Browse A-Z Authors: Si-Sm

In this "brutally fresh kind of homecoming novel," (Entertainment Weekly) Brian Jackson returns to his small Appalachian hometown and the family who rejected him. Carter Sickels's stunning literary achievement "deserves a place in the canon of AIDS literature alongside the likes of Larry Kramer and Rebecca Makkai" (Los Angeles Review of Books). The story of Brian's return to small-town Ohio is told in a chorus of voices: Brian's mother Sharon; his fourteen-year-old sister, Jess, as she grapples with her brother's mysterious return; and the video diaries Brian makes to document his final summer. Written in prose that seeks "to answer without flinching away from ugliness and without demonizing the ignorant" (Salon), The Prettiest Star offers an urgent portrait of a family in the center of a national crisis, in order to tell a unique story about the politics and fragility of the body, and to explore the bounds of family and redemption.

Most of the wealth in Dove Creek, West Virginia, is in the earth-in the coal seams that have provided generations with a way of life. Born and raised here, twenty-seven-year-old Cole Freeman has sidestepped work as a miner to become an aide in a nursing home. He's got a shock of bleached blond hair and a gentle touch well suited to the job. He's also a drug dealer, reselling the prescription drugs his older patients give him to a younger crowd looking for different kinds of escape. In this economically depressed, shifting landscape, Cole is floundering. The mining corporation is angling to buy the Freeman family's property, and Cole's protests only feel like stalling. Although he has often dreamed of leaving, he has a sense of duty to this land, especially after the death of his grandfather. His grandfather is not the only loss: Cole's one close friend, Terry Rose, has also slipped away from him, first to marriage, then to drugs. While Cole alternately attempts romance with two troubled women, he spends most of his time with the elderly patients at the home, desperately trying to ignore the decay of everything and everyone around him. Only when a disaster befalls these mountains is Cole forced to confront his fears and, finally, take decisive action-if not to save his world, to at least save himself.

Untangling the Knot: Marriage, Relationships & Identity, an anthology of essays and creative nonfiction, delves past the mainstream focus on marriage equality--beyond the knot-- to examine the broad scope of issues facing members of the LGBTQ community. The collection sheds light on what marriage equality actually means for queer communities. By confronting the concept of tradition through personal discourse, this volume seeks to create conversation amongst the diverse members of the LGBTQ community and their straight allies to prompt a larger, grander, and more realistic vision of what marriage equality really means for those living in the United States. Untangling the Knot: Marriage, Relationships & Identity includes the voices of many individuals who are underrepresented in the modern discourse surrounding LGBTQ rights, and these unique perspectives may change the direction of that conversation for good.

Poetry. "Some books create a feeling of gratitude and recognition whose intensity is startling. 'Transitional Object' is one of those. Adrian Silbernagel works language like stained glass, making one densely-pigmented, luminous scene after another. If you too have asked "who this 'I' is that steals and gives," if you have also told yourself, "the life of me/requires so many more bodies than this," you need 'Transitional Object.' Let it help you move from one self to another, one moment of being to the next, again and again. It's that important. Silbernagel has "waded deeper into the rubble" of the structures that oppress, "where [he] now lie[s] in wait" to welcome you and help you on your way." -Jay BesemerIn developmental psychology, transitional objects are objects to which young children develop intense and persistent attachments in unstable situations - a tendency which some psychologists link to the processes of individuation, ego development, the birth of memory, the capacity for empathy and object-relations, the capacity for symbolization, and other formative capacities. In this debut work by Adrian Silbernagel, which can be described as a poetic inquiry into the conditions of personal identity or selfhood, the poems themselves become the objects to which the developing speaker clings as the various components of their identity - their gender, sexuality, religious beliefs, familial relations, and formative relationships - are called into question.

"Savannah Sipple's debut is proof of a woman rising--up from the strung-out, Christ-haunted carcinogens and violences of a land stripped of its coal; up from nine-hours on her feet followed by the extra work back home of picking gravel out of pinto beans; up from a return visit to the honey-suckle sweetness of good church folks who whisper 'backslider' and 'quare.' Purging shame with every line, these poems love the Kentucky from which they rise as much as they reject the self-hatred that place instilled in a girl neither thin nor straight, and ultimately (and yes, even miraculously), emerge blatant about desire and body-proud. 'I want to be marbled, so that if you were to slice me, you'd know what a good cut I am, ' Sipple writes. Open this book to any poem to get a taste of exactly what she means." - Nickole Brown, author of Sister & Fanny Says

Master's thesis from Spalding University.

Appalachia verite...This fine collection edited and introduced by Charles Dodd White and Larry Smith includes this short fiction: "On the Road with C.T. Savage" by Meredith Sue Willis, "Burning Off into Forever" by David Joy, "The Wife You Wanted" by Marie Manilla, "Wild Kind" by Matt Brock, "The Hanging" by Darnell Arnoult, "Confluence" by Mesha Maren, "Covered Bridge" by Taylor Brown, "Obituary" by Jacinda Townsend, "Cell-Life" by Carrie Mullins, "The Hawkins Boy" by Charles Dodd White, "White Freightliner Blues" by Jon Sealy, "That Familiar Ache" by Savannah Sipple, "Monkey Proof" by Rusty Barnes, "Echolocation" by Mark Powell, "A Story to Tell" by Chris Holbrook, and "Back Porch" by Chris Offutt.

Poems; 122 pages.

Poems; 162 pages.

Planted by the Signs brings us the contemporary Appalachian poetry--cultivated in the dirt of Elliott County, Kentucky--of Misty Skaggs. With an eye for details that exquisitely balance personal and social observation to communicate volumes, she tells the stories of generations of women who have learned to navigate a harsh world with a little help from the Farmers' Almanac and the stars. The collection is separated into three sections that reference the best times to grow and harvest. Knowing and following these guidelines--planting by the signs--could mean the difference between prosperity and tragedy in the lives of Appalachian families. Personal, political, and passionate, Planted by the Signs also explores what it means for Skaggs to care for her great-grandmother at the end of her life. Color photos by the poet further showcase her sidelong and fierce outlook. The images and poems together deliver an intimate look into the day-to-day reality of a backwoods woman embracing barefooted radicalism in the only place she could call home.

Poems; 33 pages.

Poems, drug addiction.

Poems and prose; 32 pages.

Poems, 177 pages.

Poems; 181 pages.

Poems; 221 pages.

Poems; 269 pages.

Chance Divine explores the broadest territory possible, from the origins of the universe to the speculative, precarious future. Bookended by the dazzling prose poem sequences called "Genesis" and "Revelation," Jeffrey Skinner's new collection is equally grounded in the contemporary science of photons, black holes, and climate change and the uncanny mythology of celestial talk shows, shifting identities, angels, and politicians. Visionary, wildly unpredictable, and often unsettlingly funny, this is a book that matters.

