Kentucky Authors: La-Ld
Lacy, Elsie Halsey
- Name(s)
- Elsie Halsey Lacy
- Date of Birth
- July 31, 1897
- Grassy Creek, Kentucky
- Date of Death
- March 8, 1990
- Grassy Creek, Kentucky
- Buried in Grassy Creek, Kentucky
- Residence(s)
- Grassy Creek, Morgan County, Kentucky
- Education
- Halsey Fork School, Morgan County, Kentucky
- Hazel Green Academy
- Cannel City High School
- Elementary certificate of the first class
- Life Events
- Married Paris Lacy
- Employment
- Teacher at Morgan County Schools, 1918-1930
- Superintendent at Centerville Sunday School
- Occupation(s)
- Teacher
- Writer
- Courage by Elsie Halsey LacyPoem published in the Mark Twain Journal, Vol. 10, No. 4 (Spring and Summer, 1958), p.15. Available through JSTOR.
- Elsie Lacy on Ancestry.comRecord of the 1940 Census.
Laine, Henry Allen
- Name(s)
- Henry Allen Laine
- Date of Birth
- January 10, 1870
- Old Caine Springs, Madison County, Kentucky
- Date of Death
- October 15, 1955
- Richmond, Indiana
- Buried in Earlham Cemetery, Richmond, Wayne County, Indiana
- Residence(s)
- Hometown: Madison County
- Union, Boone County, Kentucky
- Richmond, Indiana
- Education
- Teaching Certificates, Berea College, 1889-1899
- Life Events
- Organized Madison County Farmers Club
- Organized Colored Chautauqua featuring speakers such as George Washington Carver, Dr. E.B. DuBoi
- Awards
- University of Kentucky Extension Service
- Man of the Year by Richmond High Schools
- Inducted into the Kentucky Civil Rights Hall of Fame, 2003
- John G. Fee award, honored at Berea College's founder day, October 8, 2009
- Employment
- Clay City Sawmill
- Teacher in Madison County, 20 years
- Teacher, Clark County
- Chairman for Colored Teachers Association, 20 years
- Industrial supervisor, Madison County Colored Schools
- County Agent for Negro Farmers of the County
- Retired from teaching in 1940
- Occupation(s)
- Teacher
- Author
- Agriculturalist
Foot Prints by ISBN: 9780595384143Publication Date: 2006-02-01Originally published in 1914. This book is the fifth published version of Mr. Henry Allen Laine's book, FOOT PRINTS. This version contains the previous version set of poems, in addition to two new poems, titled, "Our President" and, "Some People's Ways". The book is dedicated to all of his children Helen, Anna, Madeline, Henrietta, Clara, Sarah, Mary, Kelly, and Tommie. This book is dedicated to the legacy that Mr. Henry Allen Laine left, and his belief in God, his support of family, and his passion for truth. He was an inspiration to all that knew him, and created a desire in his children, and all he met, to do their best. Mr. Laine led by example, and his book Foot Prints, chronicles segments of his life, and those that he admired. One can catch a glimpse of Mr. Laine reading the poems, and reflecting on how much of what he wrote about many years ago, is as revelant to day as it was then. Enjoy.
- Henry Allen Laine Papers, 1874-1988 byPublication Date: 1874-1988Papers acquired by Eastern Kentucky University Special Collections and Archives in 2002.
- Henry Allen Laine CollectionPublication Date: 1908-2009Collection at Berea College Special Collections and Archives Catalog.
Lally, Jude
Photo: Accents Publishing
- Name(s)
- Jude Lally
- Date of Birth
- Residence(s)
- Central Kentucky
- Eastern Kentucky
- Lexington, Fayette County, Kentucky
- Education
- B.A. in Business Administration, University of Kentucky, 2006
- Life Events
- Diagnosed with Friedrich's Ataxia, 1998
- Employment
- Occupation(s) / Field(s) of Activity
- Poet
- I'm Fine, but Thanks for Asking byISBN: 9781936628087Publication Date: 2012-02-15Poems; 67 pages. "From the author of The View from Down Here comes an enlightening new full-length collection of poems about the challenges of living with Friedrich's Ataxia. From the difficulties of coping with isolation to the joys of spending time with family and friends, Jude Lally has captured a wide spectrum of emotion in these brilliant poems." - Summary from publisher's website
Her Limestone Bones: Selections from Lexington Poetry Month 2013 by ISBN: 9781936628247Publication Date: 2014-04-15Poems; 122 pages.
This Wretched Vessel: Selections from Lexington Poetry Month 2014 by ISBN: 9781936628353Publication Date: 2015-05-15Poems; 162 pages.
The Messenger Is Sudden Thunder: Selections from Lexington Poetry Month 2016 by ISBN: 9780985348977Publication Date: 2017-07-01Poems, 177 pages.
The Heavy Lifting: Selections from Lexington Poetry Month 2017 by ISBN: 9781948775007Publication Date: 2018-05-01Poems; 181 pages.
If Only They Were Hungrier They Would Swallow Me Whole by ISBN: 9781948775083Publication Date: 2020-05-01Poems; 269 pages.
