It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Sonora Blair series, book 1. Sonora Blair, a Cincinnati cop, is called to a grisly crime scene--a college student had been burned to death in his car. In her investigation, Sonora decides the murderer is a woman, and the young man was not her first victim. Thus begins an obsessive hunt for a very smart and very evil killer who has begun to focus her attention on Sonora.
The Sonora Blair series, book 2. "Some days Cincinnati police detective Sonora Blair doesn’t want to be a cop. Not when she has to tell the father of two young children that the body parts turning up along I-75 belong to his missing wife, Julia. Eight years ago she witnessed a murder that was never solved, but not forgotten. A murder in which the body disappeared, and no one believed her story. Years later, Julia thinks she sees the killer. Then Julia disappears. And a dangerous sociopath, left undisturbed for eight years, is back in business in Cincinnati." - Author's website
The Sonora Blair series, book 3. "“No survivors,” Sonora Blair said to herself as she passed through the front door of a neat suburban home … and entered a scene of horror: a family caught in the middle of an ordinary day, caught by a killer’s rage. Then Sonora found the dying mother huddled under her bed, and heard her last words: “Two men. And the Angel.”" - Author's website
The Sonora Blair series, book 4. In Cincinnati, police officer Sonora Blair investigates the murder of a girl who was abducted while riding her horse, a probe which takes her to a horse auction. Complications arise when she runs into an FBI sting.
The David Silver series, book 1. Detective David Silver gets a new Elaki partner, that looks like a stingray and smells like limes, and some assistance solving a conspiracy threatening humans and aliens alike.
The David Silver series, book 2. "When pouchlings of the stingray-shaped, lime-scented Elaki are found murdered in their beds, Detective David Silver immediately fixes his attention on Angel Eyes, who claims to have been a victim of persecution on her homeworld, and who’s achieved almost saintly status in the eyes of both human and Elaki." --Author's website
The David Silver series, book 3. "Detective David Silver and his Elaki, partner, String, are back on the streets . . . and in the line of fire. An arsonist has been murdering humans and Elaki, then torching the crime scenes. But even more disturbing are the investors who then buy up the burned-out real estate. They’re members of a bizarre cult. And they’re definitely Elaki." --Author's website
The David Silver series, book 4. "Detective David Silver and his Elaki partner String are up to their necks in an Elaki blood feud. A local college student is missing, his abandoned car stained with human and Elaki blood. Two days later a professor from the same university disappears. Silver and String know there is a connection, but what they uncover in the grimy shadows of Elaki-Town is a dark conspiracy of murder and revenge that could change the way human and Elaki look at each other forever."--Author's website
The Lena Padget series, book 1. Seven years ago, Lena Padget's brother-in-law, Jeff Hayes, went to jail for the brutal murders of her sister and two-year-old nephew. Bitter that restraining orders couldn't stop bullets, she became a private investigator and advocate for abused women and children whom the police and the legal system neglect. Hayes is out on parole now, and he's looking for Lena.
The Lena Padget series, book 2. The circumstances surrounding a baffling new case seem poised to pull homicide detective Joel Mendez and P.I. Lena Padget apart--as Joel becomes more and more sympathetic to a suspect's version of events, Lena finds herself feeling increasingly skeptical.
The Lena Padget series, book 3. Lynn Hightower's novels have tackled such diverse subjects as female serial killers and lethal debt collectors. Now, in her most explosive and controversial thriller to date, she exposes the hidden secrets of hospital pathology labs, the darkest mysteries of motherhood, and the most unthinkable crime of all.
Mystery fiction; 302 pages. Suspecting her father may have been involved in her mother's mysterious death, Georgie Smallwood is stunned when he too is murdered and her sister, Claire, in dire financial straits after the breakup of her marriage, is implicated in the crime.
When Olivia James receives a phone call just after midnight, she recognizes her brother's voice. But there's a problem: her brother has been dead for the past nine weeks. Moving back to her old childhood home in Tennessee - the place where her brother has just died - her young daughter Teddy seems troubled, telling her mother that she's being visited by a menacing ghost. When another tragic death occurs and her daughter disappears, Olivia must confront the demonic force that has cursed her family.
Joy Miller, once a famed TV evangelist, retired years before when two tragedies struck her family: the first leading her husband to suicide; the second leaving her son dead and his wife and daughter estranged from her. She now lives a lonely, reclusive life, until a package arrives in the mail containing graphic photographs of three people she knew long ago - all brutally murdered. When Joy reads the note in the package, she knows immediately who it's from: a ghost from her past, a dangerous individual who knows far too much about the skeletons in Joy's closet. Then people start disappearing ...
