Browse A-Z Authors: Cr-Cz

Collection of the author's columns originally published by the Louisville courier-journal. 213 pages. "No sooner had Byron Crawford's first book, Crawford's Journal, sold out than his readers began asking when there would be a sequel. In Kentucky Stories they will find a rich patchwork of subjects that touch the heart, soul and funny bone of Kentucky. Although this collection contains only a handful of the more than 2,000 columns he has written for the Courier-Journal to date, they reflect Byron's deep attachment to his home state and his genuine affection for its people." --Amazon

Collection of the author's columns originally published by the Louisville courier-journal. 272 pages. "Kentucky Footnotes is Byron Crawford's third compilation of columns originally published by The Courier-Journal, where he served as the newspaper s Kentucky Columnist for nearly three decades. His first two books, Crawford's Journal, published in 1986, and Kentucky Stories, in 1994, have sold thousands of copies and remain popular among lovers of Kentucky lore. The San Francisco Chronicle once described Byron as The Courier-Journal's muddy shoes reporter, and the late Charles Kuralt of CBS News proclaimed him the best storyteller in Kentucky, if you count only the ones who tell the truth. In Kentucky Footnotes, readers will find a memorable collection of some of the stories that helped make this Hall of Fame journalist among the most widely-read writers at The Courier-Journal." --Amazon

"Story-teller's best columns from the Kentucky Courier-Journal newspaper. Foreword by Charles Kuralt." --Amazon. 211 pages.

Guidebook to some of best eating spots throughout Kentucky.

VHS video; 28 minutes. Produced by KET (Kentucky Educational Television); Videographer, Gale Worth; editor, Otis Ballard; host, Byron Crawford. A tribute to the rustic lifestyle of Kentucky artist Harlan Hubbard and his wife, Anna. The couple had a deep respect for nature and chose to live in simplicity in Payne Hollow, Kentucky. Although the couple lived without electricity in a remote area along the banks of the Ohio River, their lives were filled with art and music. Their legacy is one that is both admired by many and emulated by some. Includes interviews with friends, associates and collectors of his art.

VHS video; 107 minutes. Program 519, Telefund '99 Special Edition. "This special journey undertaken by KET's Emmy Award-winning magazine program Kentucky Life, criss-crosses the state in a television special destined to become a Commonwealth classic. Then stay tuned for a light-hearted look at the making of Kentucky Life. Go behind the scenes as Byron Crawford and the crew of Kentucky Life travel the back roads of the Commonwealth in search of the people, places and things that make Kentucky unique."

Interview on audiocassette; 21 minutes. Housed at the Kentucky Historical Society. The Kentucky Oral History Commission, in cooperation with the Kentucky Heritage Council Main Street Program, initiated the Main Street Kentucky oral history project in 1993. The project supports the collection of oral history interviews that document community history focusing on downtown business areas. The majority of selected communities participate in the Heritage Council's Main Street Program which promotes downtown revitalization efforts with an emphasis on perservation of historic buildings. From 1993 through 1996, oral history interviews have been collected in eleven communities: Campbellsville, Dawson Springs, Hazard, Henderson, Hopkinsville, Mount Sterling, Paris, Pikeville, Prestonsburg, Shelbyville and Versailles. Topics discussed include downtown businesses (theaters, banks, hardware stores, department stores, hotels, grocery stores, restaurants, newspaper publishers, pool rooms and drug stores), histories of specific buildings such as courthouses and churches, social events, ethnic groups, floods, and education. Interviewees discuss childhood experiences, the local economy, change in these areas, the impact of highways and roads, preservation efforts, and their thoughts on the future of their communities.

"This collection of real-life vignettes ... was excerpted from a daily column that made its debut in the Courier-Journal on October 1, 1963." "Few people have more intensely loved or more thoroughly understood the Commonwealth than Joe Creason. He visited the state's crossroad communities as well as its large cities, writing about the people he met and uniqueness of their lives."--Publisher.

256 pages. Contents: From the mouths of babes -- Out of Kentucky's past -- Common sense -- Kentucky notables and forgettables -- Hoop hoopla -- Husbands and wives -- Exploratory oratory -- Tall Creason tales -- Kentucky first and foremost -- The good old days -- Kentucky through and through.

As told by Joe Creason. "Compiled and edited by William S. Creason"--Jacket. Foreward by Milton Metz.

MAP. Shows important historical events of Civil War in Kentucky depicted by illustrations and numbers. On verso: text and illustrations relating to reference numbers on map.

History, 8 unnumbered pages.

History, 8 unnumbered pages.

LP recording. Includes musical interludes performed by the Bluegrass Saturday Night.

Short stories, ebook.

