Browse A-Z Authors: Sn-Sr

"Foreword by Congressman Hal Rogers. Award-winning Kentucky photographer John W. Snell and Acclaim Press have teamed up to create the first-ever hardbound coffee-table book featuring the dramatic landscape, vibrant scenery and rich foliage of eastern Kentucky's Red River Gorge area (near Natural Bridge in the Daniel Boone National Forest). The large volume overflows with strikingly beautiful full-color photographs along with first-hand accounts of the photographer's unique experiences. These exclusive photographs showcase one of Kentucky's most treasured areas, known for its 100-plus natural stone arches, extravagant displays of springtime wildflowers, stunning autumn color and varied recreation opportunities such as world-class rock climbing, hiking, canoeing, camping and more."

Join award-winning photographer John Snell in enjoying the scenic beauty of the Red River Gorge, located in the Daniel Boone National Forest of eastern Kentucky. Johns photographic artistry presents the natural wonder of the gorge in all seasons, including its stunning sandstone arches, towering cliffs, rivers, streams, and trees, plus the many flowering plants and animals that call it home.

Pictorial biography; 160 pages, illustrations.

The Adventures of Li-Li series, book 1. Inspired by her daughter, Maleah "Li-Li," Author Gin Noon Spaulding provides insight on Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD) by sharing personal accounts of her daughter's childhood journey with SPD. Little Li-Li is full of life and experiences life differently from others. Through understanding comes respect and love, after her family becomes knowledgeable of SPD, life becomes even richer for Li-Li.A Miracle on Bates was written to validate Maleah's feelings and to help children and adults alike understand what children with SPD experience. Parents, caretakers, teachers, and therapist will appreciate this book as an excellent educational and entertaining tool to inform children with and without SPD about SPD.

The Adventures of Li-Li series, book 2.

The Adventures of Li-Li series, book 3. If jumping around on Halloween is wrong, Li-Li doesn't want to be right Li-Li is back This time she is celebrating Halloween at her church's annual community event, the Hallelujah party. All she wants to do is keep jumping on the jumpy, but her mommy says it is time to go because other kids want to jump, too. She wants to listen to her mommy, but jumping is fun and feels so right. She would love to explain to her mommy and daddy that, because of the sensory issues she has, jumping helps her to focus on something other than all the noises, people bumping into her, the bright lights, and those who may try to take a picture, hug, or kiss her. How will Li-Li communicate her sheer displeasure for everything except for the jumpy? Will Li-Li jump off the jumpy like her parents want her to or will she have a LI-LI LETDOWN? Find out in Jump-O-Ween

The Adventures of Li-Li series, book 4. Who wants to be kissed and hugged? NOT LI-LI Li-Li loves many things like watching Dora, playing with her dog, reading lots of books, Pops's piggyback rides, and being with her family. But...there are two things she doesn't like- KISSES and HUGS Li-Li dislikes them more than anything She and her family travel to Tullahoma, TN to visit her mema and pops, who LOVE kisses and hugs more than Christmas and birthdays How can Li-Li tell mema and pops that she loves them, but not their kisses and hugs...WITHOUT having a Li-Li Letdown?

Free digital copy available on Google and HathiTrust.

Poetry; 92 pages.

Bibliography. Carbon copy of typescript, except t.p. which is typescript. "Gift of Elijah Leroy Shettles May 5, 1930."

Manuscript. Housed in the University of Chicago Library.

Summary, "These papers deal primarily with George McCalla Spears' poetry. Also present are papers of his father, Noa Spears and his sister, Mary Spears. Included is Spears' correspondence with authors in Kentucky, Texas, and elsewhere; with publishers; with friends and relatives; and with Georgetown College officials. Several letters of Kentucky historian John Wilson Townsend are included. Also present are manuscript copies of Spears' poetry, accompanied by clippings from various newspapers and magazines in which his poems were published. Noa Spears' papers (1846-1875) consist of correspondence and records relating to business concerns in Pulaski County, Illinois. Mary Spears' papers (1920-1935) include correspondence, manuscript poetry, and portions of her thesis."

Poetry; 65 pages.

In Call Her by Her Name, the poet and performance artist Bianca Lynne Spriggs creates a twenty-first-century feminist manifesto suffused with metaphoric depth. This collection is a call-and-response of women--divine and domestic, legend and literal--who shape-shift and traverse generations. Through these narratives and cinematic poems, a chorus emerges of stories and lives rarely told. Call Her by Her Name seeks to give voice to the voiceless, including lynched black women, the biblical "Potiphar's wife," and women who tread the rims of phenomenal worlds--the goddess, the bird-woman, the oracle. While these poems reflect an array of women and women's experiences, each piece could be considered a hue of the same woman, whether home-wrecker, Madonna, or midwife. The woman who sees dragons was perhaps once the roller-skating girl-child. The aging geisha may also be the roots woman next door. The woman who did not speak for ten years could have ended up sinking to the ocean floor. Spriggs gives each one life and limb, breath and voice, in a collection that adds up unequivocally to a poetic celebration of women.