Nominated for an NAACP Image Award; A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season; Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the year; BookRiot's "50 Must-Read Poetry Collections" Most Anticipated Books of the Year--The Rumpus, Nylon. A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration. "It is costly to stay free and appear / sane." From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida B. Wells to Sandra Bland and Black Lives Matter, black women freedom fighters have braved violence, scorn, despair, and isolation in order to lodge their protests. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, DaMaris Hill honors their experiences with at times harrowing, at times hopeful responses to her heroes, illustrated with black-and-white photographs throughout. For black American women, the experience of being bound has taken many forms: from the bondage of slavery to the Reconstruction-era criminalization of women; from the brutal constraints of Jim Crow to our own era's prison industrial complex, where between 1980 and 2014, the number of incarcerated women increased by 700%.* For those women who lived and died resisting the dehumanization of confinement--physical, social, intellectual--the threat of being bound was real, constant, and lethal. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, Hill presents bitter, unflinching history that artfully captures the personas of these captivating, bound yet unbridled African-American women. Hill's passionate odes to Zora Neale Hurston, Lucille Clifton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Grace Jones, Eartha Kitt, and others also celebrate the modern-day inheritors of their load and light, binding history, author, and reader in an essential legacy of struggle. *The Sentencing Project
The Fluid Boundaries of Suffrage and Jim Crow: Staking Claims in the American Heartland engages in an important conversation about race relations in the twentieth century and significantly extends the historical narrative of the Civil Rights Movement. The essays in this collection examine instances of racial and gender oppression in the American heartland--which is conceived of here as having a specific cultural significance which resists diversity--in the twentieth century, instances which have often been ignored or overshadowed in typical historical narratives. The contributors explore the intersections of suffrage, race relations, and cultural histories, and add to an ongoing dialogue about representations of race and gender within the context of regional and national narratives
Curated by the University of Kentucky, Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History. Interviewer: DaMaris Hill. Project summary: "This is a collection of interviews with descendants of Kentucky African and Americans who were instrumental in the settlement of Nicodemus, Kansas, the only remaining African American western town established after the American Civil War. The collection also includes an Indigenous American migration story. These oral histories also explore feminist histories and more specifically migration histories and connections between Kentucky and Kansas communities. The oral histories illustrate the complexity of intersectional identity in the Heartland communities."
A history of Kentucky's poets laureate since 1926. Contains works by J.T. Cotton Noe, Edward Gay Hill, Louise Scott Phillips, Edwin Carlisle Litsey, Jesse Hilton Stuart, Lowell Allen Williams, Lillian D. Chaffin, Senator Tom Mobley, Agnes Todd Saffell O'Rear, Clarence "Soc" Henry Clay, Lee Pennington, Paul Salyers, Dale Faughn, Jim Wayne Miller, Henry E. Pilkenton, James H. Patton, James Still, Joy Bale Boone, Richard Lawrence Taylor, James Baker Hall and Joe Survant.
A young woman leaves Appalachia for a life as a classical musician in New York--or so she thinks. When aspiring violinist Jessica Chiccehitto Hindman lands a job with a professional ensemble, she imagines she has achieved her lifelong dream. But the ensemble proves to be a sham. When the group "performs," the microphones are never on. Instead, the music blares from a CD. The mastermind behind this scheme is a peculiar and mysterious figure known as The Composer, who is gaslighting his audiences with music that sounds suspiciously like the Titanic soundtrack. On tour with his chaotic ensemble, Hindman spirals into crises of identity and disillusionment as she "plays" for audiences genuinely moved by the performance, unable to differentiate real from fake. With vulnerability, humor, and sharp insight into ambition and gender, Hindman tells a surreal coming-of-age story that perfectly articulates the anxieties and illusions of her generation. As Sounds Like Titanic swells to a crescendo, it gives voice to the failed promises of a nation that takes comfort in false realities.
Kentucky native and national tastemaker Duncan Hines (1880--1959) published his first cookbook, Adventures in Good Cooking, in 1939 at the age of fifty-nine. This best-selling collection featured recipes from select restaurants across the country as well as crowd-pleasing family favorites, and it helped to raise the standard for home cooking in America. Filled with succulent treats, from the Waldorf-Astoria's Chicken Fricassee to the Oeufs a la Russe served at Antoine's Restaurant in New Orleans to Mrs. Hines's own Christmas Nut Cake, this book includes classic recipes from top chefs and home cooks alike. Featuring a new introduction by Hines biographer Louis Hatchett and a valuable guide to the art of carving, this classic cookbook serves up a satisfying slice of twentieth-century Americana, direct from the kitchen of one of the nation's most trusted names in food. Now a new generation of cooks can enjoy and share these delectable dishes with family and friends. Previously published in 2002 by Mercer University Press. Originally published: 1933.
