Browse A-Z Authors: We-Wh

History; 59 pages; illustrations; maps.

This is the complete history of the alleged mob activity in Newport, Kentucky, and the magnificent Beverly Hills Supper Club, where 169 people died and the lives of thousands were changed in an instant. Unlike other publications, however, this is the true untold story of what led to Kentucky's worst tragedy -- a story of greed, corruption, deceit, Mafia rule, government cover-ups, kidnapping, and even murder. In fact, this book details one of the worst case of mass murder in US history.

Thousands of years ago, the land that would become Northern Kentucky emerged above sea level when a large portion of the continental plate bulged upward. Today, the region rests on the crest of that uplift, known as the Cincinnati Arch. And just like the fascinating geology of this region, Northern Kentucky continues to grow and develop. From the arrival of the Native Americans, to the first European settlers in the late 1700s, to the building of Ark Encounter at Williamstown in 2016, Northern Kentucky's landscape and population have changed dramatically. This encompassing study delves into the region's unique past and considers its ever-evolving future. Provided is a wide-ranging overview of Northern Kentucky's rich history, including details about its early pioneers such as James Taylor Jr., Simon Kenton, and Daniel Boone, who knew the potential of the incredibly beautiful territory they had discovered at the mouth of the Licking River. The collection also chronicles significant historic moments, like the Battle of Blue Licks, the building of the Roebling Bridge, and tragedies such as the Ohio River Flood of 1937 and the Beverly Hills Supper Club fire of 1977. Famous Northern Kentuckians, such as singer and actress Rosemary Clooney, artist Frank Duveneck, and performer Kenny Price, are also featured. This well-rounded study also addresses the revitalization of the region -- including the recent multi-billion-dollar riverside developments in Covington, Newport, and Bellevue -- and how Northern Kentucky has evolved into one of the most desirable places in the country.

This book details more than 130 fires in 11 Northern Kentucky counties, Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Mason, Owen, and Pendleton, over 115 photographs are featured and it also includes a special section on the region's 12 firefighters who have died in the line of duty.

Beautiful baby boy Allen Johnson was adored by his family, that is, until his parents decided to have another kid without consulting him first, no less. That is when Allen began to fade. As a child, Allen was like most other American boys, playing baseball and fantasizing about the major leagues. The one crucial ingredient missing: talent. The discovery of the opposite sex explodes the ballgame, and he quickly forsakes his homerun heavy hitter hopes and focuses all his energy to become the focus of the pretty girls and the popular kids. Despite his efforts to stick out, he remains invisible. Failing in his attempts to garner the attention of the most popular girl in school, or, for that matter, of pretty much anyone in his school, Allen decides the best method for becoming visible is to become a college student, certain that his erudition, average though it may be, and his choice of adopting a Bohemian lifestyle will allow him to stand out from the hordes of other above average, carefully non-conformist young people attending college. Unfortunately, Allen Johnson remains anonymous. Despite living in the Halcyon days of being a college student, Allen continues to be unfulfilled and vexed.

Lara Joyner has seen the signs in the direction the leaves blow, in the patterns made by the clouds at dawn, in her readings of the Tarot, and in the answers to her prayers. Her son Dale is the second coming of Christ. Dale is not quite certain what it might mean to be Jesus, but he knows that if he at least goes through the motions, he can keep his mother from hearing the voices, and, perhaps, protect himself and his younger brother Louis from danger.

The Path of Rainwater is a novel of one man's travels across the country. He goes from back roads in Kentucky to small towns in Virginia and Tennessee to highways in Georgia and South Carolina. The people and places along the way compel him to look at the changes in his world and to evaluate both his views and, more important, his decisions. Ultimately, The Path of Rainwater is as much about the lives of everyday people Rainwater meets as it is about his choices.

