Browse A-Z Authors: Zn-Zz

"In Kentucky Bourbon Barons: Legendary Distillers from the Golden Age of Whiskey Making, author Chester Zoeller introduces readers to some of these outstanding gentlemen from Kentucky's past. Many of their names have been forgotten now because the five or six large, successful plants they were associated with were closed during Prohibition. Their contributions to Kentucky's distilling history will live on, however, thanks to Mr. Zoeller's dedication to preserving their memory in the pages of this book."--p.4 of cover.

A true labor of love, bourbon aficionado Chester "Chet" Zoeller conducted years of research to uncover the complete history of bourbon distilling and distilleries throughout Kentucky. This is the comprehensive publication of his findings, cataloging almost 1,000 distillers and brands across the Commonwealth -- from farmhouse mashers to the major industrial concerns, and from the late 1700s to the present day. With hundreds of rare and historical photographs, this is believed to be the first and only authoritative history of its kind.

DVD; approx. 76 minutes. Explores the history of bourbon and uniquely American process of making it.

This textbook takes a unique approach to explaining and demonstrating how to use and interpret statistics for the physiological, medical, and life sciences. The first third of the book presents an integrated overview and introduction to experimental design and statistical inference. The rest of the book provides an extensively cross-referenced set of 100 brief critiques of sample case studies embodying all the most common statistical errors or design problems found in the biological literature. These specific cases are effective for teaching the principles of biostatistics. The examples are drawn primarily from biomedicine, yet the book is also valuable to psychologists, social scientists, environmental scientists, ecologists, and any discipline employing statistics.

Fiction; 251 pages.

Fiction; 231 pages.

Fiction; 464 pages.

Fiction; 365 pages.

Fiction; 290 pages.

Fiction; 352 pages.

Fiction; 175 pages.

Short stories; 47 pages. "Stories ... [which] tell of the hard times consumers suffer when they buy goods on 'easy payments' from dishonest merchants."--Page 1.

Ten short stories mainly dealing with relationships. The title story is about a parental kidnapping as told from a sibling's view.

Dictionary; 20 pages.

Description of people and events in the Pacific area during the months before Pearl Harbor; 342 pages.

Ficton; short stories. Contents: King Solomon of Kentucky / James Lane Allen -- An Experience on the Dress Line / Lucky Furman -- Courtin' on Cutshin / John Fox Jr. -- Hoodooed / Alice Hegan Rice -- Snake Doctor / Irvin S. Cobb -- Children of Noah / Ben Lucien Burman -- The Sacrifice of the Maidens / Elizabeth Madox Roberts -- Old Red / Caroline Gordon -- The Immortal Woman / Allen Tate -- Room in the World / Leane Zugsmith -- Dawn of Remembered Spring / Jesse Stuart -- Mrs. Razor / James Still -- Blackberry Winter / Robert Penn Warren -- Evenings at Home / Elizabeth Hardwick -- Ebbie / A.B. Guthrie Jr.

Journal.

Short stories.

A lively, perceptive discussion of the activist years and literary works of a leading fiction writer on the Left during the turbulent '30s. Zugsmith drew upon social and economic struggles of that time for her novels and stories, with consummate skill and artistry. Notes, Bibliography.

For more than thirty-five years, David Zurick--one of the world's foremost experts and writers on the Himalaya--has been trekking this remote, dramatic region and documenting its magnificent geographical features. In this, his third book on the Himalaya, Zurick offers a different and more personal appraisal of the region, detailing his own intimate experiences with the environment and the people who live there. In a clear, conversational style, Zurick covers a wide array of topics, from the interplay of different religions in Kathmandu to the economic and social changes transpiring in Bhutan to the fragile frontier of Tibet.

