It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In a poignant memoir of love and war, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist presents the journal of her fiancé, a dedicated career soldier killed in Iraq, in which he records the events of the war, his grief over losing men in battle, and advice to his infant son on every aspect of life.
Hundreds of stunning images from black history have long been buried in the New York Times archives. None of them were published by the Times--until now. Unseen uncovers these never-before published photographs and investigates the stories behind them.
Each volume of Contemporary Black Biography contains at least 55 full-length biographies written in an easy-to-follow prose style, ranging from 2 to 4 pages each. Arranged alphabetically, entries are divided by subheads for quick scanning. Contemporary Black Biography is not limited to coverage of only notable black Americans, nor is it restricted by a manufactured definition of "contemporary." Its multinational coverage spans this century and includes rising personalities as well as groundbreakers and newsmakers in a variety of fields. Contemporary Black Biography includes four cumulative indexes. Nationality: While concentrating on U.S. figures, this title also covers important personalities from other countries. Find them listed by nationality here. Occupation: Editors focus on biographies not typically found in other sources--an eclectic blend of well-known and well-respected educators, physicians, politicians, activists, writers, clergy, military leaders, attorneys, as well as members of the more glamorous occupations such as athletes, fashion models and actors. Subjects: Events, places and organizations are cross-referenced to each entry. Use this index to identify key black individuals associated with such topics as the NAACP, the Montgomery Bus Boycott, Motown Records, Medicine, the Olympics and hundreds of others. Name: As the only series devoted exclusively to black biography,
Journalist Dana Canedy was born and raised near Fort Knox, Kentucky. Canedy received her B.A. degree in journalism from the University of Kentucky. Canedy began her career as a police beat reporter at the West Palm Beach (Florida) Post. After a year, she was hired by the Cleveland Plain Dealer. In 1996, Canedy became a reporter for the New York Times. She was a national correspondent and Florida bureau chief. In 2001, she was part of the team that won a Pulitzer Prize for national reporting for their piece, "How Race Is Lived in America". In 2006, Canedy was promoted to senior editor at the New York Times. She authored 2008 the New York Times best-seller, A Journal for Jordan: A Story of Love and Honor, telling the story of Canedy's fiance , First Sergeant Charles Monroe King, who died during the war in Iraq. The book is named for their son, Jordan.
In the last several decades, interest in this leader of the English romantic movement has increased dramatically. More and more scholars are publishing books and articles about Coleridge; more and more students are writing their theses and dissertations on his works. Even psychologists and theologians are turning to the poet and essayist and finding especially valuable his pre-Freudian interpretations of dreams, guilt, and the sub-conscious mind. This volume provides all students of Coleridge with an up-to-date aid in their research.
This index compensates for the loss of bibliographic control that occurred when the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature decided to discontinue the indexing of poetry and supplements other poetry indexes which did not cover or covered incompletely periodical poetry. The volume contains title, first-line, author, and subject indexes to poems published in forty-four popular and professional periodicals. The title entry gives complete bibliographic information about each poem and entries in the other indexes are cross-referenced by number to it.
Bibliography; 191 pages. Provides both primary and secondary source materials for 17 authors, representing a wide range of interests and talents, and chosen for their distinctive place in Appalachian literature .
Like its companion volume covering the period 1955 to 1959, this index provides listings of poems published in American periodicals that span a broad spectrum of popular interests ranging from current events, literature, and the arts, to religion, homemaking, hobbies, and health. The only available index of poetry published in periodicals, it includes poems drawn from a total of forty-five mass circulation magazines, special interest publications, and scholarly and literary views. Poems are indexed by author, title, first line, and subject. Offering a true cross-section of the poetry of the period, this volume brings together much relatively inaccessible information on particular poets and poems, and it offers readers a wide selection of categores for locating verses on specific subjects.