Why did the LaMontaies run? Young Silas' world is transformed when his father is implicated in the arson of the sugar mill in their south Louisiana town. If he didn't do it, why run? What is it they are hiding from when they leave their Cajun home, first upstate, then, when the past catches up to them, to the river bottoms of Kentucky. Wherever they go, they take their heritage and values with them, as well as their secrets. Silas LaMontaie learns his life lessons well as he pursues his muse, the beautiful and enigmatic Jessie May, and later learns to be a musician. Silas LaMontaie is a literary novel of intrigue, wit, and family wisdom full of the colors, sights, and sounds of the south. Ultimately, it is a story of determining one's values and remaining true to those.

Out in Front provides college and university presidents, especially new presidents, as well as aspiring presidents, with insight on how to be the public face of the college or university. While many programs and books provide opportunities for developing leadership skills, very little is available on just what is involved in being the one person that everyone immediately associates with the school. For many presidents, this ends up being a kind of trial by fire experience. This book fills that gap by providing first hand insights from sitting presidents in higher education on how to deal with some of the most pressing day-to-day situations that leaders in higher education face.

Poems; approximately 259 pages. Available in digital format through Google, HathiTrust, and Internet Archive.

Poems.

Poems; 264 pages.

Papers housed at Duke University Libraries. Collection contains items related to Amelia's work and her close, extended family. Items related to her book, POEMS, include a subscription order form (undated, probably 1846) as well as two legal documents (1844, 1846) regarding copyright issues. There are also 13 newspaper articles (1901-1922 and undated) about Amelia and her work; a postcard showing her birthplace in St. Michael's, Md.; a black-and-white photograph of her burial plot in Louisville, Ky.; and an envelope with genealogical information, all undated.

A print copy of The Kentucky Encyclopedia is available in William T. Young Library on the second floor in the Reference Collection.

Biography; 192 pages.

What do the Los Angeles Lakers, St. Louis Cardinals, New York Knicks, San Diego Chargers, Oakland Raiders, Kentucky Wildcats, Louisville Cardinals, Western Kentucky Hilltoppers, Furman Paladins and the Eastern Kentucky Colonels all have in common? They have all had star athletes who began their careers as Corbin Redhounds. For four decades the 30's, 40's, 50's, and 60's, Corbin High School sports were the glue that held the town together. For those who worked on the railroad, cut or hauled timber, or chiseled and drug coal from the nearby mines, football and basketball was a diversion from the daily chore of providing for their families. Sports were the common denominator that transcended economic levels of Corbin's citizenry. Sports Hall of Fames are dotted with Corbin stars: Frank Selvy, Rodger Bird, Calvin Bird, Billy Bird, Jerry Bird, Steve Bird, Roy Kidd, Nick Denes, David Selvy, Fred Radar, Mel Chandler, Princess McBurney, Jesse Grant, Marvin Selvy, Bobby Terrell, Curly Selvy, Edd Selvy, Ted Meadors, Jerry Smith, Bob Barton ,Tommy Adkins, Bob Coleman, Marion Cluggish, Curt Selvy.

Biography; 304 pages.

"In the beginning investigators were baffled. Why would anyone want to kill a 57-year-old woman, who by all appearances did her part in community activities, loved her family and enjoyed her time playing bridge with friends? Two weeks into the New Year of 1975, a horrific explosion ripped through the body of Peggy Rhodes and her pet horse, Tony. Who could possibly have wanted her dead? On a cold dark January night, a sudden blast interrupted the stillness of freshly fallen snow and with it, the lives of several Kentucky families were changed forever." -- Page 4 of cover.

In the 1980s, the World Wrestling Federation (WWF) was at its peak as a driving force in the multimillion-dollar sports entertainment business. Stars of the WWF became household names, even with folks who didn't follow wrestling names like Hulk Hogan, Andre the Giant, and Randy The Macho Man Savage were as well-known as anyone from Hollywood.

Biography; 224 pages, illustrations.

231 pages. Guidebook to some of best eating spots throughout Kentucky. Includes index.