Poems. In the book of waves the saints are drowning. What are their cries to the faithless pastor? Cry, child, for what is, and is coming. From Thanksgiving Over the Water. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.

Poems, 89 pages.

Poems. "Once I walked a thin rail through a glacier" begins "Shattered Bio," the first poem in Glaciology, Jeffrey Skinner's latest collection of poetry. Filled with images that slide into one another in a dreamlike way, from the "squeak of pine trees in a forest" to "pinwheel, the baby's hand," the poem provides a precise way of seeing how layers of tenderness and danger melt into one another, inhabiting the same world. At the center of the book, the eighteen-part title poem "Glaciology" takes readers to the core of misunderstandings as it juxtaposes the work of a glaciologist with fractured language, misread cues, and a literalness that defies conventional explanation. The lives of the glaciers are reported with a careful, scientific language that keeps readers emotionally at bay from the effects of their demise, and the speaker comments, "I consider language / mistreated these days, asked to explain itself / to justify at the same time it bears / meaning, to own up / to creation at the moment of use / only, and only that meaning." The third section of the book further explores the tensions of life and death in ways both whimsical--by focusing on a fly, a vintage clock, rabbits, and Poland, among other subjects--and deeply serious. In the long poem "Event Horizon," Skinner takes readers into an accident and its aftermath, which brushes too close to death. By the end of the book, however, a new focus comes into view with the birth of a grandchild in "All Things Move toward Disorder Except the Newly Created."

Poems, 77 pages.

A distillation of the 30-plus years Skinner has dedicated to writing poems that have delighted and provoked readers around the world. This book includes essential work from six published volumes, beginning with his debut collection, Late Stars, from Wesleyan University Press in 1985. Since then Skinner's work has gathered many prizes and grants, including a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts & Letters, two fellowship grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, and individual artist grants from the Howard and Ingram Merrill Foundations.

Groundbreaking anthology of poetry on substance abuse and recovery.

Poems, 56 pages.

Poetry; 73 pages.

Poems, 22 pages. Edition limited to one hundred signed and numbered copies.

Jeffrey Skinner's poems come at the world from many different directions. Some are outrageous and very funny, like "Experiment," which begins, "I sewed my father into a specially designed, handmade bear suit. He was indistinguishable from a real bear, and yet retained the necessary functions of a human. I also provided a G.P.S. radio collar. Then I air-dropped him into a densely forested preserve. When I returned a year later I found he had mated with an Asian black bear. He and she and their two cubs lived a quiet life in a mountain cave." In other poems, Skinner explores more familiar domestic landscapes, taking us with great tenderness and precision into the life of the human heart. By turns poignant, brainy, and hilarious,Salt Water Amnesia is a book that will surprise and delight. Reading the Bay A calm water morning. After what was said on both sides. Don't you talk to me that way. My daughter. We cannot speak, now, nor stand to touch. The bay, covered with tiny script Moving rapidly right to left. Words Crossing over One another, whole passages Torn from an asylum diary. I lifted her Body, a huge flailing penknife, into the car. A seagull sits bobbing on the text. My brother. It appears that, today at least, all language moves out to sea.

Poems, 24 pages. Pudding House Chapbook Series.

Everyone knows you don't talk about the elephant in the room. But, what if you are the elephant in the room? White Boys from Hell files a report on the position of the straight white male in current American culture, a position fraught with contradiction and confusion. It does so without resort to the diction of the academy, or any lens applied in detachment, but, rather: from the inside out. In poems that address relations between men and women, men and other men, and men and the larger world, notions such as "masculinity," and "toxic masculinity" are considered by the voice of poetry, which, in Robert Pinsky's use of the phrase, means "something quite literal and practical." Granted, these are the poems of one person (elephant?) only, but the voice is compelling, the vision clear-eyed, rending, and urgent.

A private eye turned moderately successful poet leads readers on a satiric, hopeful tour of how to make a life in the arts, while still having a life. Revealing, hilarious, and peppered with sly takes on the ins and outs of contemporary American poetry (chapters include "The Silence of the Iambs," "The Revisionarium, Ask Dr. Frankenpoem," and "The Periodic Table of Poetic Elements"), Jeffrey Skinner offers advice, candor, and wit. Revision is the process a poem endures to become its best self. Or, if you are the poet, you are the process a poem endures to become its best self. Endures because a first draft, like all other objects in the universe, has inertia and would prefer to stay where it is. The poet must not collaborate. Best self because the poem is more like a person than a thing, and does not strenuously object to personification. Yo, poem. But let's not get carried away. It's your poem and you can treat it as you wish; sweet talk it; push it around if that's what it takes. Alfred Hitchcock notoriously said of the actors in his movies, "They are cattle." Jeffrey Skinner is the author of five books of poetry, most recently Salt Water Amnesia (Ausable Press, 2005). His poems have appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, The Nation, The American Poetry Review, Poetry, BOMB, and The Paris Review, and his work has earned awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, The Ingram Merrill Foundation, and the Howard Foundation.

Biography. "Discipline, humility, kindness. These qualities cohere in the best mentors, bundled into an overarching approach to the art of writing. It is not, I think, coincidence that the writers in this collection remember these qualities best when speaking of their mentors as people, as fellow pilgrims who helped them on the way. In some sense, whether consciously or not, we seek out mentors who learn how to live--as an artist, and as a human being."--from the Introduction by Jeffrey Skinner.

Gives exercises and examples for young writers to encourage creativity by using personal experience and imagination.

Fiction, short story. Heaven Chapbook Series, #20.

First published in 1999. In this sequel to Conversations with Kentucky Writers, L. Elisabeth Beattie brings together in-depth interviews with sixteen of the state's premiere wordsmiths. This new volume offers the perspectives of poets, journalists, and scholars as they discuss their views on creativity, the teaching of writing, and the importance of Kentucky in their work. They talk frankly about how and why they do what they do. The writers speak for themselves, and their thoughts come alive on the page. Beattie's interviews reveal the allegiances and alliances among Kentucky writers that have shaped literary trends by bringing together people with shared interests, values, subjects, and styles. The interviewees include authors who are captivated in other writers and in what they have to say about the process and craft of writing; educators who are interested in Kentucky writers and what their work reveals about the nature of creativity; and historians who are concerned with Kentucky's literary and cultural heritage. The interviews reveal patterns in Kentucky literature from mid-century to the millennium, as authors talk about how their sense of place has changed over the decades and reveal the ways in which the roots of Kentucky writing have produced a literary flowering at the century's end. Includes: Sallie Bingham, Joy Bale Boone, Thomas D. Clark, John Egerton, Sarah Gorham, Lynwood Montell, Maureen Morehead, John Ed Pearce, Ameilia Blossom Pegram, Karen Robards, Jeffrey Skinner, Frederick Smock, Frank Steele, Martha Bennett Stiles, Richard Taylor, and Michael Williams.

