Browse A-Z Authors: Va-Vd

This useful volume has proved to be the best survey of applied anthropology. The third edition contains current views of the development process including local knowledge, collaborative research, participatory rural appraisal, cultural action, social marketing, and cultural brokerage as well as a chapter on cultural resource management. Applied Anthropology: An Introduction (3rd edition) is a text focused on the use of the methods and theories of anthropology to solve the practical problems of human communities. It addresses a wide range of problem-solving practices in two large categories: development and research. The development-focused chapters include action research/participatory action research, cultural action, collaborative research, cultural brokerage, and social marketing. The research-focused chapters include social impact assessment, evaluation, and cultural resource management. Each chapter includes a defining statement about the approach considered and discussion of key concepts, a discussion of the basic process, and one or more case studies.; These materials are supplemented with chapters on many domains of application and roles which applied anthropologists activate. These are coupled with chapters on the history of the development of applied anthropology, ethics, anthropology in development, and policy. The book concludes with a chapter on work-related issues such as employment and funding opportunities.

Applied Anthropology: Domains of Application, edited by Satish Kedia and John van Willigen, comprises essays by prominent scholars on the potential, accomplishments, and methods of applied anthropology. Domains covered in the volume include development, agriculture, environment, health and medicine, nutrition, population displacement and resettlement, business and industry, education, and aging. The contributors demonstrate in compelling ways how anthropological knowledge, skills, and methodologies can be put to work in addressing social, economic, health, and technical problems facing societies today. With their genuine commitment to protecting the diversity and vitality of human communities, applied anthropologists working in real-life settings have and will continue to have a lasting impact on people around the world. The editors enrich the volume by providing introductory and concluding chapters that offer a detailed historical context for applied anthropology and an exploration of its future directions.

With contributions by Barbara Rylko-Bauer, John van Willigen, Ann McElroy, John J. Wood, Marilyn L. Poland, Paul T. Giblin, Linda Girdner, M. Jean Gilbert, Margaret S. Boone, Judith Greenwood, Jennine Coreil, Dennis M. Warren, Kathleen M. DeWalt, Billie R. DeWalt, Daniel R. Scheinfeld, Patricia A. Marshall, David W. Beer, Madelyn Anne Iris, H. Max Drake, W. K. Barger, and Ernesto Reza.

Presenting descriptions of over 400 case studies on policy research, community action and development projects, this book offers also a history of applied anthropology. The topically organized entries cover 50 years of efforts in the field.

Special publication of the American Anthropological Association, no. 19.

NAPA Bulletin, 3. NAPA Bulletin is a peer reviewed occasional publication of the National Association for the Practice of Anthropology, dedicated to the practical problem-solving and policy applications of anthropological knowledge and methods.

NAPA Bulletin, 10. NAPA Bulletin is a peer reviewed occasional publication of the National Association for the Practice of Anthropology, dedicated to the practical problem-solving and policy applications of anthropological knowledge and methods.

First Published in 1980. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. Prepared in conjunction with the Applied Anthropology Documentation Project at the Margaret I. King Library of the University of Kentucky. Includes indexes.

Exchange bibliography (Council of Planning Librarians), 991.

Based on interviews and supplemented by archival research, photographs, and recipes, this book highlights how the revolutionary change from subsistence to market-based agricultural production altered the production, preparation, and consumption of food in Kentucky.

Van Willigen explores the social network that supports older people in a Kentucky community with a tobacco-based economy and a strong rural tradition of social aging.

HRAFlex books, AW1-001.

Exchange bibliography (Council of Planning Librarians), 743.

Exchange bibliography (Council of Planning Librarians), 992.

"First presented as papers in the key symposium 'predicting sociocultural change' at the 13th annual meeting of the Southern Anthropological Society in Lexington, Kentucky, in March 1978."

The core of the research reported in this study was a survey of men and women 55 years and older sampled from a comprehensive list of residents. The authors asked questions about social networks, control over household assets, household composition, life satisfaction, and subjective health, among other things. The social network questions had been used in an earlier study done in Kentucky. Nearly everything else had been developed for the Delhi study. The findings were similar to those in the earlier study: the size of people's networks does not decline materially until they are older (80 plus). Age itself did not seem that important, but health was crucial. Persons who reported they were healthy had larger networks. As one might expect, joint family life has great impact on the nature of social life among older people. This has to do with the big difference in the situation of men and women in India. In addition to being patrilineal kin groups, joint families are dominated by male economic interests. The males as a collective group inherit property. Women have much less control of household assets. This ethnographic fact appeared very clearly in the answers to questions about participation in household decision making. High involvement in decisions, which the authors construed as a measure of power, spilled over into other aspects of the social aging process. Persons who were powerful in their households tended to have large networks, better subjective health, and much higher life satisfaction. They also tended to be men. The women tended to have small networks, low life satisfaction, lower subjective health, and less power. These differences between men and women were all substantial and highly significant. Gender is an extraordinarily important factor in the outcomes of social aging processes in India.