Originally published in 1969. A fictionalized account of Jenny Wiley's captivity and escape based on her own narrative. Thomas and Jenny Wiley had pioneered land on Walker's Creek in Bland County, Virginia. On October 1, 1789, while Thomas was away, a small band of Indians, seeking revenge for a recent defeat at the hands of white settlers, attacked the Wiley cabin and killed and scalped Jenny's three older children and her brother. Jenny, seven months pregnant, was taken captive along with her baby son, Adam. Then began a nightmare flight through the wilderness into the dark Kentucky hills to westward. Jenny's only hope for survival was to keep pace with her captors. Her captivity and escape nearly a year later are vividly recounted in this book.
Originally published in 1976. Outspoken Appalachian writer Harry M. Caudill analyzes the exploitation and decline of the eastern Kentucky mountain lands, which have rendered "no people in the nation...more forlorn than the Appalachian highlanders in our time." Frontier attitudes, a strong attachment to the land, and isolation have produced in Appalachia a backwoods culture which made its people susceptible to an outside exploitation of their resources that has perpetrated on them a passive society largely dependant on relief. But the times, says Mr. Caudill, are changing. A growing world population and global industrialization have created a drastically altered situation in eastern Kentucky. The area's resources of energy are essential to the progress and well-being not only of the nation but also of the world; and the world is prepared to court the favor of the people who control these resources and is prepared to pay the price demanded by those owners. Mr. Caudill makes an eloquent plea for Kentuckians to reclaim the resources that lie in their mountains and to demand their fair share of the wealth generated by those resources. If they are willing to do this, the state and especially the people in eastern Kentucky can have a bright and prosperous future. But they can delay no longer. They must break the mold of passivity and take destiny into their own hands. An attorney in Whitesburg, Kentucky, Harry M. Caudill is the author of such well-known books as Night Comes to the Cumberlands, Dark Hills to Westward, and My Land is Dying. The Kentucky Bicentennial Bookshelf is a celebration of two centuries of the history and culture of the Commonwealth.
Originally published in 1971. This book documents the devastation of the Cumberland Mountains by strip mining operations. The author tells "how bulldozers have destroyed whole mountains since early TVA days, and mountain men and women, quite literally fighting to save their land from the bulldozers of powerful mining (and oil) interests, formed the Appalachian Group to Save the Land and People."
Originally published Boston : Little, Brown and Co., 1963. "At the time it was first published in 1962, it framed such an urgent appeal to the American conscience that it actually prompted the creation of the Appalachian Regional Commission, an agency that has pumped millions of dollars into Appalachia. Caudill's study begins in the violence of the Indian wars and ends in the economic despair of the 1950s and 1960s. Two hundred years ago, the Cumberland Plateau was a land of great promise. Its deep, twisting valleys contained rich bottomlands. The surrounding mountains were teeming with game and covered with valuable timber. The people who came into this land scratched out a living by farming, hunting, and making all the things they need-including whiskey. The quality of life in Appalachia declined during the Civil War and Appalachia remained 'in a bad way' for the next century. By the 1940s, 50s, and 60s, Appalachia had become an island of poverty in a national sea of plenty and prosperity. Caudill's book alerted the mainstream world to our problems and their causes. Since then the ARC has provided millions of dollars to strengthen the brick and mortar infrastructure of Appalachia and to help us recover from a century of economic problems that had greatly undermined our quality of life."--Publisher's description.
In 1963, Harry M. Caudill published his now classic account of the reckless, deliberate despoliation of the Appalachian Plateau, "Night Comes to the Cumberlands." Thirteen years later, in "The Watches of the Night," Caudill continued the heartbreaking story of an incredibly rich land inhabited by a grindingly poor people whose problems, despite state and local aid and an unprecedented boom in coal, had worsened: the land was being stripped more rapidly than ever; the people's traditional relationship with the land was being uprooted, and their old customs eliminated by standardization. Both a narrative history and a polemic against greed and waste, "The Watches of the Night" hammers at "the profligacy growing out of the persistent myth of superabundance." The author ponders an even darker future if the cycle of boom and bust is not broken. He writes: "Americans have never understood or respected the finely textured, little-hill terrain of the Cumberland Plateau." Neither the farmers nor the miners who followed the early pioneers saw it as a place to cherish. Through decades that have lengthened to nearly two centuries the land has fought back, sometimes with savage floods and always with persistent efforts to reforest. "But now time runs out and our 'inexhaustible' resources have turned finite....The Kentucky Cumberlands are many things, but most of all they are are a warning.