Sound recording. Eight Kentucky writers read from their own works; previously recorded as part of the Kentucky Center for the Arts' Readings series beginning in 1988. Named persons: James Still; Marsha Norman; Jim Wayne Miller; Sena Jeter Naslund; Sarah Gorham; Jeffrey Skinner; Maureen Podshadley Morehead; Fenton Johnson.
7 audiocassettes.

Memoir; 143 pages. "God knew that it would take brave and sturdy people to survive in these beautiful but rugged hills. So He sent us His very strongest men and women." So begins the heartwarming story of Verna Mae and her father, Isom B. "Kitteneye" Slone, an extraordinary personal family history set in the hills around Caney Creek in Knott County, Kentucky.

Two of Verna Mae Slone's most beloved books -- How We Talked and Common Folks -- are now available in a single edition. How We Talked is a timeless piece of literature, a free-form combination of glossary and memoir that uses native expressions to depict everyday life in Caney Creek, Kentucky. In addition to phrases and their meanings, the book contains sections on the customs and wisdom of Slone's community, a collection of children's rhymes, and stories and superstitions unique to Appalachia. More than just a dictionary, How We Talked is a rich compendium of life "on Caney," offering an understanding of the culture through the distinctive speech of its people. Originally published in 1979, Common Folks documents Slone's way of life in Pippa Passes, Kentucky, and expands on such diverse topics as family pets, coal mining, education, and marriage. Slone's firsthand account of this unique heritage draws readers into her hill-circled community and allows them to experience a lifestyle that is nearly forgotten. Whether she is writing about traditional Appalachian customs like folk medicine or about universal aspects of life such as a mother's yearning for the little girl she never had, Slone's instinctive sense of what matters most makes Common Folks a compelling meditation on a legacy worth remembering. Published together for the first time, How We Talked and Common Folks celebrate the spirit of an acclaimed Appalachian writer.

135 pages.

Biography; 145 pages. Includes 23 pages of family photographs.

Fiction; 220 pages. This first work of fiction by Verna Mae Slone, firmly grounded in her own background, is set in the 1920s and 1930s in a close-knit community in eastern Kentucky, where family roots run deep. At its center stands as strong and resilient a heroine as any in American literature. A girl takes care of her baby sister after their mother dies, willingly giving up her own dreams. A tale of self-sacrifice set in the Kentucky of the 1920s. By the author of Sarah Ellen, of which this is an expanded edition. Verna Mae Slone, a native of Knott County, Kentucky, is the author of several books, including the bestselling memoir, What My Heart Wants to Tell.

Fiction; 99 pages.

Genealogy; 148 pages. Cover title: In remembrance. Some parts told in a fictionalized manner.

Listen Here: Women Writing in Appalachia is a landmark anthology that brings together the work of 105 Appalachian women writers, including Dorothy Allison, Harriette Simpson Arnow, Annie Dillard, Nikki Giovanni, Denise Giardina, Barbara Kingsolver, Jayne Anne Phillips, Janice Holt Giles, George Ella Lyon, Sharyn McCrumb, and Lee Smith. Editors Sandra L. Ballard and Patricia L. Hudson offer a diverse sampling of time periods and genres, established authors and emerging voices. From regional favorites to national bestsellers, this unprecedented gathering of Appalachian voices displays the remarkable talent of the region's women writers who've made their mark at home and across the globe.

Long before the official establishment of the Commonwealth, intrepid pioneers ventured west of the Allegheny Mountains into an expansive, alluring wilderness that they began to call Kentucky. After blazing trails, clearing plots, and surviving innumerable challenges, a few adventurers found time to pen celebratory tributes to their new homeland. In the two centuries that followed, many of the world's finest writers, both native Kentuckians and visitors, have paid homage to the Bluegrass State with the written word. In The Kentucky Anthology, acclaimed author and literary historian Wade Hall has assembled an unprecedented and comprehensive compilation of writings pertaining to Kentucky and its land, people, and culture. Hall's introductions to each author frame both popular and lesser-known selections in a historical context. He examines the major cultural and political developments in the history of the Commonwealth, finding both parallels and marked distinctions between Kentucky and the rest of the United States. While honoring the heritage of Kentucky in all its glory, Hall does not blithely turn away from the state's most troubling episodes and institutions such as racism, slavery, and war. Hall also builds the argument, bolstered by the strength and significance of the collected writings, that Kentucky's best writers compare favorably with the finest in the world. Many of the authors presented here remain universally renowned and beloved, while others have faded into the tides of time, waiting for rediscovery. Together, they guide the reader on a literary tour of Kentucky, from the mines to the rivers and from the deepest hollows to the highest peaks. The Kentucky Anthology traces the interests and aspirations, the achievements and failures and the comedies and tragedies that have filled the lives of generations of Kentuckians. These diaries, letters, speeches, essays, poems, and stories bring history brilliantly to life. Jesse Stuart once wrote, "If these United States can be called a body, Kentucky can be called its heart." The Kentucky Anthology captures the rhythm and spirit of that heart in the words of its most remarkable chroniclers.

Audio cassette; approx. 59 minutes. Three authors read and discuss their work: James Still, Verna Mae Sloan, and Gurney Norman.

DVD; approx. 70 minutes. A film inspired by women in the Commonwealth who boldly opened doors in politics, science, education, entertainment, literature, athletics, religion and the military. This documentary profiles 40 extraordinary Kentucky women, including: Cora Wilson Stewart, Mae Street Kidd, Katherine Langley, Sophia Alcorn, Josephine Henry, Madeline Breckinridge, Alice Allison Dunnigan, Verna Mae Slone, Laura Clay, Mary Elliot Flanery, Willa Beatrice Brown, Martha Layne Collins, Dr. Louise Southgate, the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, Alice Allison Dunnigan, Margaret Ingels, Marie Caldwell Humphries, Nettie Depp, and Mary Breckinridge.