The majestic natural beauty of the Himalaya Mountains has inspired awe and religious devotion in people around the world for millennia. With thirty peaks rising over 25,000 feet (7,620 meters) -- including Everest and Kanchenzonga, the world's highest and third-highest peaks -- the Himalaya dwarf all other mountain ranges. Sprawling 2,700 kilometers across India, Pakistan, Nepal, Tibet, and Bhutan, the Himalaya possess an abundance of ecological niches, from subtropical to arctic climates, and support vast quantities of flora and fauna -- more than 650 varieties of orchids thrive in the wet mountain region of Sikkim alone. In the valleys, a surprising number of tenacious peoples have over centuries carved out diverse cultures in the harsh mountain environment. Although seemingly timeless, the Himalaya are anything but unchanging. The mountains themselves continue to grow an average of one centimeter per year, with some peaks rising ten centimeters in a single year. More alarming are the profound environmental and cultural changes occurring throughout the region. In Himalaya: Life on the Edge of the World, David Zurick and P. P. Karan explore these dynamic changes through geological records, scientific reports, and official documents dating back over a century and through years of field research and travel which have given them an intimate knowledge of the landscape and people of the Himalaya. The authors provide a comprehensive natural history of the region from the birth of the Himalaya out of the tectonic disruptions beneath the primordial Tethys Sea to the variety of landforms, habitats, and climates seen today; a lively study of the peoples who make the mountains their home, tracing human history in the Himalaya back more than a thousand years; and an in-depth analysis of the relationship between nature and society in the Himalaya and the pressing problems of environmental degradation, explosive population growth, spiraling poverty, and globalization confronting the region and its people. Challenging widely held assumptions about the current ecological crisis in the Himalaya -- that deforestation, for example, can be blamed exclusively on local villagers or that pollution and rampant resource exploitation occur uniformly throughout the range -- the authors detail a much more complex scenario in which the population explosion is only one of the many factors affecting the Himalayan landscape and in which some regions exhibit little of the environmental decline witnessed elsewhere. Himalaya also offers reasons for hope, documenting the success of wildlife preserves and national parks in protecting the region's fragile ecology, effective strategies of local environmental activists, the encouraging rise of ecotourism, and the introduction of both new and rediscovered techniques of sustainable agriculture. Thoroughly researched, engagingly written, and lavishly illustrated with helpful maps and evocative photographs, Himalaya provides a compelling account of the mountain range's natural history, cultural diversity, environmental predicament, and future survival.

This book tells the story of the painted towns of Shekhawati in rural Rajasthan, India. For centuries, the painted buildings served the towns as trading houses, pleasure palaces, temples, caravansaries, and private homes. Following independence, the descendants of the merchant families left Shekhawati for India's burgeoning cities, abandoning their opulent structures. Some were left in the charge of caretakers; squatters took up residence in many; most simply remain vacant. The buildings have slowly deteriorated over time, ravaged by climate and neglect, and now lie scattered among the desert settlements as an elegiac collection of beautiful living ruins--a crumbling open-air gallery set amid the ordinary affairs of small town life. This book portrays the fascinating ruinous beauty of the painted towns, and, along the way, provides an intimate look at life and landscape on the arid fringes of Rajasthan. This world, too, is fading, and so the book's photographs, in the end, are a visual study of both place and society at the edge of time.

The Himalaya are world-renowned for their exquisite mountain scenery, ancient traditions, and diverse ethnic groups that tenaciously inhabit this harsh yet sublime landscape. Home to the world's highest peaks, including Mount Everest, and some of its deepest gorges, the region is a trove of biological and cultural diversity. Providing a panoramic overview of contemporary land and life in the Earth's highest mountains, the Illustrated Atlas of the Himalaya is the first full-color, comprehensive atlas of the geography, economics, politics, and culture of this spectacular area. Drawing from the authors' twenty-five years of scholarship and field experience in the region, the volume contains a stunning and unique collection of maps utilizing state-of-the-art cartography, exquisite photography, and engagingly-written text to give accurate coverage of the Himalaya. The volume covers the entire 2,700-kilometer length of the mountain range, from the Indus Valley in northern Pakistan and India, across Nepal and Bhutan, to the hidden realms of northeast India. The Illustrated Atlas of the Himalaya not only offers detailed explanations of geological formations, climate, vegetation, and natural resources but also explores the human dimension of the region's culture and economy. The authors devote special attention to discovery and travel, including exploration, mountaineering, and trekking. Packed with over 300 easy-to-read, custom designed full color maps and photographs and detailed text and map indexes, the Illustrated Atlas of the Himalaya is a superb collector's volume and an essential reference to this vast and complex mountain region.