Whereas most crops drive farmers apart as they compete for the best prices, the price controls on tobacco bring growers together. The result is a culture unlike any other in America, one often forgotten or overlooked as federal and state governments fight over the spoils of the tobacco settlement. Tobacco Culture describes the process of raising a crop of burley from the perspective and experience of the farmers themselves. In the process of gathering information for the book, the authors performed most steps in the tobacco production process, from dropping plants, burning seedbeds, topping, and cutting to stripping and baling the finished product. Van Willigen and Eastwood document both present practices and historical developments in tobacco farming at the very moment a way of life stands poised for dramatic change. In addition to growing practices, the authors found other common threads linking growers and tobacco producing regions. Where tobacco is grown, it often becomes the major cash crop and carries the health of the economy. Farmer Oscar Richardson states, "It's bread and butter. It's the industry of the community, the state as a whole.... You take tobacco out of Kentucky and this farmland wouldn't be worth a nickel." Combining cultural anthropology and oral history, John van Willigen and Susan Eastwood have created a remarkable portrait of the heart of the burley belt in Central Kentucky.

Food is a significant part of our daily lives and can be one of the most telling records of a time and place. Our meals - from what we eat, to how we prepare it, to how we consume it - illuminate our culture and history. As a result, cookbooks present a unique opportunity to analyze changing foodways and can yield surprising discoveries about society's tastes and priorities. In Kentucky's Cookbook Heritage, John van Willigen explores the state's history through its changing food culture, beginning with Lettice Bryan's The Kentucky Housewife (originally published in 1839). Considered one of the earliest regional cookbooks, The Kentucky Housewife includes pre-Civil War recipes intended for use by a household staff instead of an individual cook, along with instructions for serving the family. Van Willigen also shares the story of the original Aunt Jemima - the advertising persona of Nancy Green, born in Montgomery County, Kentucky - who was one of many African American voices in Kentucky culinary history. Kentucky's Cookbook Heritage is a journey through the history of the commonwealth, showcasing the shifting priorities and innovations of the times. Analyzing the historical importance of a wide range of publications, from the nonprofit and charity cookbooks that flourished at the end of the twentieth century to the contemporary cookbook that emphasizes local ingredients, van Willigen provides a valuable perspective on the state's social history. First published in 2014.

The child-care industry--essential to American families and to the American economy--is at risk of complete collapse. Before COVID-19 struck, the child-care industry faced funding issues and staffing dilemmas, while families struggled to find--or simply afford--quality child care. The reality is that COVID-19 has only exacerbated the challenges of the already-fragile child-care ecosystem. America's Child-Care Crisis takes a hard look at the current state of the industry and explores how to save this critical service by: Identifying the systemic changes needed Altering public opinion of the field Securing state and federal dollars for the private sector Prioritizing the growth of family child-care homes Educating parents on quality care and helping them access it Obtaining business support Child-care is a system that is too critical to fail--we cannot survive without it. Together, we can reimagine the child-care industry for all Americans whose livelihoods depend on it.

Children are expected to read, write, count, and sit still at younger and younger ages. As these unrealistic expectations mount, family members and teachers alike continue to believe that these activities will prepare young children for school. But there is a better way--one that helps children build school readiness through developmentally appropriate activities. Best of all? The children can have fun! Building on Emergent Curriculum guides preschool teachers to tap into young children's natural inclination for play to build their skills, promote their development, and, ultimately, prepare them for elementary school. Learn: why traditional theme-based units don't work, what school readiness really looks like, how to recognize and capitalize on the many teachable moments that arise during play, and ways to train teachers and involve families in emergent curriculum. Play and learning aren't mutually exclusive. Building on Emergent Curriculum will help readers give preschoolers a solid foundation for elementary school while they do what children do best: play!

Parents can easily be confused when they suspect that their child may have a developmental delay. The family members can have many questions about the process of seeking special education support, and they often feel isolated from friends and family ask they attempt to make the best decisions for their child. Does My Child Have a Developmental Delay?: A Guide for Parents on the Early Intervention Process is a step-by-step guide for families on how to navigate the early intervention process. The book also includes personal stories of families that have experienced the early intervention process with their own children.

Many families and educators are concerned with the school readiness skills that children acquire in preschool; however, they do not realize that these skills begin to develop during the infant and toddler years. Infant and toddler caregivers need to recognize the importance of a high-quality infant and toddler learning environment and learn how they can support children while they acquire essential skills for future success.

Being the director of an early childhood education program not only includes knowing about child development and developmentally appropriate curriculum, but it also requires a director to supervise staff, manage the facility, create budgets, and implement policies to manage a business. Sticky Situations is a collection of case studies to help early childhood educators walk through management scenarios and brainstorm the best way to solve typical childcare program problems. Each case study addresses a situation that a director may encounter in an early childhood program. The case study also includes reminders about best practices for the field of early childhood education, one possible method for addressing the situation, and discussion questions to evaluate the way that the situation was resolved. This is a fabulous tool for current program directors or those in training programs for early childhood management.

Finding Quality Early Childcare is a tool for parents to use in selecting quality childcare that best meets the needs of their family. This book reviews foundational elements of childcare, such as health and safety features, while explaining educational strategies, including styles of teaching and daily classroom activities. Finding Quality Early Childcare also covers types of specialized childcare, such as infant care and childcare for children with special needs, reviews Transitional Kindergarten, and discusses when children are ready to transition from preschool to Kindergarten.