18 interviews collected between 1998 and 1999.
Harry Monroe Caudill, from Letcher County, KY, was born in 1922 and died in 1990 from a self-inflicted gunshot wound. He was an author, historian, lawyer, and served three terms in the Kentucky House of Representatives. He was also known for his crusade against strip-mining in the coalfields of the Appalachian area of eastern Kentucky. He wrote a number of articles and several books on the subject. Those interviewed in this collection recount their relationships with Harry Caudill, and include their working relationships, various anti-strip mining activities and other protest activities.
In this heartwarming memoir, Anne Caudill -- at age 89 -- tells fascinating and incredible stories from her life in Appalachia with her husband, Harry Caudill, author of the 1963 book, Night Comes to the Cumberlands. She recalls historic visits by famous people, memorable moments with family and friends, and shares captivating accounts of regional legends and lore. Foreword by Wendell Berry.
Transcript of recorded interview with Harry Caudill conducted by Michael Miller for the Forrest C. Pogue Oral History Institute of Murray State University. Series: Ohio Valley Writers Oral History Project.
Housed at the University of Kentucky, Special Collections Research Center. The University of Kentucky Library Special Collections received the gift of Anne and Harry Caudills' papers and photographs over a period of three years, from May of 1988 to November of 1990.
Filling over one hundred archival boxes, each holding approximately one-half cubic foot and spanning over forty years, from the late 1940s to 1990, it is a rich archive. The papers illuminate the Caudills' own work in various arenas, such as the environment and development, but also document, for example, the anti-strip mining work of Save Our Kentucky (SOK) and the development theories laid out by the Congress for Appalachian Development (CAD).
Film. Visual material. Shows how, with its resolutely Republican loyalties reaching back to Civil War days, Leslie County, Ky., hosted Richard Nixon's first public appearance after resigning the presidency. Presents interviews with history professor Harry Caudill and Leslie County politician C. Allen Muncy, and shows footage of Nixon's visit and speech.
Fiction. Young adult novel. 314 pages. "A young girl grows up and falls in love deep in the Kentucky mountains." "Peter Barrie built a little white house on the west bank of the Poor Fork in southeastern Kentucky in the late 1800's. His daughter, Fern, lives within the confines of a woman's role at the end of the 19th century."
Fiction. Young adult novel. 139 pages; illustrations. "A nine-year-old orphan has been promised that her week with the president of the orphanage board will be better than her favorite fairy tale, but everything starts out badly, until she meets a grandma "with all sorts of wonderful attachments."
Fiction. Young adult novel. Reprint. Originally published by: Viking Penguin Inc., 1949. 279 pages; illustrations. "The two eldest children of a pioneer family are determined to carry their love of beauty and learning to their new home in the Kentucky Wilderness."
Fairchild Family Story, book 1. 107 pages; illustrations. Originally published in 1947.
It is a good thing that mothers understand what no one else seems to when you are the youngest child in the family, and are finally four years old. Bonnie is more than ready to join her older sisters and brother in the many adventures she sees come their way, whether it be sliding along the ice, searching for arrowheads, or going on that journey of all journeys-across the swinging bridge to school. Winter or summer, something is always happening in the Fairchild house, tucked amidst the pine trees of the Kentucky hills one hundred years ago or more. And, four years old or not, Bonnie usually manages to be in the middle of the action! Illustrated by Decie Merwin.
Fairchild Family Story, book 2. 129 pages; illustrations. Originally published in 1949.
