all the while on the run from a destiny of sexual servitude.  He's never had anyone he could totally rely on... except for his brother, iAm. iAm's sole goal has always been to keep his brother from self-destructing- and he knows he's failed.  It's not until the Chosen Serena enters Trez's life that the male begins to turn things around... but by then it's too late.  The pledge to mate the Queen's daughter comes due and there is nowhere to run, nowhere to hide, and no negotiating. Trapped between his heart and a fate he never volunteered for, Trez must decide whether to endanger himself and others- or forever leave behind the female he's in love with.  But then an unimaginable tragedy strikes and changes everything.  Staring out over an emotional abyss, Trez must find a reason to go on or risk losing himself and his soul forever.  And iAm, in the name of brotherly love, is faced with making the ultimate sacrifice...

BDB series, 14. book Nothing is as it used to be for the Black Dagger Brotherhood. After avoiding war with the Shadows, alliances have shifted and lines have been drawn. The slayers of the Lessening Society are stronger than ever, preying on human weakness to acquire more money, more weapons, more power. But as the Brotherhood readies for an all-out attack on them, one of their own fights a battle within himself... For Rhage, the Brother with the biggest appetites, but also the biggest heart, life was supposed to be perfect--or at the very least, perfectly enjoyable. Mary, his beloved shellan, is by his side and his King and his brothers are thriving. But Rhage can't understand--or control--the panic and insecurity that plague him... And that terrifies him--as well as distances him from his mate. After suffering mortal injury in battle, Rhage must reassess his priorities--and the answer, when it comes to him, rocks his world...and Mary's. But Mary is on a journey of her own, one that will either bring them closer together or cause a split that neither will recover from...  

BDB series, book 15. Xcor, leader of the Band of Bastards, convicted of treason against the Blind King, is facing a brutal interrogation and torturous death at the hands of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Yet after a life marked by cruelty and evil deeds, he accepts his soldier's fate, his sole regret the loss of a sacred female who was never his: the Chosen Layla. Layla alone knows the truth that will save Xcor's life. But revealing his sacrifice and his hidden heritage will expose them both and destroy everything Layla holds dear--even her role of mother to her precious young. Torn between love and loyalty, she must summon the courage to stand up against the only family she has for the only man she will ever love. Yet even if Xcor is somehow granted a reprieve, he and Layla would have to confront a graver challenge: bridging the chasm that divides their worlds without paving the way for a future of even greater war, desolation, and death. As a dangerous old enemy returns to Caldwell, and the identity of a new deity is revealed, nothing is certain or safe in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, not even true love . . . or destinies that have long seemed set in stone.

BDB series, book 15. Sola Morte, former cat burglar and safecracker, has given up her old life on the wrong side of the law. On the run from a drug lord's family, she is lying low far from Caldwell, keeping her nose clean and her beloved grandmother safe. Her heart, though, is back up north, with the only man who has ever gotten through her defenses: Assail, son of Assail, who never meant to fall in love--and certainly not with a human woman. But they have no future, and not just because she doesn't know he is a vampire, but because he is not about to stop dealing arms to the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Fate, however, has other plans for them. When Assail falls into a coma and lingers on the verge of death, his cousins seek out Sola and beg her to give him a reason to live. The last thing she wants is a return to her past, but how can she leave him to die? As a lethal new enemy of the vampires shows its face, and the Brotherhood needs Assail back on his feet, Sola finds herself not only a target, but a mission-critical force in a war she doesn't understand. And when Assail's truth comes out, will she run from the horror . . . or follow her heart into the arms of the male who loves her more than life itself?

