Browse A-Z Authors: Aa-Ag

Originally published in 1917. Excerpt from Help From the Hills: Senior Confirmation Instructions What is confirmation? We get a hint of the answer in the very position of the Confirmation Serv 1ce ln the Prayer Book. It comes after the Catechism, and the Catechism comes after the Baptismal Serv ices. This means, does it not, that there are Three Steps into the Temple of Christianity? The first step is Baptism. We must be baptized, or initiated, that we may become a Christian, a Child of God, and an Inheritor of the Kingdom of Heaven. I am not a Mason until I am initiated. Only then does the vast ness of'masonic obligation, and what I might call Masonic differentiation, break in upon me. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

Originally published in 1917. This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfections such as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We believe this work is culturally important, and despite the imperfections, have elected to bring it back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide. We appreciate your understanding of the imperfections in the preservation process, and hope you enjoy this valuable book.

Excerpt from The Man Outside the Church, and Other Sermons (published in 1917). The Discourses are addressed to the average person who Sits but lightly in the pew, and to the stimulation of the over-worked Preacher who would relate his weekly message to the intelligence of the business wracked worshipper who is physically incapable of extraordinary mental effort on the one day's rest in seven. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

Archival material housed at the Filson Historical Society. Collection of letters written by various Episcopal bishops of Kentucky. Most are brief letters written to librarians at the Episcopal Theological School, responding to a request for a letter to be added to the school's collection. A few letters are written to George Z. Gray and William Lawrence, deans of the school. Includes pages, presumably removed from a scrapbook, with the name of each bishop and the date of his consecration. Some letters and envelopes are still pasted to the scrapbook pages. Clippings with printed photos of some of the bishops are also included.

Amazoniadocuments one of the Earth's remaining natural ecosystems--the headwaters of the Amazon River in Peru and Bolivia. Over a series of years beginning in 2003, notedNational Geographic photographer Sam Abell traveled along the Amazon, taking photographs of its wild beauty. The resulting images by Abell and his colleague Torben Ulrik Nissen, a noted Danish wildlife photographer and experienced guide, provide rare insight into a remote and untouched landscape and the creatures that inhabit its dangerous rainforest and waters. Through their photographs and firsthand commentary, we experience the challenges and epiphanies of their journey and come to respect the power of the Amazon and its inestimable value to life on this planet. Because so many dramatic pictures of exotic animals capture our attention regularly, it is important to understand that the photographs were taken in accordance with an agreed-upon dogma. First, the photographers used film. Second, they used no filters or special effects. Third, all of the images are uncropped and were unchanged in post-production. In short, they adhered to the strictest standards of traditional documentary photography. As a result, we see what they saw, nothing more or less. "By showing them in their authentic settings," notes Abell, "we make evident the connection between habitat preservation and the survival of these animals. The Amazon's meaning is in its totality."

Illustrates the history, culture, landscapes, wildlife, and maritime of the continent of Australia.

Julie Messervy, photo. Sam Abell. A wondrous feast for the eyes and spirit, this volume takes readers around the globe to 35 unique gardens that inspire reverie and reflection.

The Inward Gardenn was first published in 1995, and with it Julie Moir Messervy introduced a movement in landscape design that inspired individuals to embark upon a voyage of discovery of the natural world outside and the contemplative spirit within. Unlike other authors who focus almost entirely on practical design elements of gardening, Messervy beckons you to identify the atmosphere and mood of a very personal garden you can create. She tells readers to think back to those places in memory that have given them the greatest joy and ease, either as children or as adults, and to use those memories in creating a retreat or garden of the mind in one's own backyard. Messervy asks readers to feel the space around them and to use their hearts and minds to figure out how to turn this imagined space into a reality. Culling from archetypes and spiritual insights, guided by the practical methods of hands-in-the-dirt gardening, the result is a happy blend of myth and art with logic and organization. Evocative, poetic, and beautifully written, The Inward Gardenn gives the reader a process for designing a dream garden. Based on garden archetypes the sea, the cave, the harbor, the promontory, the island, the mountain, and the sky, the book provides a structure for imagining the garden of one's desires and a practical process for designing this personal garden. Messervyn describes in detail each of these archetypal gardens, and each archetype, along with subsequent designs, is magnificently illustrated with lush garden photographs by acclaimed National Geographic photographer Sam Abell. The text and illustrations take the reader on a step-by-step walk through gardens great and small, analyzing landforms, inspecting soil, studying light, all with the goal of teaching one how to design a garden by following one's own creative impulses.

The author and his family journey in the footsteps of Lewis and Clark. The text is interwoven with excerpts from the explorers' own journals, as the author describes the state of the trail today.

Drawing on 40 years of fieldwork, The Life of a Photograph takes readers on assignment and inside the heart of a master photographer to witness the process of making a truly great picture. This exquisite book is organized by the known and unexpected themes of Abell’s work, ranging from his sensitive Portraits, beautiful Land, Sea, Sky and thought-provoking Wild Life to the surprising Just Looking (quirky scenes encountered on assignment),On the Road (photographs taken from automobiles), and The Built World (human impacts on pristine land). Anecdotes, explanations, and intriguing glimpses behind the scenes reveal the evolution--picture by picture and thought by thought--of some of the world’s most interesting and recognized images and many never-before seen photographs as well. Selections cover geography and wildlife from the Arctic to the Amazon, and cultures from Australia to Japan to the American West. A beautiful gift for everyone who loves fine photography, this volume is not to be thumbed through once--it is a treasure that will be savored over and over again.