In Human Equations you will go on a voyage of discovery. From the untold story of how the great Chinese explorer Zheng He made Earth's First Contact with aliens, to how a rescue mission on the aquatic planet Welkin forces one man to come to terms with a tragedy from his past, to why a resident of an orbital habitat must decide between his people's traditions and his habitat's survival, to the attempt to save a gigantic sea creature's baby -- from the inside And more

Mike Christopher, an artificial Human spurned and abused by much of Earth society, left Earth to become a Galactic explorer. Now, 25 years later, he returns to battle the Jenregar, an alien enemy he's fought before. But the key to defeating the alien threat also presents a soul-crushing moral dilemma

The Great Human War Trilogy. Included: A CROWD OF STARS -- Earth Alliance starship captain Jon Hendrik barely escapes death at the hands of the Star Rebellion, and vows to defeat it! Meanwhile, Rachel Adero, a young woman scarred by poverty, joins the Star Rebellion to fight for the destruction of the Alliance! That's as the ruler known only as the Eminence is pulling the strings on both sides of the conflict! THE FALLEN SUN -- Ambassador Jon Hendrik works to keep dueling political factions from re-igniting The Great Human War! When he and his lover Niva Tessler are kidnapped and Niva's family members are placed in danger, the conflict becomes all too personal! THE UNMOVING STARS -- In the midst of The Great Human War, a sneak attack leaves the starship Shen Kuo with half its crew dead and the ship itself crippled and adrift thousands of light-years from home. Now, with Captain Kiernan Taylor facing a return journey that could take decades, he must seek out a "shortcut" home even as he perceives the first glimmerings of a mutiny!

The Great Human War, book 1. Winner of the 2016 Imadjinn Award for Best SF Novel! Earth Alliance starship captain Jon Hendrik barely escapes death at the hands of the Star Rebellion, and vows to defeat it!Rachel Adero, a young woman scarred by poverty, joins the Star Rebellion to fight for the destruction of the Alliance!Meanwhile, the ruler known only as the Eminence is pulling the strings on both sides of the conflict!

The Great Human War, book 2. The Great Human War is over, but the planet Demeter is far from peaceful.In this sequel to A CROWD OF STARS, Ambassador Jon Hendrik works to keep dueling political factions from re-igniting that war.When he and his lover Niva Tessler are kidnapped and Niva's family members are placed in danger, the conflict becomes all too personal.

The Great Human War, book 3. In the midst of a galactic war, a sneak attack leaves the starship Shen Kuo with half its crew dead and the ship itself crippled and adrift thousands of light-years from home. Now, with Captain Kiernan Taylor facing a return journey that could take decades, he must seek out a "shortcut" home even as he perceives the first glimmerings of a mutiny!"

Splendor series, book 7. Two star systems are colliding... ...And Mike Christopher of the Earth starship Asaph Hall is rushing to unlock their secrets. But two alien races on the journey are keeping their own potentially deadly secrets. It doesn't help that the love of Mike's life can't handle the emotional stress of being near him, and that he has to give the Earth ambassador on-the-job training

Splendor series, book 9. Short stories, 233 pages.

Splendor series, book 11. Chanda Kasmira devotes years of her life and career to saving the inhabitants of Spelndor from the planets pending destruction. Her latest effort fails. Life on Splendor faces more danger than ever before. Disheartened, Chanda places her self into a "Long Sleep", intending to awaken decades later to a brighter future for Splendor and its people. She doesn't. Instead, an even more difficult lies ahead after Chanda's Awakening.

Janir Semler of the planet Oldavar fights to save his world -- and his family -- after a devastating attack from space.Six hundred years later, human explorer Ethan Sun works to solve the mystery of how Oldavarian civilization died.His closest advisor: his mother.Never mind that she died 24 years earlier.

An explosion in Tranquility City on the Moon kills 14-year-old Dacia Stark's parents and sends her on a quest to find Julian Walker, the terrorist who admitted to the crime.Now a detective on Tranquility's police force, Dacia has seen more than her share of blood, death, and grief. But that's only stiffened her resolve, not just to track Walker down -- but to kill him.

Ray Bradbury's The Martian Chronicles is that rare bird -- not just a classic of science fiction, but of 20th Century literature, one with enduring appeal in both fields. In MARS ABIDES, Dave Creek explains that both the SF fan and the literati can join in praise of Ray Douglas Bradbury, a superb craftsman and storyteller whose lyricism and evocative prose bring to life a Mars that never was, except in his imagination -- and our dreams.

"There is not a wasted word in these thirteen taut and thrilling stories of grief, exile, and devotion." --Silas House, author of Southernmost A Korean woman in rural Kentucky clings to the love found in her new marriage as the mountain above her washes away. A dutiful daughter struggles to help her father navigate their shared grief--and the sudden release of dangerous, exotic animals. A new father driven by his pride confronts Japanese soldiers in a harrowing raid on his home. In his debut collection, Michael Croley takes us from the Appalachian regions of rural Kentucky and Ohio to a village in South Korea in thirteen engaging stories in which characters find themselves, wherever they are, in states of displacement. In these settings, Croley guides his characters to some semblance of home, where they circle each other's pain, struggle to find belonging, and make sense of the mistakes and bad breaks that have brought them there. Croley uses his absorbing prose to uncover his characters' hidden disquiet and to bring us a remarkable and unique collection that expands the scope of modern American literature.