How much does life change when you're confronted with how very fragile it can be? When Amy Luscher Smith was diagnosed with breast cancer, she wondered how she would make time in her busy life after the word "cancer" was whispered. In the aftermath of treatment and personal transformation, Amy shares how she adapted to surgery, chemotherapy, radiation, recovery, and, ultimately, her new identity as a cancer survivor. Amy was raised Baptist with a strong faith in God, and her everyday life was a life in which prayer, faith, and trust in God had never failed her. More than a cancer memoir, My Faith Sparkles is Amy's story about her struggle to keep faith when God seemed conspicuously distant. Her faith always sparkles, but there were days when she struggled to cling to the kind of hope that can't be found in this world alone. Amy shares a two-year path of diagnosis, treatment, and recovery, including her reflection on: *The diagnosis of HER2-positive breast cancer* Lumpectomy versus mastectomy *Talking to her children about cancer *Overcoming the fear of death *Using breast cancer statistics and research *Managing cancer treatment *Chemotherapy side effects and port placement *Radiation therapy and side effects *Living with cancer and accepting cancer support *Remission *Becoming a cancer survivor. Encouragement in a Dark World In her conversational, revealing, and often humorous style, Amy shares what her diagnosis and treatment were really like; her struggles along the way; and, finally, where she found encouragement through her faith, which made all the difference. A powerful book for: *Newly diagnosed cancer patients *Family members of cancer patients *Cancer care professionals and oncology support providers *Supporters of cancer survivors *Cancer support group leaders *Anyone directing a ministry of encouragement.When cancer happens, knowledge, support and hope are the best medicine. If you're looking for a friend to walk alongside you on this challenging journey, My Faith Sparkles is the book you'll want on your nightstand for those late-night moments of doubt. Join Amy and choose hope in the face of cancer. Let your faith sparkle.

Increasingly, human resource and business leaders are understanding the importance of embracing the human spirit of their employees, and encouraging employees to bring their entire selves to work. This volume explores what it means to offer a compassionate workplace, sharing messages about well-being, work/life balance, diversity and inclusion, personal and professional development, and spirituality in work.What constitutes compassion in the workplace, and why does it matter? The stories in this book answer those questions, and more. Absolutely every decision, every business strategy, every word spoken between colleagues, and every policy enacted can and should be derived from a place of compassion. Because organizational success is, at its core, about human beings working together to serve human purposes. Open this book to examine the many nuances of compassion as: -A business strategy-A workplace growth driver-The cornerstone of workplace communication-A tool for serving your business by first serving others-The key to achieving effective dialogue, meaningful diversity, outstanding customer service, and much more. Compassion@Work is a remarkable collection of insights from 18 leading HR and OD experts, across multiple industries and professional roles. And it's a must-read for any leader looking to achieve more by putting humanity back into the workplace.

Ph.D. dissertation from the University of Louisville.

The poems of noted African-American poet Effie Waller Smith were popular in magazines and in book form. Collected in this volume, they provide insight into the life and experience of this admired turn-of-the-century poet. Also includes Smith's three short stories: The Tempting of Peter Stiles; A Son of Sorrow; and The Judgment of Roxenie.

Poetry; 53 pages. Reprint with original 1909 title page.

Poetry; 52 pages. Digital reproduction.

A collection of nature poetry; 175 pages. Includes index.

Contemporaries were shocked when author Mary Noailles Murfree revealed she was a woman, but modern readers may be more surprised by her cogent discussion of community responses to unwanted development. Effie Waller Smith, an African American woman writing of her love for the Appalachian mountains, wove discussions of women's rights, racial tension, and cultural difference into her Appalachian poetry. Grace MacGowan Cooke participated in avant-garde writers' colonies with the era's literary lights and applied their progressive ideals to her fiction about the Appalachia of her youth. Emma Bell Miles, witness to poverty, industrialization, and violence against women, wrote poignant and insightful critiques of her Appalachian home. In The Tangled Roots of Feminism, Environmentalism, and Appalachian Literature Elizabeth Engelhardt finds in all four women's writings the origins of what we recognize today as ecological feminism--a wide-reaching philosophy that values the connections between humans and nonhumans and works for social and environmental justice. People and the land in Appalachia were also the subject of women authors with radically different approaches to mountains and their residents. Authors with progressive ideas about women's rights did not always respect the Appalachian places they were writing about or apply their ideas to all of the women in those places--but they did create hundreds of short stories, novels, letters, diaries, photographs, sketches, and poems about the mountains. While The Tangled Roots of Feminism, Environmentalism, and Appalachian Literature ascribes much that is noble to the beginnings of the ecological feminism movement as it developed in Appalachia, it is also unyielding in its assessment of the literatures of the voyeur, tourist, and social crusader who supported status quo systems of oppression in Appalachia.

Biography, history.

Play, One-Act. "An earlier version of this play was a finalist in the 2002 George Kernodle New Play Competition. It had a reading at the Highland Woman's Club, Louisville, Kentucky, on March 18, 2002"--Leaf [2].

Black college presidents in the era of segregation walked a tightrope. They were expected to educate black youth without sufficient state and federal funding. Yet in the African American community they were supposed to represent power and influence and to be outspoken advocates of civil rights, despite the continual risk of offending the white politicians on whom they were dependent for funding. The dilemmas they faced in balancing these conflicting demands have never been fully examined. Gerald Smith's study of the long-time president of Kentucky State College helps fill that void. From 1929 to 1962, Rufus Ballard Atwood served as president of Kentucky State. As chief administrator of the state's foremost black institution, he worked closely with black educational organizations and was often chosen by whites to represent the African American community on various boards and commissions. These appointments gave him access to the state's political and educational power structure, and Atwood proved to be a skilled diplomat; but his influence was frequently at risk. In his ground-breaking study, Smith examines Atwood's political relationships with state officials and his efforts to improve education for African Americans in Kentucky and the nation. He also appraises Atwood's contributions to Kentucky State and his relationship with faculty and students, and evaluates his contributions to the civil rights movement in Kentucky. Most important, Smith compares Atwood's style of leadership and the circumstances he confronted in Kentucky with those of black college presidents in other southern states. A Black Educator in the Segregated South offers an important look at a complex role played out by a remarkable man in an era of change and conflict.

Master's Thesis from the University of Kentucky.

Ph.D. dissertation from the University of Kentucky.

Lexington's African-American community has survived and flourished despite obstacles that may have proven insurmountable to some. A citizenry enriched by diversity and filled with fortitude, they have made their mark on black history as well as the Bluegrass State's heritage. In Black America: Lexington, vintage images from archives and personal collections showcase the people, places, and events at the very heart and soul of the black community. Rare photos of the civil rights demonstrations in the downtown area highlight their contributions to the local movement and to our nation's continued search for equality.