Celebrated photographer Sam Abell has been a mainstay in the landscape photography and photojournalism worlds for decades. Immensely well-known and popular among photography students and amateur photographers alike, Abell's signature landscape photography has graced the pages of such magazines as National Geographic and Popular Photography. Sam Abell: The Photographic Life is an unprecedented look at the life and work of this artist's photographic process and reveals much about the relationship between art and life through the teachings that make him so sought after by photography students. This elegant book contains photography by Abell and such ephemera as postcards and invitations-most previously unpublished-that detail the inspiration for and influences on his photography. This a perfect gift book for lovers of photography. This book coincides with a major traveling retrospective that opens in fall 2002 at the Bayly Museum of Art, Charlottesville, the artist's hometown. The exhibit travels to the Toledo Museum of Art and the George Eastman House.

Sam Abell (born 1945) is one of America's most influential documentary photographers, celebrated in particular for his in-depth color photo-essays for National Geographic magazine. He has also made a considerable impact as a teacher and author. Abell's career is now the subject of The Sam Abell Library, a new publication project from Radius inaugurated with this volume--the first in a series of four multi-volume sets. Each of these sets is themed around a particular genre: the photography of places; the photography of nature; the photography of the past; and the photography of ideas. Essays by Abell appear in all of the books. In Life and Still Life, Abell explores three different cultures: Newfoundland; Hagi, Japan; and Northern Australia. This first boxed set also includes a fourth book with an illustrated essay by writer and curator Leah Bendavid-Val examining Abell's evolution as an artist.

One of the world's premier photographers combines candid, personal narrative and lush full-color photography in a fascinating international odyssey in search of the world's great gardens, in a three-part volume that includes The Garden, Wild Gardens, and Seeing Gardens and ranges from English

PHOTOGRAPHY

VHS video. Viewers go on assignment with Abell to photograph Shaker heritage in Kentucky and Maine, identifying the qualities he looks for in subjects and explaining how he interprets, captures and communicates these qualities on film. Images in this program are drawn from seventeen years of Abell's work on "Geographic" as well as his personal photography.

Trials, litigation. Free ebook available through Google and Hathitrust.

Biography. 23 pages. Attributed by the Library Company of Philadelphia to Robert Adair.

Article in Journal: Register of Kentucky State Historical Society, Vol.2, No. 4 (January, 1904), pages 7, 9, 11-3.

Ph. D. dissertation, University of Kentucky.

20 pages. "written principally in 1820 by Judge William Blair, and continued to the present time by a friend."

Collection. Archival material housed at the Kentucky Historical Society. This artificial collection consists of two kinds of documents. The first document types are those that were created by "famous" or significant Kentuckians during the course of their day-to-day lives. These documents include 1804 Register Office forms signed by John Adair, an 1806 land transfer document signed by Robert Breckinridge, and an 1801 land tax record signed by Marquis Calmes. Other like documents have the signatures of Lewis Collins, Joseph Crockett, Christopher Greenup, Harry Innes, C.S. Morehead, James Taylor, and multiple Todd's: H.L., Robert, and Thomas.
The other record type contains those documents that were created in response to a letter written by C. Frank Dunn, or are simply an autograph that has been cut from the whole original. Documents in this record type include: a letter from Alben W. Barkley, an autograph from Pearl S. Buck, a certificate of merit from William J. Fields, a letter of appointment from Flem D. Sampson, and correspondence from Fred M. Vinson.

Letters. Archival material housed at the New York Historical Society Library. Two letters from General John Adair to Gov. Isaac Shelby of Kentucky. The first, dated Louisville, November 15, 1814, describes the lack of supplies, unprepared troops, and travel to Natchez. The second, dated Mouth of Cumberland, December 6, 1814, explains that they are still in Kentucky, but will leave for Natchez when they receive sufficient rations. The letter also complains that they have poor boats and no tents, while the troops from Tennessee have excellent resources.

"The whole of the foregoing letters and documents truly copied from the file of the Reporter," p. 63. Caption title. Includes index.

Archival material. Available at The Filson Historical Society. Papers include an 18 Mar. 1797 bond agreeing that he and Charles Lynch would pay £200 to Isaac Shelby for a male slave; and land grants signed by Adair.

The Anthony Wayne family papers contain correspondence, diaries, documents, and accounts relating to several generations of the Wayne family of Pennsylvania. Of particular note is material concerning Anthony Wayne's service in the American Revolution and the Northwest Indian War, and William Wayne's service with the 97th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment in the Civil War.

Archival material housed at the Kentucky Historical Society. Includes an 1803 bond signed by John Adair, Charles Lynch, James Ray and Adam Guthrie to guarantee the obligation of John Adair to hold office as Land Register in the administration of Governor James Garrard; 1804 land patent in Madison County sold by J. Harris to [Higgeson] Grubbs issued by Adair; 1804 land patent sold by Henry Baker to William Jackson for Simon Kenton; and a copy of an article from the American Historical Register and Monthly Gazette of the Patriotic-Hereditary Societies of the United States of American, Volume 3, September 1895-February 1896, titled "General John Adair" and written by Mrs. M.T. Daveiss.