224 pages; illustrations.

This book features 101 places to shop in Kentucky, the majority of which are privately owned and sell one-of-a-kind items.

Gary West traveled every corner of Kentucky to assemble this collection of must-see attractions in the Bluegrass State. Includes index.

Guidebook with recipes; 266 pages, illustrations.

This book identifies a distinctive kind of urban neighborhood that is on the rise throughout the USA, the dense, walkable, mixed-use bourgeois-bohemian suburb or the "boburb." It looks at case studies of areas to live in Louisville, Kentucky. Based on scores of interviews with college graduates, backed by survey data and Census figures, it provides a clear, historical account of how these spaces arose. Chapters depict, analyze, and compare the Highlands neighborhood with other Louisville boburbs, contrasting them with the ephemeral bohemian quarters and the many suburban subdivisions. The Highlands are also compared with five other boburbs around the USA. Attention is given to the influence of transportation systems in shaping residential, community, and commercial spaces. Deeper cultural reasons for choosing the boburbs or the suburbs are also explored, including the political "big sort" between liberal and conservative places, and Bourdieu's account of how the distinction between economic and cultural capital shapes how people choose to live where they live. This book will appeal to those interested in the evolution and distinctions among urban neighborhoods. It is ideal for academics and students within urban geography, urban gentrification, cities, and population. ion between economic and cultural capital shapes how people choose to live where they live. This book will appeal to those interested in the evolution and distinctions among urban neighborhoods. It is ideal for academics and students within urban geography, urban gentrification, cities, and population.

Revised version of the author's Centre College: scholars, gentlemen, Christians, published by the college in 2010--Title page.

Includes notes and index (p. 167-192).

"Based on the Conference on Education and the Family ... held in Washington, D.C., June 17 and 18, 1988"--Page ix. With contributions by, N. Ray Hiner, Ann M. Milne, Sanford M. Dornbusch, Kenneth D. Wood, Steven Mintz, Jan Lewis, Laurence Steinberg, James S. Coleman, and William Weston.

In this unique book, Duncan Ferguson and Beau Weston argue that the calling to teach is distinctively Reformed and a primary mission of the Presbyterian Church. This collection of essays first lays the biblical, theological, and historical foundations for this calling, then explores how it is lived out today in educational institutions--church-related as well as secular. Ferguson and Weston conclude that today's church must have the nurture of the teacher as a central part of its mission.

In Leading from the Center, sociologist William Weston provides an enlightening look at the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) and the tensions that exist between key groups in the denomination. Weston defines the key groups as conservatives, liberals, and loyalists and structures his view of the denomination around the third group. Defining "loyalists" as the largest and those who have no wish to see the denomination split apart, Weston argues that while conservatives may consider splitting the church over doctrinal issues and liberals may consider splitting the church over social issues, the loyalists want to work for peace and unity in an effort to hold the church together. His in-depth analysis examines the "left" and "right" sides of the church and their competition to win the loyalist center to their respective sides. Meticulously researched but engaging and insightful, Leading from the Center is a concise sketch of the denomination that is often surprising and always revealing.

Focusing on the heated ideological struggles that occurred within the Presbyterian Church, U.S.A., during the late 1800s and early 1900s, this book offers a compelling and original explanation of how diverse viewpoints can be accommodated within a religious institution. The Presbyterian example, William J. Weston argues, shows clearly that competition is the only effective kind of pluralism for a church - one that leads neither to institutional paralysis nor to irreconcilable division. Much of the current literature in the sociology of religion sees intradenominational conflict in terms of culture wars between two great factions or parties. However, in the competition model that Weston posits in this book, it is actually a third party - the loyalist center - that holds the power and that ultimately determines the outcome of the struggle. Essential reading for sociologists and historians of religion, Presbyterian Pluralism reaches important conclusions that will engage anyone concerned with conflict inside organizational structures and how it might be contained.