The story of African Americans in Kentucky is as diverse and vibrant as the state's general history. The work of more than 150 writers, The Kentucky African American Encyclopedia is an essential guide to the black experience in the Commonwealth. The encyclopedia includes biographical sketches of politicians and community leaders as well as pioneers in art, science, and industry. Kentucky's impact on the national scene is registered in an array of notable figures, such as writers William Wells Brown and bell hooks, reformers Bessie Lucas Allen and Shelby Lanier Jr., sports icons Muhammad Ali and Isaac Murphy, civil rights leaders Whitney Young Jr. and Georgia Powers, and entertainers Ernest Hogan, Helen Humes, and the Nappy Roots. Featuring entries on the individuals, events, places, organizations, movements, and institutions that have shaped the state's history since its origins, the volume also includes topical essays on the civil rights movement, Eastern Kentucky coalfields, business, education, and women. For researchers, students, and all who cherish local history, The Kentucky African American Encyclopedia is an indispensable reference that highlights the diversity of the state's culture and history.

Dedicated to documenting the life of America's best-known advocate for peace and justice, The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr. breaks the chronology of its series to present King's never-before-published sermon file. In 1997 Mrs. Coretta Scott King granted the King Papers Project permission to examine papers kept in boxes in the basement of the Kings' home. The most significant finding was a battered cardboard box that held more than two hundred folders containing documents King used to prepare his celebrated sermons. This private collection that King kept in his study sheds considerable light on the theology and preaching preparation of one of the most noted orators of the modern era. These illuminating papers reveal that King's concern about poverty, human rights, and social justice was clearly present in his earliest handwritten sermons, which conveyed a message of faith, hope, and love for the dispossessed. His enduring message can be charted through his years as a seminary student, as pastor of Dexter Avenue Baptist Church, as a leader of the Montgomery bus boycott, and, ultimately, as an internationally renowned proponent of human rights who saw himself mainly as a preacher and "advocate of the social gospel." Ten of the original and unedited sermons King submitted for publication in the 1963 book Strength to Love and audio versions of King's most famous sermons are the culmination of this groundbreaking work.

A vivid window into the world of working class men set during the Bakken fracking boom in North Dakota. Like thousands of restless men left unmoored in the wake of the 2008 economic crash, Michael Patrick Smith arrived in the fracking boomtown of Williston, North Dakota five years later homeless, unemployed, and desperate for a job. Renting a mattress on a dirty flophouse floor, he slept boot to beard with migrant men who came from all across America and as far away as Jamaica, Africa and the Philippines. They ate together, drank together, argued like crows and searched for jobs they couldn't get back home. Smith's goal was to find the hardest work he could do--to find out if he could do it. He hired on in the oil patch where he toiled fourteen hour shifts from summer's 100 degree dog days to deep into winter's bracing whiteouts, all the while wrestling with the demons of a turbulent past, his broken relationships with women, and the haunted memories of a family riven by violence. The Good Hand is a saga of fear, danger, exhaustion, suffering, loneliness, and grit that explores the struggles of America's marginalized boomtown workers--the rough-hewn, castoff, seemingly disposable men who do an indispensable job that few would exalt: oil field hands who, in the age of climate change, put the gas in our tanks and the food in our homes. Smith, who had pursued theater and played guitar in New York, observes this world with a critical eye; yet he comes to love his coworkers, forming close bonds with Huck, a goofy giant of a young man whose lead foot and quick fists get him into trouble with the law, and The Wildebeest, a foul-mouthed, dip-spitting truck driver who torments him but also trains him up, and helps Smith "make a hand." The Good Hand is ultimately a book about transformation--a classic American story of one man's attempt to burn himself clean through hard work, to reconcile himself to himself, to find community, and to become whole.

Fiction; 307 pages. Laurel Mae Blair thinks she's finally found her escape from her hometown in Eastern Kentucky: she's going to marry and her future husband will earn lots of money and leave the mountains forever. But her new life isn't all that she imagined, and Laurel Mae finds herself growing wise not in the ways of "high-society" life but in being herself--authentically. Readers of Sue Griffith Smith's novel Sacrifice will delight in the evolution of Laurel from self-centered young woman into a caring person who recognizes and appreciates the blessings in her experiences and family. The people in Smith's Appalachia are not the one-dimensional characters of so many other books and movies about Kentucky and Virginia. Smith infuses every passage in Sacrifice with the truth she and her family have experienced in the coal mining region of the Southeastern United States. Some of her characters, based on real people, leave the area, and some stay, but all are strong, proud, resilient people who survive oppression, never losing sight of what is important, a message all readers of Sacrifice will know as they turn the last page.

Meeting papers; 31 pages; microform. From the perspectives of both school and industry, this paper outlines the past, present, and future of a partnership between Ivy Tech State College (Columbus, Indiana) and Cummins Engine Company and other local industries formed to provide the southern Indiana area with a highly skilled workforce.

After the devastating loss of his second wife, Seth Hostetler believes a lasting love is beyond all hope. A year has passed, and his mamm and sister are determined to see him happily married once again. But how can he open his heart to another woman when their relationship could end in tragedy? A compelling novel of second chances and the power of God to redeem hearts and dreams, set in the inviting Amish community of Lancaster County.

Serving up murderous munchies at a church potluck social wouldn't win any popularity contests, as Jackie Hoffner discovered. Someone had laced the casserole she brought with poisonous mushrooms...and the deadly dish had fellow churchgoer and town fussbudget Alice Farmer pushing up daisies. Now the gossip-hungry townsfolk suspected Jackie of foul play. To prove her innocence, she decided to conduct her own murder investigation, and Trooper Dennis Walsh's helpful efforts and boy-next-door charm were welcome.Meanwhile, the town's mysterious poisoner seemed to have more victims in mind....

Local police had tagged single mom Becky Dennison as their prime suspect. But she'd only been in the wrong place at the wrong time... admittedly, with her boss's lifeless body. Sure, it looked bad, but Becky had no motive for killing the man--even if she had opportunity. Then, Scott Lewis, handsome assistant manager of a nearby horse farm, entered Becky's life. Soon the amateur detectives were hot on the trail of the murderer...even as their feelings for each other deepened. And for Becky and Scott, this race on the Kentucky tracks had the greatest stakes of all: life or death.

To receive her inheritance and make peace with her late mother, Kelli Jackson must abide by the woman's will. Even though it means working as a zookeeper for six months--with animals that terrify her. How can she possibly explain her fears--and her past--to her handsome boss, Jason Andover? The glimpses of kindness-- and painful secrets--she sees in his eyes slowly have her sharing everything. But then she makes a startling discovery--one that may tear them apart forever. Unless she can return the gift of love he's given her.