"The whole of the foregoing letters and documents truly copied from the file of the Reporter," p. 63. Caption title. Includes index.

Series: Black Women Oral History Project, v.15. Primarily regarding her career as teacher of social work at Atlanta University, and employment with the YWCA and the Office of Economic Opportunity.

Based on the Black Women Oral History Project sponsored by the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the history of women in America. Includes Danville native, Frankie Adams, with an insert of additional biographical information about Ms. Adams.

Interviewed by Gay Francine Banks. Transcript: 15 pages. Archival material. Black women oral history project. Childhood and education in Kentucky; social work career: YWCA national student movement, 1920s and 1930s; desegregation, Chicago, 1920s; Atlanta School of Social Work, 1931-1964; recollections of Frances Williams.

Periodical. Editor: July 1929- J. T. Adams. 2 volumes, frontispiece, illustrations

Folk Tales delighted and instructed children five hundred years ago. We believe that they can still delight and inform the children of today. Some tales were "collected by a pioneering folklorist, Leonard W. Roberts, who gathered a great body of tales mostly from the Appalachian third of Kentucky ... Several others are from James Taylor Adams, who collected tales from his family and neighbors for the Virginia Writers Project ... These tales are included ... [from the James Taylor Adams collection] of the John Cook Wyllie Library of the University of Virginia's College at Wise."--Page 7-8. Contents: Ezell and the black-speckled gizzard stone / by Aileen Kilgore Henderson -- Raglif Jaglif Tetartlif Pole / by Leonard W. Roberts -- The three gold nuts / by James Taylor Adams -- Ashpet's dreams / by Brenda Gough -- Little Esmond / by Patty Reese -- Nail soup / by Bob Rennick -- The boy who wanted gold / by James Taylor Adams -- Cheese and quackers / by Anne Shelby -- Mutsmeg / by Loyal Jones -- Robin Hood, mountain man / by James Taylor Adams -- Jack goes a-hunting / by Loyal Jones -- Through thick and thin / by James Taylor Adams.

Periodical. 5 volumes, illustrations. Vol. 5 has subtitle: "A monthly magazine of lore and legend."
Each issue is a complete volume.
Editor: James Taylor Adams.

Poetry. 119 pages.

Manuscript. Archival Material. The portraits are of Abigail Adams, John Quincy Adams, Louisa Catherine Adams and Samuel Adams.

"Published with the permission of Mrs. James Taylor Adams and James Taylor 'Jeems' Adams, Jr."
Includes index. 156 pages ; 28 cm. Compiled by James Taylor Adams.

"Unpublished manuscript prepared for the National Service Bureau, Federal Theatre Project, Works Progress Administration.." Includes index.

240 pages: portraits; 22 cm

James Taylor Adams collected material on various Adams/Addams/Addoms/ Adamson and connected families throughout the United States. Most of the material was collected between 1921 and 1954. Many of the families were from Virginia, Kentucky, North Carolina, and Tennessee. He also collected material for a history of the first settlers of Wise County, Virginia, so some of the families have ties to Wise County.

Periodical. Publisher varies.

Record gives location of cemetery and in most cases inscriptions from tombstones in the cemetery. In some cases, only the oldest stones are listed. A history of the cemetery and notes on those buried there is given for most graveyards.

Article. In Virginia cavalcade, Volume 21, number 4 (1972), pages 12-17.

Editors: Ruth Robinson Seibel (1971-1978) & Dorothy Ambergey Griffith (1971-1995). Newsletter for the interchange of genealogical data and history of the Adams (and variant spellings) families who came mainly from England, France, Germany, Ireland, Prussia, Scotland, and Wales. Some settled in Barbados and Jamaica (West Indies) and in Maryland, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Virginia in the 1600's. In the 1700's, some immigrated to Quebec (Canada), San Domingo (West Indies), and to Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, and West Virginia. Some were Loyalists who moved into Ontario, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia (Canada) after the Revolutionary War. During the 1800's, some moved to New Zealand, and to Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Washington D.C., Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Later descendants also lived in California, Colorado, Montana, Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and elsewhere. Includes some names of slaves and freemen. Some have Cherokee, Chickasaw, and other American Indian bloodlines. Some have African American bloodlines.

2 volumes; illustrations; diagram. Book 1: Grades I to IV; Book 2: Grades V to VIII.

Book 2: Grades 5-8.

204 pages; illustrations.

668 pages; diagrams.

7 volumes; illustrations; diagrams.

Seven volumes; illustrations.

Kentucky, University, Bureau of School Service; Bulletin. 268 pages; illustrations.

A.M. thesis from Indiana University

When Carter and Russell forget their story for a jamboree, they have only one day to write a new one. Soon a pair of unexpected characters enter to ruin the day and a remarkable adventure ensues, leaving the pair with an unexpected reward. A heartwarming tale that begins at home, this wonderfully illustrated book teaches young readers about friendship, integrity, and self-discovery, encouraging them to create their own stories using the tools within themselves. Also woven within the tale is practical advice for how to write a story, detailing how to write a fictional piece, create a page layout, and design characters.