BDB series, book 17. A vampire and a scientist's fates are passionately entwined in a race against time in this thrilling romance in the #1 New York Times bestselling "utterly absorbing and deliciously erotic" (Angela Knight, New York Times bestselling author) Black Dagger Brotherhood series. In the venerable history of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, only one male has ever been expelled--but Murhder's insanity gave the Brothers no choice. Haunted by visions of a female he could not save, he nonetheless returns to Caldwell on a mission to right the wrong that ruined him. However, he is not prepared for what he must face in his quest for redemption. Dr. Sarah Watkins, researcher at a biomedical firm, is struggling with the loss of her fellow scientist fiancé. When the FBI starts asking about his death, she questions what really happened and soon learns the terrible truth: Her firm is conducting inhumane experiments in secret and the man she thought she knew and loved was involved in the torture. As Murhder and Sarah's destinies become irrevocably entwined, desire ignites between them. But can they forge a future that spans the divide separating the two species? And as a new foe emerges in the war against the vampires, will Murhder return to his Brothers...or resume his lonely existence forevermore?

BDB series, book 18. J.R. Ward is heating things up this winter with a holiday novel featuring some of her most iconic Black Dagger Brothers. When Trez lost his beloved to a tragic death, his soul was crushed and his destiny seemed relegated to suffering. But when he meets a mysterious female, he becomes convinced his true love has been reincarnated. Is he right? Or has his grief created a disastrous delusion? Therese has come to Caldwell to escape a rift with her bloodline. The revelation that she was adopted and not born into her family shakes the foundations of her identity, and she is determined to make it on her own. Her attraction to Trez is not what she's looking for, except the sexy Shadow proves to be undeniable. Has fate provided a grieving widower with a second chance...or is Trez too blinded by the past to see the present for what it really is? In this sensual, arresting book full of the themes of redemption and self-discovery, two lost souls find themselves at a crossroads where the heart is the only compass that can be trusted...but that may require a courage that neither of them possesses.

BDB series, book 19. A sinner's only hope is true love in this passionate new novel in J.R. Ward's #1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood series. Syn has kept his side hustle as a mercenary a secret from the Black Dagger Brotherhood. When he takes another hit job, he not only crosses the path of the vampire race's new enemy, but also that of a half-breed in danger of dying during her transition. Jo Early has no idea what her true nature is, and when a mysterious man appears out of the darkness, she is torn between their erotic connection and the sense that something is very wrong. Fate anointed Butch O'Neal as the Dhestroyer, the fulfiller of the prophecy that foresees the end of the Omega. As the war with the Lessening Society comes to a head, Butch gets an unexpected ally in Syn. But can he trust the male--or is the warrior with the bad past a deadly complication? With time running out, Jo gets swept up in the fighting and must join with Syn and the Brotherhood against true evil. In the end, will love true prevail...or was the prophecy wrong all along?

BDB Legacy series, book 1. The legacy of the Black Dagger Brotherhood continues in this gripping spin-off series from #1 New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward. Paradise, blooded daughter of the king's First Advisor, is ready to break free from the restrictive life of an aristocratic female. Her strategy? Join the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training center program and learn to fight for herself, think for herself...be herself. It's a good plan, until everything goes wrong. The schooling is unfathomably difficult, the other recruits feel more like enemies than allies, and it's very clear that the Brother in charge, Butch O'Neal, a.k.a. the Dhestroyer, is having serious problems in his own life. And that's before she falls in love with a fellow classmate. Craeg, a common civilian, is nothing her father would ever want for her, but everything she could ask for in a male. As an act of violence threatens to tear apart the entire program, and the erotic pull between them grows irresistible, Paradise is tested in ways she never anticipated--and left wondering whether she's strong enough to claim her own power...on the field, and off.

BDB Legacy series, book 2. The Black Dagger Brotherhood continues to train the best of the best to join them in the deadly battle against the Lessening Society. Among the new recruits, Axe proves to be a cunning and vicious fighter--and also a loner isolated because of personal tragedy. When an aristocratic female needs a bodyguard, Axe takes the job, though he's unprepared for the animal attraction that flares between him and the one he is sworn to protect. For Elise, who lost her first cousin to a grisly murder, Axe's dangerous appeal is enticing--and possibly a distraction from her grief. But as they delve deeper into her cousin's death, and their physical connection grows into so much more, Axe fears that the secrets he keeps and his tortured conscience will tear them apart. Rhage, the Brother with the biggest heart, knows all about self-punishing, and he wants to help Axe reach his full potential. But when an unexpected arrival threatens Rhage and Mary's new family, he finds himself back in the trenches again, fighting against a destiny that will destroy all he holds most dear. As Axe's past becomes known, and fate seems to be turning against Rhage, both males must reach deep--and pray that love, rather than anger, will be their lantern in the darkness.