Lampton, Nana
Photo: Berea College
- Name(s)
- Nana Lampton
- Date of Birth
- Residence(s)
- Louisville, Jefferson County, Kentucky
- Goshen, Oldham County, Kentucky
- Education
- Honorary Doctorate in Public Service, Spalding University, 2013
- M.F.A. in Writing, Spalding University, Louisville, Kentucky, 2004
- Enrolled in the Smaller Company Management Program, Harvard Business School, 1975-1979
- M.A., in English Literature, University of Virginia, 1965
- B.A., in English Literature, Wellesley College, 1964
- Life Events
- Serves as a Trustee of the Kentucky Historical Society
- Serves as a Trustee of Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill
- Served for 18+ years on the Board of Directors for Constellation Energy Group
- Serves on the Advisory Board of Sarabande Books
- Serves on the Board for Yaddo
- Serves on the Board for Fons Vitae
- Awards and Recognitions
- Appointed Honorary Consul to the Kingdom of Morocco, 2013
- Elected to the Berea College Board of Trustees, 2016
- Employment
- Chair and CEO of American Life and Accident Insurance Company of Kentucky (American Life)
- Chair and CEO, Hardscuffle, Inc.
- Occupation(s) / Field(s) of Activity
- Business woman
- Writer
- Painter
- Five Poets byPublication Date: 1966Poems; 21 pages. "These poems are taken from a reading, given in Newcomb Hall, at the University of Virginia, on March 16, 1966"--Page [1].
- The Moon with the Sun in Her Eye byISBN: 9780977386116Publication Date: 2007-03-01Poetry; 80 pages.
- New Boundaries: New Works byPublication Date: 2011Poems by Nana Lampton, photography of artwork by Geoffrey Carr. All poems are excepted from Bloom on a Split Board poems by Nana Lampton.
- Snowy Owl Gathers in Her Trove byISBN: 9780982333501Publication Date: 2009Poems and Artist book; 92 pages. Contains 41 poems, with 43 color illustrations by Ms. Lampton. "An edition of 275 is individually and uniquely hand wrapped ... A special limited edition of 25, is encased, loose leaf, in an artist-made wooden box, from fallen trees at Tirbracken Farm. This very special edition also includes an original watercolor drawing ..." Accompanying publication announcement. Edition limited to 300 copies, designed by Julius Friedman, handbound by Friedman and Lampton. Regular edition, with unbound leaves laid in a pictorial paper cover; tied with wide blue ribbon, encircled with a leather strip fastened with a twig; laid in a green cardboard box.
- The Turtle With Seven Eyes byPublication Date: 2020Poems; 38 pages. "This book was handset in Cloister Lightface type, printed on a hand-fed C & P, then handbound. 400 copies were printed on Mohawk Superfine paper and a special edition of 45 copies was printed on Zerkall paper and bound using papers marbeled by Debbie Shannon. ... Design, composition, printing and binding by Leslie Shane and Gray Zeitz at Larkspur Press"--Colophon."
- Wash the Dust from My Eyes: A Year in the LIfe of John Mason at Fort Riley, Kansas Training U.S. Cavalry for WWI, 1917, in Journals and Poems byISBN: 9781936628384Publication Date: 2015-08-15Poems; 135 pages. "In this first-of-its-kind collection of nonfiction, poetry, art and photography 100 years in the making, Nana Lampton combines the journal entries of her grandfather--a World War I cavalryman uncertain about the future the war holds, yet ready to play his part--with her own poetry inspired by his writing."--Cf. Publisher's website.
- Beyond Boundaries: New Work by Nana Lampton byPublication Date: 2011Exhibition catalog. Contains photographs and poetry by Nana Lampton. Exhibition was in Morlan Gallery, Transylvania University, November 10- December 6, 2011.
- Merton Among Us: The Living Legacy of Thomas Merton byISBN: 9780359045563Publication Date: 2018Exhibition catalog; 39 pages. Catalog of an exhibition held at 849 Gallery, Oct. 5, 2018-Jan. 18, 2019. Texts by Dianne Aprile, Owsley Brown III, Nana Lampton, Maureen Morehead, Paul M. Pearson, Al Shands, and Frederick Smock. Art by Steve Armstrong, Laura Lee Brown, Carlos Gamez de Francisco, Vallorie Henderson, Diane Kahlo, Joe McGee, and Thomas Pfannerstill
- Nuclear Power: A Hard Look Wtih Constellation, Areva, Electricire de France byPublication Date: 2007Artist book; specimen. "Olkiluoto III in Finland -- Flamaville III in France -- La Hague in France"--Cover. "September 2-8, 2007"--Cover. Kentucky author: Nana Lampton. Book is spiral bound.
- Sailing to the Galapagos byPublication Date: 2008Artist book; specimen. Kentucky author: Nana Lampton. Book is spiral bound.
- A Trip with John Hale and Yale on Corinthian II to Follow Alexandria the Great by Sea and Returning Points in History: May 17-27, 2012, Cyprus, Turkey, Greece, Israel byISBN: 9780982333518Publication Date: 2012Artist book.
- "Nana Lampton Named Berea College Trustee"Article in Berea College News by Tim Jordan; February 22, 2016
- "Oldham County author Lampton reaches to the heavens in her latest work"Article in Round About by Helen E. McKinney; December 2007.
- "Nana Lampton: Travel Sketches and Paintings"Article from the Belknap and Covi Galleries, Allen R. Hite Art Institute, University of Louisville; 2000. Originally published in Resource Library Magazine.