Now you know why sleeping is difficult with a "NightMare" in the closet. Find everything you hear as a little girl explores the sounds of the night. See the fun characters a Mare and a young girl discover at night. Vivid illustrations that any young horse lover will enjoy.

Family Tree series, book 1. For generations, the family tree records words and sing-song that wind deep in its core. Children playing in or around the tree may accidentally sever or uproot disturbing moments hidden in their Outback. Adopting new words and terms helps better describe your Outback and how you lived it. Bothers & Sinisters readers are introduced to a variety of Australian, American, and Qweepie vernacular throughout the novel series. Choose to adopt or to adapt these terms in your Outback language using the "Language of the Outback" glossary included. "Outback is a book of magic and adventure that young readers will not soon forget. Adams' characters amuse, frustrate, intrigue, and redeem us. Most importantly, Outback teaches us the wisdom of 'family, ' 'roots, ' and 'home'--all of which make their own kind of magic in our everyday lives." --Jo Travis, retired English Teacher and Librarian Awards: 2016 Florida Authors and Publishers Association Silver Medalist, Juvenile Fiction

Family Tree series, book 2. Pester's unyielding pranks force Driew to question why his biggest bother isn't a true brother. Driew doesn't fully understand Pester's impact on him until twins, Able and Cain Poe's, countrifyin' lessons. A brotherly secret surfaces that Driew is forbidden to repeat. Instead Driew carves deep secrets and family moments down under the protective bark of an Outback tree. M.W. Adams created the award-winning Family Tree Novel series to be read and savored. This adventurous Outback coming-of-age story conjures the magical Never Never land for readers internationally. From creeks, caves, and bluffs, discover the magic of a small town with Driew Qweepie. A child cannot change dreaming or songlines, but can pecking birth order--thus affecting his or her family tree. The footprints a child follows along a songline may uproot moments Down Under. "Adams' characters amuse, frustrate, intrigue, and redeem us. Most importantly, OUTBACK teaches us the wisdom of 'family, ' 'roots, ' and 'home'--all of which make their own kind of magic in our everyday lives." --Jo Travis, retired English Teacher and Librarian Readers are introduced to a variety of Australian, American, and Qweepie vernacular throughout the novel series. Choose to adopt or to adapt these terms using the "Language of the Outback" glossary included.

Family Tree series, book 3. "G'Day " The Australian greeting for "hello" welcomes a host of unexpected torments from the Qweepie twins. While overcoming a caddywompus split between his mother and little sinister, Driew recovers a lost family memoir uprooting tragic family secrets. His siblings never asked for him. A mysterious aint may be the key to unraveling his past and finding his story. Using her sweet and salty personality, the Australian girl-next-door coerces Driew into accepting Magic Man's purpose and seeking a hidden Aboriginal songline Outback. Driew must choose between a blossoming love or a walkabout journey into his destined manhood.

The Belly Button Fairy is a grandmotherly fairy who flies through the skies in her rocking chair. She visits newborn babies and gives each baby just one belly button, making sure it is exactly in the middle. Included with the book is an audio CD featuring the story narration and an original song. With its full-page watercolor illustrations throughout, this rhyming book gives children pure enjoyment and allows them to believe in make-believe. After all, who better to blame it on than a fairy? This book is perfect for beginning readers.

The Fart Fairy is a mischievous little fairy blamed for the embarrassing sounds and odors that are a part of everyday life. He travels with his pet skunk and is always lurking in the background with a smile on his face. Included with the book is an audio CD featuring the story narration and an original song. With its full-page watercolor illustrations throughout, this rhyming book gives children pure enjoyment and allows them to believe in make-believe. After all, who better to blame it on than a fairy? This book is perfect for beginning readers.

Did you know that freckles are fairy kisses? The Freckle Fairy is a whimsical little fairy who flies through the sky at night, visiting children while they sleep. She gives each child a kiss or two, or maybe more. Wherever she kisses them a freckle magically appears. This is the fifth in Bobbie Hinman's award-winning series of fairy books. These captivating books were created to give children pure enjoyment and allow them to believe in make-believe. After all, who better to blame it on than a fairy? This book includes an audio CD of the story narrated by the author. Also featured is an original fairy song. Children will delight in listening to this story and song about the enchanting Freckle Fairy. The tinkling sound of the bell lets children know when it is time to turn the page.

Jadyn magically travels to the savannah in Kenya where he learns about the diversity of the animal kingdom and the necessity to protect and preserve endangered species. Includes activities.

Jilli Wallaby was always doing silly things! And her mom was always letting her know. "Jilli, That's Silly!" she'd say, at least thirty times a day. Finally, Jilli's mom realizes that Jilli isn't being silly, she' s just being a girl!

Little Miss Grubby Toes' mother warns her to never go near the edge of the pool, but her friend Tommy Sims tells her it is OK. The children enter the pool area on their own and see a toy sailboat floating near the edge. Tommy urges Little Miss Grubby Toes to lean out and reach it. What do you think will happen?