The Fairchild family is here again and this time, Bonnie is old enough to begin the great adventure School! We join Bonnie in the excruciating anticipation of the first day, when she will wear her new dress, carry a first reader and slate, and-displaying nonchalance as she braves the swinging bridge, enter into the mysteries of schoolroom learning and playground rites in a woodland setting of the early 1900s. Bonnie's older brother and three sisters, her various classmates and Miss Cora, her teacher, add their liveliness to an eventful season of learning, on every front, in the Kentucky Hills. Rebecca Caudill's unfailing insights into a child's heart are enhanced by Decie Merwin's skillful drawings.
Fairchild Family Story, book 3. 143 pages; illustrations. Originally published in 1951.
And so the ambitious summer project began. Not that it ended in quite the way the girls were imagining. In fact, it sparked a flurry of trading, in which the girls somehow accumulated wealth in the form of unexpected friends, assorted animals, and other experiences "up and down the river," even as their collection of dimes and dollars seemed always to be slipping through their hands. In this third book of the Fairchild Family series, Bonnie and Debby Fairchild, occupying center stage in the family story, carry us through a summer season in the lovely hills of Kentucky of the early 1900s. Book jacket.
Fairchild Family Story, book 4. 145 pages; illustrations. Originally published in 1959.
Illustrations by Decie Merwin School in the Kentucky hills goes from August to the last Friday before Christmas. After that the snows are too high, and later, the thawing rivers too full, for the Fairchild children, and their neighbors, the Wattersons, the Sawyers, and the Huffs to make it safely to the little school house in the woods. Now that Althy is fourteen, Mr. Fairchild has other plans for the long winter months. Learn, along with Bonnie, Debbie, Chris and Emmy, what it is like to have school at home in the early 1900's. The fourth and final book in the Fairchild Family series. Illustrated. Ages 8 and up
Originally published: New York : Holt, Rinehart and Wiston, 1962. Newbery and Caldecott Honor-winning children's author Rebecca Caudill tells the timeless and charming story of the special relationship between a girl and her doll in The Best-Loved Doll, featuring illustrations by Elliott Gilbert. Betsy receives an invitation to a party requiring her to bring a guest--one of her dolls--for a chance to win a prize or two in several "best of" categories. But while many of her dolls are prettier to look at, wear fancier clothes, and are capable of doing things, Betsy cherishes Jennifer most of all. Her hair may be a bird's nest, she may wear drab, plain clothes, and her face may not have the most beautiful complexion, but Jennifer is Betsy's very best friend--the doll she loves the most.
Originally published in 1965. A poignant classic of a mute child's Christmas in Appalachia. Jamie is bitterly unhappy. He's a loner, and if he can't sing, how will he be able to get a part in the pageant? With an understanding of Christmas that only a true child can have, Jamie finds his own, unexpected solution.
Originally published in 1966. Will it ever be Charley's turn to carry the flag? When Charley Cornett begins school in the Appalachian Mountains, his brothers and sisters explain to him that the highest honor at the Little School is being chosen to "carry the flag" - the award each day for a child who has been very good. Mischievous Charley doesn't seem to be the ideal candidate for such a distinction, but eventually he achieves this honor in his own special way. This much-loved book by a Newbery Honor - winning author has been in print for four decades. Children will identify with Charley's school triumphs and woes and cheer for him to carry the flag!
Originally published in 1964.
"Chee! Chee!" Inside Jay's dark pocket Cricket began fiddling. The talking stopped. Everybody listened. A Caldecott Honor classic that celebrates friendship and new experiences-back in print on its 40th anniversary One afternoon late in August, before the start of a new school year, Jay finds Cricket. Cricket fits just right in small spaces-like under a tea strainer or in Jay's very own pocket-and Cricket makes the most exciting sounds. But what happens when it's time to go back to school? Will Cricket come too? Forty years after its original publication, this charming tale continues to capture the imaginative world of a child.