When Ben Dearinger got hold of a flash drive carrying deadly secrets, the scuba diver did the only thing he could. He buried it--fathoms deep. Now a drug cartel wants the evidence back, and they're willing to threaten Ben's ex-girlfriend Nikki Hoffman to get it. Although Nikki caused him no end of heartache, forgetting her has been impossible, and Ben would risk anything to protect her. But what will he do when he discovers her secret--that he's the father of her child?

After discovering her boss's dead body, Susanna Trent receives an unusual package from him filled with strange metal tokens and odd clues. Then Susanna, who is the guardian of her three-year-old niece, starts getting anonymous phone calls taunting her with thinly veiled threats. Worried for her life and that of her sister's child, Susanna struggles to trust the one man who can help: wealthy executive Jack Townsend. As they work together to solve the mysterious puzzle, Jack and Susanna are led into a dangerous game neither knows how to play. But they do know the stakes--life or death.

The daughter of a pagan priestess believes Noah's prophecy...especially when she discovers the horrifying secret behind her city's primary export. Belief in the One God is dangerous in Cainlan, a city founded on the worship of the god Cain. But when Eliana meets the son of a religious fanatic she is drawn to Shem's caring manner and deep faith. She believes his assertion that the One God will wipe the earth clean of the corruption that fills it, especially when she discovers a terrifying secret known only to those high in the government's ruling council. Though desperate to escape her destiny, Eliana's life has been preordained. Not even Shem's God can rescue her from the fate for which she was born - becoming the next high priestess to Cain.

The peaceful green pastures of a Kentucky horse farm hide a murderous truth. When the director of a retirement farm for thoroughbred champions is murdered, Becky Dennison teams up with the handsome manager of a neighboring horse breeder's farm to find her boss's killer. The amateur sleuths follow a trail of clues that leads them into the intricate society of Kentucky's elite thoroughbred breeding industry. There they find themselves surrounded by the mint julep set-jealous southern belles and intensely competitive horse breeders-in a high-stakes game of danger, money, and that famous southern pride.

To receive her inheritance Kelli must abide by the conditions of her late mother’s will. She is forced work as a zookeeper for six months with animals that terrify her. Since she needs to money to help support her aging grandmother, she must figure out a way to balance her career as a tax accountant with this new—thankfully temporary—assignment. But the zoo director is the same handsome man who stole her estranged mother’s affections and might just steal everything else too. Because if Kelli fails, Jason Andover inherits everything. How can she possibly get past her animosity when he watches her every move, waiting for her to throw in the towel?

Book 0.5. "The quirky residents of a small Kentucky town are all in a tizzy over the upcoming Fall Festival. Alison, Al and Millie's headstrong daughter, astounds everyone with the news that she's getting married--in three weeks--to a man they've never heard of! As her parents frantically try to stop the nuptials, Dr. Horatio, Goose Creek's beloved veterinarian, is determined to solve the mystery of the six-toed kittens that have been popping up all over town."--Page 4 of cover.

Book 1. Even though retirement is still three years away, Al Richardson is counting the days. He anticipates many enjoyable years in which every day feels like Saturday. But Al's wife, Millie, has different plans for their retirement. When she learns that a Victorian-era home is up for sale, Millie launches a full-blown campaign to convince Al that God's plan for them is to turn that house into a B&B. But a B&B won't be the only change for the small Kentucky town.

Book 2. Things are finally starting to fall into a steady rhythm in the small town of Goose Creek, Kentucky. But things never stay quiet for long in Goose Creek. The inner-county softball game is coming up, and Millie volunteers Al as team manager. But the softball team is a disaster. If they're not going to embarrass themselves in front of the whole of Franklin County, Al needs Justin to play. But Justin lives just outside the city limits, and the rules say that players must live in town. As if that weren't enough to keep the town gossips busy, a massage therapist has come to town and opened up shop. Imagine--a massage parlor!--in Goose Creek! No decent Creeker will stand for it. It's up to Al and Millie--again--to save the day.

Book 3. Millie and her husband, Al, agreed to open a bed and breakfast after he retired, but Millie spies an opportunity to open the B&B early for an upcoming wedding. Although confident in her ability to be a gracious hostess, she must admit her first guests are more than she bargained for.

Forced into early retirement, Al Richardson knows what his wife will say when she hears the terrible news. Millie will insist that they open their B&B early. Where will that leave him? Carrying luggage and waiting tables? No way He needs time to come up with another plan. With the help of an unlikely accomplice, Al spends his days scanning want ads and frequenting out-of-town coffee shops in an effort to hide his secret from all of Goose Creek-including his wife. Millie is too busy to notice Al's odd behavior. One thing is certain: In Goose Creek, no secret stays hidden for long. Is Al in for a Merry Christmas or a Marriage Crisis?

The Amish of Apple Grove series, book 1. An exciting new Amish-meets-Wild West adventure from bestselling authors Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith weaves an entertaining and romantic tale for devoted fans and new readers. Kansas,1881--On a trip to visit relatives, Emma Switzer's Amish family is robbed of all their possessions, leaving them destitute and stranded on the prairie. Walking into the nearest trading settlement, they pray to the Lord for someone to help. When a man lands in the dust at her feet, Emma looks down at him and thinks, The Lord might have cleaned him up first. Luke Carson, heading up his first cattle drive, is not planning on being the answer to anyone's prayers, but it looks as though God has something else in mind for this kind and gentle man. Plain and rugged--do the two mix? And what happens when a dedicated Amish woman and a stubborn trail boss prove to be each other's match?

The Amish of Apple Grove series, book 2. 1884--Several years earlier, young Rebecca Switzer lost her heart to Jesse Montgomery, a rugged but dissolute cowboy on a dusty cattle trail near the Amish settlement of Apple Grove. Now she is grown up, and when she hears one day that he has been spotted nearby, her desire is plain and simple: She must see him. Sheriff Colin Maddox is counting the days until he can leave law enforcement and follow his dream of starting a church. When a lovely woman, new to town and looking travel weary and a bit lost, gets caught up in the middle of a temperance riot, she is arrested along with the leaders. He can hardly believe she is what she claims--a Plain and simple woman.

The Amish of Apple Grove series, book 3. 1886--Jesse Montgomery is beginning to feel restless, surely the Lord doesn't want him to stay in Apple Grove forever. When an unscrupulous cattle baron tries to steal Amish land, Jesse intervenes and is wounded. Lovely Katie Miller, the young healer in the district, attends to him while trying to guard her heart. This sweet Amish widow cannot risk falling in love with an English cowboy, charming though he may be. And yet--she believes God has a life for her too that is more than what she can presently see. Could there be a future with Jesse only He could bring about?