Poetry. Art. Bianca Lynne Spriggs, a poet and visual artist (among other things), records, catalogs, and mythologizes our all-at-once grotesque and heart-wrenching present. Her irresistible voice imparts upon her readers the natural world, the cosmos, our hearts, all retransmitted through a prism of sensuous and enchanted language. In The Galaxy Is a Dance Floor, we encounter "a nursery for unborn stars." We are asked to consider: "You think the cosmos was engineered / by elements that always perform / like the rest?" Before you realize it, Spriggs will be "feasting on the savory red sugar of you."

Poetry; 26 pages.

Poems; 73 pages.

Undead: A Poetry Anthology of Ghouls, Ghosts, and More offers over seventy contemporary poets contending with a time-honored topic: what lies beyond 'the great beyond.' The breadth of selection showcases poems ranging from deceased relatives and celebrities to other undead entities such as, vampires, automatons, angels, and yes, zombies. This anthology makes for a definitive addition to any speculative lit library. Poetry contributors include: Tony Barnstone, Erinn Batykefer, Melissa Bell, Shaindel Beers, K.T. Billey, Andrea Blythe, Rob Boley, Andrew Bourelle, David Bowles, Suzanne Burns, Cathleen Calbert, Lauren Camp, Lucia Cherciu, May Chong, Jackie Chou, Chloe N. Clark, Wanda Morrow Clevenger, Curtis Crisler, John Paul Davies, Carol V. Davis, Ann DeVilbiss, Joan M. DiMartino, Donelle Dreese, Nettie Farris, Ruth Foley, Joshua Gage, Martha Gehringer, Kim Goldberg, Amelia Gorman, Lea Graham, Yalonda Green, John Grey, Jennifer Hernandez, John Hoppenthaler, Leonard Kress, John James, Tausha Johnson, Mary Soon Lee, Sandi Leibowitz, Alexander Lumans, Jeffrey H. MacLachlan, Amy MacLennan, J.G. McClure, C. McDaniel-Reed, Jeremy Megargee, Tiffany Midge, Sarah Fawn Montgomery, Lenard D. Moore, Annie Neugebauer, Kurt Newton, Valerie Nieman, Jeremy Paden, Tina Parker, Zachary Riddle, Jamieson Ridenhour, Gina Roitman, Nicole Rollender, Margaret Rozga, Eva Schlesinger, Salik Shah, Christina Sng, Bianca Lynne Spriggs, Ashlie Stevens Margo Stever, Karah Stokes, Katerina Stoykova, Mariahadessa Ekere Tallie, Mark Teats, Allison Thorpe, Megan Tilley, Jonathan Travelstead, Holly Lyn Walrath, Emily Paige Wilson, Keith S. Wilson, Hermine Pinson, and Katie Riley

Poems; 122 pages.

Ph.D. dissertation from the University of Kentucky. Available online through UKnowledge.

Handbook/manual; 78 pages.

A multi-cultural anthology of modern poetry. With contributions by: Frank X. Walker; Kathy Y. Wilson; Suheir Hammad; Kelly Norman Ellis; Christine Rose James; Ellen Hagan; Tiffany Midge; Yael Flusberg; Parneshia Jones; Patricia Smith; Patricia Smith; Roger Bonair-Agard; Hao Wang; Bianca Lynne Spriggs; Matthew Shenoda; Maria Blackhorse; Anne Shelby; Mitchell L. H. Douglas; Debra Kang Dean; Adrian Matejka; Lee Newton; and Luis Alberto Urrea.

The Appalachian region stretches from Mississippi to New York, encompassing rural areas as well as cities from Birmingham to Pittsburgh. Though Appalachia's people are as diverse as its terrain, few other regions in America are as burdened with stereotypes. Author Frank X Walker coined the term "Affrilachia" to give identity and voice to people of African descent from this region and to highlight Appalachia's multicultural identity. This act inspired a group of gifted artists, the Affrilachian Poets, to begin working together and using their writing to defy persistent stereotypes of Appalachia as a racially and culturally homogenized region. After years of growth, honors, and accomplishments, the group is acknowledging its silver anniversary with Black Bone. Edited by two newer members of the Affrilachian Poets, Bianca Lynne Spriggs and Jeremy Paden, Black Bone is a beautiful collection of both new and classic work and features submissions from Frank X Walker, Nikky Finney, Gerald Coleman, Crystal Wilkinson, Kelly Norman Ellis, and many others. This illuminating and powerful collection is a testament to a groundbreaking group and its enduring legacy.

"Circe's Lament is a collection of powerhouse poems by women that make you want to get down and growl. These aren't poems for the faint of heart or the bashful. These are poems for the she-wolves. These are poems for the brazen hussies. These are poems for the wicked, the loud-mouthed, the ballsy, and the big-hearted. Lean in and listen closely. They'll teach you how to bite." --Ada Lim n

Poems; 122 pages.

Inked forever on the bodies of 253 residents of Lexington, KY is a love letter to the city they call home.

Problems and exercises; 379 pages.

Poems; 162 pages.