Browse A-Z Authors: Mi-Mm

For twenty years, diners in the Bluegrass have been able to satisfy their cravings for Ouita Michel's sustainable, farm-to-table cuisine at her many acclaimed restaurants. Each restaurant--from Wallace Station to Holly Hill Inn--features dishes that combine Kentucky's bounty with Michel's celebrated vision. Diners can enjoy traditional southern staples like buttermilk biscuits, country ham, and Po-Boy sandwiches, or opt for unique variations on international favorites and American classics. Now, readers around the country can experience what makes Ouita Michel a culinary and cultural treasure. Just a Few Miles South serves up the recipes that patrons of Michel's restaurants have come to know and love, including the Bluegrass Benedict breakfast sandwich, Ouita's Sardou Panini, Wallace Station's Creamy Chicken and Mushroom Soup, and Honeywood's Hoecake Burger. Some dishes offer creative twists on classics, like the Inside Out Hot Brown, the Wallace Cubano, or the Bourbon Banh Mi. Throughout, the chefs responsible for these delicious creations share the rich traditions and stories behind the recipes. When you can't get down to your favorite place, this book will help you bring home the aroma, the flavors, and the love of fresh foods made with locally sourced ingredients--and share it all with friends and family.

Poetry; 68 pages.

Poetry. Compilation of the author's The mountains have come closer and of Brier, his book, with new poems added. Jim Wayne Miller is a poet of a particular geographical place, yet he sings, he preaches, and just plain talks in a language from the earth. Oddly, this kind of poetry is not in fashion these days, but I think it will outlast most of what is" -Edward Field.

Poetry; [41] pages.

Poetry; 78 pages.

Mountains Have Come Closer is a collection of poems by Jim Wayne Miller which draw on his life experiences growing up and living in Appalachia. Miller was awarded the Thomas Wolfe Award for the book in 1980.

Poetry.

Poetry. First published in 1984.

Poetry. "First edition: 500 copies."

Novel. Available again from SPD, HIS FIRST, BEST COUNTRY is one of the most beautifully written novels I have ever read...-Gurney Norman, Appalachian Heritage. Whether describing the natural wonders of the Appalachian Mountains or a drunk friend passing out on a car's horn, Jim Wayne Miller's language is right on target: And they'd leave the fire to follow the hounds, their blood aroused, their noses tingling with all the possibilities of weed smoke and awakening earth. Hurrying after the hounds, suddenly believers again, faith in the woods restored by a wildness that entered them in the music of baying hounds. Joyce Dyer of Appalachian Journal writes, Jim Wayne Miller is wonderful when he goes to the core of what is most painful and most difficult about our relationship to home, about our relationship to the land that has sustained us, to the people that have loved or tried to love us, to our neighbors, and to ourselves.

A boy growing up in his grandparents' house in the Appalachians learns about the town and the people around him, their habits, stories, and lore.

Bibliography. "Reprinted by permission of the Appalachian journal, v. 5, no. 2, Winter 1978, and distributed free of charge by the Appalachian Consortium Press, Boone, North Carolina." Digital reproduction.

Jim Wayne Miller (1936--1996) was a prolific writer, a revered teacher and scholar, and a pioneer in the field of Appalachian studies. During his thirty-three-year tenure at Western Kentucky University, he helped build programs in the discipline in Kentucky, Tennessee, and Ohio, and worked tirelessly to promote regional voices by presenting the work of others as often as he did his own. An innovative poet, essayist, and short story writer, Miller was one of the founding fathers and animating spirits of the Appalachian renaissance. In Every Leaf a Mirror , Morris Allen Grubbs and Mary Ellen Miller have gathered essential selections from the beloved author's oeuvre. Highlights from the volume include touchstone poems; seminal articles; a rare autobiographical essay; a commencement address; and an excerpt from the previously unpublished short story "Truth and Fiction." Revealing the scope and significance of Miller's contributions as an artist and cultural scholar, this reader captures the excitement that surrounded the birth of modern Appalachian literature. With commentary by Mary Ellen Miller, an introduction from well-known author Robert Morgan, and an afterword by the notable Silas House, Every Leaf a Mirror provides an unprecedentedly intimate look at Miller's writing. This long overdue collection not only celebrates the life of this revered ambassador of Appalachian literature and culture but also introduces a new generation of readers to his work.