The Amish of Apple Grove series, prequel. Free short story ebook. Journey back to 1858 Berlin, Ohio, in this free short story e-romance prequel from The Amish of Apple Grove series by Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith. For 19-year-old Jonas Switzer, the promise of a productive life as an Amish farmer is only as real as a dream on the western horizon. Living on the charity of the Bylers, and with no claim to a family farm, Jonas’s future depends on a bold plan and an ambitious move. He also longs to catch the eye of Caroline Hersberger, the most beautiful young woman in the village, and share his dream with her. Will Matthew Kennel woo her first?

The Seattle Brides series, book 1. It's 1851, and Evie Lawrence is penniless and heartbroken after a failed romance. When a kind elderly man announces his plan to move west and make his fortune, Evie jumps at the chance to go with him and start a new life. There she meets Noah Hughes, a handsome young man who has gambled everything he owns on the chance to make a fresh start.

The Seattle Brides series, book 2. When the Burgert family moves to Seattle in 1852, Kathryn is convinced her father has destroyed her life. She cares nothing for the new sawmill the townsfolk are so excited about. That is, until she meets Jason, a lumberjack with dreams for a bright future. Kathryn and Jason's plans for a happy future become entwined with Seattle's struggle to survive in the midst of adversity.

The beautiful piano sitting in the corner of Jill King's apartment begs to be played. For over a year, it has sat untouched, ever since a terrible accident shattered Jill's ambition of becoming a concert pianist. But another dream is about to come to life--an unexpected, horrifying dream that will present Jill with a responsibility she never wanted. And choices she never wanted to make. Hundreds of lives depend on Jill's willingness to warn her small, oceanside town in Nova Scotia of a nameless, looming disaster. But doing so could cost Jill her reputation, jeopardize the political career of the man she loves, and ruin their plans for a future together.

The Falsely Accused series, book 1. On a business trip to Las Vegas, Lauren Bradley discovers her coworker's dead body in the hotel room next door. With a shaky alibi and evidence mounting against her, Lauren becomes the number one suspect. No one believes she's being framed. Except her new boss, Brent Emerson. But the secret she's keeping from her handsome protector threatens to destroy everything. In a city full of dangerous impostors, deception and murder, Brent and Lauren have to ferret out the real killer before Lauren is arrested--or becomes the next victim.

The Falsely Accused series, book 2. Found cowering and covered in blood, Karina Guerrero's fourteen-year-old brother is accused of a crime that she's certain he didn't commit. Only one man can help Karina prove the boy's innocence. Private investigator Mason Sinclair knows firsthand what it's like to be framed. But the former cop, now committed to helping the falsely accused, is clearly uneasy being back in Albuquerque--and working with his former flame. Still, Karina can't help falling for the handsome P.I. as they hunt the real killer: a cold-blooded murderer with dangerous ties to them both.

The Falsely Accused series, book 3. Discovering a dead body on her first day of work throws Darcie Wiley's "fresh start" into a tailspin. Things get worse when the police make Darcie their prime suspect. She's surrounded by distrust and suspicion--and the eerie sense that someone's been in her apartment, going through her things. Terrified and alone, she turns to Caleb Buchanan, who promises to help her find the truth. But their digging leads to more danger--and another suspicious death--as a ruthless killer fights to keep secrets buried.

Just As I Am series, book 1. When purple-haired Mayla Strong struts down the center aisle of Salliesburg Independent Christian Church, the bug-eyed congregation strains to get a peek at her pierced nose and lip. Determined to make her heavenly Father proud, Mayla's sincere and often hilarious attempts to let Him change her from the inside out take her into some difficult places, all the while growing in faith and wisdom. Guaranteed fiction!

Just As I Am series, book 2. "Will Mayla Strong's life ever resemble normal? Just as she settles into a great place with God, everything else falls apart. In the course of a single week she loses her job, wrecks any chance at a relationship with Pastor Paul, gets the cold shoulder from her friend Stuart, and learns that Lindsey--the teenage sister of her late friend Alex--needs a place to stay ..."--Page 4 of cover.

Murder in D Minor trilogy, book 1. Who murdered a small-town beauty-pageant judge--in a very strange way? Jasmine Delaney must find out. Because she's taken the victim's place. She came to the Kentucky Bar-B-Q festival for a wedding, eager to meet the bride's handsome brother, Derrick Rogers. Yet she's suddenly surrounded by pint-size contestants whose competitive parents will do anything to ensure the crown. Even kill?

Murder in D Minor trilogy, book 2. A romantic ski resort seems the perfect place for a wedding. Until a murder on the slopes turns everyone on Eagle Summit into suspects. Liz Carmichael, the bride's cousin, saw a shadowy figure on a chairlift in the middle of the night. But was it the victim or the killer? Liz goes to the police--and finds herself giving the report to her ex-fiancé, Deputy Tim Richards. After a three-year estrangement, she could finally make things right--unless the killer finds her first....

Murder in D Minor trilogy, book 3. Everything is going wrong for Caitlin Saylor. Her boyfriend has left her. Her musical trio is disbanding. And for their trio's swan song? They'll be playing another wedding: a chance to watch someone else's happy ending. And then, unexpectedly, Chase Hollister enters the scene. The candle factory owner is handsome, charming and very interested in Caitlin. His gift of a special candle proves it. But there's something more to the candle than Caitlin or Chase suspect. Something that puts Caitlin at risk. To keep Caitlin safe, Chase must face a haunting crime from his past--and a deadly killer in the present.

The Sister-to-Sister series, book 1. Her older sister, Allie, is starting a family, and her younger sister, Tori, has a budding career. Meanwhile, Joan is stuck at home with Mom and her aging grandmother. Not exactly a recipe for excitement -- or romance. When a hunky young doctor moves in next door, Joan sets out to catch his eye. It won't be easy, but with a little help from God, Allie, and an enormous bad-mannered mutt, Joan begins to find her way out of this rut.

The Sister-to-Sister series, book 2. Desperate to stay home with her baby, Allie Harrod launches a new career. She'll do anything to make enough money to cover her share of the household bills, but how can she focus on her business when her list of problems is growing? Middle sister Joan insists that God has the answers to all her problems, but Allie isn't so sure. Can she really trust him?

The Sister-to-Sister series, book 3. Tori Sanderson has the professional opportunity of a lifetime. If she can prove she's executive material, she's in line for a big promotion. But there's only room for one new account executive, and her co-worker has his eye on the job - and on Tori.

Poems; 16 pages.

Poems; 50 pages. "This book was handset in Cloister Lightface type, printed on a hand-fed C & P, then handbound. 450 copies were printed on Mohawk Superfine paper and a special edition of 32 copies was printed on Zerkall Book paper. The drawings are by Carolyn Whitesel. Design, composition, printing and binding by Heather Jacobs, Leslie Shane, Carolyn Whitesel and Gray Zeitz at Larkspur Press."