The landscapes of Tibet, Nepal, and Bhutan are filled with holy places. Some are of natural origin - summits, rivers and lakes, caves, or forest sanctuaries. Others are consecrated by religious practice - shrines, temples, monasteries, or burial grounds. The holy sites of the Himalaya unite faith and geography to produce some of the most sublime places on Earth. In Land of Pure Vision, David Zurick draws from his thirty-five years of experience as a geographer, photographer, and explorer of the Himalaya, combining scholarship and art to capture divine landscapes undergoing profound change. The stunning photographs featured in this volume cover the full geographical reach of the region, from the high plateaus of the western Himalaya to the rugged gorges of Tibet's eastern borderlands, from the icy summits of the north to the subtropical southern foothills. Some sites exist in isolation, with intact natural environments and cultural monuments. Others display the tension between the ancient, sacred character of a place and the indifferent course of the modern world. Land of Pure Vision explores how the religious practices of Tibetan Buddhism, Hinduism, and shamanism interweave holy sites into a cohesive landscape of transcendent beauty and inspiration. It portrays a world of mystery, magic, and beauty, where the human spirit is in synchronicity with natural forces. Beyond elegy, this beautifully illustrated book is a visual ethnography of people and place.

All regions of the United States can be viewed by opposites, but perhaps nowhere is this view more prevalent than in our understanding of the American South. It is to this region in particular that we apply such constructs as rural vs. urban, commoner vs. aristocrat, farm vs. factory, old vs. new, rich vs. poor, literate vs. illiterate, black vs. white, insider vs. outsider, and so on. In 1996, David Zurick, a renowned geographer with an artistic eye, began a decade-long series of journeys throughout the region to find out for himself what constitutes "the South." Living at the fulcrum of North and South near Berea, Kentucky, at the edge of the Cumberland Plateau, Zurick was curious as to why the South is seen by outsiders as a region "apart from the rest of America" and by insiders as a place that is "losing its identity." What ultimately captured Zurick's attention was the region's "southernness," in which there are many Souths, not just the geographically defined Upland and Lowland South or the culturally defined Old and New South. Thus, we see in Zurick's photographs and accompanying vignettes geographical excursions into the South's myriad manifestations. Southern Crossings offers a fresh visual perspective on one of the nation's most distinct regions. Zurick's blending of geographical insights and artistic vision is a model for landscape photographers to emulate for years to come.

Tourism is becoming one of the world's most important economic activities. There is hardly a place on earth, no matter how inaccessible, that has not been visited by some traveler seeking adventure, enlightenment, or simply change from the familiar world back home. In this pathfinding book, David Zurick explores the fastest-growing segment of the travel industry--adventure travel. He raises important questions about what constitutes the travel experience and shows how the modern adventure industry has commercialized the very notion of adventure by packaging it as tours. Drawing on two decades of personal travel, as well as the writings of others, Zurick unravels the paradox of adventure travel--that the very act of visiting remote places untouched by Western culture introduces that culture and begins irreversible changes. This first in-depth look at adventure travel opens new insights into the physical, philosophical, and spiritual attributes of the travel experience. Written in a lively style, the book is intended for everyone interested in travel and its effects on both travelers and the people and places they visit.

How to find and enjoy natural splendor on all the islans - national parks and botanical gardens, natural-history areas and cultural sites, healthfood stores, and organic farms.

Winner of the 2006 National Outdoor Book Award, David Zurick recounts an event in his life that seems exceedingly uncomplicated: he built a goldfish pond in his backyard. Yet, there is more to a goldfish pond than meets the eye. Zurick's compelling story travels the world, encompassing places of extraordinary beauty and rich cultural traditions, but the core of it is in Wolf Gap Holler, Kentucky, where he lives among hard-working and community-minded neighbors, cuts firewood to keep warm in the winter, and enjoys morning coffee by his goldfish pond . . . often with his neighbor George. Entertaining and informative, the book at first seems so simple that one barely notices its treatises on the sacred qualities of place, the contemplative virtues of nature, the dilemmas of sustainability, and the spiritual framework that undergirds life. Yet, this is what this book is about: a sacred and seamless landscape that extends from the highest mountain plateaus in Tibet to the deepest hollers of Kentucky.

PhD from the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

M.A. from Michigan State University, 1981.