BDB Legacy series, book 3. In this sexy paranormal romance novel set in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward tells the story of two couples--both fighting to find love in the midst of the war with the Lessening Society. A vampire aristocrat, Peyton is well aware of his duty to his bloodline: mate with an appropriate female of his class and carry on his family's traditions. And he thought he'd found his perfect match--until she fell in love with someone else. Yet when his split-second decision in a battle with the enemy endangers the life of another trainee, Peyton has to face the idea that his future, and his heart, actually lie with another. Novo, as a female in the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training program, feels like she has to prove herself to everybody--and she has no interest in being distracted by falling in love. But when Peyton proves to be so much more than a rich playboy, she is forced to confront the tragedy that has broken her soul and closed her off from love. As the two grapple with Novo's past and Peyton's present, another couple must contend with a connection that is unparalleled--and potentially scandalous. Saxton, who has had his heart broken, discovers in himself a deep-seated attraction to Ruhn, a new member of the household. But will the other male explore the connection? Or will he close his mind and his heart to what could be true love . . . and cost Saxton everything?

BDB Legacy series, book 4. As a trainee in the Black Dagger Brotherhood's program, Boone has triumphed as a soldier and now fights side by side with the Brothers. Following his sire's unexpected death, he is taken off rotation against his protests--and finds himself working with a former homicide cop to catch a serial killer: Someone is targeting females of the species at a live action role play club. When the Brotherhood is called in to help, Boone insists on being part of the effort--and the last thing he expects to meet is an enticing, mysterious female...who changes his life forever. Ever since her sister was murdered at the club, Helaine has been committed to finding her killer, no matter the danger she faces. When she crosses paths with Boone, she doesn't know whether to trust him--and then she has no choice. As she herself becomes a target, and someone close to the Brotherhood is identified as the prime suspect, the two must work together to solve the mystery...before it's too late. Will a madman come between the lovers, or will true love and goodness triumph over a very mortal evil?

BDB Fallen Angels series, book 1. Redemption isn't a word Jim Heron knows much about--his specialty is revenge, and to him, sin is all relative. But everything changes when he becomes a fallen angel and is charged with saving the souls of seven people from the seven deadly sins. And failure is not an option. Vin diPietro surrendered himself to his business--until fate intervenes in the form of a tough-talking, Harley-riding, self-professed savior, and a woman who makes him question his destiny. With an ancient evil ready to claim him, Vin has to work with a fallen angel not only to win his beloved over...but redeem his very soul.

BDB Fallen Angels series, book 2. A deadly new mission for the reluctant savior enlisted to protect the future of humanity... and Seven deadly sins. Seven souls that must be saved. One more no-holds battle between a fallen angel with a hardened heart and demon with everything to lose. Isaac Rothe is a black ops solider with a dark past and a grim future. The target of an assassin, he finds himself behind bars, his fate in the hands of his gorgeous public defender, Grier Childe. His hot attraction to her is a totally wrong place/wrong time kind of thing--and that's before Jim Heron tells him his soul is in danger. Caught up in a wicked game with the demon who shadows Jim, Isaac must decide whether the solider in him can believe that true love is the ultimate weapon against evil...

BDB Fallen Angels series, book 3. As the son of a serial killer, homicide detective Thomas "Veck" DelVecchio, Jr., grew up in the shadow of evil. Now, on the knife-edge between civic duty and blind retribution, he atones for the sins of his father--while fighting his inner demons. Assigned to monitor Veck is Internal Affairs officer Sophia Reilly, whose interest in him is both professional and arousingly personal. And Veck and Sophia have another link: Jim Heron, a mysterious stranger with too many answers to questions that are deadly. When Veck and Sophia are drawn into the ultimate battle between good and evil, their fallen angel savior is the only thing that stands between them and eternal damnation.