Little Miss Grubby Toes goes to a birthday party and is fascinated by the matches and lit candles. She wants to strike matches, but Mother tells her she must wait until her birthday. Mother hides the matches, but Little Miss Grubby Toes finds out where they are. She climbs up on the kitchen cabinet and takes out the matches. She strikes one! What do you think will happen?

"Little Miss Grubby Toes tries to be a good girl, but when she doesn't obey her parents, she gets herself in trouble! One day, her mother warns her to keep her shoes on outside, because the bees are out collecting nectar. But Little Miss Grubby Toes loves to run around barefoot! She starts playing and ignores her mother's warning. What do you think will happen?"--Page 4 of cover.

Lighthearted and full of fun, this story allows children to relate to Nicholas and the ridiculous things he does and shows parents how to learn to appreciate and enjoy the humor behind these happenings. After reprimanding him on his behavior at least 30 times a day, Nicholas's mom finally comes to realize that he isn't being ridiculous, he's just being a boy. A book talk section designed to help engage children in discussion, imagination, and perception is also included.

"Polly believes that nothing is more important than being the prettiest girl at school--and her pigtails are her trademark. But an incident with the class bully helps Polly discover the meaning of true beauty"--book jacket.

Experience a day in the life of two youngsters as they learn to count while they skip, hop, jump, and bounce. The main characters, Chloe and Bryce cannot wait to get to FUN class. Follow them as they enjoy music and physical activities while they count to ten. Keep your eyes out for hidden pictures in the book that include a dog that loves peanut butter and a bear named "2".

In search of Treasure Island, Pete learns to adjust and "set his sail" to overcome adversity as he pursues his magical journey called life.

Was it really such a "good war"? It was, if popular memory is to be trusted. We knew who the enemy was. We knew what we were fighting for. The war was good for the economy. It was liberating for women. It was a war of tanks and airplanes-a cleaner war than World War I. Americans were united. Soldiers were proud. It was a time of prosperity, sound morality, and power. But according to historian Michael Adams, our memory is distorted, and it has left us with a misleading-even dangerous-legacy. Challenging many of our common assumptions about the period, Adams argues that our experience of World War II was positive but also disturbing, creating problems that continue to plague us today.

Americans are often accused of not appreciating history, but this charge belies the real popular interest in the past. Historical reenactments draw thousands of spectators; popular histories fill the bestseller lists; PBS, A&E and The History Channel air a dizzying array of documentaries and historical dramas; and Hollywood war movies become blockbusters. Though historians worry that these popular representations sacrifice authenticity for broad appeal, Michael C.C. Adams argues that living history -- even if it is an incomplete depiction of the past -- plays a vital role in stimulating the historical imagination. In Echoes of War, he examines how one of the most popular fields of history is portrayed, embraced, and shaped by mainstream culture. Adams argues that symbols of war are of intrinsic military significance and help people to articulate ideas and values. We still return to the knight as a symbol of noble striving; the bowman appeals as a rebel against unjust privilege. Though Custer may not have been the Army's most accomplished fighter, he achieved the status of cultural icon. The public memory of the redcoated British regular soldier shaped American attitudes toward governments and gun laws. The 1863 attack on Fort Wagner by the black Fifty-fourth Massachusetts regiment was lost to public view until racial equality became important in the late twentieth century. Echoes of War is a unique look at how a thousand years of military history are remembered in popular culture, through images ranging from the medieval knight to the horror of U.S. involvement in the My Lai massacre.

Fighting for Defeat argues that the Union army's lack of success in the eastern theater early in the Civil War was due largely to its fear that the Confederate army was invincible. Certain to arouse discussion, this study by Michael C. C. Adams combines probing social and psychological analysis, blood-rushing description of events, and candid pictures of President Lincoln, and Generals George McClellan and Ulysses Grant, among many others. It was first published in 1978 with the main title Our Masters the Rebels. Originally published: Our masters the rebels. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1978. With new preface.

In 1914 Europe descended into a slaughter unlike anything that had been seen before. Yet, far from seeing the conflict as a tragedy, many men welcomed it as a healthy development for society, a relief from peace. The Great Adventure explores the intellectual trends that made war seem a natural and high expression of social values. This is not a book about the specific causes of World War I, but a study of the mood in which it could take place. What the book uncovers is a complex of deeply ingrained attitudes about manhood, sex, power, maturity, boredom, and war that defined a culture in which war came to be seen as a positive option. Although the book focuses on attitudes in Great Britain and the United States of nearly a century ago, it makes a remarkably contemporary statement about men, women, and the culture of war.