Jim Wayne Miller, institute presenter; Karen Lohr, editor and project coordinator.

Translation and criticism. English and German. Five hundred copies printed. Series: Kentucky Poetry Series of the Green River Press, Inc.

"Much of the material in this anthology has been taken from the journal, Appalachian Heritage."

Iron Mountain Review, volume 4, no.2 (Spring, 1988).

Book list, bibliography. Digital reproduction.

Humor, essays.

Essays. "750 copies."

With an introduction by Wade Hall, Morris Grubbs has sifted through vintage classics, little-known gems, and stunning debuts to assemble this collection of forty stories by popular and critically acclaimed writers. In subtle and profound ways they challenge and overturn accepted stereotypes about the land their authors call home, whether by birth or by choice. Kentucky writers have produced some of the finest short stories published in the last fifty years, much of which focuses on the tension between the comforts of community and the siren-like lure of the outside world. Arranged chronologically, from Robert Penn Warren's "Blackberry Winter" to Crystal E. Wilkinson's "Humming Back Yesterday," these stories are linked by their juxtaposition of departures and returns, the familiar and the unknown, home and beyond. Contributors: Robert Penn Warren, Caroline Gordon, James Still, Jane Mayhall, Elizabeth Hardwick, Dean Cadle, Jesse Stuart, Billy C. Clark, Janice Holt Giles, A.B. Guthrie, Jr., Hollis Summers, Ed McClanahan, Sallie Bingham, Robert Hazel, Jack Cady, Jim Wayne Miller, David Madden, Gayl Jones, Jane Stuart, Gurney Norman, Walter Tevis, Bobbie Ann Mason, Joe Ashby Porter, Leon V. Driskell, Mary Ann Taylor-Hall, Richard Cortez Day, Sena Jeter Naslund, Pat Carr, Wendell Berry, James Baker Hall, Lisa Koger, Barbara Kingsolver, Normandi Ellis, Guy Davenport, Kim Edwards, Chris Holbrook, Paul Griner, Chris Offutt, Dwight Allen, Crystal E. Wilkinson. Edited by Morris Allen Grubbs; with an introduction by Wade Hall and an afterword by Charles E. May.

Edited by Robert J. Higgs, Ambrose N. Manning, and Jim Wayne Miller. These two volumes constitute the most comprehensive anthology of writings on Appalachia ever assembled. Representing the work of approximately two hundred authors--fiction writers, poets, scholars in disciplines such as history, literary criticism, and sociology--Appalachia Inside Out reveals the fascinating diversity of the region and lays to rest many of the reductive stereotypes long associated with it. Intended as a sequel to the widely respected collection Voices of the Hills, edited by Robert Higgs and Ambrose Manning and published twenty years ago, these volumes reflect the recent proliferation of imaginative and critical writing about Appalachia--a proliferation that suggests nothing less than a renaissance of collective self-assessment. The selections are organized around a variety of themes (including "War and Revolution," "Feuds and Violence," "Nature and Progress," "Dialect and Language," "Exile, Return, and Sense of Place," and "Majority and Minority") and reveal both the radical changes the region has undergone as well as the persistence of certain defining features. The title Appalachia Inside Out refers in part to the fact that Appalachia has never existed in timeless isolation from the rest of country and the world; rather, it has both absorbed outside influences and exerted influence of its own. The title also indicates the editors' effort to look not only at the visible Appalachia but at the forces that underlie its history and culture. What emerges in these pages is an Appalachia both familiar and strange: a mirror of lived life on the one hand and, on the other, a haunted realm of unimaginable loss and bewitching possibility. The Editors: Robert J. Higgs is professor of English, emeritus, at East Tennessee State University and the author of Laurel and Thorn: The Athlete in American Literature. Ambrose N. Manning is professor of English, emeritus, at East Tennessee State University and a noted collector of folk songs and folklore. Jim Wayne Miller, a poet, novelist, and essayist, is a professor in the Department of Modern Languages and Intercultural Studies at Western Kentucky University.