BDB Fallen Angels series, book 4. Out of the wickedly inventive imagination of #1 New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward comes a world where sin and salvation collide in a battle for the future of mankind--where a cynical fallen angel struggles against the seven deadly sins and a demon's lure over seven chosen souls... Mels Carmichael, reporter for the Caldwell Courier Journal, gets the shock of her life when a man stumbles in front of her car outside the local cemetery. After the accident, his amnesia is just the kind of mystery she likes to solve, but she soon discovers they're in over their heads with his past. Over their heads with passion, too... As shadows walk the line between reality and another realm, and her lover's memory begins to come back, the two of them learn that nothing is truly dead and buried. Especially when you're trapped in a no holds barred war between angels and demons. With a soul on the line, and Mels's heart at risk, what in Heaven--or in Hell--will it take to save them both?

BDB Fallen Angels series, book 5. When Cait Douglass resolves to get over her broken heart, throw off her inhibitions, and start really living, she's unprepared for the two sensual men who cross her path.  Torn between them, she doesn't know which to choose--or what kind of dire consequences could follow. Jim Heron, fallen angel and reluctant savior, is ahead in the war, but he puts everything at risk when he seeks to make a deal with the devil--literally.  As yet another soul is unwittingly caught in the battle between him and the demon Devina, his fixation on an innocent trapped in Hell threatens to sidetrack him from his sacred duty...  Can good still prevail if true love makes a savior weak?  And will a woman's future be the key, or the curse, for all of humanity?  Only time, and hearts, will tell.

BDB Fallen Angels series, book 6. The Creator invented the game, and the stakes are nothing less than the fate of the quick and the dead: seven souls, seven crossroads. Reluctant savior Jim Heron has compromised himself, his body and his soul, and yet he's on the verge of losing everything...Including Sissy, the innocent he freed from Hell. Jim's determined to protect her--but this makes her a weakness the demon Devina can exploit. With Jim torn between the game and the woman he's sworn to defend, evil's more than ready to play dirty. Humanity's savior is prepared to do anything to win--even embark on a suicide mission into the shadows of Purgatory. True love is Jim's only hope for survival--and victory. But can a man with no heart and no soul be saved by something he doesn't believe in?

BDB Prison Camp series, book 1. The location of the glymera's notorious prison camp was lost after the raids. When a freak accident provides Nyx clues to where her sister may still be doing time, she becomes determined to find the secret subterranean labyrinth. Embarking on a journey under the earth, she learns a terrible truth--and meets a male who changes everything forever. The Jackal has been in the camp for so long he cannot recall anything of the freedom he once knew. Trapped by circumstances out of his control, he helps Nyx because he cannot help himself. After she discovers what happened to her sister, getting her back out becomes a deadly mission for them both. United by a passion they can't deny, they work together on an escape plan for Nyx--even though their destiny is to be forever apart. And as the Black Dagger Brotherhood is called upon for help, and Rhage discovers he has a half-brother who's falsely imprisoned, a devious warden plots the deaths of them all...even the Brothers.

The Bourbon Kings series, book 1. The #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Black Dagger Brotherhood delivers the first novel in an enthralling new series set amid the shifting dynamics of a Southern family defined by wealth and privilege ;and compromised by secrets, deceit, and scandal.... For generations, the Bradford family has worn the mantle of kings of the bourbon capital of the world. Their sustained wealth has afforded them prestige and privilege as well as a hard-won division of class on their sprawling estate, Easterly. Upstairs, a dynasty that by all appearances plays by the rules of good fortune and good taste. Downstairs, the staff who work tirelessly to maintain the impeccable Bradford facade. And never the twain shall meet. For Lizzie King, Easterl's head gardener, crossing that divide nearly ruined her life. Falling in love with Tulane, the prodigal son of the bourbon dynasty, was nothing that she intended or wanted and their bitter breakup only served to prove her instincts were right. Now, after two years of staying away, Tulane is finally coming home again, and he is bringing the past with him. No one will be left unmarked: not Tulane's beautiful and ruthless wife; not his older brother, whose bitterness and bad blood know no bounds; and especially not the iron-fisted Bradford patriarch, a man with few morals, fewer scruples, and many, many terrible secrets. As family tensions professional and intimately private ;ignite, Easterly and all its inhabitants are thrown into the grips of an irrevocable transformation, and only the cunning will survive.