Many Americans, argues Michael C. C. Adams, tend to think of the Civil War as more glorious, less awful, than the reality. Millions of tourists flock to battlefields each year as vacation destinations, their perceptions of the war often shaped by re-enactors who work hard for verisimilitude but who cannot ultimately simulate mutilation, madness, chronic disease, advanced physical decay. In Living Hell, Adams tries a different tack, clustering the voices of myriad actual participants on the firing line or in the hospital ward to create a virtual historical reenactment. Perhaps because the United States has not seen conventional war on its own soil since 1865, the collective memory of its horror has faded, so that we have sanitized and romanticized even the experience of the Civil War. Neither film nor reenactment can fully capture the hard truth of the four-year conflict. Living Hell presents a stark portrait of the human costs of the Civil War and gives readers a more accurate appreciation of its profound and lasting consequences. Adams examines the sharp contrast between the expectations of recruits versus the realities of communal living, the enormous problems of dirt and exposure, poor diet, malnutrition, and disease. He describes the slaughter produced by close-order combat, the difficulties of cleaning up the battlefields--where tens of thousands of dead and wounded often lay in an area of only a few square miles--and the resulting psychological damage survivors experienced. Drawing extensively on letters and memoirs of individual soldiers, Adams assembles vivid accounts of the distress Confederate and Union soldiers faced daily: sickness, exhaustion, hunger, devastating injuries, and makeshift hospitals where saws were often the medical instrument of choice. Inverting Robert E. Lee's famous line about war, Adams suggests that too many Americans become fond of war out of ignorance of its terrors. Providing a powerful counterpoint to Civil War glorification, Living Hell echoes William Tecumseh Sherman's comment that war is cruelty and cannot be refined. Praise for Our Masters the Rebels: A Speculation on Union Military Failure in the East, 1861-1865 "This excellent and provocative work concludes with a chapter suggesting how the image of Southern military superiority endured in spite of defeat."--Civil War History "Adams's imaginative connections between culture and combat provide a forceful reminder that Civil War military history belongs not in an encapsulated realm, with its own categories and arcane language, but at the center of the study of the intellectual, social, and psychological currents that prevailed in the mid-nineteenth century."--Journal of American History Praise for The Best War Ever: America and World War II "Adams has a real gift for efficiently explaining complex historical problems."--Reviews in American History "Not only is this mythologizing bad history, says Adams, it is dangerous as well. Surrounding the war with an aura of nostalgia both fosters the delusion that war can cure our social ills and makes us strong again, and weakens confidence in our ability to act effectively in our own time."--Journal of Military History

History; 256 pages.

"In Nonestica is Morgan Adams's debut chapbook. It was selected for publication from among the entries to the 2012 Accents Publishing Chapbook contest." --Summary from Amazon

Poems; 122 pages.

"After the ink dries on the divorce decree, how can fathers remain active and relevant in their kids' lives? After his own divorce, author Steve Adams decided he wanted a more meaningful role in the lives of his children. He turned around his priorities, focused on parenting, and established a set of principles. They worked for him. He believes they'll work for any divorced father. "Being a committed father isn't rocket science," Adams says. "It's much harder. Are you ready to take this on?" -- Summary from Amazon

This volume grew out of a symposium held at the Annual Meeting of the American Anthropological Association in November 1969 at New Orleans, Louisiana. The "Apachean Symposium" was designed to provide an opportunity for scholars engaged in research on southern Athapaskan cultures to report upon their findings, and wherever possible, to link them to known fact and existing theory. The diverse work presented here will add significantly to the knowledge about Apachean cultures, and each of contributions also pertains directly to wider spheres of anthropological concern.

Classifications are central to archaeology. Yet the theoretical literature on the subject, both in archaeology and the philosophy of science, bears very little relationship to what actually occurs in practice. This problem has long interested William Adams, a field archaeologist, and Ernest Adams, a philosopher of science, who describe their book as an ethnography of archaeological classification. It is a study of the various ways in which field archaeologists set about making and using classifications to meet a variety of practical needs. The authors first discuss how humans form concepts. They then describe and analyse in detail a specific example of an archaeological classification, and go on to consider what theoretical generalizations can be derived from the study of actual in-use classifications. Throughout the book, they stress the importance of having a clearly defined purpose and practical procedures when developing and applying classifications.

This book is a study in depth of the work of Franz Boas and twenty of his students at Columbia University in the early years of the twentieth century. Collectively they laid the entire institutional as well as the intellectual foundations of American anthropology as it exists today. The book begins with a discussion of the historical context of Boasian anthropology, and an overview of its nature and limitations. The work of Boas and his leading students is then discussed in detail, including biographical data, a review and critique of their research, a review in detail of each of their major publications, and an overall assessment of their contribution to anthropology, as seen in their own time and today.

Memoirs of the UNESCO Archaeological Survey of Sudanese Nubia, v.1

This volume provides an overview of the churches of Nobadia the most northerly of the three medieval Nubian kingdoms. The majority of the work comprises descriptions of the churches, along with plans and notes on materials, construction, fixtures and excavation, divided into three chronological periods - early (550-850), Classic (850-1100) and Late and Terminal (1100-1500). Other sections provide an overview of the architecture, including discussion of changes and developments, as well as more brief summaries of architecture in the other two Nubian kingdoms.