Kentucky native and national tastemaker Duncan Hines (1880--1959) published his first cookbook, Adventures in Good Cooking, in 1939 at the age of 59. This best-selling collection featured recipes from select restaurants across the country as well as crowd-pleasing family favorites, and it helped to raise the standard for home cooking in America. Following the success of this debut, Hines penned The Dessert Book in 1955. Filled with decadent treats, from homemade ice cream royale to fried apple pie to praline fudge frosting, this book inspired the recipes for the earliest boxed cake mixes and baked goods that carried the Duncan Hines name. Featuring a new introduction by Hines biographer Louis Hatchett, this classic cookbook serves up a satisfying slice of twentieth-century Americana, direct from the kitchen of one of the nation's most trusted names in food. Now a new generation of cooks can enjoy and share these delectable dishes with family and friends.
Before becoming a household name for cake mixes and other baking products, Duncan Hines traveled the United States and rated the roadside restaurants he encountered. This is his story in his own words. Includes numerous authentic recipes.
184 pages; illustrations. "Produced for Proctor & Gamble by Prose & Concepts, Inc., New York in association with the Culinary Arts Institute, Chicago. Helen Geist, Director"--Title page verso. Includes index.
Duncan Hines (1880-1959) may be best known for the cake mixes, baked goods, and bread products that bear his name, but most people forget that he was a real person and not just a fictitious figure invented for the brand. America's pioneer restaurant critic, Hines discovered his passion while working as a traveling salesman during the 1920s and 1930s - a time when food standards were poorly enforced and safety was a constant concern. He traveled across America discovering restaurants and offering his recommendations to readers in his best-selling compilation Adventures in Good Eating (1935). The success of this work and of his subsequent publications led Hines to manufacture the extremely popular food products that we still enjoy today. In Duncan Hines, author Louis Hatchett explores the story of the man, from his humble beginnings in Bowling Green, Kentucky, to his lucrative licensing deal with Proctor & Gamble. Following the successful debut of his restaurant guide, Hines published his first cookbook, Adventures in Good Cooking (1939), at the age of 59 and followed it with The Dessert Book (1955). These culinary classics included recipes from many of the establishments he visited on his travels, favorites handed down through his family for generations, and new dishes that contained unusual ingredients for the era. Many of the recipes served as inspiration for mixes that eventually became available under the Duncan Hines brand. This authoritative biography is a comprehensive account of the life and legacy of a savvy businessman, American icon, and an often-overlooked culinary pioneer whose love of good food led to his name becoming a grocery shelf favorite. Hatchett offers insightful commentary into the man behind the cake mix boxes and how he paved the way for many others like him. First published in 2001.
While the name Duncan Hines is presently associated with cake mix, from the Depression to the mid-1950s, the name was most commonly associated with a series of guidebooks pointing travelers to the best restaurants, hotels/motels, and vacation destinations. These books were overwhelmingly popular, outpacing even the venerable Michelin Guide. Prior to Hines, finding good food or safe lodging was a hit-or-miss proposition: restaurants were often unsanitary and the food of poor quality. Hines was trusted by his readers because of his adamant refusal to accept advertising or payment of any kind from the establishments he recommended. Hines developed and nurtured a reputation for unimpeachable fairness and exactingly high standards of quality and cleanliness. Because of the popularity of his guidebooks and on the strength of his reputation, he almost single-handedly transformed the expectations of the restaurant-going public and thus indirectly transformed the hospitality industry in the United States. In the 1950s, in partnership with North Carolinian Roy Park, Duncan Hines sold the rights to his name to be used on a line of grocery items, including coffee, ice cream, canned vegetables, and of course, cake mix. These products sold extremely well at premium prices, because shoppers associated Hines' name with quality and cleanliness. Not without reason: just as Hines had exacting standards for restaurants and hotels, he had very high standards for any food product bearing his name.
"My Kentucky Home is a loving tribute to Kentucky told through the profiles of some of its most accomplished individuals. From those who attained celebrity status for their achievements in art, entertainment and sports, to those who worked tirelessly with or without recognition to move Kentucky forward, the book illuminates what has always been the state's greatest aspect, its people. This book celebrates the many facets of Kentucky. It is a portrait of a land that calls us home to hiking trails, river rapids, bourbon, horse racing and our family. It's an insightful portrait of the people of Kentucky-from one of the nation's most prominent television journalists, Diane Sawyer; the most awarded woman in country music history, Loretta Lynn; to Cal Turner Sr., founder of Dollar General and Master Distiller, Parker Beam. In his introduction, award winning American journalist, anchorman and television host Nick Clooney celebrates the important role Kentucky played in his life. 'At a recent family reunion, as I looked at the 100 or so of us gathered, I felt a deep gratitude to be their kin. They live everywhere now and they are as diverse as can be imagined. But when they came to this place, where so many of our ancestors are buried, it was impossible to deny what an important role Kentucky had played in their lives, even those who were visiting the Bluegrass for the first time.' Today Kentucky is traditional, hospitable, vibrant and diverse. It is free-spirited and on the move. It still has its enchanting old towns with their own individual histories, as well as shining new suburban neighborhoods. My Kentucky Home is a book that celebrates those who believe Kentucky is a beautiful place to call home."--Inside dust jacket.