The Bourbon Kings series, book 2. #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward delivers the second novel in her Bourbon Kings series--a sweeping saga of a Southern dynasty struggling to maintain a façade of privilege and prosperity, while secrets and indiscretions threaten its very foundation... In Charlemont, Kentucky, the Bradford family is the crème de la crème of high society--just like their exclusive brand of bourbon. And their complicated lives and vast estate are run by a discrete staff who inevitably become embroiled in their affairs. This is especially true now, when the apparent suicide of the family patriarch is starting to look more and more like murder... No one is above suspicion--especially the eldest Bradford son, Edward. The bad blood between him and his father is known far and wide, and he is aware that he could be named a suspect. As the investigation into the death intensifies, he keeps himself busy at the bottom of a bottle--as well as with his former horse trainer's daughter. Meanwhile, the family's financial future lies in the perfectly manicured hands of a business rival, a woman who wants Edward all to herself. Everything has consequences; everybody has secrets. And few can be trusted. Then, at the very brink of the family's demise, someone thought lost to them forever returns to the fold. Maxwell Bradford has come home. But is he a savior...or the worst of all the sinners?

The Bourbon Kings series, book, 3. In J. R. Ward's thrilling finale to her Bourbon Kings series, the Bradford family dynasty teeters on the edge of collapse after the murder of their patriarch--and a shocking arrest. At first, the death of William Baldwine, the head of the Bradford family, was ruled a suicide. But then his eldest son and sworn enemy, Edward, came forward and confessed to what was, in fact, a murder. Now in police custody, Edward mourns not the disintegration of his family or his loss of freedom . . . but the woman he left behind. His love, Sutton Smythe, is the only person he has ever truly cared about, but as she is the CEO of the Bradford Bourbon Company's biggest competitor, any relationship between them is impossible. And then there's the reality of the jail time that Edward is facing. Lane Baldwine was supposed to remain in his role of playboy, forever in his big brother Edward's shadow. Instead he has become the new head of the family and the company. Convinced that Edward is covering for someone else, Lane and his true love, Lizzie King, go on the trail of a killer--only to discover a secret that is as devastating as it is game-changing. As Lane rushes to discover the truth, and Sutton finds herself irresistibly drawn to Edward in spite of his circumstances, the lives of everyone at Easterly will never be the same again. For some, this is good; for others, it could be a tragedy beyond imagining. Only one thing is for certain: Love survives all things. Even murder.

Firefighters series, book 1. From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the popular Black Dagger Brotherhood series comes a brand-new novel about arson investigator, Ann Ashburn, who is consumed by her troubled past, her family's scorched legacy, and her current case: chasing a deadly killer. Anne Ashburn is a woman consumed... By her bitter family legacy, by her scorched career as a firefighter, by her obsession with department bad-boy Danny McGuire, and by a new case that pits her against a fiery killer. Strong-willed Anne was fearless and loved the thrill of fighting fires, pushing herself to be the best. But when one risky decision at a warehouse fire changes her life forever, Anne must reinvent not only her job, but her whole self. Shattered and demoralized, Anne finds her new career as an arson investigator a pale substitute for the adrenaline-fueled life she left behind. She doesn't believe she will ever feel that same all-consuming passion for her job again--until she encounters a string of suspicious fires setting her beloved city ablaze. Danny McGuire is a premiere fireman, best in the county, but in the midst of a personal meltdown. Danny is taking risks like never before and seems to have a death wish until he teams up with Anne to find the fire starter. But Danny may be more than a distraction, and as Anne narrows in on her target, the arsonist begins to target her. From the creator of the bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood, get ready for a new band of brothers. And a firestorm.

