Browse A-Z Authors: Kn-Kz

Winner of the 1987 American Book Award The Essential Etheridge Knight is a selection of the best work by one of the country's most prominent and liveliest poets. It brings together poems from Knight's previously published books and a section of new poems.

By Etheridge Knight and other inmates of Indiana State Prison. With an introd. by Roberto Giammanco. First published in Italy under the title Voce Negre dal Carcere in 1968, then in English in 1970.

Poetry; 30 pages. Ninth printing.

Poetry; 62 pages

Poetry, 120 pages.

Poetry.

Poems. Responsibility: by Etheridge Knight. The final indignity / by Lyn. For the children at P.S. 12-8-9-6-1 and all others / by H.A. Jennings (Habte Wolde). Schizophrenia / by Judy Dothard Simmons.

Poems

Understanding Etheridge Knight introduces readers to a major but understudied American poet. Etheridge Knight (1931-1991) survived a shrapnel wound suffered during military service in Korea, as well as a drug addiction that led to an eight-year prison sentence, to publish five volumes of poetry and a small cache of powerful prose. His status in the front ranks of American poets and thinkers on poetry was acknowledged in 1984, when he won the Shelley Memorial Award, which had previously gone, as an acknowledgement of genius and need, to E.E. Cummings, Gwendolyn Brooks, and W. S. Merwin. In this first book-length study of Knight and his complete body of work, Michael Collins examines the poetry of a complex literary figure who, following imprisonment, transformed his life to establish himself as a charismatic voice in American poetry and an accomplished teacher at institutions such as the University of Hartford, Lincoln University, and his own Free Peoples Poetry Workshops. Beginning with a concise biography of Knight, Collins explores Knight's volumes of poetry including Poems from Prison, Black Voices from Prison, Born of a Woman, and The Essential Etheridge Knight. Understanding Etheridge Knight brings attention to a crucial era in African American and American poetry, and to the literature of the incarcerated, while reflecting on the life and work of an original voice in American poetry.

In these works based on his Bagley Wright lectures on the poet Etheridge Knight, Terrance Hayes offers not quite a biography but a compilation "as speculative, motley, and adrift as Knight himself." Personal yet investigative, poetic yet scholarly, this multi-genre collection of writings and drawings enacts one poet's search for another and in doing so constellates a powerful vision of black literature and art in America. The future Etheridge Knight biographer will simultaneously write an autobiography. Fathers who go missing and fathers who are distant will become the bones of the stories. There will be a fable about a giant who grew too tall to be kissed by his father. My father must have kissed me when I was boy. I can't really say. . . . By the time I was eleven or even ten years old I was as tall as him. I was six inches taller than him by the time I was fifteen. My biography about Knight would be about intimacy, heartache.

Each volume of this reference provides substantial critical essays and biographical information on four to eight major poets from all eras. Entries provide an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading. When available, comments from the poets themselves are included. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text.Each volume includes cumulative author name and nationality indexes as well as a volume-specific title index. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately.

Archival material. Dissertation from Stanford University.

This extraordinary reference series provides biographical profiles of important persons of African heritage whether they are personalities from the news, selected 20th-century notables, or individuals who are not yet household names. Each volume of Contemporary Black Biography contains 55 full-length biographies, Name, occupation, nationality and subject indexes are included in each volume.
Volume 37: John Akomfrah; Charles Edward Anderson; Ashanti; Kofi Awoonor; Paris Barclay; Patricia E Bath; Maureen Blackwood; Art Blakey; Jean Breeze; Todd Bridges; Marlin Briscoe; Marie Maynard Daly; Ruth A Davis; Anita DeFrantz; Brazeal Dennard; James DePriest; Gary Dourdan; Cyprian Ekwensi; Roy Eldridge; Lorris Elliott; Howard L Fuller; Benny Golson; Fred D Gray; Wilton D Gregory; Julian Henriques; Jay Higginbotham; J J Johnson; Linton Kwesi Johnson; Gayl Jones; Jackie Kay; Ulysses Kay; Etheridge Knight; Kool Moe Dee, (Musician); Rosetta LeNoire; Ludacris, (Rapper); Paula Madison; Edward Archibald Markham; Albert Memmi; Thomas Mofolo; Paul Mooney; Musiq Soulchild; Odetta; Adebayo Ogunlesi; Gabriel Okara; Jerry Oliver; C Everard Palmer; Florence B Price; Aishah Rahman; Sonny Rollins; Chanda Rubin; Jimmy Rushing; Al-Tayyib Salih; Olive Senior; Stuff Smith; William Grant Still; Maxine Sulllivan; Ann Graves Tanksley; Melvin B Tolson; Eamonn Walker; George Walker; Andre Ware; Afaa M Weaver; Kirk Whalum; Lester Young.