The two volumes of Appalachia Inside Out constitute the most comprehensive anthology of writings on Appalachia ever assembled. Representing the work of approximately two hundred authors-fiction writers, poets, scholars in disciplines such as history, literary criticism, and sociology-Appalachia Inside Out reveals the fascinating diversity of the region and lays to rest many of the reductive stereotypes long associated with it.

An anthology of poetry and prose by authors who have participated in the Appalachian Writers Workshop. 445 pages; illustrations.

Ph. D. dissertation from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Named persons: Jim Wayne Miller; Gurney Norman; Herby Smith; Denise Giardina; Hazel Dickens.

Ph. D. dissertation from the University of Glamorgan.

Article in Appalachian Heritage, v.37; no.3 (2009). Digital reproduction.

A history of Kentucky's poets laureate since 1926. Contains works by J.T. Cotton Noe, Edward Gay Hill, Louise Scott Phillips, Edwin Carlisle Litsey, Jesse Hilton Stuart, Lowell Allen Williams, Lillian D. Chaffin, Senator Tom Mobley, Agnes Todd Saffell O'Rear, Clarence "Soc" Henry Clay, Lee Pennington, Paul Salyers, Dale Faughn, Jim Wayne Miller, Henry E. Pilkenton, James H. Patton, James Still, Joy Bale Boone, Richard Lawrence Taylor, James Baker Hall and Joe Survant.

M.A. thesis from Radford University.

M.A. thesis from Radford University.

VHS video; approx. 30 minutes. This presentation was given as part of the Highland Summer Conference June 26-30, 1995. Poet, novelist, essayist and professor of German, Jim Wayne Miller discusses and reads passages from his novels.

VHS video; approx. 24:30 minutes.

Sound recording. Eight Kentucky writers read from their own works; previously recorded as part of the Kentucky Center for the Arts' Readings series beginning in 1988. Named persons: James Still; Marsha Norman; Jim Wayne Miller; Sena Jeter Naslund; Sarah Gorham; Jeffrey Skinner; Maureen Podshadley Morehead; Fenton Johnson.
7 audiocassettes.

The Heart of Leadership for Women is about cultivating the sacred space for meeting, learning, and growth, where empowerment is fostered and transformation made possible. This book is about bringing what's holy about your mission and all your life experience, into your meeting space and elevating it from an event to a sacred gathering; it's about your rightful confidence as a light-holder called to leadership. With depth and humor, here is a blueprint--from planning to execution to conclusion--for every workshop and therapeutic arts facilitator, retreat leader, instructor, artist and performer, studio owner, activist, speaker, event coordinator, life coach, healer, and more.

Cradled by Skeletons, a memoir in verse of a queer woman of color, an immigrant/refugee, and a social justice activist, is a raw expression of identity and place. Marta Miranda-Straub relates her experiences of trauma, resilience, and transformation and portrays how her life's work as a social worker, educator, leader, activist, advocate, and community organizer has been fueled by discernment, resistance, and transformation of individual, institutional, and societal systems of power. She has a keen sense of awareness and questions injustices with intention, compassion, humility, and humor. There is a shared connection with both the victim and the perpetrator in her writings that exalts the grit and grace of humanity.