90 pages; illustrations. The author, who grew up there, contrasts life in Appalachia, before the mines came, with life in Appalachia now, showing how and why it has become a poverty-stricken area. Photographs by Edward Wallowitch.
VHS video. 18 minutes; sound; color. "A portrait of Rebecca Caudill, well-known author of children's books, educator, and humanitarian. Points out that her ability to produce literature that is both educational and enjoyable stems from a combination of her intellectual curiosity, colorful writing style, and a genuine love for children."
"The collection consists of materials related to Rebecca Caudill's work as a writer, along with some biographical material. It includes reviews of Barrie and Daughter, Happy Little Family, [Tree of Freedom], The House of the Fifers, Susan Cornish, Time for Lissa, Higgins and the Great Big Scare, and The Best-Loved Doll. Also includes biographical materials, articles by Caudill about her work, radio scripts of Up and Down the River, The House of the Fifers, and The Best-Loved Doll, and newspaper articles about Caudill's public appearances, her awards and honors, and her trip to Geneva, Switzerland with a peace group in 1951."
"The Rebecca Caudill papers (dated 1903-1985, undated; 40.98 cubic feet; 57 boxes, 4 oversize boxes, 1 item) primarily comprise book drafts and research materials, professional correspondence with publishers and agents, personal correspondence with family and readers, and scrapbooks of clippings and pamphlets that review and celebrate the works of the acclaimed Appalachian children's author. The collection also includes Caudill's diplomas and wedding garments, awards that mark her renowned career as a children's author, audiocassettes of Caudill's lectures, reel-to-reel audiotapes of oral history interviews she conducted as research for her book, My Appalachia, and photographs and slides that capture Rebecca Caudill's involvement with the Pine Mountain Settlement School, the travels of the Ayars family, and the dedication ceremony of the Rebecca Caudill Public Library."
"This collection is organized into three series: Correspondence Series, Notes Series, and Manuscript Series. The Manuscript Series contains four drafts of Higgins and the Great Big Scare. All drafts are typescripts. The Correspondence Series consists of Caudill's correspondence to William Eury regarding her manuscript donation. The Notes Series contains four documents which include brainstorming and outlines of Caudill's Higgins and the Great Big Scare."
Edgar Cayce entered periods of sleep in which he could diagnose illness, often in people he had never met, and then prescribe medical treatment. Often Cayce offered solutions to people who had tried all conventional avenues of medicine and had been diagnosed as "hopeless."
America's "sleeping prophet" offers his unique and inspirational interpretation of the greatest story ever told. In addition to his labors on behalf of the physically afflicted, the world-renowned prophet and psychic, Edgar Cayce, gave a series of 2,500 clairvoyant readings devoted to spiritual matters, with reincarnation as their central theme. This extraordinary book brings together the story of Jesus, as found scattered through Cayce's readings, making available for the first time the challenging and thought-provoking contribution of America's "sleeping prophet." "...These excerpts make interesting reading and surely demonstrate the vitality of Cayce's subconscious mind."--Library Journal; "The appeal of Mr. Furst's book lies in the fact that he quotes at great length from the Cayce readings, and this should please the people who have been tantalized by brief quotations in other, earlier books."--Nashville Tennessean
Four provocative volumes from the notorious clairvoyant: On Prophecy reveals predictions on domestic, international, psychological and scientific matters; On religion suggests how religious faith can fully develop latent psychic abilities; Mysteries of the Mind explores the varieties of human consciousness; On Reincarnation provides psychic accounts of people who have lived more than once.
Summaries of Cayce's dictated readings, written by Mary Ellen Carter [and others]. Complete and unabridged texts of the original editions published 1967-1989, reset for this volume.
This reference work contains concise quotes from the Edgar Cayce readings on 264 different topics, including past and future world conditions, life's purpose, the evolution of the soul, reincarnation and karma, religion, and health and diet.