DVD video; approx. 75 minutes. Recorded April 15, 1988 at Frankford High School, Philadelphia.

Poems. Sound recording; approx. 50 minutes. Read by the poet; produced by Katherin Mattern. Selections 1-17 were recorded at the Library of Congress on February 25, 1986. Selections 18-43 were recorded at Capitol Hill Hotel in Washington, D.C. on February 25, 1986.

VHS; approximately 57 minutes. Including: Amiri Baraka, George Barlow, Conyus Calhoun, Xam Wilson Cartier, Barbara Christian, Lucille Clifton, Rita Dove, David Henderson, June Jordan, Etheridge Knight, Yusef Komunyakaa, Clarence Major, Colleen J. Mcelroy, Harryette Mullen, Ishmael Reed, Mona Lisa Saloy, Sonia Sanchez, Ntozake Shange, Luisah Teish, Lorenzo Thomas, Alice Walker, Al Young.

Criticism, 208 pages. Contents: The Decade Opens; The Moral Dilemma; The Search For Reality; The Face of Truth; The Romantic Glow; The Victory of Realism.

Criticism, 270 pages. Sequel to The Critical Period in American Literature. Contents: Foreword; Peace and Prosperity; Americanismus and Americanism; Henry James and the Direct Impression; The Man of the Hour; The Twist of the Root; Bibliography; Index.

Criticism; 79 pages. Edited with an Introduction by Scott C. Osborn. Sequel to The Critical Period in American Literature and The Strenuous Age in American Literature.

Criticism; 523 pages. Contents: The Literature of Colonization; The Literature of Romanticism; The Literature of Realism.

Criticism; 395 pages. Contents: I. The Achievement of Form; II. The First Modern Novelists: Samuel Richardson, Henry Fielding, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne, Minor Novelists; III. The Triumph of Romanticism: The Gothic Romance, The Intellectualized Novel, Walter Scott, Scott's Followers, James Fenimore Cooper, Cooper's Followers, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Herman Melville The Novels of Manners, Frances Burney, Maria Edgeworth, Jane Austen, Successors; V. The Victorians, The Orthodox: Charles Dickens, William Makepeace Thackeray, George Eliot, The Unorthodox: The Brontes, George Meredith, Robert Louis Stevenson, Thomas Hardy; VI. The triumph of realism: Before 1914, Mark Twain, William Dean Howells, Henry James, George Moore, Frank Norris and Stephen Crane, Joseph Conrad, H.G. Wells, John Galsworthy, Arnold Bennett, Edith Wharton, Theodore Dreiser.

Criticism; 197 pages.

Biography. 313 pages.

Kentucky Culture Series. Reprinted from the Saturday Review, v.28, 6 January 1945.

35 pages. Free ebook available through ExploreUK.

Reprint of the 1926 edition; 328 pages. Contents: Why go to college? / by Richard Burton; Editorial / by H.L. Mencken; Stanley Hall : a memory / by A.E. Hamilton; Devil anse / by R.F. Dibble; Mr. Moore and Mr. Chew / by Samuel C. Chew; Nantucket / by Walter Prichard Eaton; Stephen Crane / by Carl Van Doren; Poe as a critic / by George E. Demille; What is style? / by H.L. Mencken; Arrowsmith / by H.L. Mencken; How to write short stories / by H.L. Mencken; What price glory? / by George Jean Nathan; The invasion of America / by Elbridge Colby; The inquiring mind / by Zechariah Chaffee, Jr.; The Anglo-Saxon myth / by Henry J. Ford; The Liberty Bell / by Henry J. Ford; School days in the snow / by Thomas J. LeBlanc; Notes of an amateur father / by Chester T. Crowell; A boy in Idaho / by James Stevens; Junk / by Walter Prichard Eaton; The English of the Negro / by George Philip Krapp; Notes on the vernacular / by Louise Pound; Godey's lady's book / by Richard Fay Warner

Poem; 32 pages.

Archival material. Housed at the Filson Historical Society, Louisville, Kentucky. Summary, "Papers mainly consisting of letters (43 items), 1893-1924, of James Lane Allen to Townsend and others, together with letters about Allen from J. Christian Bay, S.S. Bush, Frances H. Jewett, Grant C. Knight, Orson Lowell, Albert Sterner, John Tomson, and Samuel C. Williams; Allen's speech as president of the King Solomon Memorial Association, 1908; and a poem by Thomas Jones, Jr. Most of the letters from Allen to Townsend were published in Townsend's book, James Lane Allen (1927)."