In 1880, forty-three women walked into the president's office at the University of Kentucky (UK) and signed the student register, becoming the first female students at a public college in the commonwealth. But gaining admittance was only the beginning. For the next sixty-five years -- encompassing two world wars, an economic depression, and the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment -- generations of women at UK claimed and reclaimed their right to an equitable university experience. Their work remains unfinished. Drawing on yearbooks, photographs, and other private collections, Our Rightful Place: A History of Women at the University of Kentucky, 1880--1945 examines the struggle for gender equity in higher education through the lens of one major institution. In the face of shifting resistance, pioneering women constructed opportunities for themselves. Terry L. Birdwhistell and Deirdre A. Scaggs highlight three women -- Sarah Blanding, Frances Jewell McVey, and Sarah Bennett Holmes -- who fought for access to basic facilities that were denied to UK women for decades, including housing and study spaces. By examining the trials and triumphs of UK's first female undergraduates, faculty, and administrators, this book uncovers the lasting impact women had on higher learning in the early days of coeducation.

Had Elizabeth "Bess" Clements Abell (1933-2020) been a boy, she would likely have become a politician like her father, Earle C. Clements. Effectively barred from office because of her gender, she forged her own path by helping family friends Lyndon and Lady Bird Johnson. Abell's Secret Service code name, "Iron Butterfly," exemplified her graceful but firm management of social life in the Johnson White House. After Johnson's administration ended, she maintained her importance in Washington, DC, serving as chief of staff to Joan Mondale and cofounding a public relations company. Donald A. Ritchie and Terry L. Birdwhistell draw on Abell's own words and those of others known to her to tell her remarkable story. Focusing on her years working for the Johnson campaign and her time in the White House, this engaging oral history provides a window into Abell's life as well as an insider's view of the nation's capital during the tumultuous 1960s.

Occasional papers (University of Kentucky Libraries).

From growing up on the banks of the Ohio River during the Great Depression to acquiring executive management roles at large international companies, James Hardymon's life has been full of twists, turns, hard work, and achievement. During his career, Hardymon helped build corporations as a CEO, learned the ropes of Wall Street, and interacted with US presidents and congressional leaders. As a result, he acquired a keen, first-hand understanding of corporate America, which propelled his reputation as a well-respected leader. Engineering Corporate Success traces Hardymon's personal story and career trajectory -- including his childhood, college years at the University of Kentucky, service in the US Army, and his time employed in some of the highest-level executive positions in America. Based on a series of interviews conducted by Terry L. Birdwhistell for the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, the book reveals Hardymon's maxims for success, experiences of rising through the corporate ranks, and key insights into how business decisions are made in an increasingly international environment. Hardymon also discusses the importance of philanthropy, his philosophy of giving back, and his close relationship with the University of Kentucky. This well-rounded work provides a forthright description of the rewards and challenges that come with balancing a prosperous personal and professional life.

VHS videocassette; 151 minutes. Teleconference covers the agendas of oral historians and their projects in community settings, the ethics of using oral histories to advocate social and political causes, the potential for oral histories to promote greater understanding among diverse community populations and the use of oral histories for teaching history and understanding human experience.

VHS videocassette; 59 minutes. Interviews with twenty Kentuckian Vietnam veterans about their experiences during the conflict and their feelings now, ten years after the war.

Archival material. This study deals with a period in American history when many deemed peace essential, even before the idea of complete annihilation became a reality. It was between two major world wars when a large number of people sincerely believed that reason and love between the peoples of the world could be a foundation for international peace; a decade that struggled against itself in search of peace: the 1930's in America.

Newspaper. Published in New Richmond, Ohio, Jan. 1-29, 1836; in Cincinnati, Ohio, Feb. 5, 1836; in New Richmond, Feb. 12-Apr. 8, 1836; in Cincinnati, Apr. 15, 1836-Oct. 11, 1843.
Publishers: James G. Birney, Jan. 1-May 6, 1836; Ohio State Anti-Slavery Society, May 13, 1836-June 29, 1842; William Birney, July 9-16, 1842; Gamaliel Bailey, June 23, 1842-Oct. 11, 1843.
Editors: James G. Birney, Jan. 1836- ; James G. Birney and Gamaliel Bailey, Jr., -1837.
"A repository of facts and arguments on the subject of slavery as connected with emancipation."