Poems; 34 pages. "This book was handset in Cloister Lightface type, printed on a hand-fed C&P, then handbound. 400 copies were printed on Mohawk Superfine paper. A special edition of 32 copies was printed on Velata paper. The drawings are by Crews McCulloch. Design, composition, printing and binding by Leslie Shane, Carolyn Whitesel and Gray Zeitz at Larkspur Press."--Colophon.

Poems; 56 pages.

Poems; 30 pages.

In 2008, the Kentucky Arts Council published Five Kentucky Poets Laureate: An Anthology, a collection of poetry and prose by the commonwealth's poets laureate. The anthology includes the writings of Richard Taylor (Kentucky Poet Laureate 1999-2000), James Baker Hall (2001-2002), Joe Survant (2003-2004), Sena Jeter Naslund (2005-2006), and Jane Gentry (2007-2008), and was edited by Jane Gentry and Frederick Smock with a cover illustration by photographer Geoff Carr.

Poems; 42 pages. "This book was handset in Eric Gill's Joanna type and printed on a hand-fed C&P. 450 copies were printed on Mohawk Letterpress paper and cloth bound. 50 copies werep rinted on dampened Johannot and handbound by Carolyn Whitesel. The illustrations are from woodcuts by Laura Lee Cundiff. Design, composition, presswork, folding & collating by Leslie Shane and Gray Zeitz at Larkspur Press"--Colophon.

Poems. 32 pages. "This book was handset in Hermann Zapf's Palatino type and printed on a hand-fed C & P. 450 copies were printed on Mohawk Superfine paper. 42 copies were printed on dampened Schiller paper and handbound by Carolyn Whitesel. The illustrations are by Laura Lee Cundiff. Designed, set and printed by Leslie Shane and Gray Zeitz at Larkspur Press."--Colophon. "Some of these poems first appeared in: The Chaffin review, Connecticut review, The Iowa review, Orion, Kentucky poetry review, Limestone, Pikeville review, Plainsong, Shenandoah, Tundra & wind.

Poems; 41 pages. "600 copies were printed on Mohawk Superfine paper. 44 copies were printed on dampened Biblio paper and handbound by Carolyn Whitesel."

Poems; broadside. Printed in green and black in two columns on cream card stock with deckled lower edge. At end of poem: Frederick Smock. Colophon at end: Copyright (c) 1994 by Frederick Smock. Broadside #10 from Larkspur Press. 75 copies.

Poems; 3 pages. "This chapbook was set in Emerson type and handfed to a C & P at larkspur Press in Monterey, Ky. 176 copies: 150 on Mohawk Letterpress paper and sewn into a Curtis cover, and 26 on Iyo paper and bound in boards. 176 copies ... This is copy 146."

Poems; 29 pages.

The American Voice looks to find the vital edge of modern American writing. The journal, whose contributors come from the U.S., Canada, and Latin America, often publishes work by writers denied access to mainstream journals. Writings from its pages have been regularly reprinted in prize annuals such as The Pushcart Prize, Best American Poetry, and Best American Essays. This fifteenth anniversary anthology collects eighty poems from some of the most original and daring writers of our time. The anthology's contributors range from the world famous Jorge Luis Borges, Marge Piercy, May Swenson to the newly emerging Marie Sheppard Williams, Suzanne Gardinier, Robyn Selman and from the nationally read Wendell Berry, Reynolds Price, Barbara Kingsolver to the distinctly regional George Ella Lyon, Jane Gentry, James Still. This volume brings together some of the best selections from an award-winning journal, making clear why Small Press dubbed The American Voice one of the "most impressive journals in the country."

In short essays that are themselves lyric, Frederick Smock presents his own insights on the craft of poetry, as well as nuggets from other practitioners past and present.

Essays. Frederick Smock answers his question in this little volume of appreciation for all that poetry brings to his life, in the process inviting his readers to share in his good fortune. Part "lit-crit chapbook" (the first of its kind?), part annotated commonplace book, the essays collected here touch often on the theme of "preparedness," both in how a poet must be prepared in a variety of ways to respond and give form to the inspiration to create verse, and in the task of the reader to complete the poem by finding the individual meaning that the poem has for him or her. For all who love poetry, but especially for those who do not yet realize that they do, this is a gift of joy.

Biography, poetry, interpretation; 91 pages.

Essays; 129 pages.

"The publication of Abraham Lincoln of Kentucky is a project of the Kentucky Arts Council made possible through an American Masterpieces grant from the National Endowment for the Arts."--Title page verso.
"This book was handset in Garamond type designed by Morris Benton for ATF after the work of Jean Jannon, a master printer in seventeenth century Paris. 500 copies were printed on Mohawk Superfine paper on a hand-fed C & P and handbound. The engravings were printed from the wood. Design, composition, printing and binding by Leslie Shane and Gray Zeitz at Larkspur Press." --from paperback edition.

First published in 1999. In this sequel to Conversations with Kentucky Writers, L. Elisabeth Beattie brings together in-depth interviews with sixteen of the state's premiere wordsmiths. This new volume offers the perspectives of poets, journalists, and scholars as they discuss their views on creativity, the teaching of writing, and the importance of Kentucky in their work. They talk frankly about how and why they do what they do. The writers speak for themselves, and their thoughts come alive on the page. Beattie's interviews reveal the allegiances and alliances among Kentucky writers that have shaped literary trends by bringing together people with shared interests, values, subjects, and styles. The interviewees include authors who are captivated in other writers and in what they have to say about the process and craft of writing; educators who are interested in Kentucky writers and what their work reveals about the nature of creativity; and historians who are concerned with Kentucky's literary and cultural heritage. The interviews reveal patterns in Kentucky literature from mid-century to the millennium, as authors talk about how their sense of place has changed over the decades and reveal the ways in which the roots of Kentucky writing have produced a literary flowering at the century's end. Includes: Sallie Bingham, Joy Bale Boone, Thomas D. Clark, John Egerton, Sarah Gorham, Lynwood Montell, Maureen Morehead, John Ed Pearce, Ameilia Blossom Pegram, Karen Robards, Jeffrey Skinner, Frederick Smock, Frank Steele, Martha Bennett Stiles, Richard Taylor, and Michael Williams.

VHS; Ultimate Questions Lecture Series. Named persons: Frederick Smock; W. B. Yeats. March 20, 2003, Wyatt Center for the Arts.

VHS. Ultimate Questions Lecture Series. Named persons: Frederick Smock. April 3, 2003, Wyatt Center for the Arts.