William Y. Adams grew up in an Indian Service family in an Indian Service town in the 1930s. Window Rock, Arizona was the newly founded administrative capital for the vast Navajo reservation, and all 298 of its residents were Indian Bureau employees or their families. With the exception of a few low-level service personnel, none were Navajo, nor did they have any detailed familiarity with the world of hogans and corrals. They were technocrats, skilled in agriculture, range management, forestry, mining, education, public health, and law enforcement, among other things. Despite their varied backgrounds and skills, however, they shared a common determination to "do right by the Indians" after decades of government neglect and mismanagement. That concept, however, originated not in Window Rock but in Washington, the administrative headquarters of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. In the years following World War II, Adams lived and worked among Navajos and Hopis in a number of different capacities. As an archaeological explorer, an ethnologist, an interviewer for the Arizona Bureau of Ethnic Research, a livestock drive foreman, and--perhaps most importantly--a trader, he became aware of the myth of the Indian: a belief in "the Indian" as a kind of unitary, symbolic figure, who stood as the surrogate for hundreds of tribes, cultures, and languages spread across the American continent. In Indian Policies in the Americas, Adams addresses the idea that "the Indian," as conceived by colonial powers and later by different postcolonial interest groups, was as much ideology as empirical reality. Adams surveys the policies of the various colonial and postcolonial powers, then reflects upon the great ideological, moral, and intellectual issues that underlay those policies.

Museum of Northern Arizona Bulletin, no. 31; Glen Canyon Series, no. 1; 53 pages; illustrations; maps.

This book reprints the first volume on the University of Kentucky's excavations at Kulubnarti in Sudan, originally published in 1996 but long out of print. The excavations at Kulubnarti remain the only detailed study of a late medieval and post-medieval landscape in the Sudan. Structures include housing, animal pens and terracing, walled compounds, a castle, churches and kourfas. Wall-paintings inscriptions and rock-art are also published and discussed.

This third volume concerns the funerary remains from the site of Kulubnarti in the Northern Sudan. Graves from two different cemeteries, one on the island of Kulubnarti, the other on the adjacent left bank of the Nile, are described and discussed in terms of their location, descriptions of the grave types within their medieval context, the grave goods and analysis of the skeletal remains. In particular, Nettie Adams provides a detailed study of the well preserved textiles which ascribe to the practice of wrapping the bodies in cloth, sometimes secured with bindings, prior to deposition, occasionally laid on a woven mat. The two cemeteries date to the pre-Christian period and from c.AD 600 to recent times, respectively. Volume I of this report outlines the architectural remains and volume II the artefactual evidence.

The first of four volumes dedicated to publishing the results of the excavations at the site of Meinarti in the Sudan, part of the UNESCO Archaeological Survey. Occupied for more than 12 centuries, this first volume discusses the buildings and stratigraphical phases, ceramic and artefactual remains, from the pre-Christian phases of occupation, AD200-600. This volumes also introduces the site and relates the history of its investigation.

190 pages; with comments by A. J. Arkell [et. al.].

Biography; French; 388 pages.

History; 797 pages; plates; illustrations.

Cultural history; 274 pages.

Anthropologists claim to have made mankind aware of its own prehistory and its importance to human self-understanding. Yet, anthropologists seem hardly to have discovered their own discipline's prehistory or to have realized its importance. William Y. Adams attempts to rectify this myopic self-awareness by applying anthropology's own tools on itself and uncovering the discipline's debt to earlier thinkers. Like most anthropologists, Adams had previously accepted the premise that anthropology's intellectual roots go back no further than the moral philosophy of the Enlightenment, or perhaps at the earliest to the humanism of the Renaissance. In this volume, Adams recognizes that many good ideas were anticipated in antiquity and that these ideas have had a lasting influence on anthropological models in particular. He has chosen five philosophical currents whose influence has been, and is, very widespread, particularly in North American anthropology: progressivism, primitivism, natural law, German idealism, and "Indianology". He argues that the influences of these currents in North American anthropology occur in a unique combination that is not found in the anthropologies of other countries. Without neglecting the anthropologies of other countries, this work serves as the basis for the explanation of the true historical and philosophical underpinnings of anthropology and its goals. First published in 1998.

Excavationsat Qaṣr Ibrîm began in 1963 and has continued on a mostly biennial basis. Remains of the late medieval period (c.1172-1500) were among the uppermost on the site and some of the first to be investigated. This is an architectural and artefactual reconstruction of the community fully illustratd with photographs and line drawings.

Throughout history, religion has been the primary tool used by human societies to understand the inexplicable and the powerful. Religion and Adaptation examines how this role of religion affects the development of human society and individual identity. The volume uses a wide variety of ethnographic and historical sources to support its analysis, beginning with two detailed case studies of the religions practiced by Navajo Indians and Arab villagers. An intriguing comparison of these two systems of faith reveals the difficulty of finding one definition of religion. William Adams explores this problem of definition, suggesting that religion and science actually share the role of providing logical explanations in human society. In subsequent chapters, he considers the development of religious systems, the growth of religious consciousness in the individual, and the dynamics of religious change. The book ultimately aims to be a purely empirical study that probes the reasons for the existence of religion and its role as a moral and stabilizing force in human societies.

A study of 100 Navajo households served by the Shonto Trading Post in the northwest of the Navajo Indian Reservation. Also issued as House document no. 387, 87th Congress, 2nd session. Issued in microfilm form in 1958 as thesis, University of Arizona.

Museum of Northern Arizona Bulletin, no. 36; Glen Canyon Series, no. 3; 62 pages; illustrations; folded map in pocket.