This is a reprint of the 3d edition, which was published in 1842. Introduction by Parker Pillsbury.
Writing primarily for a British audience, American abolitionist James Birney argues in this 1842 essay that Protestant churches in the American South are complicit in sustaining slavery. First, they avoid condemning the institution as a whole. Second, they allow individual church members to mistreat their slaves without censure. Birney was the son of a wealthy Kentucky slaveowner and at one time owned a large cotton plantation in Alabama. Over the years his views on slavery evolved toward gradual emancipationism and then total abolitionism. Birney published a Cincinnati anti-slavery newspaper, The Philanthropist, and ran twice for U.S. president as a candidate for the Liberty Party, an early forerunner of the Republican Party.

2 volumes.

The first biographical account of the life of James Gillespie Birney in more than fifty years, this fabulously insightful history illuminates and elevates an all-but-forgotten figure whose political career contributed mightily to the American political fabric. Birney was a southern-born politician at the heart of the antislavery movement, with two southern-born sons who were major generals involved in key Union Army activities, including the leadership of the black troops. The interaction of the Birneys with historical figures (Abraham Lincoln, Harriet Beecher Stowe, and Henry Clay) highlights the significance of the family's activities in politics and war. D. Laurence Rogers offers a unique historiography of the abolition movement, the Civil War, and Reconstruction through the experiences of one family navigating momentous developments from the founding of the Republic until the late 19th century.

Held at the William L. Clements Library, University of Michigan. The James G. Birney papers consist of the personal, political, and professional letters of James Birney, a Kentucky slaveholder, Alabama politician, anti-slavery activist, and presidential candidate. The collection is particularly strong in Birney's political activities with the American Colonization Society, the American Anti-Slavery Society, and the Liberty Party; his role as an abolitionist writer and as the founder and editor of The Philanthropist; and his personal communications with his family and friends.

"... a fresh look at Union Col. Frank Wolford, the celebrated Civil War cavalier and rival of Confederate raider John Hunt Morgan. Written by Wolford's great-great-nephew, Ronald Wolford Blair, the book discusses in detail Wolford's heroic leadership in part of more than 300 battles and skirmishes, during which he was wounded seven times, and his notable rivalry with Morgan's Raiders. Additional details about Wolford's political career and personal life are reviewed, plus little-known facts about his staunch opposition and policy dispute with President Abraham Lincoln over the use of black soldiers in the Union forces."--Page [2] of book jacket.

"Bears within its pages striking beauty and strangeness in equal measure ... a book like Every Bone A Prayer exists in the space between author and reader so viscerally that you can almost hear crawdad shells crunch, wood splinter, and bones groan. And its heart? That is threaded carefully through its pages. It reveals itself slowly, within the book's many layers."-- NPR "This is the kind of book we need to set literary expectations for a new decade. It's so textured, so layered with love and so wonderfully terrifying, intimate and magical."--Kiese Laymon, author of Heavy: An American Memoir. Misty's holler looks like any of the thousands of hollers that fork through the Appalachian Mountains. But Misty knows her home is different. She may be only ten, but she hears things. Even the crawdads in the creek have something to say, if you listen. All that Misty's sister Penny wants to talk about are the strange objects that start appearing outside their trailer. The grown-ups mutter about sins and punishment, but that doesn't scare Misty. Not like the hurtful thing that's been happening to her, the hurtful thing that is becoming part of her. Ever since her neighbor William cornered her in the barn, she must figure out how to get back to the Misty she was before -- the Misty who wasn't afraid to listen. This is the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose fight is boundless, as her coping becomes a battle cry for everyone around her. Written by a survivor of sexual abuse, Every Bone a Prayer is a beautifully honest exploration of healing and of hope. Praise for Every Bone a Prayer: Haunting and healing, Every Bone A Prayer is a powerful debut that will leave its mark on readers' hearts.-- Kim Michele Richardson, New York Times bestselling author of The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek "Ashley Blooms sings in an authentic mountain voice...Like a hawk over a hollow, Blooms both soars and sees all."--Andy Duncan, author of An Agent of Utopia