Bull City Summer: A Season At The Ballpark unites a group of artists and documentarians (Hiroshi Watanabe, Alec Soth, and Hank Willis Thomas) around the 2013 season of minor league baseball in Durham, North Carolina, evoking an atmosphere described byThe New York Times as "lazing out on the porch of a summer's night and meditating to your favorite ball team." Edited by Sam Stephenson ; photographs by Alec Soth, Hank Willis Thomas, Hiroshi Watanabe, Alex Harris, Frank Hunter, Kate Joyce, Elizabeth Matheson, Leah Sobsey ; essays by Howard L. Craft, Michael Croley, David Henry, Emma D. Miller, Adam Sobsey, Ivan Weiss.

Poems; 79 pages. "From the acclaimed author of Living in the Resurrection and New Covenant Bound comes a new, brilliant collection of poetry. Biblia Pauperum builds an inspired, pure and beautiful world, unlike any we've seen before. Prepare to experience anew both the familiar and the unfamiliar as you journey through new perspectives on concepts often taken for granted." "I've been a huge fan of T. Crunk's poetry since his marvelous, Yale-winning debut, Living in the Resurrection. The poems in that volume and from the nearly two decades since its appearance have always seemed to me essential, life-giving, full of delights all too rare these days, and wisdom, yes, real wisdom. If the poems in this new volume are leaner, hungrier, more restless and questing, than any we've seen from him before, they've lost none of the vitality, the sense of having grappled with the ineffable and emerged from unknowable, echoing depths, that Crunk's work always possesses. There are poems here ("Crows," "Ants," the long "Purgatory (Studies)") that are as good as any I know of being written today. T. Crunk is one of my very favorite contemporary poets." —Davis McCombs. Summary and review from Accents Publishing website.

Poems; 55 pages. The winning volume in the 1994 Yale Series of Younger Poets competition is Living in the Resurrection by T. Crunk. As James Dickey, distinguished poet and judge of the competition, says in the foreword, "Here is that rare phenomenon, a writer of instinctive formal vision. His real reverence for the simple objects of the everyday world, their ability to present cup, tree, and hand both as they seem and as they are with a kind of mystical iconic starkness, is a quality uniquely Mr. Crunk's. That this starkness eventually begins to warp into the surreal and ultimately windows into the Luminous Beyond, is additional sanction for gratitude."

Poems; 95 pages. Renowned poet T. Crunk intersperses narrative prose and vivid lyric verse to explore the devastation one family experienced in this often overlooked episode in Kentucky history. The voices of a grandmother and grandson speak to each other over time, evoking the relentless advance of irrevocable forces that changed the land, forever. --publisher.

Poems; 28 pages.

Poems; 28 pages.

Juvenile poems; 44 pages. Two towns, one inhabited by people who laughed all the time and the other by people who were always gloomy, discover each other and nothing is the same again. "500 copies."

These intriguing and spare flash fictions of Tony Crunk, with inspired drawings by Sharpie artist Peter Wilm, combine into a surreal and tasty feast of language and art. Crunk, a Yale Series of Younger Poets winner, offers up characters with large hands, Bedouins, a man who cries himself to sleep, and giant rodents. It's a splendid world that Crunk has created and that Wilm has illustrated.

A portrait of a local hero All the neighborhood kids agree that Billy Boyd's grandmother is a wonder. She can build freight trains and spaceships, she knows intergalactic code, and she even plays kickball. Best of all are those hot summer evenings when Big Mama treats the whole gang to ice cream. Woody's ice-cream stand is all the way across town, and with Big Mama in the lead, the journey there and back again is always full of adventure. In this warm, affectionate book, lush and lively illustrations are filled with amusing details of small-town life.

When Grandpa's overalls run off, his family and neighbors try to catch them and then pitch in to do the work that Grandpa cannot do without his pants.

In this riotous tall tale, Lonesome Bob is heading to Red Rock to marry Wildcat Annie. The ceremony begins at two o'clock and Wildcat Annie waits for no one. "I've driven this train for forty years, and we've never been late once yet!" Railroad John says proudly as everyone boards the Sagebrush Flyer. But when Bad Bill and his outlaw gang show up around the bend and a fierce thunderstorm kicks up, the Sagebrush Flyer train and Lonesome Bob are twenty-two minutes behind schedule! Can Granny Apple Fritter's Hard-Shell Chili-Pepper-Corn-Pone Muffins help save the day? Austin's colorful and exaggerated illustrations capture the cast of memorable characters and delightfully clever twists of plot and prose in Crunk's hilarious tall tale.

Memoir, 123 pages. "In The First Kristin: The Story of a Naming, Kristin Czarnecki delves into the unique experience of being named after a deceased sibling: her parents’ first child, who died at age three—eight and a half years before the author was born. Czarnecki explores the first Kristin’s short life, her unexpected death, and what having her name means for her and her family. Weaving together memoir and meditations on literature, art, science, and psychology, the book considers this lost sister, this act of naming, and the complicated legacies of even the briefest of lives."--KY Book Festival

Edited collection from acclaimed contemporary Woolf scholars, exploring Virginia Woolf's complex engagement with the natural world, an engagement that was as political as it was aesthetic.