This volume is the last to be printed in a series describing in detail the results of the so-called West Bank Survey, an archaeological survey in the northernmost part of Sudanese Nubia, undertaken on the West Bank between the villages of Faras in the north and Gemai in the south during the period 1960-64. This project was carried out in anticipation of the flooding of the Aswan High Dam. The whole series has been divided into three volumes, no. 2 including sites from the Meroitic and Ballana periods (BAR S1335: Adams 2004), no. 3 including sites of the Christian age (BAR S1421: Adams 2005), while the present volume, no. 1, consists of detailed descriptions of sites and finds of the Early Nubian, Middle Nubian and Pharaonic New Kingdom periods.

In 1838 & '39, Presidents Andrew Jackson & Martin Van Buren exiled the Cherokee Indians from their Tennessee River homeland to the barren wastelands of Oklahoma. More than 8,000 men, women, & children died in stockades & on the infamous "Trail of Tears." For 42 year-old Cherokee Althea Adams, finishing the trail was not cause for despair but for celebration. Last year, she became the first modern woman on record to walk the route from Rattlesnake Springs, Tennessee, to Tahlequah, Oklahoma, covering 1,100 miles. It was an incredible feat in a number of ways, not the least of which was that Adams had overcome childhood polio. The doctors never expected her to walk. "I had to walk The Trail of Tears. The removal of our people is a dark cloud in our history," says Adams. "No culture should go through this. As long as that trail is being walked, it will always be remembered." Because her ancestors weren't allowed to prepare for their journey, Adams didn't either. For four months, she walked between 15 & 28 miles a day wearing moccasins & lugging a 52-pound backpack. Not all of her fellow Americans were friendly en route, she found--some refused her shelter & food, & gangs confronted her. But, she says, "The only thing that would stop me from finishing this walk was the Great Spirit. Man was not going to get in my way." On January 5, 1993, she completed the Trail of Tears. Last May, Adams finished a book about her journey, MESSAGE IN THE WIND. Now she is teaching children about the Cherokee Nation & writing her autobiography.

Autobiography. 201 pages. "This book is from birth affliction of polio and struggling to walk and having A.D.D. and dyslexia not knowing what these were (fathers and mothers and teachers), living off the earth in mountains of Kentucky. Taken to north land at the age of 18 learning new thing such as Cosmetology, Modeling and Soldier for the Americas as I slowly grew into womanhood." --Amazon

Playing hopscotch in the schoolyard or hide-and-seek in the woods, Appalachian children once recited traditional nursery rhymes from memory. As kids do, they frequently altered the original rhymes, making them even more colorful in the process. In Mommy Goose: Rhymes from the Mountains, author Mike Norris honors this special piece of American heritage with a one-of-a-kind collection of fifty original nursery rhymes celebrating Appalachian tradition and speech. Illustrated with art-quality photographs of more than one hundred new hand-carved and -painted works by renowned folk artist Minnie Adkins, this enchanting book introduces readers of all ages to the whimsical world of Mommy Goose and shares her love of the rare music of Appalachian speech and of words in general. Mommy Goose is designed to engage young children with a series of simple and often humorous verses that gradually become more challenging as the book progresses. Readers can advance to longer, more complex rhymes as their skills develop -- at home or with the guidance of teachers. Featuring sheet music for the original song "Tell me, Mommy Goose," this multidimensional book is certain to entertain while introducing a new generation to hallowed folk traditions.

As this collection adeptly illustrates, nursery rhymes not only evoke innocence, discovery, and joy for children of all ages, but they also can educate and celebrate tradition. Ring Around the Moon features original rhyming poems in a time-honored Appalachian style that acknowledges the importance of the region and its rich heritage while introducing readers to the whimsical and enchanting world of Mommy Goose. With Kentucky-flavored language and subject matter, this volume brings together the words, art, and music of Appalachia. The poems present classic Appalachian subjects―leaving the homeplace to find work, mountain folklore, country life versus city life―and touch on a wide range of broader themes, such as bullying, gender roles, the power of language, and the power of kindness. This work is illustrated with more than 170 intricately hand-painted carvings by renowned folk artist Minnie Adkins, often referred to as America's most important female wood carver. With sheet music for the original song "Ring Around the Moon" complementing the text, this multifaceted book entertains while capturing the spirit and expanding the range of traditional Appalachian nursery rhymes to reach a new generation of readers.

Bright Blue Rooster is a story of "humorous nonsense that, on reflection, makes a subtle comment about our current situation 'down on the farm". Written by Mike Norris with carved illustrations by one of America's best-known folk artists, Minnie Adkins, the book includes a musical version so the tale can be read or sung. Includes music CD.

Sonny the Monkey has been described as " a magical combination of Appalachian storytelling and woodcarving artistry"

Catalogue of an exhibition held at the Kentucky Folk Art Center in 2007. Essay by Adrian Swain. Cover art by Christy Herring. Catalog design by Matt Collinsworth. Art photography by Geoffrey Carr.

DVD; approx. 180 minutes. Tour the grassroots art and roadside attractions in the Eastern States. Visit with artists who have created sculptures and assemblages from all manner of found objects. Originally broadcast on KCPT, Public Television 19, Kansas City, Mo.

A tribute to 17 self-taught artists and craftsmen who live in the mountains between Virginia and Alabama. The book contains interviews with these people and examples of their art. They include sculptors, painters, carvers and weavers who together maintain the traditions of folk art.