Juvenile fiction. Pleasant Hill series, book 1. After losing both parents, 10-year-old Betsy Johnson and her younger brother, Tad, have been sent to live in the Shaker community at Pleasant Hill, Kentucky, in late 1834. They hardly know their only relatives, Aunt Emma and Uncle Michael, who had given up all their worldly possessions five years earlier to live communally with 500 other Believers. Betsy has been frightened by the stories her preacher, Rev. Simpson, has told about the Shakers. He says they are possessed by the devil, speak in tongues and twirl themselves into a frenzy as part of their worship. Is this any place she wants to grow up? Betsy feels responsible for maintaining the memory of her parents and caring for her brother. Stripped of nearly everything familiar, she also feels terribly alone, but that loneliness fades with time as Betsy is befriended by an artistic girl named Grace, whose wagging tongue fills her in on the gossip about the Sisters and Brethren at Pleasant Hill, as well as the duties of children in the society. Betsy especially loves time spent in the garden. It reminds her of home - and her ma, who had grown herbs and used them to treat ailing neighbors. Betsy also seals an uneasy relationship with an older girl, Ruth, whom Betsy rescues from certain death after Ruth plunges through the ice during a late winter outing. Once safely in the infirmary, Ruth doesn't respond to treatment, so Betsy wrestles with whether she should divulge Ruth's secret in order to save the girl's life. Betsy begins to realize her own healing gifts, but will she accept Pleasant Hill as her new home and the Shakers as her new family? This work of historical fiction for young readers is the first in a three-part series published within the "Think Young Collection," a division of MotesBooks. (www.MotesBooks.com)

Juvenile fiction. Pleasant Hill series, book 2. Ten year old Tad Johnson doesn't fit into life at Pleasant Hill, believing he has no talent to offer the community. After a tragic accident with a raging bull, the day-dreaming Tad finds strength, courage, and his gift.

Juvenile fiction. Two Northern Kentucky teenagers race against the clock to write, shoot, edit, and produce a short movie in forty-eight hours.

Juvenile fiction. Twelve-year-old Victoria Johnson reluctantly enlists in the Union Army. She's a little late. The Civil War was fought nearly 150 years ago. But Vic's sixth-grade class has joined adult re-enactors staging the October 8th, 1862, Battle of Perryville. That was the most important Civil War battle fought on Kentucky soil. Vic needs the extra-credit she's been promised, and the re-enactment beats spending a couple days with Granny Gladys and her yappy Chihuahua, Taco. So grudgingly, Vic trades her iPod, cell phone, and TV for a kepi, wooden rifle, and bug-infested tent. She's hot, itchy, and irritable, marching in a soldier's ill-fitting boots. But at least it's just for one weekend. It could seem like forever, though, when Vic discovers her tent-mate is her arch enemy, Latisha, the perfectionist. To make matters worse, Vic's fantasy of fame and fortune vanish when her great-great-great grandmother's journal is stolen. That journal could solve a mystery about the outcome of the battle-which, in turn, could have affected who won the Civil War.-- Amazon.

Juvenile fiction. Like many Guatemalan girls, 14-year-old Zulma works to support her family instead of going to school. She always has to be the responsible one instead of her mama who has such bad taste in men, her rebellious, boy-crazy older sister, and a younger sister she promised to raise.When tragedy strikes, the sisters are sent to Prince of Peace, a home for girls near Guatemala City. Once there, Zulma finally gets what she wants-an education-so she won't have to sell jewelry to tourists forever to support herself. But, when more trouble arises, Zulma's forced to choose between family loyalty and her own happiness.

Juvenile fiction; short stories. This collection of short fiction is designed for readers in grades 5-9, and features a variety of characters and situations, ranging from an unexpected encounter with a Bigfoot, to a Civil War Re-enactment that goes wrong, to a search for a long-lost relative from Japan. Some stories are whimsical--like the one about a pet rabbit who becomes a detective--while others are quite serious--like the one about a grandmother who finds a way to connect with her beloved granddaughter despite advancing Alzheimer's Disease. Young readers will find humor and humanity in these stories, while constantly expanding language skills and vocabulary.

Juvenile fiction. Tim Dixon and his cousin Abby are looking for the Cape May woodpecker, thought to be extinct for years. Felix Wilson spotted the elusive bird, but he also saw UFOs, the alien kind.