Originally published by Warner Books: 1968. Drawing on his readings, and placed within the context of reincarnation, Edgar Cayce offers evidence of the civilization of Atlantis - showing how its achievements and failures directly relate to the conflict and confusion of today.
Unique psychic accounts of people who have lived more than once - from the files of America's most amazing clairvoyant. "Presents data from 2500 readings given by Edgar Cayce from 1925 through 1944." Under the editorship of Hugh Lynn Cayce. 286 pages.
Originally published 1969. A selection of articles by Edgar Cayce and others, previously published in the A.R.E. journal of the Association for Research and Enlightenment, including verbatim extracts from Edgar Cayce's telepathic-clairvoyant readings.
A complete guide to the work of the remarkable twentieth-century seer Edgar Cayce, featuring Cayce's most intriguing and influential readings, and a biographical introduction to his life. Edgar Cayce is one of the most mysterious men of the twentieth century. Sometimes called "The Sleeping Prophet," he was prone to pick up taglines that reflected the sensationalistic side of his work rather than its real depth and meaning. The core of his life's work was actually being an intuitive healer and Christian mystic. More than one hundred books have been written about his teachings and his life story. Yet no book has combined insightful commentary with lengthy, verbatim selections of the full range of his contribution to holistic healing, practical spirituality, and the psychology of the soul. The Essential Edgar Cayce gives the reader an understanding of each major area in which Cayce helped pioneer the modern holistic living movement, as well as the contemporary popular approach to spirituality that weaves together the best of Eastern and Western religious traditions. The book's substantial introduction frames Cayce and his life's work, and is followed by eight topical sections in which commentaries by Mark Thurston guide the reader through some of the seer's most significant readings. Here is a truly integral portrait of the life and work of one of the twentieth century's most fascinating spiritual figures.
A fascinating biography written by the country's foremost authorities on metaphysics. The Edgar Cayce story is one of the most compelling in inspirational literature. For more than forty years, the "Sleeping Prophet" closed his eyes, entered into an altered state of consciousness, and spoke to the very heart and spirit of humankind on subjects such as health, healing, dreams, prophecy, meditation, and reincarnation. His more than 14,000 readings are preserved at the Association for Research and Enlightenment, Inc., in Virginia Beach, Virginia. A native of Kentucky with a ninth-grade education, Edgar Cayce accurately predicted two world wars, including the years they began and ended, racial strife in America, the death of John F. Kennedy, and hundreds of other recorded events. He could apparently travel in time and space to treat the ill, and dispensed information that led to innumerable cures where traditional medicine was helpless. The first to introduce many Americans to the concept of reincarnation, Cayce drew on a subconscious Universal Mind for startling information about past and future. In The Sleeping Prophet, Jess Stearn presents the extraordinary story of his life, his healing, his prophecies, and his powerful legacy.
With unprecedented access to Edgar Cayce's private letters and trance readings, Sidney Kirkpatrick delivers the definitive biography of the renowned psychic, religious seeker, and father of alternative medicine. Born in rural Kentucky in 1877, Edgar Cayce became known as "the sleeping prophet," and went on to lead an extraordinary life, helping and healing thousands. This is Cayce's fascinating story as it's never been told before.
A new edition of the landmark, worldwide bestseller on the life of the famed medical clairvoyant and founding father of the New Age- Edgar Cayce. Edgar Cayce (1877-1945) is known to millions today as the grandfather of the New Age. A medical clairvoyant, psychic, and Christian mystic, Cayce provided medical, psychological, and spiritual advice to thousands of people who swore by the effectiveness of his trance-based readings. But Cayce was not always a household name. When a young, skeptical journalist named Thomas Sugrue first met Cayce in 1927 the world had not yet heard of the "sleeping prophet." During years of unique access, Sugrue completed his landmark biography, which on its publication in 1942 brought national attention to Cayce and stands as the sole record written during the seer's lifetime. This edition includes a new introduction by historian Mitch Horowitz that highlights the enduring significance of Cayce's message and the role this book played in its dissemination.